Un archipel de forêts alpestres borde les frontières du Nigéria au Cameroun. Culminant de 1500 à 3000 mètres, ces forêts fraîches et pluvieuses abritent des espèces adaptées à ce milieu. Elles servent de bassins hydrographiques, utiles aussi bien aux humains qu'aux animaux. À la parcelle forestière de Ngel Nyaki, le Smithsonian s'implique auprès des communautés locales et du Nigerian Montane Forest luttant pour la sauvegarde des forêts alpestres.

Des membres de l’équipe d’investigation observent la parcelle en aval. 
Crédit photo : 
Hazel Chapman.
Des membres de l'équipe d'investigation observent la parcelle en aval. Crédit photo : Hazel Chapman.

In 2014, Ngel Nyaki joined the Smithsonian’s Forest Global Earth Observatory network (ForestGEO), a worldwide program of the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute in Panama. For more than 30 years, Smithsonian scientists in collaboration with more than 100 partner organizations worldwide have been watching over the health of the planet at 66 forest plots in 27 countries, monitoring and studying tropical and temperate forest functions and the diversity of life they support.

Station locale. 
 Crédit photo : 
 Hazel Chapman.
Station locale. Crédit photo : Hazel Chapman.

Alors qu'elles recouvraient autrefois les hautes terres du Cameroun, les forêts alpestres se sont raréfiées en Afrique de l'Ouest et poursuivent leur inéluctable déclin. Les zones de forêts alpestres au Nigeria n'occupent que 46 m² du territoire. La forêt alpestre de Ngel Nyaki renferme un écosystème typique d'Afrique de l'ouest, peuplé d'un large éventail d'espèces endémiques ou menacées qui dépendent de la forêt pour survivre : oiseaux, végétation, arbres et grands mammifères (chimpanzés…)

Le chimpanzé est une espèce représentative des forêts alpestres du Nigéria et du Cameroun. Il transporte et disperse les graines d'un certain nombre d'arbres, notamment ceux à grandes graines. Ngel Nyaki accueillera le premier protocole de suivi d'espèces d'arbres à grandes graines, comme Carapa oreaphila et Cordia millenii. Au cours de l'histoire, les graines de ces arbres ont été dispersées par de grands primates tels que les chimpanzés ou les éléphants. Mais ici, les éléphants ont disparu et les chimpanzés sont en voie d'extinction. La parcelle à Ngel Nyaki va permettre d'examiner la dispersion des graines en l'absence de ces grands animaux. Faire toute la lumière sur le phénomène de dispersion contribuera à restaurer les paysages forestiers en adoptant une nouvelle approche.

Si Ngel Nyaki se situe dans une réserve forestière au Nigeria, les communautés locales n'ont été que trop peu sollicitées ces dernières décennies pour mettre en place des protocoles de suivi et de protection. Les activités humaines tels que l'extension des territoires de chasse, la déforestation pour laisser place à des zones de pâturage et l'intrusion humaine sont autant de menaces qui planent sur la forêt.

Séance de coupe de fils. 
 Crédit photo : 
 Hazel Chapman.
Séance de coupe de fils. Crédit photo : Hazel Chapman.

Les recherches sur le site forestier de Ngel Nyaki dépendent des communautés locales qui veulent préserver la forêt. Elles illustrent la façon dont les chercheurs et communautés peuvent mieux gérer l'écosystème des forêts alpestres. Professeure associée à l'Université de Canterbury en Nouvelle-Zélande et directrice du Nigerian Montane Forest Project, Hazel Chapman estime que les villageois voient « leur propre avenir et celui de leurs enfants » dans cette parcelle.

Femmes de l'équipe en compagnie de Hazel et de villageoises de Ndombo Ngishi. 
 Crédit photo : 
 Hazel Chapman.
Femmes de l'équipe, en compagnie de Hazel et de villageoises de Ndombo Ngishi. Crédit photo : Hazel Chapman.

Le site emploie actuellement 22 Nigériens à plein temps : assistants de terrain, cuisiniers, veilleurs, gestionnaires et photographes de la communauté. Non loin de là, des villageois de Yelwa veillent sur la pépinière, photographient le site, font des recherches, saisissent et vérifient les données de milliers d'arbres. Depuis l'installation de la parcelle en 2014, dix villageois ont marqué et passé en revue toute la surface, soit 20 hectares de forêt. À l'aide d'étiquettes de métal fabriquées avec du matériau de toitures, le groupe a achevé le marquage et l'étiquetage de chaque arbre sur la parcelle en décembre 2015.

Confection d'étiquettes. 
 Crédit photo : 
 Hazel Chapman.
Confection d'étiquettes. Crédit photo : Hazel Chapman.

Le site forestier étant prêt, c'est dorénavant un protocole de suivi sur le long terme qui permettra de comprendre les dynamiques forestières et de les restaurer. Chercheurs et étudiants nigériens et scientifiques de l'Université de Canterbury et du Smithsonian s'impliqueront ensemble au service d'une étude multinationale. Les données recueillies sur la parcelle seront alors recoupées avec d'autres sites du réseau mondial ForestGEO pour mieux étudier l'effet des mutations à long terme dans les paysages forestiers de la planète.

Stagiaires. 
 Crédit photo : Hazel Chapman.
Stagiaires. Crédit photo : Hazel Chapman.

