北极崩溃项目 (Arctic Crashes Project): 亚库塔特麻斑海豹

相关专长: 藏品
启动日期: 2014

史密森尼北极崩溃项目 (Arctic Crashes project) 是一项国际协作性研究,专注于探究极地动物波动的历史及对北极地区人与动物之间的互动的不断变化的科学、文化和公众解释。

人类学家阿伦•L•克罗韦尔 (Aron L.Crowell) 负责北极研究中心阿拉斯加办事处 (Alaska Office),目前正在调查研究阿拉斯加湾 (Gulf of Alaska) 麻斑海豹的长期种群历史,包括自 20 世纪 70 年代麻斑海豹种群数量的锐减。 北极崩溃项目获得了史密森尼“大挑战”联盟 (“Grand Challenges” Consortium) 的支持,组成了一支跨学科研究小组,成员包括环极研究员和来自北部社区的本土专家。 史密森尼的这支核心团队与外部协作者在阿拉斯加、加拿大、格陵兰岛、斯堪的那维亚 20 个研究站点通力合作逾 2 两年 (2014–2015) 时间,并对国立自然历史博物馆的北极动物藏品进行了调查研究。

阿伦与他的合作研究者及学生们在位于亚库塔特海湾 (Yakutat Bay) 基奈半岛 (Kenai Peninsula) 外海岸的实地研究基地与地方社区密切合作,对考古学、土著口述历史、商业性海豹捕猎业历史记录、生态学及当代生存性捕猎的相关数据等展开了调查研究。 得益于北部土著社区的宝贵建议、提供的信息及积极参与,北极研究中心北极崩溃等项目了解了许多情况。 

请深入了解此项目

动员研究人员和地方社区一同揭开阿拉斯加南部麻斑海豹种群数量骤降之谜

Arctic Crashes Project: Yakutat Harbor Seals

Related Expertise: Collections
Date Initiated: 2014

The Smithsonian’s Arctic Crashes project is an international collaborative study exploring the history of polar animal fluctuations and the shifting scientific, cultural, and public interpretations of human-animal interactions in the Arctic.

Anthropologist Aron L. Crowell directs the Alaska Office of the Arctic Studies Center and is investigating the long-term population history of harbor seals in the Gulf of Alaska, including their rapid decline since the 1970s. Arctic Crashes received support from the Smithsonian ‘Grand Challenges’ Consortium to convene an interdisciplinary team of circumpolar researchers and indigenous experts from northern communities. The core Smithsonian team and external collaborators worked for two years (2014–2015) at more than 20 research sites in Alaska, Canada, Greenland, and Scandinavia, and surveyed Arctic zoological collections at the National Museum of Natural History.

Aron with his co-investigators and students worked with local communities at field research locations in Yakutat Bay and on the outer coast of the Kenai Peninsula, studying archaeology, indigenous oral histories, historical records of commercial sealing, ecological studies, and data on contemporary subsistence hunting. The Arctic Crashes project and other programs of the Arctic Studies Center are informed by the advice, knowledge, and participation of northern indigenous communities. 

Learn more about this Project

Mobilizing Researchers and Local Communities to Understand Why Harbor Seal Populations Are Crashing Across Southern Alaska