史密森尼候鸟研究中心 (Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center,简称 SMBC) 的科学家们正努力了解全球鸟类数量下降问题,并致力于应用研究保护鸟类及其栖息地。  通过发明和实施新技术及与各合作伙伴紧密配合,史密森尼科学家正在研究农业、人类发展、病原体和气候变化对鸟类的影响。

全球候鸟种群数量正呈下降趋势。 史密森尼自然保护科学家皮特•马拉 (Pete Marra) 称:“这是一个全球性问题。 不同物种的数量正以不同的速度下降,而且这种情况到处都是。”

皮特主管史密森尼保护生物学研究所 (National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute) 下属史密森尼候鸟研究中心。 SMBC 科学家们使用卫星和蜂窝式跟踪装置监测整个西半球的鸟类迁徙活动轨迹。 利用从这些工作中获得的信息,SMBC 可以推荐有效保护濒危鸟类物种的管理办法。 

史密森尼候鸟研究中心 (SMBC) 主任皮特 • 马拉  照片来源:Tim Romano
史密森尼候鸟研究中心 (SMBC) 主任皮特 • 马拉 照片来源:Tim Romano

跟踪动物是物种保护工作的关键一环。 通过跟踪鸟类、鲸或其他物种的活动轨迹,我们能更好地了解它们的去向,动物占据的栖息地,以及最重要的一点——它们的死亡地及死亡原因。 史密森尼科学家及其同事正率先使用微型化跟踪装置。 使用较小的跟踪器追踪鸟类的成本更低,且效率更高,对鸟类而言也更轻松!

皮特与史密森尼保护生物学研究所 (Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute,简称 SCBI) 博士后研究员迈克尔•霍尔沃斯 (Michael Hallworth) 最近使用了首个精准的 GPS 标签装置跟踪候鸟。 相比以往,此装置跟踪候鸟的可靠性更高。 

微型化、精准的 GPS 标签以超常的精确度提供鸟类的位置——在其位置的 10 米(33 英尺)范围内。  此装置是个玲珑的小背包,尺寸适合小鸟使用,采用耐用塑料包装。  它可自行开启,每次 70 秒,一年 8 至 10 次,每次通过与 GPS 卫星联系记录鸟的位置。 

[file:field-caption]
照片来源:Tim Romano。

精准的 GPS 标签与以往的 GPS 装置相比,小了一个数量级,而且分辨率与类似大小的跟踪装置相比大有改善。 新开发的追踪器重量约为 1 克(0.04 盎司),可由体重约 20 克(0.7 盎司)的小型鸣禽携带。 迄今为止,类似的最小装置重约 12 克(0.4 盎司),仅可由体重至少 250 克(9 盎司)的动物携带。

SMBC GPS tracking unit. Photo Credit Michael Hallworth
SMBC GPS tracking unit. Photo Credit Michael Hallworth

"皮特说,之前从来没有使用过这般尺寸的装置,"以这样高的精确度跟踪这么小的动物。  "现在,我们可以准确定位这些鸟类在其热带越冬地区占据的领地。 确保有效保护的一大基本要素,就是实现技术的微型化,可方便我们在动物的整个年度周期内对其进行跟踪。"

SMBC 的科学家属于第一批在全年或在整个“年度周期”内进行候鸟研究的科学家。 在运用此种方法进行了数十年的研究之后,SMBC 发现,鸟类在冬季所遇到的状况对其在来年夏季的繁殖成功率有一定影响。 换言之,年度周期中各个时期密不可分。 史密森尼对全年鸟类生态学的研究有助于我们更好地了解如何改善鸟类的长期生存能力。 

Photo credit Tim Romano.
照片来源:Tim Romano。

运用这一整体性研究方法,史密森尼科学家能够定位鸟个体或鸟群全年的去向。 这是一个被称之为“迁徙关联性”的全新研究领域。 最近,SMBC 与美国地质调查局 (U.S.Geographical Survey) 联合推出了迁徙关联性项目 (Migratory Connectivity Project)。 该合作项目利用技术在鸟类物种的整个生命周期对其进行研究和跟踪。 科学家们应用研究对各种不同文化背景的人类与鸟类及其他迁徙动物进行确定和联结。 

基于这一点,SMBC 科学家还应用关于鸟类种群生态学的研究,针对整合土地管理实践提出建议。 土地用途转为城市或近郊开发在短期内可能会为人类提供解决方案,但却会摧毁在长期内更具盈利能力的生态系统。 SMBC 倡导维持重要鸟类种群和整个生态系统生存的长期解决方案。 

Photo credit Tim Romano.
照片来源:Tim Romano。

人类是这些生态系统的一部分。 SMBC 的研究人员调查如何通过景观管理,使候鸟和当地社区受益。 在城镇地区,SMBC 调查鸟类对噪音、建筑物和城市压力的反应。 在农村和热带地区,史密森尼科学家研究如何生产诸如咖啡、可可、大米和葡萄酒等农产品才能增加农民的收入,提高产品质量和丰富周围环境的生物多样性。

