خوسيه باريرو

المدير المساعد لمكتب البحوث والإدارة بأمريكا اللاتينية، في متحف سميثسونيان الوطني للهنود الأميركيين.

خوسيه باريرو هو المدير المساعد لمكتب البحوث والإدارة بأمريكا اللاتينية، في متحف سميثسونيان الوطني للهنود الأميركيين، وهو أحد أعضاء أمة تاينو بجزر الأنتيل، حيث يعد شخصية رائدة في الصحافة ودور النشر المعنية بالأمريكيين الأصليين. وقد شارك، رُفقة الدكتور جون موهاوك، في تحرير مجلة نيتف القومية، ملاحظات أكويساسن، 1975-1984. وفي عام 1984، شارك في تأسيس اتحاد الصحفيين الأمريكيين الأصليين. وعمل في جامعة كورنيل منذ عام 1984 حتى 2002 في منصب المدير المساعد ورئيس تحرير مجلة "أكوي:كون بريس" وصحفيًا في مجلة الأمريكيين الأصليين. وقد طوّر برنامجه في أكوي:كون شبكات الاتصالات والتنمية المجتمعية بين السكان الأصليين في الأمريكتين. من بين المنشورات الهامة للدكتور باريرو في جامعة كورنيل: الجذور الهندية للديمقراطية الأمريكية (1988)؛ البذور الهندية للأمريكتين: هدية للعالم (1989)؛ اقتصاد السكان الأصليين: نحو نظام عالمي طبيعي (1990)، نظرة من الشاطئ: وجهات نظر الهنود الأمريكيين بشأن الذكرى السنوية رقم 500 لكولومبوس (1990)، شياباس: تاريخ التحدي (1994).

وفي الوقت الحالي، يُدير الدكتور باريرو في المتحف الوطني للهنود الأمريكيين، إلى جانب أعمال أخرى، مشروع موروثات السكان الأصليين في منطقة الكاريبي، الذي يُعنى بإجراء أبحاث وأنشطة تمثيلية مع مجتمعات السكان الأصليين في منطقة البحر الكاريبي والعلماء وصانعي السياسات. وفي عام 2015، دشّن معرض وكتاب المتحف الوطني للهنود الأمريكيين الرائع تحت عنوان "طريق إنكا العظيم: إقامة إمبراطورية"، (مجلة مؤسسة سميثسونيان). ومن بين مقالات خوسيه باريرو الأخرى حول موضوعات الهنود الأمريكيين: "تاينو" (2012، الرواية); "التفكير بالهندية: أحد قرّاء جون موهاوك" (2011)، "أمريكا بلد هندي" (2006)، "بانشيتو: زعيم قبائل الجبل" (2001)، و في سلسلة الأمريكيين الأصليين بمجلة أكوي: كون صادرة عن جامعة كورنيل (1984-2003). يعود تعاون الدكتور باريرو مع المتحف الوطني للهنود الأمريكيين إلى تسعينيات القرن العشرين وسنوات المتحف الأولى. وفي عام 1994، لدى افتتاح مركز هيي في نيويورك، قام بتحرير الثقافة التعبيرية للأمريكيين الأصليين. وتشمل التصويرات الحالية فيلمًا وثائقيًا لعام 2013 تحت عنوان "قافلة الذاكرة"، عن إعادة إحياء المجتمع وثقافة القبيلة واللاما في مرتفعات الكويتشوا، و "بيت العمّال: أسطورة الانقراض"، (2009) فيديو وثائقي

في عام 2000، ترك باريرو جامعة كورنيل من أجل إعادة تصميم شبكة وسائط نيتف الإعلامية الوطنية، بلد هندي اليوم، التي انضم إليها بصفته رئيس التحرير. وقد طالع موظفو المتحف الوطني للهنود الأمريكيين وغيرهم من المطلعين على تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات أعمدته في العديد من المقالات والافتتاحيات الصحفية. وهو يعمل، إضافة إلى مهام مجتمعية ووطنية أخرى، عضوًا في هيئة تحرير صحيفة كاسيك: وهي مجلة تختص بتاريخ وأنثروبولوجيا الهنود الحمر في منطقة الكاريبي، كما ساهم في إصدار سلسلة كتب "مجتمعات الأمريكيين الأصليين المعاصرة،" صحيفة ألتاميرا. وهو يعمل حاليًا مستشارًا خاصًا لعدة مبادرات قومية ومجتمعية لمجلة نيتف.  

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل خوسيه باريرو

مشروع موروثات السكان الأصليين في منطقة الكاريبي: الاحتفال بثقافة شعب التاينو

إغلاق

José Barreiro

Assistant Director for Research and Director, Office for Latin America, Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian

José Barreiro is Assistant Director for Research and Director, Office for Latin America, Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian. A member of the Taino Nation of the Antilles, Dr. Barreiro is a pioneering figure in Native American journalism and publishing. He co-edited, with Dr. John Mohawk, the national Native journal, Akwesasne Notes, from 1975-1984. In 1984, he co-founded the Native American Journalists Association. At Cornell University from 1984 to 2002, he served as associate director and editor-in-chief of Akwe:kon Press and the journal Native Americas. His program at Akwe:kon developed communications and community development networks among indigenous peoples of the Americas. Dr. Barreiro’s significant publications at Cornell: Indian Roots of American Democracy (1988); Indian Corn of the Americas: Gift to the World (1989); Indigenous Economics: Toward a Natural World Order (1990), View from the Shore: American Indian Perspectives on the Columbus Quincentenary (1990), Chiapas: Challenging History (1994).

Presently at the NMAI, among other work, Dr. Barreiro leads in the Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project (CILP), which conducts research and representational activities with Caribbean indigenous communities, scholars and policy makers. In 2015, he inaugurated the signal NMAI exhibition and book, “The Great Inka Road: Engineering an Empire,” (Smithsonian Institution Press). José Barreiro’s other titles on American Indian topics include: “Taino,” (2012, novel); “Thinking in Indian: A John Mohawk Reader” (2011), “America is Indian Country” (2006), “Panchito: Mountain Cacique” (2001), and; the Cornell University Akwe:kon-Native Americas series (1984-2003). Dr. Barreiro’s association with NMAI dates to the 1980s and the museum’s earliest years. In 1994, on the occasion of the opening of the Heye Center in New York, he edited Native American Expressive Culture. Recent film credits include the 2013 documentary, “Caravan of Memory,” on community revitalization and the culture of the ayllu and the llama in the Quechua highlands, and “La Ranchería: Myth of Extinction,” (2009) video documentary

In 2000, Barreiro left Cornell University to redesign the national Native media network, Indian Country Today, which he joined as Editor in Chief. NMAI staff members and others who read ICT have seen his byline on many journalistic articles and editorials. Among other community and national duties, he serves a member of the editorial board of Kacike: The Journal of Caribbean Amerindian History and Anthropology, and of the book series, “Contemporary Native American Communities,” Altamira Press. He serves as special advisor to several Native nation and community initiatives.  

Learn more about José Barreiro's Work

The Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project: Celebrating Taíno Culture

Close