كانت المرة الأولى التي زارت فيها سعيدة إتيباري الولايات المتحدة حين لامست قدماها تراب واشنطن العاصمة في ربيع عام 2016. وكانت الرحلة من أفغانستان طويلة ومرهقة غير أنها لم تشكل لها معاناة حقيقية؛ فقد التقت -منذ نعومة أظفارها- وجهًا لوجه مع تلك المعاناة إذ كان مولدها في مخيم للاجئين في باكستان أُصيبت فيه بمرض التهاب السحايا الدماغية في الأسبوع الأول بعد مولدها ولم تستطع المشي حتى بلغت سن الدرج.

وقد أدى ذلك المرض الذي داهمها في سن صغيرة إلى إصابتها بالصمم أيضًا، غير أن تلك المعاناة لم تنجح في إضعاف ما يبدو على محياها من سعادة وشغف بالحياة حتى عندما لا تحرك ساكنًا، وقد برز ذلك جليًا في أحد أيام شهر أبريل في معرض سميثسونيان الدولي، فقد جاءت للحديث عن الحلي -وبالتحديد عن قطع من الحلي صاغتها بيديها من أجل معرض الفن والتحول في أفغانستان التابع لمؤسسة جبل الفيروز، وهو معرض تعرض فيه أعمالها وأعمال مجموعة مؤلّفة من 18 حرفيًا أفغانيًا تخرجوا في مدرسة مهنية مميزة في كابول تابعة لمعهد جبل الفيروز.

المشغولات المعمارية المصنوعة من خشب الأرز
يُسمح بلمس أغلب المشغولات الفنية في المعرض بما في ذلك المشغولات المعمارية المصنوعة من خشب أرز الهيمالايا. تصوير: نيل غرينتري في معرض فرير وساكلر.

كانت سعيدة تتحدث من خلال مترجم بلغة الإشارة وقالت إنه كانت هناك شكوك لدى البعض في مجتمعها بشأن ما تقدمه مؤسسة جبل الفيروز، غير أن سعيدة ثابرت، مُستكشفةً ما في جعبة المؤسسة بتشجيع من أخيها. تعتبر سعيدة في الفترة الحالية إحدى النجمات الصاعدات في أفغانستان، وقد أسست بنفسها مجموعة فنية للفنانات بعد تخرجها.

في إطار ذلك قالت سعيدة "بعد أن بدأت شعبية مؤسسة جبل الفيروز في التنامي، بدأ الناس يقدرون ما تفعله تلك المؤسسة". واستطردت قائلة "بدأت بعد ذلك أشعر بفخر حقيقي للعمل مع مؤسسة جبل الفيروز بدلًا من الشعور بالخوف إزاء ذلك، كما أنني مسرورة لأنني تمكنت من تعلم هذه الحرفة". لقد أحدثت هذه المؤسسة تأثيرًا بحق في المدينة".

تأسست مؤسسة جبل الفيروز في عام 2006 بطلب من حميد كارزاي -رئيس أفغانستان آنذاك- وصاحب السمو أمير ويلز، وقد اعتُبِرت هذه المؤسسة سبيلاً للمساعدة في ترميم وإحياء مركز ثقافي تاريخي في مراد خاني بكابول وهي منطقة في المدينة القديمة دُفنت تحت أطنان من الأنقاض لعقود عديدة. هذا وتعد منطقة مراد خاني في الفترة الحالية موطنًا لمؤسسة جبل الفيروز ومعهد التدريب على الفنون التابع لها بالإضافة إلى مدرسة ابتدائية وعيادة صحية مجتمعية. يدير مؤسسة جبل الفيروز أفانيون لصالح السكان الأصليين، باستثناء عدد قليل من العمال غير الأفغان.

هذا وقد ساعد وجود سعيدة بصورة جزئية -جنبًا إلى جنب مع الحرفيين الآخرين الذين سافروا من كابول إلى سميثسونيان خلال العام- الزوار على تجربة جانب مفعم بالحياة من أفغانستان. وقد نعم زوار المعرض بفرصة التفاعل المباشر مع حرفيين تشكل أعمالهم أساسًا لإحياء التقاليد التي لطالما واجهت خطر الزوال بعد عقود من الحرب.

فنانة تتحدث إلى زائري المعرض.
الفنانة صغرا حسيني تتحدث إلى زائري المعرض. تصوير: نيل غرينتري في معرض فرير وساكلر.