Le site de Ngel Nyaki s'appuie sur les travaux du Nigerian Montane Forest en matière de protocole de suivi forestier et renforcement des capacités. Il est le fruit d'un partenariat entre le Smithsonian, l'Université de Canterbury, le projet Nigerian Montane Forest et le Zoo de Chester (Royaume-Uni), entièrement financé par le général retraité T.Y. Danjuma, de l'État de Taraba à l'est du Nigeria.

Depuis la première réserve forestière de suivi sur l'île Barro Colorado à Panama dans les années 80, ForestGEO s'est investi dans plusieurs missions : étudier le changement climatique des forêts de la planète, instaurer avec les gouvernements locaux et nationaux une gestion durable des forêts, former des milliers d'étudiants et chercheurs des quatre coins du globe en sciences des forêts. ForestGeo Africa englobe 5 réserves au Cameron, en République démocratique du Congo, au Gabon, au Kenya et la parcelle récente de Ngel Nyaki au Nigeria.

En savoir plus sur : ForestGEO : Ngel Nyaki
Fermer

An archipelago of montane forests stretches the length of the border between Nigeria and Cameroon. Rising to 1,500-3,000 meters in elevation, these cool, rainy forests provide shelter to uniquely adapted species and act as water catchments for humans and animals alike. At the Smithsonian’s forest monitoring plot at Ngel Nyaki, Smithsonian is joining with local communities and the Nigerian Montane Forest Project to better understand and conserve montane forests.

Members of the survey team looking over onto the Plot below. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.
Members of the survey team looking over onto the Plot below. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.

In 2014, Ngel Nyaki joined the Smithsonian’s Forest Global Earth Observatory network (ForestGEO), a worldwide program of the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute in Panama. For more than 30 years, Smithsonian scientists in collaboration with more than 100 partner organizations worldwide have been watching over the health of the planet at 63 forest plots in 24 countries, monitoring and studying tropical and temperate forest functions and the diversity of life they support.

Field Station. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.
Field Station. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.

Where they once carpeted the Cameroon highlands, montane forests are now relatively rare in West Africa and they are shrinking ever smaller. Only about 46 square kilometers of montane forest now remain in Nigeria. Ngel Nyaki is one of the best representations of the typical montane forest ecosystem in West Africa and a wide range of endemic and endangered species—birds, trees and plants, and large mammals like chimpanzees—rely on the forest at Ngel Nyaki for survival.

Chimpanzees are especially iconic species of the montane forests in Nigeria and Cameroon, and many trees rely on these animals to disperse their seeds, especially trees with larger seeds. Ngel Nyaki will be home to the first long-term forest monitoring of large-seeded tree species, including Carapa oreaphila and Cordia millenii trees. Seeds from these trees were historically dispersed by large primates like chimpanzees or elephants. Elephants are now locally extinct and there remain very few chimpanzees in the area. The plot at Ngel Nyaki will study how these seeds are dispersed in the absence of larger animals. Understanding how these tree seeds are dispersed will contribute to understanding best approaches to forest restoration.

Although Ngel Nyaki is in a designated Forest Reserve in Nigeria, there has been little incentive for local communities to monitor and protect the forest in recent decades. Expanding hunting ranges, deforestation for grazing, and encroachment from human communities are threatening the forest.

Cutting the thread. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.
Cutting the thread. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.

Research at the forest site at Ngel Nyaki depends on and supports the local communities who care for the forest, and provides a model for how conservation researchers and communities can work towards better montane forest ecosystem management, together. University of Canterbury, New Zealand Associate Professor and Nigerian Montane Forest Project director Hazel Chapman believes that local villagers see the plot “as their future and their children’s future.”

The ladies in the team with Hazel and local women from Ndombo Ngishi. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.
The ladies in the team with Hazel and local women from Ndombo Ngishi. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.

Today the site employs 22 full-time Nigerian staff, including field assistants, cooks, watchmen, managers, and photographers from the local community. Villagers from nearby Yelwa care for the nursery, photograph the site and research subjects, and enter and check data on thousands of tree measurements. Ten local villagers have been working since the 2014 establishment of the plot to mark and catalogue the entire 20-hectare forest plot. Using metal tags recycled from used roofing materials, the group finished marking and labeling every tree in the plot in December 2015.

Making tags. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.
Making tags. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.

Now that the forest site has been established, long-term research projects will monitor forest dynamics and forest restoration. Students from Nigerian universities and research institutes will join scientists from the University of Canterbury and Smithsonian to engage in multi-national collaborative research. Information collected from the plot will be linked with other sites in the ForestGEO network from around the world and contribute to understanding the impacts of long-term global changes on Earth’s forests.

Trainees. Photo credit Hazel Chapman.
Trainees. Photo credit Hazel Chapman.

The site at Ngel Nyaki builds on the Nigerian Montane Forest Project’s work in long-term forest science monitoring and capacity building and is a partnership between Smithsonian, the University of Canterbury, the Nigerian Montane Forest Project, and the Chester Zoo (UK), funded entirely by Retired General T.Y. Danjuma, of Taraba State, Nigeria.

Since the establishment of the first forest monitoring plot at Barro Colorado Island in Panama in the 1980s, ForestGEO has conducted long-term research on the impacts of climate change on global forests; guided sustainable forest management in local and national governments; and trained thousands of students and researchers from all over the world in forest science. ForestGeo Africa includes five forest monitoring plots, in Cameroon, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Kenya, and the most recently established plot at Ngel Nyaki, Nigeria.

Learn more about: ForestGEO: Ngel Nyaki
Close