مشروع حطام المنطقة القطبية الشمالية: فقمات ياكوتات

الخبرات ذات الصلة: المجموعات
تاريخ البدء: 2014

مشروع انقراض الكائنات في المنطقة القطبية الخاص بمؤسسة سميثسونيان هو عبارة عن دراسة تعاونية تستكشف تاريخ التقلبات الحيوانية القطبية والتفسيرات العامة والثقافية والعلمية المتغيرة للتفاعلات بين الإنسان والحيوان في القطب الشمالي.

يقدم عالم الأنثروبولوجيا آرون إل كروويل توجيهاته إلى مكتب ألاسكا التابع لمركز دراسات المنطقة القطبية الشمالية ويبحث في تاريخ السكان على المدى الطويل بخصوص فقمات الموانئ في خليج ألاسكا، بما في ذلك انخفاضها السريع منذ السبعينيات من القرن الماضي. تلقى مشروع انقراض الكائنات في المنطقة القطبية الشمالية الدعم من اتحاد "التحديات الكبرى" الخاص بمؤسسة سميثسونيان من أجل تجميع فريق متعدد التخصصات من الباحثين المعنيين بالشؤون القطبية والخبراء الأصليين من المجتمعات الشمالية. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن فريق سميثسونيان الأساسي والأطراف الخارجية المتعاونة قد عملوا على مدار عامين (2014–2015) في أكثر من 20 موقعًا بحثيًا في ألاسكا وكندا وغرينلاند واسكندنافيا، وقاموا بفحص مجموعات حيوانية خاصة بالقطب الشمالي في المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي.

عمل آرون مع زملائه الباحثين والطلاب بالتعاون مع المجتمعات المحلية في مواقع الأبحاث الميدانية وخليج ياكوتات وعلى الساحل الخارجي من شبه جزيرة كيناي على دراسة علم الآثار والتاريخ الشفهي للسكان الأصليين، والسجلات التاريخية لصيد الفقمة للأغراض التجارية والدراسات البيئية، وبيانات عن الصيد كمصدر للحياة في الوقت الراهن. يحظى مشرع انقراض الكائنات في المنطقة القطبية الشمالية والبرامج الأخرى التي يقدمها مركز دراسات المنطقة القطبية الشمالية بالمعلومات اللازمة من خلال تقديم الاستشارات والمعلومات ومشاركة المجتمعات الأصلية الشمالية. 

تعرف على المزيد عن هذا المشروع

الاستعانة بالباحثين وسكان المجتمعات المحلية لمعرفة الأسباب وراء تضاؤل أعداد فقمات الموانئ في جنوب ألاسكا

Arctic Crashes Project: Yakutat Harbor Seals

Related Expertise: Collections
Date Initiated: 2014

The Smithsonian’s Arctic Crashes project is an international collaborative study exploring the history of polar animal fluctuations and the shifting scientific, cultural, and public interpretations of human-animal interactions in the Arctic.

Anthropologist Aron L. Crowell directs the Alaska Office of the Arctic Studies Center and is investigating the long-term population history of harbor seals in the Gulf of Alaska, including their rapid decline since the 1970s. Arctic Crashes received support from the Smithsonian ‘Grand Challenges’ Consortium to convene an interdisciplinary team of circumpolar researchers and indigenous experts from northern communities. The core Smithsonian team and external collaborators worked for two years (2014–2015) at more than 20 research sites in Alaska, Canada, Greenland, and Scandinavia, and surveyed Arctic zoological collections at the National Museum of Natural History.

Aron with his co-investigators and students worked with local communities at field research locations in Yakutat Bay and on the outer coast of the Kenai Peninsula, studying archaeology, indigenous oral histories, historical records of commercial sealing, ecological studies, and data on contemporary subsistence hunting. The Arctic Crashes project and other programs of the Arctic Studies Center are informed by the advice, knowledge, and participation of northern indigenous communities. 

Learn more about this Project

Mobilizing Researchers and Local Communities to Understand Why Harbor Seal Populations Are Crashing Across Southern Alaska