عُرضت أعمال الحرفيين المذكورة -التي تعد من بين أكثر الأعمال مهارةً في أفغانستان في الفترة الحالية- في نُزُل أفغاني تقليدي مؤقت في المعرض الدولي: الجالي المتشابكة الرقيقة المنحوتة بيد ماهرة؛ المنمنمات الخطية ذات التفاصيل بالغة الدقة؛ مجموعة من الأوعية الفخارية في مراحل مختلفة من مراحل التنفيذ؛ نول يدوي الصنع مغزول عليه سجاد مصنوع من الصوف المحلي المصبوغ بمواد طبيعية. يُناقض جمال الأدوات والزخارف التي يُبدعها الحرفيون التقليديون في أفغانستان المحن التي واجهها ممارسو هذه المهن لمجرد الحفاظ على بقاء تقليدهم.

يضمن بناء علاقات مع الأشخاص الآخرين المهتمين بتسويق تلك الحرف للعالم بناء مستقبل لهؤلاء الحرفيين وأعمالهم، كما أنه يعود بالنفع على دعم المجتمعات المحيطة بهم في أفغانستان.

في ضوء ذلك قال توماس وايد، الأمين الرئيسي لمعرض فرير وساكلر ومدير المعارض التابعة لمؤسسة جبل الفيروز: "تعد إتاحة الفرصة أمام الحرفيين الأفغان لزيارة الولايات المتحدة والتقاء مصممين وتجار تجزئة أمرًا مثيرًا". وأضاف قائلًا "يمكن أن تساعد هذه اللقاءات في تحقيق مبيعات والمبيعات بدورها في خلق فرص عمل".  ثم استطرد قائلًا "لقد رأينا بالفعل كيف شجع المعرض المصممين الدوليين على زيارة كابول والعمل مع حرفيين هناك".

يستضيف المعرض في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع الموسيقيين والشعراء الأفغان وتُعقد فيه المناقشات
يستضيف المعرض في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع الموسيقيين والشعراء الأفغان وتُعقد فيه المناقشات. تصوير: نيل غرينتري في معرض فرير وساكلر.

وفي الإطار ذاته قالت شيريل سوباس، رئيسة المعارض في معرض فرير وساكلر "إنه يروي قصة استعادة أفغانستان موقعها المهم الذي كانت تحتله في السابق في ميدان الموروثات الفنية". واستطردت قائلةً "يرى الناس أن لأفغانستان أهمية أكبر مما نطالعه في الصحف وأنها تحفل بتاريخ مهم يبعث على الشعور بالفخر".

بدأت سعيدة في العام الماضي العمل مع مصممة الحلي البريطانية بيبا سمال لصنع خواتم وأساور وقلادات وأقراط من أجل عرضها في متجر بيبا في لندن ولوس أنجلوس. ولقد عملتا سويًا مع تجار محليين آخرين للحصول على المواد التي تلزمهما في المشروعات. وقد قال وايد إنّ زيارة سعيدة إلى الولايات المتحدة أثمرت عن التقائها بشارون خزّام، مصممة الحلي في نيويورك. وقد عُقدت شراكات أخرى بين بعض الحرفيين المتخرجين في المعهد ومصممين دوليين، وتمثل أحد أهداف المشروع في توفير منصة لمزيد من الاستفسارات.

في إطار ذلك، قال جوليان رابي مدير قسم ديم جيليان ساكلر بمعرض آرثر إم ساكلر ومعرض فرير للفنون "لقد كان إحضار الحرفيين إلى هنا عقبة كبيرة من الناحية العملية". ثم أضاف قائلًا "لم يكن من الكافي فيما بدا لنا مجرد كتابة نص وإصدار مقاطع فيديو [عن المعرض]". ولكن إذا كان الأمر يتعلق بشعورنا بدرجة من الصدمة إزاء أحكامنا المسبقة وإدراك وجود أشخاص يستفيدون من حياتهم في أحلك الظروف، فإن مقابلة هؤلاء الحرفيين بات أمرًا مهمًا حقًا.

فنان يصنع الأوعية في المعرض.
عبد المتين مالكزادا وهو يصنع الأوعية في المعرض. تصوير: نيل غرينتري في معرض فرير وساكلر.

