2016 年春天,赛义德•埃特巴里 (Saeeda Etebari) 来到了华盛顿特区,这是她第一次访问美国。 从阿富汗出发的整个旅程漫长而令人疲惫,但其中并没有遭遇真正的困难。 可是,在她很小的时候,肯定是已经尝过了苦难:她出生在巴基斯坦的一个难民营,一周大还是婴儿的时候,就患上了脑膜炎,直到两岁左右才学会走路。

赛义德还由于小时候生病失聪。 但是,四月份的一天,当她在史密森尼国际画廊 (International Gallery) ,即使静止不动地站着,也丝毫不曾减弱她身上散发的对生活的无限乐趣和好奇。 她是来这里讲自己为绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 打造的珠宝首饰: 阿富汗的艺术与改变,这场展览是要展示她以及 18 位阿富汗工匠的作品,他们毕业于喀布尔一所特殊的职业学校绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 学院。

雪松木建筑
展览上的几乎所有展品都可以触摸,包括喜马拉雅的雪松木建筑。 照片来源: 弗利尔|萨克勒 (Freer|Sackler) 的尼尔•格林特里 (Neil Greentree) 。

通过手语翻译,赛义德说,她的社区里有些人最初怀疑绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 所教的东西,但在哥哥的鼓励下,赛义德坚持进行了研究。 现在她被认为是阿富汗的后起之秀,毕业后成立了自己的女子艺术团体。

“当绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 开始越来越受欢迎,人们开始欣赏他们的工作,”赛义德说。 “我开始对与绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 合作感到自豪,而不是害怕,我很高兴能够了解这个行业。 他们真的对这个城市产生了影响。”

应阿富汗时任总统哈米德·卡尔扎伊 (Hamid Karzai) 和威尔斯王子殿下 (HRH The Prince of Wales) 的要求,绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 成立于 2006 年,被认为可以帮助恢复和复兴喀布尔历史文化中心,即穆拉德哈尼历史名区,这里是老城区的一部分,曾数十年掩埋在无数堆积的废墟之下。 今天,穆拉德哈尼是绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 及其艺术培训学院所在地,这里还有一所小学和社区卫生诊所。 除了少数非阿富汗工人外,绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 由阿富汗人管理并为其服务。

与此同时,赛义德与其他从喀布尔全年前往史密森尼的工匠一起,帮助游客体验了真真切切的阿富汗。 展览上的游客有机会直接与手工艺人进行互动,这些手工艺人的工作对于恢复数十年战争之后,已经快要被淹没的传统至关重要。

艺术家和展览上的游客交谈。
艺术家苏格哈拉•胡塞尼 (Sughra Hussainy) 和展览上的游客交谈。 照片来源: 弗利尔|萨克勒 (Freer|Sackler) 的尼尔•格林特里 (Neil Greentree) 。

这些工匠的作品是如今阿富汗最精湛的作品,被展示在国际画廊的某个临时的传统阿富汗商队旅馆中:精美的手工雕刻贾利格子作品;精致细腻的书法微缩作品;不同制作阶段的各种陶器;正用天然材料染色当地羊毛编织地毯的手工织机。 阿富汗传统手工艺者所用工具和装饰的美与从业者为保留其传统而面临的不幸很不相称。

与其他有兴趣向全世界推广这些手工艺品的人士建立合作伙伴关系,可以确保工匠及其作品的未来,并反过来支持阿富汗境内他们周围的社区。

“阿富汗工匠访问美国,与设计师和零售商见面是一次振奋人心的机会,”弗利尔|萨克勒 (Freer|Sackler) 主要策展人兼绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain) 展览总监汤米•维德 (Thomas Wide) 表示。 “这种见面可以促进销售,而销售又可以带来工作。  我们已经看到,这次展览是如何鼓励国际设计师访问喀布尔,并同那里的工匠合作的。”

周末,展览上举办阿富汗音乐、诗歌的展示活动以及相关探讨活动
周末,展览上举办阿富汗音乐、诗歌的展示活动以及相关探讨活动。 照片来源: 弗利尔|萨克勒 (Freer|Sackler) 的尼尔•格林特里 (Neil Greentree) 。

弗利尔|萨克勒 (Freer|Sackler) 主管谢里尔•索巴斯 (Cheryl Sobas) 表示:“它讲述了阿富汗重新获得其在艺术传统上的重要历史地位的故事。 “人们看到了远比纸上丰富的阿富汗,在那里呈现了历史,而且是非常自豪而重要的历史。”

