绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain)

相关专长: 号召力
启动日期: 2016

由精雕细刻的喜马拉雅雪松建造的亭子和拱廊。 黄金和翡翠纷纷洒落,制作成闪闪发光的项链。 用来制作挂毯的手工染色羊毛团。 这些只是游客在绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 遇到的部分传统工艺: 艺术家改变阿富汗,一场由史密森尼的弗利尔美术馆和亚瑟 M. 萨克勒美术馆 (Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery) 举办的展览,从 2016 年 3 月持续到 2017 年 10 月。

这些作品是由在绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 学院接受培训的阿富汗工匠创作的,不仅展示了该国丰富的手工艺术传统,而且还为工匠、他们的家庭和社区带来了经济文化的复兴。

阿富汗地处丝绸之路贸易路线的交汇处,有着古老的精细手工艺术传统,融合了许多文化的艺术传统。 但随着这个国家的战火连绵和动荡不安,工匠们被迫流离失所,或仅仅为了生存而放弃工艺,这些遗产几乎被彻底毁灭。

绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 成立于 2006 年,旨在复兴这些丰富的工艺传统。 通过将喀布尔老城穆拉德哈尼改造为国际公认的艺术培训中心,培养数百名工匠,绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 正在采取措施,恢复阿富汗骄傲的手工艺传统。 并且,在与史密森尼和美国国际开发署的合作下,其中一些工匠来到美国展示和讨论他们的工艺,并学习全新的技能,与美国工匠交流想法,并和美国零售商往来。  

请深入了解此项目

工匠们用艺术创造阿富汗的崭新未来

Turquoise Mountain

Related Expertise: Power to Convene
Date Initiated: 2016

A pavilion and arcade built from intricately carved Himalayan cedarwood. A rainfall of gold and emeralds, worked into a shimmering necklace. Skeins of hand-dyed wool, destined for a tapestry. These are just a few of the traditional crafts a visitor encounters at Turquoise Mountain: Artists Transforming Afghanistan, an exhibition at the Smithsonian’s Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, from March 2016 to October 2017.

Created by Afghan artisans trained at the Turquoise Mountain Institute, these works demonstrate not only the country’s rich tradition of craftsmanship, but they also represent an economic and cultural renaissance for the artisans, their families, and their community.

Sitting at the confluence of Silk Road trade routes, Afghanistan has ancient traditions of finely wrought handcrafts that mingle artistic traditions from many cultures. But successive wars and instability in the country threatened to wipe out that heritage altogether as artisans were compelled to flee or forsake their craft merely to survive.

Founded in 2006, Turquoise Mountain seeks to revive those rich traditions of craft. By transforming Murad Khani, the Old City of Kabul, into an internationally accredited arts training center that has graduated hundreds of artisans, Turquoise Mountain is taking steps to restore Afghanistan’s proud tradition of craftsmanship. And in partnership with the Smithsonian and the U.S. Agency for International Development, several of these artisans traveled to the United States to demonstrate and discuss their craft, as well as to learn new skills, exchange ideas with American artisans, and connect with U.S. retailers.  

Learn more about this Project

Artisans Fashion a New Future for Afghanistan, Through Art