戴夫•康林 (Dave Conlin)

国家公园管理局 (National Park Service) 水下资源中心 (Submerged Resources Center)主任

在里德学院 (Reed College) 完成本科生学业后,戴夫•康林获得牛津大学 (Oxford University) 爱琴海和水下考古学硕士学位,之后又获得布朗大学 (Brown University) 人类学和考古学硕士学位和博士学位。 

在对爱琴海沉船进行多年的潜水研究之后,戴夫接受美国海军的一份职务邀请,担任水下考古学家。 在海军工作期间,他曾帮助计划和执行了世界首艘成功的作战潜艇“南方邦联潜艇汉利号”的打捞工作, 汉利号潜艇于 1864 年在南卡罗来纳查尔斯顿海岸失踪。汉利号潜艇项目完成后,戴夫搬到圣达非 (Santa Fe),加入国家公园管理局水下资源中心,现任该中心主任,同时,他还在美国及世界各地继续开展沉船潜水打捞工作。他于 2002 年成为技术潜水员,并于 2006 年成为呼吸器潜水员。

戴夫曾从事的项目包括搜寻约翰•保罗•琼斯 (John Paul Jones) 的好人理查德号 (Bon Homme Richard);潜入 B-29 超级堡垒轰炸机 (B-29 Superfortress) 残骸(为美国空军展开绝密高海拔研究期间坠入米德湖 (Lake Mead));潜入位于夏威夷珍珠港 (Pearl Harbor) 的亚利桑那号战列舰 (USS Arizona) 残骸;与埃利斯岛号 (Ellis Island) 共同记录和保存历史性渡轮埃利斯岛号的多个部分;协助一支国际团队对泰坦尼克号 (RMS Titanic) 沉船进行研究和记录;以及协助莫桑比克政府打造国家公园,对非洲海岸的历史性沉船和生态敏感地区进行保护。 

请深入了解戴夫•康林的工作

解除束缚,奴隶船残骸研究建立新的承诺的纽带

关闭

Dave Conlin

Chief, Submerged Resources Center, National Park Service

After undergraduate work at Reed College, Dave Conlin received a master’s degree from Oxford University in Aegean and underwater archeology, followed by a second master’s degree and a Ph.D. in anthropology and archeology from Brown University. 

Following years of diving and research on the shipwrecks of the Aegean, Dave took a job as an underwater archeologist for the United States Navy. While with the Navy he helped plan and execute the recovery of the world’s first successful combat submarine, the Confederate submersible H.L. Hunley, lost off the coast of Charleston, South Carolina in 1864.  Following the Hunley project, Dave moved to Santa Fe to join the National Park Service’s Submerged Resources Center, of which he is the current chief, and continue diving on shipwrecks around the country and around the world. He has been a technical diver since 2002 and a rebreather diver since 2006.

Projects Dave has worked on include the search for John Paul Jones’ ship, Bon Homme Richard; diving the wreck of a B-29 Superfortress that crashed into Lake Mead while doing top-secret high altitude research for the U.S. Air Force; diving on the wreck of the USS Arizona in Pearl Harbor, Hawaii; working with Ellis Island to document and preserve portions of the historic ferry Ellis Island; assisting an international team with the study and documentation of the wreck of the RMS Titanic; and assisting the government of Mozambique in the creation of national parks to preserve historic shipwrecks and sensitive ecological areas off the African coast. 

Learn more about Dave Conlin's Work

Out of Bondage, Research on Slave Wrecks Build New Ties of Promise

Close