José Barreiro

Directeur de recherche adjoint et directeur du département de l’Amérique latine au National Museum of the American Indian au Smithsonian

Directeur de recherche adjoint et directeur du département d’Amérique latine au National Museum of the American Indian du Smithsonian, José Barreiro est membre du groupe Taino Nation of the Antilles. Pionnier en matière de journalisme et de publications sur les autochtones, il coédite avec le Dr John Mohawk Akwesasne Notes, journal national des autochtones de 1975 à 1984. En 1984, il participe également à la fondation de la Native American Journalists Association. De 1984 à 2002 à l’Université de Cornell, il est directeur adjoint et rédacteur en chef d’Akwe:kon et du journal Native Americas. Son projet Akwe:kon visait à développer les échanges et les réseaux communautaires parmi les populations amérindiennes. Publications notables du Dr Barreiro à Cornell : Indian Roots of American Democracy (1988) ; Indian Corn of the Americas: Gift to the World (1989) ; Indigenous Economics: Toward a Natural World Order (1990), View from the Shore: American Indian Perspectives on the Columbus Quincentenary (1990), Chiapas: Challenging History (1994).

Membre de la NMAI, le Dr Barreiro dirige — entre autres — le Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project, projet visant à étudier et à représenter les communautés autochtones des Caraïbes grâce à l’appui de chercheurs et de personnalités politiques. En 2015, il inaugure l’exposition NMAI et l’ouvrage « The Great Inka Road: Engineering an Empire » (Smithsonian Institution Press). Parmi les autres titres de José Barreiro sur le thème des Indo-américains, on compte : « Taino » (2012, roman) ; « Thinking in Indian : A John Mohawk Reader » (2011), « America is Indian Country » (2006), « Panchito: Mountain Cacique » (2001) et ; la série Akwe:kon-Native Americas (1984-2003) de l’Université de Cornell. L’association du Dr Barreiro avec la NMAI remonte aux années 80, du temps de la création du musée. En 1994, à l’inauguration du centre Heye à New York, il publie l’ouvrage Native American Expressive Culture. Parmi ses récents crédits cinématographiques figurent le documentaire « Caravan of Memory » de 2013 sur la résurgence de la culture ayllue et les lamas dans les hauts plateaux des Quechuas et le documentaire vidéo « La Ranchería: Myth of Extinction » (2009).

En 2000, Barreiro quitte l’Université de Cornell et procède à un remaniement du journal national des autochtones, Indian Country Today, dont il devient rédacteur en chef. Les membres de l’équipe de la NMAI et les lecteurs de l’ ICT auront eu l’occasion de voir sa signature dans de nombreux articles et éditoriaux. Ses engagements sont multiples, et il contribue également à la rédaction du journal Kacike: The Journal of Caribbean Amerindian History and Anthropology, et de la série d’ouvrages, « Contemporary Native American Communities », publiée chez Altamira Press. José Barreiro est également conseiller spécial dans le cadre de programmes d’aide aux populations indigènes.  

En savoir plus sur le travail de José Barreiro

Le Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project : Promouvoir la culture Taïno

Fermer

José Barreiro

Assistant Director for Research and Director, Office for Latin America, Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian

José Barreiro is Assistant Director for Research and Director, Office for Latin America, Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian. A member of the Taino Nation of the Antilles, Dr. Barreiro is a pioneering figure in Native American journalism and publishing. He co-edited, with Dr. John Mohawk, the national Native journal, Akwesasne Notes, from 1975-1984. In 1984, he co-founded the Native American Journalists Association. At Cornell University from 1984 to 2002, he served as associate director and editor-in-chief of Akwe:kon Press and the journal Native Americas. His program at Akwe:kon developed communications and community development networks among indigenous peoples of the Americas. Dr. Barreiro’s significant publications at Cornell: Indian Roots of American Democracy (1988); Indian Corn of the Americas: Gift to the World (1989); Indigenous Economics: Toward a Natural World Order (1990), View from the Shore: American Indian Perspectives on the Columbus Quincentenary (1990), Chiapas: Challenging History (1994).

Presently at the NMAI, among other work, Dr. Barreiro leads in the Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project (CILP), which conducts research and representational activities with Caribbean indigenous communities, scholars and policy makers. In 2015, he inaugurated the signal NMAI exhibition and book, “The Great Inka Road: Engineering an Empire,” (Smithsonian Institution Press). José Barreiro’s other titles on American Indian topics include: “Taino,” (2012, novel); “Thinking in Indian: A John Mohawk Reader” (2011), “America is Indian Country” (2006), “Panchito: Mountain Cacique” (2001), and; the Cornell University Akwe:kon-Native Americas series (1984-2003). Dr. Barreiro’s association with NMAI dates to the 1980s and the museum’s earliest years. In 1994, on the occasion of the opening of the Heye Center in New York, he edited Native American Expressive Culture. Recent film credits include the 2013 documentary, “Caravan of Memory,” on community revitalization and the culture of the ayllu and the llama in the Quechua highlands, and “La Ranchería: Myth of Extinction,” (2009) video documentary

In 2000, Barreiro left Cornell University to redesign the national Native media network, Indian Country Today, which he joined as Editor in Chief. NMAI staff members and others who read ICT have seen his byline on many journalistic articles and editorials. Among other community and national duties, he serves a member of the editorial board of Kacike: The Journal of Caribbean Amerindian History and Anthropology, and of the book series, “Contemporary Native American Communities,” Altamira Press. He serves as special advisor to several Native nation and community initiatives.  

Learn more about José Barreiro's Work

The Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project: Celebrating Taíno Culture

Close