浮游植物,大量存在于地球上各个海洋中的单细胞游走植物,是海洋和天空不为人知的基石。 它们是许多海洋食物网的基础,也是十分重要的氧气生产者和名副其实的碳海绵。

世界上的 50% 的氧气由浮游植物和海洋植物通过光合作用过程产生。 海洋每年都能从表面将约 5 到 15 吨的大气二氧化碳转移到内部,浮游植物在这一过程中也发挥了至关重要的作用。

然而,浮游植物本身十分脆弱,很容易因过度暴露于紫外线之下而遭到破坏。 随着全球气温逐渐变暖,风暴愈发强劲、频繁,浮游植物常常被搅到表面,导致损伤 DNA 的紫外线的暴露量增加。 晒伤的浮游植物无法正常进行光合作用,释放氧气和吸收二氧化碳的能力随之减弱。 这将产生极为有害的全球影响,因为有研究表明,海洋碳循环可去除大气中多达一半的人类活动产生的二氧化碳排放量。

史密森尼光生物学家帕特•尼尔研究浮游生物的光合作用已有 30 余年,包括在马里兰切萨皮克湾史密森尼环境研究中心 (SERC) 以及在南极洲周边水域。 对于不同水平的紫外线暴露量如何降低或抑制浮游植物的光合作用系统,及它们作为氧气生产者和二氧化碳吸收者的效力,他的研究工作帮助还设定了一个基准。

帕特•尼尔在其史密森尼环境研究中心光生物学实验室。 
 来源: 
 玛丽亚•桑切斯/史密森尼。
帕特•尼尔在其位于史密森尼环境研究中心的光生物学实验室。 来源: 玛丽亚•桑切斯/史密森尼。

“两极地区引起了对全球气候变化感兴趣的人士的广泛关注,因为它们处于气候边缘,是第一反应者,”帕特说。 “变化首先影响的是这些地区。 我们的实验目的是更好地了解紫外线如何影响极地浮游植物及其在南极的生产力。”

浮游植物占领着海面以下相对狭窄的一层,深度从浑浊的沿海水中里的几米到大洋中的数百米不等。 这一层大部分区域的深度足以保护他们免受紫外线损伤。 海洋混合,或者在地球表面起风时深水的垂直搅动,都属于正常的海洋过程,而通过定期暴露,浮游生物也逐渐适应,能够修复中等水平的紫外线损伤。 但是,由于不断变化的天气模式和改变的海洋混合常常将浮游生物带到表面,它们的修复和光合作用机制逐渐受损。

“如果经常发生搅动,以至于它们在下一次暴露之前来不及进行修复,则可能会加剧抑制效果,”帕特说。 “超级计算机模型允许我们非常逼真地模拟在浮游生物栖息的表面混合层的运动,而这是我们在现实生活中无法实现的,因为我们不能通过标记浮游植物来研究各个细胞发生了什么。”

帕特与来自缅因州布斯贝港毕格罗海洋科学实验室的约翰•卡伦 (John Cullen) 和迈克尔•莱塞 (Michael Lesser) 合作开发了一种被称为“光抑制设备”的实验装置。 该装置在实验室上下被称为“野兽”,可同时将 120 种不同的浮游植物样本暴露于不同水平的紫外线辐射中——之前的方法一次只能对少数样本进行辐照。 尼尔通过大量的迭代工作,创建了一个巨大的数据库,其中记录了许多已知的暴露效应,他和其他研究人员可用以与实地测量数据进行对比。 观察浮游植物的最佳地点之一就是地球上最极端的环境之一: 南极洲。

“光抑制设备”或“野兽”已准备应用于帕特•尼尔的实验室。 
 来源: 
 玛丽亚•桑切斯/史密森尼。
光抑制或“野兽”准备应用于帕特•尼尔的实验室。 来源: 玛丽亚•桑切斯/史密森尼。

长期以来,这一冰冻的大洲及其海洋都是国际浮游植物研究的目的地。 那里的水域被国际条约指定为科学研究资产,由于从全球洋流中积累的氮、磷、铁等元素,其中一些浮游植物的浓度属世界之最。 浮游生物的季节性大量繁殖,可产生大量氧气,同时消耗等量的碳。

自 20 世纪 90 年代以来,不仅在新西兰、智利和阿根廷的实验站,帕特还在美国国家科学基金会 (National Science Foundation) 破冰船纳撒尼尔•B•帕尔默号 (Nathaniel B. Palmer) 上收集样本并南极洲罗斯海开展测试。 他最近一次探险是在 2006 年,当时他获得了另一层面的实地结果,加之目前正在进行的实验室工作,使他开发出了多个数学模型,通过这些模型,只需要通过测量大气中的紫外线水平,即可预测浮游植物不同水平的活动。

