مبادرة استعادة اللهجات

الخبرات ذات الصلة: المجموعات
تاريخ البدء: 2009

تعزز مبادرة استعادة اللغات توثيق وإحياء اللغات المهددة بالانقراض على مستوى العالم والمعارف المسجلة بها. تحت إشراف المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي بالاشتراك مع وحدات سميثسونيان الأخرى - المتحف الوطني للهنود الأميركيين ومركز الحياة الشعبية والتراث الثقافي - تواصل استعادة اللغات الأبحاث الدولية لأمناء سميثسونيان وتربط بين مجتمعات السكان الأصليين من جميع أنحاء العالم ومجموعات سميثسونيان في واشنطن العاصمة.

في إطار ذلك يدعم العلماء وأمناء المتاحف وأمناء الأرشيفات التابعون لسميثسونيان التنوع الثقافي العالمي ويحافظون على اللغات المهددة بالانقراض من خلال العمل في المواقع الدولية إلى جانب البرمجة في واشنطن العاصمة. وقد شملت هذه الأنشطة مهرجان سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية 2013، وبرنامج "عالمٌ واحد، ولغات متعددة"، وعمل المعهد الوطني لأرشفة نسائم الحياة للغات الأصلية، وبرنامج المنح البحثية المجتمعية (CRG).

نظمت مبادرة استعادة اللغات المعهد الوطني لأرشفة نسائم الحياة 2015 بالتعاون مع مركز ميامي في جامعة ميامي. واشتملت ورشة العمل هذه على 29 باحثًا مجتمعيًا سافروا إلى واشنطن العاصمة للحصول على الوثائق الأرشيفية بعدد 14 لغةً وثقافةً محلية في مكتب المحفوظات الأنثروبولوجية الوطني، ومكتبة الكونغرس، ومجموعات علم الأجناس في المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي والمتحف الوطني للهنود الأمريكيين. وقد حازت مبادرة نسائم الحياة على جائزة توثيق اللغات المهددة بالانقراض، وهو جهد مشترك بين المؤسسة الوطنية للعلوم وهيئة الأوقاف الوطنية للدراسات الإنسانية.

جدير بالذكر أنّ برنامج المنح البحثية المجتمعية يُعد أحد الجوانب المهمة في مبادرة استعادة اللغات. ويمكّن هذا البرنامج علماء المجتمع المتخصصين في اللغة والمعارف التقليدية من السفر إلى سميثسونيان للعمل على المجموعات والمواد الأرشيفية. وتجذب المجموعات في المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي المجتمعات من مختلف أنحاء العالم، بدءًا من الدول المجاورة مثل كندا، وكذلك المجتمعات الأبعد من ذلك مثل ساموا.

في عام 2012، استضافت مبادرة استعادة اللغات تحالف أبحاث البحيرات العظمى لدراسة فنون السكان الأصليين وثقافاتهم. وتتألف هذه المجموعة من العلماء من الجامعات والمتاحف والمجتمعات الأصلية الذين يستخدمون التكنولوجيا لجمع تراث البحيرات العظمى رقميًا تلك البحيرات المنتشرة حاليًا في المتاحف والأرشيفات في أمريكا الشمالية وأوروبا. ويتمثل هدفهم في الجمع بين هذه المعلومات التنظيمية والأرشيفية والمعرفة المجتمعية للسكان الأصليين، والذاكرة، ووجهات النظر. وخلال زيارتهم، أعاد مينا وثيودور (تيد) تولوز السابقين والأستاذ ماري آن كوربير من أمم ساغاموك ووينويميكونغ السابقة ربط لغة أنيشينابي ومعرفة كويلوورك وجمع شراب القيقب وحاويات خشب البتولا بمجموعات المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي. وقد عمل تيد، بمجرد عودته إلى الوطن، ومُلهمًا بالأدوات التقليدية الموجودة في المجموعات ولكنها لم تعد موجودة في المجتمع، مع العضو المشارك في الفريق آل كوربير (أمة ميتشيغينغ الأولى) لإصدار فيديو عن الموارد الطبيعية المحلية مثل جمع شراب القيقب لتعليم أطفال مدارس أنيشينابي لغتهم. وقد تم إدراج لقطات من المناقشات بلغة الإيجبو التي جرت عند ربط الزوار بجمع بداية القرن العشرين في مخزن المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي أيضًا في السجلات المعدة لقاعدة بيانات تحالف أبحاث البحيرات العظمى لدراسة فنون السكان الأصليين وثقافاتهم وسيتم استخدامها في موقع عام على شبكة الإنترنت من شأنه جعل بحث التحالف سهل الوصول إليه بدرجة كبيرة.

