بول جاردولو

أمين متحف، المتحف الوطني للتاريخ والثقافة الأمريكية الأفريقية

استمر المؤرخ والأمين بول جاردولو منذ عام 2007 في العمل في سبيل تكوين مجموعات ومعارض لمتحف سميثسونيان التاسع عشر وأحدثها على الإطلاق، وهو المتحف الوطني للتاريخ والثقافة الأمريكية الأفريقية، الذي افتُتح في ناشونال مول الكائن في واشنطن العاصمة في عام 2016. وهو معروف بأنّ اهتماماته البحثية واسعة النطاق، ولكنها تتعلق بتاريخ وثقافة الأمريكيين الأفارقة، والعبودية في الذاكرة الثقافية الأمريكية، والتاريخ العام، والشتات الأفريقي.

وعقب حصوله على البكالوريوس والماجستير من جامعة روتجرز في عامي 1986 و2001، تابع جهوده الرامية إلى حصوله على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة جورج واشنطن في عام 2005، وانضم إلى مركز غيلدر ليرمان بجامعة ييل في عام 2006 لدراسة الرقّ والمقاومة وإبطال الاسترقاق.

بصفته ممثل سميثسونيان لمشروع حطام سفينة الرقيق، يساهم بول في التخطيط والأبحاث والعمليات التي تؤدي إلى تقدم أبحاث علم الآثار البحرية، ولكنها تبني كذلك العلاقات بين أصحاب المصالح الوطنية والدولية في هذا المشروع. ويساعد تركيزه على تفسير تاريخ وأغراض سفن الرقيق من منظور المتحف مثل سفينة ساو خوسيه على تحديد كيف يمكن لهذه الآثار والقصص أن تصل إلى جمهور عريض من العامة.

وفي الفترة بين دراسته الجامعية والدراسات العليا، قضى بول وقتًا في السلفادور بالبرازيل لدراسة كابويرا أنغولا، وهي ممارسة وفهم يساعدانه على تقييم ثقافات دياسبورا الأفريقية بصورة أفضل. 

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل بول جاردولو

التحرر من العبودية، بحث عن حطام سفن الرقيق من أجل بناء روابط مبشرة جديدة

إغلاق

Paul Gardullo

Museum Curator, National Museum of African American History and Culture

Since 2007, historian and curator Paul Gardullo has worked towards building the collections and exhibits for the Smithsonian’s 19th and newest museum, the National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC), opening on the National Mall in Washington D.C. in 2016. His research interests are broad-ranging, but relate to African-American history and culture, slavery in American cultural memory, public history, and the African Diaspora.

After receiving his undergraduate and master’s degrees from Rutgers University in 1986 and 2001, he went on to earn his doctorate degree from The George Washington University in 2005, and in 2006 joined Yale University’s Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition.

As the Smithsonian’s representative to the Slave Wrecks Project, Paul contributes to planning, research, and operations that advances maritime archaeology research, but also builds the relationships between the national and international stakeholders in the project. His focus on museum interpretation of the histories and objects of slave ships like the São José helps shape how these relics and stories can be brought to a wide public audience.

Between his undergraduate and graduate education, Paul spent time in Salvador, Brazil to study Capoeira Angola, the practice and understanding of which helps him better appreciate the African Diasporan cultures. 

Learn more about Paul Gardullo's Work

Out of Bondage, Research on Slave Wrecks Build New Ties of Promise

Close