بلال أسكريار هو زميل لمؤسسة سميثسونيان وخريج برنامج التنمية الدولية في الجامعة الأمريكية، وقد أدى دورًا محوريًا في ترتيب زيارات الحرفيين ليس إلى مؤسسة سميثسونيان فحسب؛ بل وإلى النقاط المهمة أيضًا لإقامة علاقات تجارية. وقال أسكريار إنّ كل حرفي -دون استثناء- رغب أيضًا في رؤية أمثلة على نموذجه الفني كلما أمكن ذلك، إذ فُقِدت فنون ناشئة كثيرة في أفغانستان".

هذا وقد رتب أسكريار لصغرا حسيني، وهي خطاطة كانت أول الحرفيين وصولًا، مشاهدة منمنمات فارسية ترجع إلى القرن السادس عشر ضمن المجموعات الموجودة في مخزن معرض فرير وساكلر. وقال إنها لم ترَ في حياتها سوى نسخًا بالأبيض والأسود في الكتب في وطنها بكابول.

قال أسكريار "بطريقة أو بأخرى، عندما يرى الزائر العادي تلك الفنون هنا في أحد المتاحف، فلن تكون لديه أدنى فكرة عن التاريخ والثقافة التي خلفتها". "وقد ارتبطت صغرا بتلك الفنون بالفعل، إذ تقول بعد أن اطلعت على تلك الأعمال، ظهرت الكثير والكثير من الأفكار التي يمكنني أن أضيفها إلى أعمالي".

فنان يؤدي عمله في المعرض.
صغرا حسيني تؤدي عملها في المعرض. تصوير: نيل غرينتري في معرض فرير وساكلر.

لقد كانت سعيدة مصرّة من جانبها على شيء واحد آخر وكانت متحمسة لإحضاره معها إلى أفغانستان ألا وهو: قصص بشأن تجربتها هنا.

قالت سعيدة "أخبرتني عائلتي بشيء حملني على الضحك" "لقد قالوا لي لا تنزعي حجابك عنكِ ولا تحركي شعرك مثلما يفعلون في أمريكا!، غير أنني بعدما قدمت إلى هنا، لاحظت أن طريقة تحدث بعض الناس عن الإقامة هنا مُسالمة وغير خطرة. كما أن ثمة الكثير لأخبرهم به بشأن ما رأيته في أمريكا، أنا متحمسة لإخبارهم به للغاية". 

تعرّف على المزيد عن: جبل الفيروز
مقابلة موظفينا: تومي وايد، جوليان رابي
إغلاق

When Saeeda Etebari arrived in Washington, D.C. in the spring of 2016, it was her first visit to the United States. The journey from Afghanistan had been long and tiring, but presented no true hardship. That had come, earlier in her life, in spades: born in a refugee camp in Pakistan, she suffered through meningeal encephalitis as a week-old baby and could not walk until toddlerhood.

Saeeda’s early illness also rendered her deaf. But it has not diminished the joy and curiosity for life she exudes even while standing in complete stillness, as she did one April day in the Smithsonian’s International Gallery. She’d come to talk about jewelry—pieces she’d created for Turquoise Mountain: Art and Transformation in Afghanistan, an exhibit to showcase her work and that of a group of 18 Afghan artisans, graduates of a unique vocational school in Kabul, the Turquoise Mountain Institute.

Cedarwood architectural woodwork
Almost everything in the exhibition can be touched, including the Himalayan cedarwood architectural woodwork. Photo Credit: Neil Greentree at Freer|Sackler.

Speaking through a sign language interpreter, Saeeda said some within her community were initially skeptical of what Turquoise Mountain had to offer, but Saeeda persisted, investigating with the encouragement of her brother. Now considered one of Afghanistan’s rising stars, she founded a women’s arts collective of her own after graduating.

“Once Turquoise Mountain started to grow in popularity, people started to appreciate what they are doing,” Saeeda said. “Then I began to be really proud of working with Turquoise Mountain instead of being afraid, and I’m glad I was able to learn this trade. They’ve really made an impact in the city.”

Founded in 2006 at the request of Afghanistan’s then-president Hamid Karzai and HRH The Prince of Wales, Turquoise Mountain was conceived of as a way to help restore and revive a historic cultural center in Kabul, Murad Khani, an area of the Old City, which had been buried over several decades beneath tons of accumulated debris. Today, Murad Khani is home to Turquoise Mountain and its arts training institute, as well as a primary school and community health clinic. With the exception of a handful of non-Afghan workers, Turquoise Mountain is run by and for Afghans.

