Projet Arctic Crashes : Phoques communs à Yakutat

Expertise associée : Collections
Date de début : 2014

Le projet collaboratif Arctic Crashes du Smithsonian s'intéresse aux évolutions des créatures polaires, mais aussi aux interactions entre les populations humaines et animales dans l'Arctique sur le plan scientifique, culturel et public.

L'anthropologue Aron L. Crowell dirige le Alaska Office of the Arctic Studies Center et étudie l'évolution sur le long terme des populations de phoques communs dans le golfe d'Alaska — dont le déclin s'accélère depuis les années 70. Arctic Crashes, soutenu par le groupe « Grand Challenges » du Smithsonian, a convoqué une équipe interdisciplinaire composée de chercheurs circumpolaires et d'experts originaires des communautés nordiques. Il aura fallu près de deux ans (2014–2015) à l'équipe du Smithsonian et à ses collaborateurs extérieurs pour explorer plus de 20 sites basés en Alaska, au Canada, au Groenland et en Scandinavie et étudier les collections zoologiques du musée national d'histoire naturelle.

Aidé de ses confrères et de ses étudiants, Aron travaille en partenariat avec les communautés locales dans la baie Yakutat et dans la péninsule de Kenai où il étudie l'archéologie, la tradition orale des autochtones, les témoignages sur la chasse commerciale, les données écologiques et la réalité de la chasse vivrière. Le projet Arctic Crashes et ceux menés par le Centre d'études sur l'Arctique sont alimentés par la contribution, les conseils et le savoir-faire des populations nordiques. 

En savoir plus sur ce projet

Au sud de l'Alaska, des chercheurs et des communautés locales enquêtent sur l'échouage massif des phoques communs

Arctic Crashes Project: Yakutat Harbor Seals

Related Expertise: Collections
Date Initiated: 2014

The Smithsonian’s Arctic Crashes project is an international collaborative study exploring the history of polar animal fluctuations and the shifting scientific, cultural, and public interpretations of human-animal interactions in the Arctic.

Anthropologist Aron L. Crowell directs the Alaska Office of the Arctic Studies Center and is investigating the long-term population history of harbor seals in the Gulf of Alaska, including their rapid decline since the 1970s. Arctic Crashes received support from the Smithsonian ‘Grand Challenges’ Consortium to convene an interdisciplinary team of circumpolar researchers and indigenous experts from northern communities. The core Smithsonian team and external collaborators worked for two years (2014–2015) at more than 20 research sites in Alaska, Canada, Greenland, and Scandinavia, and surveyed Arctic zoological collections at the National Museum of Natural History.

Aron with his co-investigators and students worked with local communities at field research locations in Yakutat Bay and on the outer coast of the Kenai Peninsula, studying archaeology, indigenous oral histories, historical records of commercial sealing, ecological studies, and data on contemporary subsistence hunting. The Arctic Crashes project and other programs of the Arctic Studies Center are informed by the advice, knowledge, and participation of northern indigenous communities. 

Learn more about this Project

Mobilizing Researchers and Local Communities to Understand Why Harbor Seal Populations Are Crashing Across Southern Alaska