2005 年帕特•尼尔 (Pat Neale) 正在罗斯海 (Ross Sea) 采集样本。 
 来源: 
 
 SERC。
2005 年帕特•尼尔 (Pat Neale) 正在罗斯海 (Ross Sea) 采集样本。 来源: SERC。

帕尔默号上,来自其他几个国家的科学家们能够将帕特的三个光抑制装置用于自身的研究工作中。 各国科学家之间能够继续合作,对于开展像帕特这样的有真正全球影响的研究而言至关重要。

“我们(在南极洲)的工作有助于创建多种模型,用于预测在不同气候变化场景下浮游植物的生产力,”帕特说道。 “从本质上讲,对全球气候变化的研究属于国际性事业,因此,对于在南极洲工作的任何人而言,国际合作都十分必要。”

浮游植物及其他海洋植物帮助消除大气中碳的能力称之为生物碳泵——通过相互作用推动海洋碳循环的多个化学和生物过程之一。 为清除并封存二氧化碳,浮游植物将从海水中抽出溶解的二氧化碳,并通过光合作用分解碳和氧分子。 浮游植物释放氧气,但会使用碳分子来维护和补充细胞结构。 部分碳随着动物食用浮游生物而沿着食物链向上移动,但大部分将落入海底而废弃。

帕特•尼尔为“光抑制设备”制定了一个解决方案。 
 来源: 
 玛丽亚•桑切斯/史密森尼。
帕特•尼尔制定了一种光抑制解决方案。 来源: 玛丽亚•桑切斯/史密森尼。

“海洋吸收二氧化碳,但只是在水中溶解了二氧化碳。 即使能够奇迹般地减少大气中的二氧化碳,海洋又会将它填满,”帕特说道。 “将二氧化碳从海洋中清除的唯一办法就是放入能够沉入海底、埋在泥沙中的东西。”   

但随着大气中二氧化碳含量的增加,海洋酸度也随之升高,这可能会进一步限制浮游植物去除大气中二氧化碳的能力。   帕特的工作有助于人们理解可能有助于减少海洋碳循环的因素。

“海洋中浮游植物的反应非常重要,因为它参与碳循环,因而可帮助调节大气,”帕特解释说。 “浮游植物生产力发生任何改变,都会产生一定后果。 我们不确定到底有哪些后果,但我们能做的就是提高对浮游植物如何应对不同因素的认识。” 

 

认识我们的员工: 帕特•尼尔
关闭

Phytoplankton, the legion single-celled plant wanderers of the planet’s oceans, are the hidden foundations of sea and sky. They form the basis of many marine food webs and are also important oxygen producers and veritable carbon sponges.

Phytoplankton and marine plants produce 50 percent of the world’s oxygen through the process of photosynthesis. Phytoplankton also play a critical role in the oceans’ ability to transfer an estimated 5 to 15 gigatons of atmospheric carbon dioxide from surface to interior every year.

Yet phytoplankton are fragile, easily damaged by overexposure to ultraviolet light. As warmer global temperatures bring stronger, more frequent storms, phytoplankton are churned toward the surface more often, increasing their exposure to DNA-damaging UV rays. Sunburned phytoplankton do not photosynthesize properly, resulting in a reduced ability to release oxygen and absorb carbon. This has a detrimental global impact in light of research that suggests that the ocean carbon cycle may remove as much as half of all human-produced carbon dioxide emissions from the atmosphere.

Smithsonian photobiologist Pat Neale has studied photosynthesis in plankton for more than 30 years, both at the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC) on the Chesapeake Bay in Maryland as well as in the waters around the Antarctic continent. His work helps set a baseline for how different levels of UV exposure reduce, or inhibit, photosynthetic systems of phytoplankton, and therefore their efficacy as oxygen producers and carbon absorbers.

Pat Neale at his Photobiology Lab at the Smithsonian’s Environmental Research Center. Credit: Maria Sanchez/Smithsonian.
Pat Neale at his Photobiology Lab at the Smithsonian’s Environmental Research Center. Credit: Maria Sanchez/Smithsonian.

“The poles have a lot of interest from people who are interested in global climate change because they are the first responders, as they’re at the edge of the climate,” Pat says. “Changes will affect those areas first. Our experiments were directed towards getting a better idea of how UV is affecting polar phytoplankton, and their productivity in the Antarctic.”

