ديف كونلين

رئيس، مركز الموارد التراثية الغارقة، وكالة خدمات المتنزهات الوطنية

بعد انتهاء ديف كونلين من دراسته الجامعية في كلية ريد، حصل على درجة الماجستير من جامعة أكسفورد في تخصص علم الآثار الإيجية الغارقة، ثم حصل على درجة ماجستير ودكتوراه في علم الأنثروبولوجيا وعلم الآثار من جامعة براون. 

وبعد سنوات من الغوص وإجراء الأبحاث على حطام السفن الغارقة في بحر إيجة شغل ديف وظيفة متخصص في الآثار الغارقة لصالح بحرية الولايات المتحدة. وتجدر الإشارة أنه أثناء عمله في البحرية ساعد في تخطيط وتنفيذ عملية استعادة أول غواصة قتالية ناجحة في العالم، وهي الغواصة الكونفدرالية اتش. ال . هنلي التي فُقدت في ساحل تشارلستون، جنوب كارولينا عام 1864.  وانتقل ديف، بعد الانتهاء من مشروع الغواصة هنلي، إلى سانتا فلوريدا للانضمام إلى فريق مركز الموارد التراثية الغارقة التابع لوكالة خدمات المتنزهات الوطنية، وهو الرئيسي الحالي للمركز، وما زال يواصل عمليات الغوص للوصول إلى السفن الغارقة في البلاد وحول العالم. وقد أصبح غواصًا تقنيًا منذ عام 2002 وغواصًا يستخدم أجهزة إعادة التنفس منذ عام 2006.

اشتملت المشروعات التي عمل بها ديف البحث عن سفينة جون بول جونز، والسفينة العسكرية بونهوم ريتشارد؛ والغوص للوصول لحطام طائرة البوينغ بي-29 سوبر فورترس التي تحطمت فوق بحيرة ميد أثناء القيام بعملية بحثية سرية للغاية على ارتفاع كبير لصالح القوات الجوية الأمريكية. والغوص للوصول لحطام البارجة يو إس إس أريزونا في بيرل هاربر بهاواي؛ والعمل مع الهيئات المعنية بجزيرة إليس لتوثيق وحفظ أجزاء من عبارة جزيرة إليس التاريخية؛ ومساعدة أحد الفرق العالمية في دراسة وتوثيق حطام السفينة آر إم إس تيتانيك; ، ومساعدة حكومة موزمبيق في إنشاء حدائق وطنية لحفظ حطام السفن التاريخية والمناطق البيئية الحساسة للساحل الإفريقي. 

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل ديف كونلين

التحرر من العبودية، بحث عن حطام سفن الرقيق من أجل بناء روابط مبشرة جديدة

إغلاق

Dave Conlin

Chief, Submerged Resources Center, National Park Service

After undergraduate work at Reed College, Dave Conlin received a master’s degree from Oxford University in Aegean and underwater archeology, followed by a second master’s degree and a Ph.D. in anthropology and archeology from Brown University. 

Following years of diving and research on the shipwrecks of the Aegean, Dave took a job as an underwater archeologist for the United States Navy. While with the Navy he helped plan and execute the recovery of the world’s first successful combat submarine, the Confederate submersible H.L. Hunley, lost off the coast of Charleston, South Carolina in 1864.  Following the Hunley project, Dave moved to Santa Fe to join the National Park Service’s Submerged Resources Center, of which he is the current chief, and continue diving on shipwrecks around the country and around the world. He has been a technical diver since 2002 and a rebreather diver since 2006.

Projects Dave has worked on include the search for John Paul Jones’ ship, Bon Homme Richard; diving the wreck of a B-29 Superfortress that crashed into Lake Mead while doing top-secret high altitude research for the U.S. Air Force; diving on the wreck of the USS Arizona in Pearl Harbor, Hawaii; working with Ellis Island to document and preserve portions of the historic ferry Ellis Island; assisting an international team with the study and documentation of the wreck of the RMS Titanic; and assisting the government of Mozambique in the creation of national parks to preserve historic shipwrecks and sensitive ecological areas off the African coast. 

Learn more about Dave Conlin's Work

Out of Bondage, Research on Slave Wrecks Build New Ties of Promise

Close