乔舒亚•A•贝尔 (Joshua A. Bell)

国立自然历史博物馆全球化策展人

乔舒亚•A•贝尔 (Joshua A. Bell) 任国立自然历史博物馆 (National Museum of Natural History) 全球化策展人。为了研究本地和全球网络在人 、制成品和环境之间不断的交替,乔舒亚不仅在巴布亚新几内亚从事民族学研究,还在美国研究移动电话的文化。这项工作也得益于在澳大利亚、欧洲和美国持续进行的档案和博物馆研究。

自 2000 年以来,乔舒亚与位于普拉里三角洲 (Purari Delta) 的社区成员合作。该三角洲是位于巴布亚新几内亚南海岸上的一个生态多样化的潮汐河口。 他研究森林砍伐和采掘业是如何改变了这一地区的社会、经济和环境特征,以及各研究对象在这些全球性纷争中所起的作用。

在与当地社区合作时,乔舒亚记录了他们的文化遗产和知识传统。 他曾与普拉里合作伙伴合作,用他们的语言版本出版了一本历史图册,供社区居民上学和日常生活使用。他还与社区成员合作创作了有关当地植物和编篮传统的图解招贴画,有助于支持民族植物学知识代代相传。他目前致力于制作一张有关他们音乐传统的光盘,这些传统是对环境和文化知识不同侧面的记载。

乔舒亚于 1996 年获得布朗大学 (Brown University) 文学士学位 (1996),在牛津大学 (Oxford University) 先于 1998 年获得人类学硕士学位、后于 2006 年获得人类学博士学位。 他在加盟史密森尼之前,在东安格利亚大学 (University of East Anglia) 塞恩斯伯里非洲、大洋洲和美洲艺术研究所 (Sainsbury Research Unit for the Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas) 任助理教授。

请深入了解乔舒亚•A•贝尔的工作

史密森尼与世界各地的社群合作,恢复和维护濒危语种和传统

关闭

Joshua A. Bell

Curator of Globalization, National Museum of Natural History

Joshua A. Bell is Curator of Globalization at the National Museum of Natural History. Examining shifting local and global networks between people, artifacts, and the environment, Joshua conducts ethnography in Papua New Guinea and on the culture of cellular phones in the United States. This work is complemented with on-going archival and museum-based research in Australia, Europe, and the United States. 

Since 2000, Joshua has worked with community members in the Purari Delta, an ecologically diverse tidal estuary on Papua New Guinea’s south coast. He studies how deforestation and extractive industries have transformed the social, economic and environmental character of this area, and the role of objects in these global entanglements. 

Working with local communities, Joshua documents their heritage and knowledge traditions. He has worked with Purari partners to publish a book of historical photographs in their language for the community’s use in schools and daily life. He has also worked with community members to create illustrated posters of local plants and basketry traditions to help support the transfer of ethnobotanical knowledge from generation to generation. He is currently working to create a CD of their musical traditions, which encode different aspects of their environmental and cultural knowledge.

Joshua earned his BA from Brown University (1996), an MPhil (1998) and DPhil (2006) in Anthropology from Oxford University. Before joining the Smithsonian, he was an assistant professor at the Sainsbury Research Unit for the Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas at the University of East Anglia.

Learn more about Joshua A. Bell's Work

Smithsonian Works with Communities Around the World to Recover and Sustain Endangered Languages and Traditions

Close