إيفرين (إيفي) أبيم

محاضِرة في جامعة جوس

إيفرين (إيفي) أبيم هي محاضِرة في علم النبات في جامعة جوس، وتشرف على إنشاء المرصد الأرضي العالمي للغابات وإعداده لرصد منطقة الغابات في أنجيل نياكي. تسافر إيفي من جوس بشكل منتظم للتأكد من سير الأمور وفق ما هو مخطط له.

جدير بالذكر أنّ إيفي مهتمة بفهم القوى المسيطرة على بنية المجتمعات النباتية وديناميكيتها في الغابات الشرقية (Afromontane) وخصوصًا في ضوء تغير المناخ العالمي. وهي تدرس الآثار طويلة الأمد للانتشار على زيادة النباتات على مستوى كلٍ من السكان والمجتمع وتبحث في ما يمثل التنوع النباتي في الغابات الشرقية.

إيفي زميلة في مؤسسة إيه جي ليفنتيس منذ 2015. وقد حصلت على درجة الماجستير في الحفاظ على البيولوجيا في معهد A.P. Leventis Ornithological Research Institute ودرجة البكالوريوس (مع مرتبة الشرف) في علوم النباتات والتكنولوجيا، كلاهما من جامعة جوس، جوس بنيجيريا. وتخطط إيفي لبدء مشوارها في سبيل الحصول على شهادة الدكتوراه في علم البيئة مع التركيز على علم بيئة الغابات.

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل إيفرين (إيفي) أبيم.

فحص غابات كوكبنا: المرصد الأرضي العالمي للغابات في أنجيل نياكي

إغلاق

Iveren (Ivy) Abiem

LECTURER, UNIVERSITY OF JOS

Iveren (Ivy) Abiem is a lecturer in botany at the University of Jos and is overseeing the establishment and enumeration of the ForestGEO forest monitoring plot at Ngel Nyaki. Ivy travels from Jos on a regular basis to ensure all is going according to plan.

Ivy is interested in understanding the forces governing the structure and dynamics of plant communities in Afromontane forests especially in the light of global climate change. She studies the long term effects of dispersal on plant recruitment at both population and community level and investigates what accounts for plant diversity in Afromontane Forests.

Ivy is a 2015 A.G. Leventis Foundation Fellow. She earned her MSc in Conservation Biology at the A.P. Leventis Ornithological Research Institute and her BSc (Hons) in Plant Science and Technology, both at the University of Jos, Jos, Nigeria. Ivy is planning to start her PhD in Ecology with a focus in Forest Ecology.

Learn more about Iveren (Ivy) Abiem's Work

Taking the Pulse of Our Planet’s Forests: ForestGEO Ngel Nyaki

Close