去年,赛义德开始与英国珠宝设计师皮帕•斯莫尔 (Pippa Small) 合作,为伦敦和洛杉矶的斯莫尔精品店打造戒指、手镯、项链和耳环。 两个人一起与其他当地商人合作,采购项目所需的材料。 维德说,赛义德在美国访问期间还与纽约珠宝设计师沙龙·哈扎姆 (Sharon Khazzam) 见了面。 学院的其他一些毕业生也与国际设计师建立了合作伙伴关系,该项目的目标之一就是为更多的咨询提供平台。

“在实践中,将工匠带到这里是个很大的障碍,”亚瑟 M. 萨克勒美术馆和弗利尔美术馆 (Arthur M. Sackler Gallery and the Freer Gallery of Art) 的吉利安•萨克勒女爵士 (Dame Jillian Sackler) 主任朱利安•雷比 (Julian Raby) 说。 “只是[展览]文字和视频似乎不够。 但是,如果这是让我们为自己的偏见几乎感到震惊,意识到有人能够在极其艰难的环境下,仍然制作着自己的日常用品,那么与这些工匠见面就变得非常重要。”

艺术家正在展览上制作陶罐。
阿卜杜勒•马丁•马雷克扎达 (Abdul Matin Malekzada) 正在展览上制作陶罐。 照片来源: 弗利尔|萨克勒 (Freer|Sackler) 的尼尔•格林特里 (Neil Greentree) 。

史密森研究员兼美国大学国际发展专业毕业生比拉尔•阿斯卡里亚 (Bilal Askaryar),是安排这些工匠访问史密森尼以及其他感兴趣的地方,开展业务往来的核心人物。 阿斯卡里亚表示,无一例外的是,每位工匠还想尽可能地看看其艺术形式的例子,因为最初来自阿富汗的太多东西都丢失了。

阿斯卡里亚安排苏格哈拉•胡塞尼 (Sughra Hussainy) ,一位书法家,也是首个到达的工匠,在弗利尔|萨克勒 (Freer|Sackler) 的藏品中翻看 16 世纪的波斯细密画。 他说,她在喀布尔家里的书上只看到过黑白复制品。

阿斯卡里亚说:“很多时候,当在博物馆看到这些东西时,普通的游客根本就不了解这些艺术背后的历史和文化。 “苏格哈拉真的是与这些作品有共鸣。 她说,现在看到这些作品,我对自己的艺术有更多的想法了。”

艺术家正在展览上工作。
苏格哈拉•胡塞尼 (Sughra Hussainy) 在展览上工作。 照片来源: 弗利尔|萨克勒 (Freer|Sackler) 的尼尔•格林特里 (Neil Greentree) 。

对于她,赛义德坚持要把另外一个东西带回阿富汗:她在这里经历的故事。

“我的家人告诉我一些好笑的事情,”赛义德说。 “他们说,不要摘掉头巾,也不要像美国人一样甩头发! 但是来到这里,我发现,这里很和平,而且不像有些人说的那样危险。 我想告诉他们,我在美国的许多所见所闻,我很高兴告诉他们。” 

请深入了解我们: 绿松石山 (Turquoise Mountain)
关闭

When Saeeda Etebari arrived in Washington, D.C. in the spring of 2016, it was her first visit to the United States. The journey from Afghanistan had been long and tiring, but presented no true hardship. That had come, earlier in her life, in spades: born in a refugee camp in Pakistan, she suffered through meningeal encephalitis as a week-old baby and could not walk until toddlerhood.

Saeeda’s early illness also rendered her deaf. But it has not diminished the joy and curiosity for life she exudes even while standing in complete stillness, as she did one April day in the Smithsonian’s International Gallery. She’d come to talk about jewelry—pieces she’d created for Turquoise Mountain: Art and Transformation in Afghanistan, an exhibit to showcase her work and that of a group of 18 Afghan artisans, graduates of a unique vocational school in Kabul, the Turquoise Mountain Institute.

Cedarwood architectural woodwork
Almost everything in the exhibition can be touched, including the Himalayan cedarwood architectural woodwork. Photo Credit: Neil Greentree at Freer|Sackler.

Speaking through a sign language interpreter, Saeeda said some within her community were initially skeptical of what Turquoise Mountain had to offer, but Saeeda persisted, investigating with the encouragement of her brother. Now considered one of Afghanistan’s rising stars, she founded a women’s arts collective of her own after graduating.

“Once Turquoise Mountain started to grow in popularity, people started to appreciate what they are doing,” Saeeda said. “Then I began to be really proud of working with Turquoise Mountain instead of being afraid, and I’m glad I was able to learn this trade. They’ve really made an impact in the city.”