في عام 2013، زارت مجموعة من الهيلتسوك (بيلا بيلا) ونوكسالك (بيلا كولا) مجتمعات الساحل الشمالي الغربي لكندا. وعلى غرار التحالف، كان لهذه المجتمعات تاريخ مشترك تمثل في رغبتهم في إعادة الاستكشاف من خلال مجموعات المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي. اجتمع القادة الشباب إيان ريد وكلايد تاليو لأول مرة في المتحف وافتعلوا شراكة كوسيلة لدعم جهودهم المشتركة الرامية إلى إعادة إحياء اللغة والفن والمعارف التقليدية في مجتمعاتهم، وبلغت ذروتها في رؤيتهم لمعرفة المزيد عن قرية تاريخية عاشت فيها معًا قبائل الهيلتسوك والنوكسالك.

تهدف مبادرة "استعادة اللغات" إلى تحسين إمكانية الوصول إلى مجموعات سميثسونيان المتنوعة ودعم عمليات الإحياء والتوثيق والأبحاث متعددة التخصصات من خلال التعاون مع المجتمعات المحلية والمنظمات الشريكة بالولايات المتحدة وعلى مستوى دولي. تُنشئ سميثسونيان شبكة عالمية من المجتمعات والمتاحف والجامعات والمنظمات الأخرى التي تُكرس مجهوداتها لهذا المسعى.

 

تعرف على المزيد عن هذا المشروع

تعمل مؤسسة سميثسونيان مع المجتمعات حول العالم لاستعادة اللغات والتقاليد المهددة بالانقراض والحفاظ على استدامتها

Recovering Voices

Related Expertise: Collections
Date Initiated: 2009

Smithsonian’s Recovering Voices initiative promotes the documentation and revitalization of the world’s endangered languages and the knowledge preserved in them. Led by the National Museum of Natural History in partnership with other Smithsonian units—the National Museum of the American Indian and the Center for Folklife and Cultural HeritageRecovering Voices builds on the international research of Smithsonian curators and connects indigenous communities from around the world with Smithsonian collections in Washington, D.C.

Smithsonian scientists, curators, and archivists support global cultural diversity and preserve endangered languages through work at international sites as well as programming in Washington, D.C. These have included the 2013 Smithsonian Folklife Festival, One World, Many Voices, the ongoing National Breath of Life Archival Institute for Indigenous Languages, and the Community Research Grants (CRG) program.

Recovering Voices organized the 2015 Breath of Life Institute in collaboration with the Myaamia Center at Miami University. This workshop included 29 community researchers who traveled to Washington, D.C., to access archival documentation on 14 native languages and cultures at the National Anthropological Archive, the Library of Congress, and ethnology collections at the National Museum of Natural History and the National Museum of the American Indian. Breath of Life is supported by the Documenting Endangered Languages award, a joint effort between the National Science Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

A vital part of Recovering Voices is the Community Research Grants (CRG) program. This program enables community scholars specializing in language and traditional knowledge to travel to the Smithsonian to work on collections and archival materials. The collections at NMNH attract communities from across the globe—from neighboring countries like Canada, as well as communities further afield like Samoa.

In 2012, Recovering Voices hosted the Great Lakes Research Alliance for the Study of Aboriginal Arts and Cultures (GRASAC). This group is made up of scholars from universities, museums, and Native communities who use technology to digitally reunite Great Lakes heritage currently scattered across museums and archives in North America and Europe. Their goal is to bring this museological and archival information together with Aboriginal community knowledge, memory, and perspectives. During their visit, elders Myna and Theodore (Ted) Toulouse and Professor Mary Ann Corbiere from Sagamuck and Wikwemikong First Nations reconnected their Anishinaabe language, knowledge of quillwork, maple syrup collecting, and birch bark containers with the NMNH collections. Once back home, inspired by the traditional tools found in the collections but no longer seen in the community, Ted worked with co-team member Al Corbiere (M'chigeeng First Nation) to produce a video on local natural resources like maple syrup collecting to teach Anishinaabe school children their language. Clips of the discussions in Anishinaabemowin that took place when the visitors connected with the early twentieth century collection in the NMNH storage are also included in the records made for the GRASAC database and will be used in a public website that will make GRASAC research widely accessible.

In 2013, groups visited from the Heiltsuk (Bella Bella) and Nuxalk (Bella Coola) communities of the Northwest Coast of Canada. Like GRASAC, these communities had a shared history that they wanted to re-explore through NMNH collections. Youth leaders Ian Reid and Clyde Tallio met for the first time at NMNH and forged a partnership as a means to support their mutual efforts to revitalize language, art, and traditional knowledge in their communities, culminating in their vision to learn more about a historical village that had been co-habited by the Heiltsuk and the Nuxalk.

In collaboration with communities and partner organizations in the United States and at an international level, Recovering Voices broadens access to Smithsonian collections and supports interdisciplinary research, documentation and revitalization. Smithsonian is creating a global network of communities, museums, universities, and other organizations dedicated to this endeavor.

 

Learn more about this Project

Smithsonian Works with Communities Around the World to Recover and Sustain Endangered Languages and Traditions