جبل الفيروز

تاريخ البدء: 2016

سرادق ورواق معمّد تم بناؤهما باستخدام خشب أرز الهيمالايا الذي تم نحته بطريقة معقدة. مجموعة من القطع الذهبية وقطع الزمرد المرصعة بقلادة متلألئة. شلات خيوط صوف مصبوغة يدويًا من المقرر استخدامها في نسج بساط. لا تمثل تلك الحرف سوى بعض الحرف التقليدية التي يجدها الزائر في مؤسسة جبل الفيروز: الفنانون يغيرون أفغانستان هو معرض يُعقد في معرض فرير للفنون بمعرض آرثر إم ساكلر التابع لسميثسونيان في الفترة بين مارس 2016 وأكتوبر 2017.

لا يقتصر دور هذه الأعمال التي أبدعها الحرفيون الأفغان الذين تلقوا تدريبهم في معهد جبل الفيروز على الكشف عن تقليد الحرف الثري للبلد فحسب؛ بل إنها تمثل نهضة اقتصادية وثقافية للحرفيين وأسرهم ومجتمعاتهم.

تقع أفغانستان في ملتقى طرق "طريق الحرير" التجارية ولهذا فهي تتميز بتقاليد قديمة تنضوي على مشغولات يدوية مصنوعة ببراعة تمثل مزيجًا من التقاليد الفنية للعديد من الثقافات. غير أن الحروب المتتابعة وحالة عدم الاستقرار التي شهدتها البلاد قد هددت بزوال هذا التراث برمته، حيث أُجبر الحرفيون على الفرار أو التخلي عن حرفهم لمجرد النجاة بحياتهم.

تسعى مؤسسة جبل الفيروز التي تأسست في عام 2006 إلى إحياء تلك التقاليد الحرفية الثرية. وبتحويل مراد خاني الذي يمثل مدينة كابول القديمة إلى مركز تدريب على الفنون معتمد دوليًا تخرج فيه مئات الفنانين، فإن جبل الفيروز ما برح يأخذ خطواتٍ ترمي إلى استعادة أفغانستان لما تفخر به من تقاليد الحِرف، وقد سافر العديد من هؤلاء الحرفيين -بالشراكة مع مؤسسة سميثسونيان والوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية- إلى الولايات المتحدة لشرح حرفتهم ومناقشتها فضلاً عن تعلم مهاراتٍ جديدةٍ وتبادل الأفكار بينهم وبين الحرفيين الأمريكيين والتواصل مع تجار بيع التجزئة في الولايات المتحدة.  

تعرف على المزيد عن هذا المشروع

الحرفيون يصنعون مستقبلًا جديدًا لأفغانستان من خلال الفن

Turquoise Mountain

Related Expertise: Power to Convene
Date Initiated: 2016

A pavilion and arcade built from intricately carved Himalayan cedarwood. A rainfall of gold and emeralds, worked into a shimmering necklace. Skeins of hand-dyed wool, destined for a tapestry. These are just a few of the traditional crafts a visitor encounters at Turquoise Mountain: Artists Transforming Afghanistan, an exhibition at the Smithsonian’s Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, from March 2016 to October 2017.

Created by Afghan artisans trained at the Turquoise Mountain Institute, these works demonstrate not only the country’s rich tradition of craftsmanship, but they also represent an economic and cultural renaissance for the artisans, their families, and their community.

Sitting at the confluence of Silk Road trade routes, Afghanistan has ancient traditions of finely wrought handcrafts that mingle artistic traditions from many cultures. But successive wars and instability in the country threatened to wipe out that heritage altogether as artisans were compelled to flee or forsake their craft merely to survive.

Founded in 2006, Turquoise Mountain seeks to revive those rich traditions of craft. By transforming Murad Khani, the Old City of Kabul, into an internationally accredited arts training center that has graduated hundreds of artisans, Turquoise Mountain is taking steps to restore Afghanistan’s proud tradition of craftsmanship. And in partnership with the Smithsonian and the U.S. Agency for International Development, several of these artisans traveled to the United States to demonstrate and discuss their craft, as well as to learn new skills, exchange ideas with American artisans, and connect with U.S. retailers.  

Learn more about this Project

Artisans Fashion a New Future for Afghanistan, Through Art