Founded in 2006 at the request of Afghanistan’s then-president Hamid Karzai and HRH The Prince of Wales, Turquoise Mountain was conceived of as a way to help restore and revive a historic cultural center in Kabul, Murad Khani, an area of the Old City, which had been buried over several decades beneath tons of accumulated debris. Today, Murad Khani is home to Turquoise Mountain and its arts training institute, as well as a primary school and community health clinic. With the exception of a handful of non-Afghan workers, Turquoise Mountain is run by and for Afghans.

In part, Saeeda’s presence—along with other artisans who traveled to the Smithsonian throughout the year from Kabul—helped visitors experience a living, breathing part of Afghanistan. Visitors to the exhibition had the opportunity to interact directly with craft workers whose practices are key to reviving traditions that had been in danger of vanishing after decades of war.

Artist talks with visitors to the exhibition.
Artist Sughra Hussainy talks with visitors to the exhibition. Photo Credit: Neil Greentree at Freer|Sackler.

These artisans’ work, among the most skillful in Afghanistan today, was displayed in a temporary, traditional Afghan caravanserai in the International Gallery: delicate, hand-carved jali latticework; meticulously detailed calligraphic miniatures; an array of pottery in various stages of completion; a hand-made loom upon which carpets are woven from local wool dyed with natural materials. The beauty of the tools and trappings of Afghanistan’s traditional crafters belie the adversity its practitioners have faced simply to keep their tradition alive.

Building partnerships with others interested in marketing these crafts to the world ensures a future for the artisans and their works, and also feeds back into supporting the communities around them in Afghanistan.

“The chance for Afghan artisans to visit the U.S. and meet with designers and retailers is an exciting one,” said Thomas Wide, lead curator of the Freer|Sackler exhibit and director of exhibitions for Turquoise Mountain. “Such meetings can lead to sales, and sales can lead to jobs.  We’ve already seen how the exhibition has encouraged international designers to visit Kabul and work with artisans there.”

On weekends, the exhibition hosts Afghan music, poetry, and discussions
On weekends, the exhibition hosts Afghan music, poetry, and discussions. Photo Credit: Neil Greentree at Freer|Sackler.

“It tells a story of Afghanistan regaining that important standing it historically had in artistic traditions,” said Cheryl Sobas, head of exhibitions at the Freer|Sackler. “People are seeing that there is more to Afghanistan than what they read in the paper and that there is a history there, a very proud and important one.”

Last year, Saeeda began working with British jewelry designer Pippa Small to create rings, bracelets, necklaces and earrings for Small’s boutiques in London and Los Angeles. Together, the two worked with other local merchants to source the materials they’d need for the projects. Saeeda’s visit to the United States resulted in a meeting with New York jewelry designer Sharon Khazzam, Wide said. There have been other partnerships between some of the artisan graduates of the institute and international designers, and one of the goals of the project was to provide a platform for even more inquiries.

“In practical terms, it was a huge hurdle to bring the artisans here,” said Julian Raby, the Dame Jillian Sackler Director of the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery and the Freer Gallery of Art. “It didn’t seem enough just to have text and videos [for the exhibition.] But if this is about having us almost shocked by our own prejudices, and realizing that there are people making things of their lives under very difficult circumstances, meeting the artisans became really important.”

Artist making pots in the exhibition.
Abdul Matin Malekzada making pots in the exhibition. Photo Credit: Neil Greentree at Freer|Sackler.

Bilal Askaryar, a Smithsonian fellow and graduate student in international development at American University, was central in arranging the artisans’ visits not only to the Smithsonian, but also to other points of interest to make business connections. But without exception, every artisan, Askaryar said, also wanted to see examples of their art form whenever possible, since so much of what originated in Afghanistan was lost.

Askaryar arranged for Sughra Hussainy, a calligrapher who was the first artisan to arrive, to browse 16th century Persian miniatures in the Freer|Sackler’s storage collections. He said she’d only ever seen black-and-white reproductions in books at home in Kabul.

“In a lot of ways, when they see them here in a museum, the average visitor has no idea of the history and culture behind these arts,” Askaryar said. “Sughra really connected with it. She said, now that I’ve seen these works, I have so many more ideas for my own art.”

Artist at work in the exhibition.
Sughra Hussainy at work in the exhibition. Photo Credit: Neil Greentree at Freer|Sackler.

For her part, Saeeda was insistent on one other thing she was eager to bring back with her to Afghanistan: stories of her experiences here.

“My family told me something that made me laugh,” Saeeda said. “They said, don’t take off your head scarf and flip your hair like they do in America! But coming here I realized it’s peaceful and not dangerous the way some people talk about it being here. I have so much to tell them about what I saw in America, and I’m so excited to tell them.” 

Learn more about: Turquoise Mountain
Meet our people: Tommy Wide, Julian Raby
Close