جوشوا أيه بيل

أمين العولمة، المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي

جوشوا إيه بيل، أمين العولمة في المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي.  يضطلع جوشوا بدراسة الإثنوغرافيا في بابوا غينيا الجديدة وثقافة الهواتف الخلوية في الولايات المتحدة وذلك لبحث تغير الشبكات العالمية والمحلية فيما يتعلق بالأشخاص والنتاج البشري والبيئة.  ويُستكمل هذا العمل من خلال البحث المستمر القائم على المتاحف والمحفوظات في أستراليا وأوروبا والولايات المتحدة. 

ومنذ عام 2000، عمل جوشوا مع أفراد المجتمع المحلي في "دلتا نهر برواري"، التي تعد مصبًا نهريًا مدي الجزر متغير بيئيًا على الساحل الجنوبي في بابوا غينيا الجديدة. وهو يدرس أثر إزالة الغابات والصناعات الاستخراجية في تحويل الطابع الاجتماعي والاقتصادي والبيئي لهذه المنطقة، كما يدرس دور الكائنات في هذه التعقيدات العالمية.

ومن خلال العمل مع المجتمعات المحلية، تمكن جوشوا من توثيق التقاليد المعرفية والتراثية الخاصة بهم. وقد عمل جوشوا مع شركاء من برواري لنشر كتاب عن الصور التاريخية بلغتهم للاستخدام المجتمعي في المدارس والحياة اليومية. كما عمل مع أفراد من المجتمع المحلي على إعداد ملصقات توضيحية للنباتات المحلية وتقاليد صناعة السلال للمساعدة في دعم نقل المعرفة الاثنونباتية من جيل لآخر. وهو يعمل حاليًا على إنتاج قرص مضغوط يحتوي على تقاليدهم الموسيقية يتضمن أوجه مختلفة من المعرفة الثقافية والبيئية الخاصة بهم.

وقد حصل جوشوا على درجة بكالوريوس الآداب من جامعة براون عام (1996)، كما حصل على ماجستير في الفلسفة عام (1998) ودكتوراه في الفلسفة عام (2006) في علم الأنثروبولوجيا من جامعة أكسفورد. وقبل الالتحاق بمؤسسة سميثسونيان، عمل جوشوا أستاذًا مساعدًا بوحدة أبحاث سينسبري للفنون الخاصة بأفريقيا وأوقيانوسيا والأمريكتين في جامعة إيست أنجليا.

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل جوشوا أيه بيل

تعمل مؤسسة سميثسونيان مع المجتمعات حول العالم لاستعادة اللغات والتقاليد المهددة بالانقراض والحفاظ على استدامتها

إغلاق

Joshua A. Bell

Curator of Globalization, National Museum of Natural History

Joshua A. Bell is Curator of Globalization at the National Museum of Natural History. Examining shifting local and global networks between people, artifacts, and the environment, Joshua conducts ethnography in Papua New Guinea and on the culture of cellular phones in the United States. This work is complemented with on-going archival and museum-based research in Australia, Europe, and the United States. 

Since 2000, Joshua has worked with community members in the Purari Delta, an ecologically diverse tidal estuary on Papua New Guinea’s south coast. He studies how deforestation and extractive industries have transformed the social, economic and environmental character of this area, and the role of objects in these global entanglements. 

Working with local communities, Joshua documents their heritage and knowledge traditions. He has worked with Purari partners to publish a book of historical photographs in their language for the community’s use in schools and daily life. He has also worked with community members to create illustrated posters of local plants and basketry traditions to help support the transfer of ethnobotanical knowledge from generation to generation. He is currently working to create a CD of their musical traditions, which encode different aspects of their environmental and cultural knowledge.

Joshua earned his BA from Brown University (1996), an MPhil (1998) and DPhil (2006) in Anthropology from Oxford University. Before joining the Smithsonian, he was an assistant professor at the Sainsbury Research Unit for the Arts of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas at the University of East Anglia.

Learn more about Joshua A. Bell's Work

Smithsonian Works with Communities Around the World to Recover and Sustain Endangered Languages and Traditions

Close