كاتالينا بيمينتو هيرنانديز

زميلة دراسات ما بعد الدكتوراه، جامعة زيوريخ، سويسرا

ولدت كاتالينا بيميينتو هيرنانديز في بوغوتا، كولومبيا. وقد كانت مفعمة بالشغف للقروش والحياة البحرية منذ نعومة أظافرها. حصلت كاتالينا على درجة البكالوريوس في علم الأحياء من جامعة خافيريانا في بوغوتا. وانتقلت بعد ذلك إلى المكسيك لإعداد أطروحتها الجامعية لدراسة بيئة قروش الحيتان في الحديقة الوطنية بجزيرة ايسلا كونتوي، ثم انتقلت إلى بنما حيث عملت في مؤسسة سميثسونيان لأبحاث المناطق الاستوائية. وعملت كاتالينا، في أول الأمر، في مختبر ناووس البحري حيث درست أنماط هجرة قروش الحيتان في أرخبيل لاس بيرلاس والمحيط الهادئ الأوسط. ثم عملت مساعدة مختبر بمركز علوم البيئة والنباتات القديمة.

بدأت كاتالينا في عام 2008 دراساتها العليا في جامعة فلوريدا حيث عملت كقيم باحث في متحف فلوريدا للتاريخ الطبيعي. وفي ربيع عام 2010، حصلت كاتالينا على درجة الماجستير في علم الحيوان من قسم الأحياء، مع تخصص فرعي في تعليم العلوم. وفيما يتعلق بالجانب العلمي من رسالة الماجستير، فقد درست كاتالينا علم البيئة القديمة للقروش في العصر الميوسيني في بنما. وقد ركز بحثها الأولي على البيئة الحاضنة للقرش العملاق المنقرض ميجالودون. أما بخصوص الجانب التعليمي والتوعوي، فقد قامت كاتالينا بإنشاء موقع إلكتروني لإشراك الأطفال في العلوم إضافة إلى إدخال نشاط بالمنهج الدراسي لتيسير الاستخدام في الفصول الدراسية والمتاحف.

بدأت في عام 2010، في إعداد أطروحة دكتوراة غير تقليدية في قسم علم الأحياء بجامعة فلوريدا، وقد اعتمد الجانب البحثي في أطروحتها على العمل الميداني والمجموعات المختلفة، واستخدمت دراسات البيئة الكلية والتحليل التلوي لبحث سجلات حفريات القروش. وكانت مهتمة بشكل خاص بفهم آليات انقراض القرش الأبيض العملاق ميجالودون، وقد جمعت ما بين بحثها العلمي مع تعليم العلوم، والتقنية التعليمية والتوعية العامة. ووفقًا لهذا، صممت كاتالينا ونفذت منهجًا مدمجاً لعلم الحفريات للطلاب الجامعيين بجامعة بنما. وفي صيف 2015، حصلت كاتالينا على درجة الدكتوراه من قسم الأحياء وكتن تخصصها الفرعي في تقنية التعليم وإعداد المناهج الدراسية.

ومن الجدير بالذكر أنها حصلت مؤخرًا على زمالة Forschungskredit لدراسات ما بعد الدكتوراه من جامعة زيوريخ وتعمل حاليًا في معهد الحفريات ومتحف جامعة زيورخ في سويسرا. وتتناول في سياق بحثها آثار انقراض المفترسات القديمة على النظم البيئية البحرية القديمة. تأمل كاتالينا في أن تواصل عملها على المفترسات المنقرضة، واستخدام المعلومات التي تتوصل إليها في تفسير السلاسل الغذائية من منظور علم الأحياء القديمة، وتقديم رؤية ثاقبة بخصوص الحفاظ على القروش التي تواجه الانقراض في الوقت الحاضر. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فهي تعتزم الجمع بين شغفها العلمي والتزامها في تعليم العلوم، والتقنية التعليمية وتوعية العامة، وتطوير أدوات مبتكرة لإشراك الطلاب وصناع السياسات وعموم الأشخاص المهتمين بالعلوم.

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل كاتالينو بيمينتو هيرنانديز

سميثسونيان تستخدم سجلات الحفريات الموجودة في بنما لوضع نموذج للتغيرات المناخية المستقبلية

إغلاق

Catalina Pimiento Hernandez

Post-Doctoral Fellow, University of Zurich, Switzerland

Catalina Pimiento Hernandez was born in Bogota, Colombia. Since she was very young she was passionate about sharks and marine life. She obtained her bachelor degree in biology in the Universidad Javeriana in Bogota. For her undergraduate thesis, Catalina moved to Mexico to study the population ecology of the whale sharks from the Isla Contoy National Park. She then moved to Panama where she worked in the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute. Initially, Catalina worked in the Naos Marine Laboratory where she studied the migration patterns of whale sharks in Las Perlas Archipelago and the Central Pacific Ocean. Then she worked in the Center for Archeology and Paleoecology as a laboratory assistant.

In 2008 Catalina started her graduate studies at the University of Florida where she worked as a researcher-curator in the Florida Museum of Natural History. In the spring of 2010, Catalina obtained a Master of Science in Zoology from the Department of Biology with a minor in science education. For the scientific component of her master’s, Catalina studied the paleoecology of Miocene sharks from Panama. Her primary research focused on the nursery habitats of the extinct giant shark Carcharocles megalodon. For her education and outreach component, Catalina developed a website to engage children in science, and a curriculum activity to facilitate its use in classrooms and museums.

In 2010 Catalina started a non-traditional PhD in the Biology Department of the University of Florida. Her research component was field- and collections-based, and used macroecological studies and meta-analyses to investigate the fossil record of sharks. She was particularly interested in understanding the extinction mechanisms of C. megalodon, and combined her scientific research with science education, educational technology and public outreach. Accordingly, Catalina designed and implemented a blended course on Paleontology for undergraduate students from the University of Panama. In the summer of 2015, Catalina obtained a PhD in Biology from the Department of Biology with a minor in educational technology and curriculum development.

Recently, Catalina was awarded with the Forschungskredit postdoctoral fellowship from the University of Zurich and is currently working in the Paleontology Institute and Museum of the University of Zurich in Switzerland. For her research, she is investigating the effects of the extinction of ancient predators in ancient marine ecosystems. Catalina hopes to continue working with extinct predators and to use this information to interpret trophic cascades from a paleobiological perspective, and to provide insight for the conservation of modern sharks facing extinction. In addition, she plans to combine her scientific passion with her commitment to science education, educational technology and public outreach, and develop innovative tools to engage students, policy makes and the general audiences in science.

Learn more about Catalina Pimiento Hernandez's Work

Smithsonian Uses Fossil Records in Panama to Model Future Climate Change

Close