بات نيل

كبار العلماء، مركز سميثسونيان للأبحاث البيئية

بعيدًا في المياه المتجمدة التي تحيط بالقارة القطبية الجنوبية وفي معمل ذا مناخ أكثر اعتدالًا بإيدجواتر، ماريلاند، درس عالم الأحياء الضوئية بات نيل آثار الضوء على الكائنات الحية وخاصة تأثيرات الأشعة الشمسية فوق البنفسجية على العوالق النباتية. ويُترجم اهتمامه بتغيرات الأشعة فوق البنفسجية طويلة الأمد المنبعثة من الشمس وكيفية نفاذها خلال الماء وتأثيرها على الحياة البحرية إلى تطوير نماذج للتنبؤ بتأثيرات التغير المناخي على المحتوى الأساسي لدورة الكربون بالأرض.

على متن كاسحة الجليد التابعة للمؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم ناثانيل بي بالمر بعيدًا في القارة القطبية الجنوبية داخل معمله بيمريلاند، يستخدم بات أداة مطورة ومنشأة في سميثسونيان لقياس المستويات المتفاوتة للأشعة فوق البنفسجية التي يمكن أن تخترق المحيط وتؤثر على العوالق النباتية. وتتدفق نتائج عمله فيما يتعلق برصد الإشعاع القطبي والأشعة فوق البنفسجية إلى شبكة رصد الإشعاع فوق البنفسجي بين الوكالات بالولايات المتحدة والتي تقوم بتعقب التغير في إشعاع طول موجة (الأشعة فوق البنفسجية) القصيرة (والأشعة فوق البنفسجية) الطويلة فضلًا عن دعم إجراء الأبحاث على هذه النتائج.

وقد حصل بات على درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم البيئية من جامعة ولاية نيويورك في عام 1976، تليها الماجستير في الإحصاء من جامعة كولومبيا في عام 1981 إلى جانب حصوله على الدكتوراه في علم البيئة المائية من جامعة كاليفورنيا في ديفيز، عام 1985. وقد كانت أول بعثاته الميدانية إلى القارة القطبية الجنوبية في عام 1989، وقد زارها مؤخرًا عام 2006. وقد تابع دراسة الإنتاجية البيولوجية في القطب الجنوبي من خلال دمج البيانات المتراكمة من الحملات الميدانية في نماذج رياضية.  وقد نشر أكثر من 100 ورقة بحثية فيما يتعلق بعمله في الجرائد ويشمل ذلك  العلوم والطبيعة و علم البحيرات وعلم المحيطات.

ويحب بات الاستماع إلى جميع أنواع الموسيقى وعزفها؛ فهو يعزف الأرج في فرقة "SERC ""و"The Muddy Creeks"";وقد تخصص لفترة محدودة في التأليف الموسيقي بالكلية.

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل بات نيل

التنبؤ بآثار التغير المناخي على مياه القطب الجنوبي

إغلاق

Pat Neale

Senior Scientists, Smithsonian Environmental Research Center

In the frigid waters around Antarctica and in a much more temperate laboratory in Edgewater, MD, photobiologist Pat Neale studies the effects of light on living organisms, particularly the effects of solar ultraviolet radiation (UV) on phytoplankton. His interest in the long-term variations of UV from the sun, how UV transmits through water and how it affects marine life translates into the development of models for predicting the impacts of climate change on a critical component of the Earth’s carbon cycle.

Aboard the National Science Foundation icebreaker Nathaniel B. Palmer in Antarctica and in his Maryland lab, Pat uses an instrument developed and constructed at the Smithsonian to measure the varying levels of UV that can penetrate the ocean and affect phytoplankton. His work in polar radiation and UV radiation monitoring feeds into the U.S. Interagency Ultraviolet Radiation Monitoring Network, which tracks the variation of short (UVB) and long (UVA) wavelength radiation and supports research on their effects.

Pat received his bachelor’s degree in environmental science from the State University of New York in 1976, followed by a master’s in statistics from Columbia University in 1981 and a doctorate in aquatic ecology from University of California, Davis, in 1985. His first field expedition to Antarctica was in 1989, and he most recently visited in 2006. He continues to study Antarctic productivity by integrating data accumulated from field campaigns into mathematical models. He has published over 100 papers related to his work in journals including ScienceNature and Limnology and Oceanography.

Pat likes to listen to and perform music of all kinds; plays keyboard in the SERC Band "The Muddy Creeks"; and, for a while, majored in music composition in college.

Learn more about Pat Neale's Work

Predicting Impacts of Climate Change in Antarctic Waters

Close