In part, Saeeda’s presence—along with other artisans who traveled to the Smithsonian throughout the year from Kabul—helped visitors experience a living, breathing part of Afghanistan. Visitors to the exhibition had the opportunity to interact directly with craft workers whose practices are key to reviving traditions that had been in danger of vanishing after decades of war.

Artist talks with visitors to the exhibition.
Artist Sughra Hussainy talks with visitors to the exhibition. Photo Credit: Neil Greentree at Freer|Sackler.

These artisans’ work, among the most skillful in Afghanistan today, was displayed in a temporary, traditional Afghan caravanserai in the International Gallery: delicate, hand-carved jali latticework; meticulously detailed calligraphic miniatures; an array of pottery in various stages of completion; a hand-made loom upon which carpets are woven from local wool dyed with natural materials. The beauty of the tools and trappings of Afghanistan’s traditional crafters belie the adversity its practitioners have faced simply to keep their tradition alive.

Building partnerships with others interested in marketing these crafts to the world ensures a future for the artisans and their works, and also feeds back into supporting the communities around them in Afghanistan.

“The chance for Afghan artisans to visit the U.S. and meet with designers and retailers is an exciting one,” said Thomas Wide, lead curator of the Freer|Sackler exhibit and director of exhibitions for Turquoise Mountain. “Such meetings can lead to sales, and sales can lead to jobs.  We’ve already seen how the exhibition has encouraged international designers to visit Kabul and work with artisans there.”

On weekends, the exhibition hosts Afghan music, poetry, and discussions
On weekends, the exhibition hosts Afghan music, poetry, and discussions. Photo Credit: Neil Greentree at Freer|Sackler.

“It tells a story of Afghanistan regaining that important standing it historically had in artistic traditions,” said Cheryl Sobas, head of exhibitions at the Freer|Sackler. “People are seeing that there is more to Afghanistan than what they read in the paper and that there is a history there, a very proud and important one.”

Last year, Saeeda began working with British jewelry designer Pippa Small to create rings, bracelets, necklaces and earrings for Small’s boutiques in London and Los Angeles. Together, the two worked with other local merchants to source the materials they’d need for the projects. Saeeda’s visit to the United States resulted in a meeting with New York jewelry designer Sharon Khazzam, Wide said. There have been other partnerships between some of the artisan graduates of the institute and international designers, and one of the goals of the project was to provide a platform for even more inquiries.

“In practical terms, it was a huge hurdle to bring the artisans here,” said Julian Raby, the Dame Jillian Sackler Director of the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery and the Freer Gallery of Art. “It didn’t seem enough just to have text and videos [for the exhibition.] But if this is about having us almost shocked by our own prejudices, and realizing that there are people making things of their lives under very difficult circumstances, meeting the artisans became really important.”

Artist making pots in the exhibition.
Abdul Matin Malekzada making pots in the exhibition. Photo Credit: Neil Greentree at Freer|Sackler.

Bilal Askaryar, a Smithsonian fellow and graduate student in international development at American University, was central in arranging the artisans’ visits not only to the Smithsonian, but also to other points of interest to make business connections. But without exception, every artisan, Askaryar said, also wanted to see examples of their art form whenever possible, since so much of what originated in Afghanistan was lost.

Askaryar arranged for Sughra Hussainy, a calligrapher who was the first artisan to arrive, to browse 16th century Persian miniatures in the Freer|Sackler’s storage collections. He said she’d only ever seen black-and-white reproductions in books at home in Kabul.

“In a lot of ways, when they see them here in a museum, the average visitor has no idea of the history and culture behind these arts,” Askaryar said. “Sughra really connected with it. She said, now that I’ve seen these works, I have so many more ideas for my own art.”

Artist at work in the exhibition.
Sughra Hussainy at work in the exhibition. Photo Credit: Neil Greentree at Freer|Sackler.

For her part, Saeeda was insistent on one other thing she was eager to bring back with her to Afghanistan: stories of her experiences here.

“My family told me something that made me laugh,” Saeeda said. “They said, don’t take off your head scarf and flip your hair like they do in America! But coming here I realized it’s peaceful and not dangerous the way some people talk about it being here. I have so much to tell them about what I saw in America, and I’m so excited to tell them.” 

Learn more about: Turquoise Mountain
Meet our people: Tommy Wide, Julian Raby
Close