هازل تشابمان

مؤسس ومدير مشروع الغابات الجبلية النيجرية، أستاذ مساعد، جامعة كانتربري، بنيوزيلندا

هازل تشابمان أستاذ مساعد في علم البيئة التطورية في جامعة كانتربري بنيوزيلندا ومؤسس ومدير مشروع الغابات الجبلية النيجيرية، في ولاية ترابة بنيجيريا. ويعكس اهتمام بحثها الموسع في بيئة الغابات الشرقية (Afromontane) نشأتها في جبال ملاوي ونيجيريا، حيث كان والدها عالمًا في نباتات الغابات. ويكمن اهتمام هازل على وجه التحديد في الأسئلة البحثية المتعلقة بالتنافع بين النبات والحيوان وفي استصلاح الغابات.

يُذكر أنّه في وقت مبكر من مسيرتها الأكاديمية، عملت هازل في علم وراثة أنواع الأعشاب الضارة وقدرة النباتات على تطوير سمات عدوانية بعد نباتها.  وقد أعادت بحوث الغابات الجبلية هازل إلى مناطق نيجيريا حيث قام والدها باستكشافه الأول نيابةً عن الحكومة النيجيرية في ثمانينيات القرن العشرين. وقد ألهمها ذلك بالعودة ومعرفة الحالة التي آلت إليها هذه الغابات بعد مرور ما يقرب من 30 عامًا.  وقد عملت هازل، بتمويل من الصندوق العالمي للطبيعة، مع حدائق كيو " Kew Gardens " لإجراء بحث تصنيفي أولي في هضبة مامبيلا، ونشرت ذلك البحث الجديد مع النتائج التي توصل إليها والدها في وقت سابق في غابات ولايتي ترابة وأداماوا بنيجيريا (2001). وتركزت أبحاثها منذ ذلك الحين على نيجيريا، حيث عملت على تطوير مشروع الغابات الجبلية النيجيرية مع التركيز على بيئة الغابات الشرقية " Afromontane ".

هذا وقد حصلت هازل على شهادة الدكتوراه في علم البيئة من جامعة أوتاغو ودرجة البكالوريوس (مع مرتبة الشرف) في علم النبات من جامعة سانت أندروز في أسكتلندا. جدير بالذكر أنّ ميزة ومسؤولية العمل مع المجتمع المحلي في أنجيل نياكي تقتضي تبادل المنافع، لذا تقضي هازل كثيرًا من وقتها في كتابة طلبات المنح للمباني المدرسية والبنية التحتية وخبرات تربية النحل.

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل هازل تشابمان

فحص غابات كوكبنا: المرصد الأرضي العالمي للغابات في أنجيل نياكي

إغلاق

Hazel Chapman

Founder and Director, Nigerian Montane Forest Project, Associate Professor, University of Canterbury, NZ

Hazel Chapman is an Associate Professor in evolutionary ecology at the University of Canterbury, NZ and the Founder and Director of the Nigerian Montane Forest Project, in Taraba State, Nigeria. Her broad research interest in Afromontane forest ecology reflects growing up in the mountains of Malawi and Nigeria, where her father was a forest botanist. Hazel is especially interested in research questions around plant-animals mutualisms and in forest restoration.

Early in her academic career, Hazel worked on the genetics of weedy species and the ability of plants to evolve invasive characteristics after introduction. Montane forest research brought Hazel back to the areas of Nigeria her father had first surveyed on behalf of the Nigerian government in the 1970s. She was inspired to return and see how these forests fared nearly 30 years later. With funding from the World Wildlife Fund, Hazel worked with Kew Gardens to conduct initial taxonomic research in the Mambilla Plateau and published that new research alongside her father’s earlier findings in The Forests of Taraba and Adamawa States, Nigeria (2001). She has since focused her research on Nigeria and has developed the Nigerian Montane Forest Project with a focus on Afromontane forest ecology.

Hazel received her PhD in Ecology from the University of Otago and her BSc (Hons) in Botany from St. Andrews University, Scotland. Part of the privilege and responsibility of working with the local community at Ngel Nyaki demands reciprocity and Hazel spends much of her time in writing grant applications for school buildings, infrastructure, and bee-keeping expertise.

Learn more about Hazel Chapman's Work

Taking the Pulse of Our Planet’s Forests: ForestGEO Ngel Nyaki

Close