SMBC 的科学家设法确保我们尽可能多得了解鸟类的生物学。 他们的研究对多尺度的保护项目和工作提供了信息。 在中美洲,从巴拿马到墨西哥,SMBC 与官方及非官方组织的同仁合作,保护多个鸟类物种。 一个典型的实例就是曾经随处可见的鸣禽画眉鸟 (Wood Thrush)。 在过去 40 年里,这一重要物种的数量减少了 65%。 通过跨大学、政府和非政府组织的合作,SMBC 及其盟友能够应对这些项目中鸣禽所面临的各方面问题

认识我们的人员: 皮特•马拉迈克•霍尔沃斯
关闭

Scientists at the Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center (SMBC) are working to understand the decline in bird populations worldwide and apply research towards the conservation of birds and their habitats. By creating and implementing new technologies, and working with diverse partners, Smithsonian scientists are studying how agriculture, human development, pathogens, and climate change are affecting birds.

Migratory bird populations are in decline. “This is a global problem,” says Smithsonian conservation scientist Pete Marra. “Different species are declining at different rates, but it’s happening everywhere.”

Pete directs the Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center (SMBC), part of the Smithsonian’s National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute. SMBC scientists use satellite and cellular tracking to monitor the migratory movements of birds across the Western Hemisphere. With the information from this work, SMBC can recommend management practices to conserve endangered bird species. 

SMBC Director Pete Marra. Photo Credit Tim Romano
SMBC Director Pete Marra. Photo Credit Tim Romano

Tracking animals is a critical part of species conservation. By following the movements of birds, or whales and other species, we can better understand where they go, the habitat they occupy and, most importantly, where and why they die. Smithsonian scientists and their colleagues are pioneering the use of miniaturized tracking devices. With smaller trackers, the cost of tracing birds is less expensive and more effective, and also easier on the birds!

Pete and Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI) postdoctoral fellow Michael Hallworth recently implemented the first pinpoint GPS tag device to track migratory birds. This device tracks migratory birds more reliably than ever before

The miniaturized pinpoint GPS tags give the birds' locations with extraordinary accuracy, to within about 10 meters (33 feet) of their location. The device is a tiny backpack, sized for a small bird and encased in durable plastic. It turns itself on for 70 seconds, eight to 10 times a year, recording the location of the bird each time by connecting with GPS satellites

[file:field-caption]
Photo credit Tim Romano.

The pinpoint GPS tags are an order of magnitude smaller than previous GPS devices and offer dramatically improved resolution over similarly sized tracking devices. The newly developed tracker weighs about 1 gram (0.04 ounces) and can be carried by small songbirds weighing about 20 grams (0.7 ounces). Until now, the smallest comparable device with similar accuracy weighed about 12 grams (0.4 ounces) and could only be carried by animals weighing at least 250 grams (9 ounces).

SMBC GPS tracking unit. Photo Credit Michael Hallworth
SMBC GPS tracking unit. Photo Credit Michael Hallworth

"Tracking an animal this small, with a device of this size, and with this degree of precision has never been done," Pete says. "Now we can identify the exact territories these birds occupied on their tropical wintering grounds. Miniaturizing technology so we can track animals throughout their annual cycle is an essential ingredient of effective conservation."

SMBC scientists were some of the first scientists to study bird migrations throughout the year, or “annual cycle.” After decades of research with this approach, SMBC found that what happens to birds in winter impacts their reproductive success the following summer. In other words, the periods of the annual cycle are inextricably linked. Smithsonian studies of year-round bird ecology help us better understand how to improve their long-term survival. 

Photo credit Tim Romano.
Photo credit Tim Romano.

With this holistic approach, Smithsonian scientists can identify where individuals and populations of birds go throughout the year. This is a new field of research known as “migratory connectivity.” With the U.S. Geographical Survey, SMBC recently launched the Migratory Connectivity Project. This collaborative project uses technology to study and track bird species across their life cycle. Scientists apply research to identify and connect people across cultures to birds and other migratory animals. 

With that in mind, SMBC scientists also apply research on bird population ecology to make recommendations for integrated land management practices. Shifts in land use change to urban or suburban development can offer solutions to humans in the short-term, but might destroy an ecosystem that in the long run would be more profitable. SMBC advocates for long-term solutions that also sustain important bird populations and entire ecosystems. 

Photo credit Tim Romano.
Photo credit Tim Romano.

Humans are part of these ecosystems. SMBC researchers investigate how landscape management can benefit migratory birds and local communities at the same time. In urban areas, SMBC investigates how birds react to noise, buildings, and city stress. In rural and tropical areas, Smithsonian scientists study how crops like coffee, cacao, rice and wine grapes can be produced to boost farmers’ incomes, product quality, and the biodiversity of the surrounding environment.

SMBC scientists work to be sure we understand as much as possible about the biology of birds. Their research informs conservation programs and efforts across multiple scales. In Central America, from Panama to Mexico, SMBC works with governmental and non-governmental colleagues to protect multiple bird species. One example is the wood thrush, a once-common songbird. Populations of this important species have declined by 65 percent over the past 40 years. By working across universities, government, and non-government organizations, SMBC and their allies are able to address multiple facets of the programs facing these songbirds.

Meet our people: Pete Marra, Mike Hallworth
Close