Phytoplankton occupy a relatively narrow layer beneath the ocean surface, varying in depth from a few meters in turbid coastal water to hundreds of meters in the clear mid-ocean. Much of this layer is deep enough to protect them from UV rays. Ocean mixing, or the vertical churning of deep waters as wind blows across Earth’s surface, is a normal marine process, and plankton are adapted to repair moderate levels of UV damage acquired through regular exposure. But as changing weather patterns and altered ocean mixing lift plankton to the surface more often, their repair and photosynthesis mechanisms become impaired.

“If stirring happens often enough that they don’t have time to recover before another exposure occurs, it can intensify the inhibition effect,” Pat says. “Supercomputer models allow us to very realistically simulate the motion occurring in the surface mixed layer that the plankton inhabit in a way that we can’t do in real life, because we can’t tag phytoplankton to see what happens to individual cells.”

Partnering with John Cullen and Michael Lesser at the Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences in Boothbay Harbor, Maine, Pat developed an experimental apparatus known as a photoinhibitron. Known around the lab as “the Beast,” it simultaneously exposes 120 different samples of phytoplankton to varying levels of ultraviolet radiation—previous methods allowed for only a handful of samples to be irradiated at a time. Over much iteration, Neale has created a vast database of known exposure effects that he and other researchers can compare against field measurements. And one of the best places to look at phytoplankton is in one of the planet’s most extreme environments: Antarctica.

The Photoinhibitron, or “Beast,” ready to work in Pat Neale’s lab. Credit: Maria Sanchez/Smithsonian.
The Photoinhibitron, or “Beast,” ready to work in Pat Neale’s lab. Credit: Maria Sanchez/Smithsonian.

This frozen continent and its oceans have long been a destination for international research on phytoplankton. Designated by international treaty as a scientific research asset, the waters there contain some of the highest phytoplankton concentrations in the world due to nitrogen, phosphorous and iron accumulation from global ocean currents. Seasonal plankton blooms produce vast amounts of oxygen and consume equally vast amounts of carbon.

From research stations in New Zealand, Chile and Argentina, as well as aboard the National Science Foundation’s icebreaker, Nathaniel B. Palmer, Pat has been collecting samples and running tests in the Antarctic’s Ross Sea since the 1990s. His most recent expedition in 2006 added another layer of field results that, along with ongoing lab work, have enabled the development of mathematical models that predict different levels of phytoplankton activity just by using measurements of UV levels in the atmosphere.

Pat Neale collecting samples from the Ross Sea in 2005. Credit: SERC.
Pat Neale collecting samples from the Ross Sea in 2005. Credit: SERC.

Aboard the Palmer, scientists from several other nations were able to use three of Pat’s photoinhibitron devices to conduct research for their own studies. Continued cooperation between scientists of all nations is essential to conducting research like Pat’s, which has truly global implications.

“Our work [in Antarctica] helps create models that project the kinds of phytoplankton productivity we can expect for different scenarios of climate change,” Pat says. “Research on global climate change is an inherently international enterprise, and international cooperation is necessary for anybody to work in Antarctica.”

The ability of phytoplankton and other marine plant life to help remove carbon from the atmosphere is known as the biological carbon pump, one of several chemical and biological processes that interact to drive the ocean carbon cycle. To remove and sequester carbon, phytoplankton draw dissolved carbon dioxide out of seawater and, through photosynthesis, split up the carbon and oxygen molecules. The plants release the oxygen, but use the carbon molecules to maintain and replenish cellular structures. Some carbon moves up the food chain as animals consume the plankton, but much of it falls to the seafloor as waste.

Pat Neale prepares a solution for the Photoinhibitron. Credit: Maria Sanchez/Smithsonian.
Pat Neale prepares a solution for the Photoinhibitron. Credit: Maria Sanchez/Smithsonian.

“The ocean absorbs carbon dioxide, but it’s just dissolved in the water. Even if you could magically decrease carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, the ocean will fill it back up,” Pat says. “The only way to get carbon dioxide out of the ocean is to put it into something that will sink and be buried in the sediment.”   

But as carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere increase, ocean acidity does, too, which may further limit phytoplankton’s ability to remove atmospheric carbon dioxide.  Pat’s work helps shed light on factors that may contribute to reduced carbon cycling in the oceans.

“The response of phytoplankton in the ocean is very important because it’s involved in the carbon cycle, which helps regulate the atmosphere,” Pat explains. “Any change in the productivity of phytoplankton will have some consequences. We don’t know exactly what they are, but our contribution is improving the understanding of how phytoplankton respond to different factors.” 

 

Learn more about: UV Effects on Phytoplankton
Meet our people: Pat Neale
Close