保罗•加尔杜尔罗 (Paul Gardullo)

美国非裔历史和文化国立博物馆 (National Museum of African American History and Culture) 博物馆策展人

自从 2007 年起,历史学家和策展人保罗•加尔杜尔罗一直在努力为美国非裔历史和文化国立博物馆(National Museum of African American History and Culture,简称 NMAAHC)收集藏品及策划展会,该博物馆是史密森尼的第 19 座,也是最新的一座博物馆,于 2016 年在华盛顿哥伦比亚特区国家广场开馆。 她的研究兴趣非常广泛,但都与非裔美国人的历史和文化、美国文化记忆中的奴隶制、公共历史和非洲犹太移民相关。

他在 1986 年和 2001 年分别获得美国罗格斯大学 (Rutgers University) 的本科和硕士学位之后,于 2005 年获得乔治华盛顿大学 (George Washington University) 的博士学位,后于 2006 年加入耶鲁大学 (Yale University) 吉尔德•莱曼奴隶制、奴隶反抗和废奴研究中心 (Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition)。

作为史密森尼在奴隶船残骸项目 (Slave Wrecks Project) 中的代表,保罗积极参与相关规划、研究和运营工作,极大地推进了海洋考古研究的进展,而且还与项目中的国家和国际利益相关者建立了联系。 他将自己的工作重点放在博物馆对圣若泽 (São José) 等奴隶船的历史和实物的讲解上,有助于形成特定的模式,以便将这些文物和故事带入广大观众的视野。

在本科和研究生学习期间,保罗曾在巴西萨尔瓦多 (Salvador) 对安哥拉卡波耶拉 (Capoeira Angola) 进行了研究,这些研究工作以及所获得的知识,极大地帮助了他更好地理解非洲犹太移民的文化。 

请深入了解保罗•加尔杜尔罗的工作

解除束缚,奴隶船残骸研究建立新的承诺的纽带

关闭

Paul Gardullo

Museum Curator, National Museum of African American History and Culture

Since 2007, historian and curator Paul Gardullo has worked towards building the collections and exhibits for the Smithsonian’s 19th and newest museum, the National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC), opening on the National Mall in Washington D.C. in 2016. His research interests are broad-ranging, but relate to African-American history and culture, slavery in American cultural memory, public history, and the African Diaspora.

After receiving his undergraduate and master’s degrees from Rutgers University in 1986 and 2001, he went on to earn his doctorate degree from The George Washington University in 2005, and in 2006 joined Yale University’s Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition.

As the Smithsonian’s representative to the Slave Wrecks Project, Paul contributes to planning, research, and operations that advances maritime archaeology research, but also builds the relationships between the national and international stakeholders in the project. His focus on museum interpretation of the histories and objects of slave ships like the São José helps shape how these relics and stories can be brought to a wide public audience.

Between his undergraduate and graduate education, Paul spent time in Salvador, Brazil to study Capoeira Angola, the practice and understanding of which helps him better appreciate the African Diasporan cultures. 

Learn more about Paul Gardullo's Work

Out of Bondage, Research on Slave Wrecks Build New Ties of Promise

Close