Collecte de voix

Expertise associée : Collections
Date de début : 2009

Le programme Collecte de voix (Recovering Voices) du Smithsonian promeut l'étude et veille à la résurgence des langues menacées et des connaissances qu’elles renferment. Collecte de voix (Recovering Voices) est un programme dirigé par le musée national d'histoire naturelle en partenariat avec différents départements du Smithsonian (le National Museum of the American Indian et le Centre pour les traditions populaires et le patrimoine culturel du Smithsonian). Ce projet, basé sur les travaux de conservateurs du Smithsonian, rassemble les communautés autochtones du monde entier autour des collections d’œuvres d’art du Smithsonian à Washington.

Scientifiques, conservateurs et archivistes soutiennent la diversité culturelle mondiale et la pérennité des langues menacées. Dans cette optique, ils travaillent sur des sites internationaux et des évènements organisés à Washington, comme le Folklife Festival de 2013, One World, Many Voices, le National Breath of Life Archival Institute for Indigenous Languages en cours, et le programme Community Research Grants (CRG).

L'initiative Recovering Voices a organisé le 2015 Breath of Life Institute en collaboration avec le Myaamia Center à l'Université de Miami. L'atelier a réuni 29 chercheurs qui se sont rendus à Washington D.C. pour consulter les archives sur 14 langues et cultures autochtones dans les archives anthropologiques nationales, la bibliothèque du congrès et les collections ethnologiques du musée national d'histoire naturelle et le musée national des Indiens d'Amérique. Breath of Life est soutenu par le prix Documenting Endangered Languages, un effort conjoint de la National Science Foundation et du National Endowment for the Humanities.

Dans le cadre du projet Collecte de voix (Recovering Voices), le programme Community Research Grants (CRG) joue un rôle clé. Ainsi, grâce à ce projet, des chercheurs en linguistique et en savoirs ancestraux viennent consulter les collections et archives du Smithsonian. Des peuples du monde entier viennent découvrir les collections du NMNH, qu'ils viennent de pays voisins comme le Canada ou de contrées plus éloignées comme les îles Samoa.

En 2012, Collecte de voix (Recovering Voices) a accueilli la Great Lakes Research Alliance for the Study of Aboriginal Arts and Cultures (GRASAC). Formé de chercheurs, de musées et de communautés autochtones, ce groupe tire parti de la technologie numérique pour redonner vie au patrimoine des Grands Lacs disséminé dans plusieurs musées et archives d’Amérique du nord et d’Europe. Leur objectif est de regrouper tous les documents d'archive et informations muséologiques pour les recouper avec les savoirs collectifs, les témoignages et les points de vue des autochtones. Durant leur visite au NMNH, Myna, Theodore (Ted) Toulouse et le professeur Mary Ann Corbiere, anciens issus des tribus Sagamuck et Wikwemikong, ont pu renouer avec leurs racines : langue ojibwé, travail de la peau de porc-épic, récolte de sirop d'érable et récipients en écorce de bouleau. Inspirés par ces outils traditionnels oubliés, Ted et son coéquipier Al Corbiere (Première nation M'chigeeng) ont tourné une vidéo sur la récolte de ressources locales naturelles (comme le sirop d'érable), pour que les enfants anishinaabes se réapproprient leur langue d'origine. Des vidéos en ojibwé capturant l'instant où les visiteurs font connaissance avec cette collection du début du XXe s au NMNH, seront intégrées à la base de données du GRASAC et seront rendues accessibles à tous sur un site web public.

En 2013, des congrégations provenant des communautés heiltsuk (bella bella) et nuxalk (Bella Coola) sont venues de la côte ouest canadienne pour visiter les lieux. À l'instar du GRASAC, ces communautés partageaient une histoire commune qu'ils voulaient réexplorer à travers les collections du NMNH. Ian Reid et Clyde Tallio, animateurs pour enfants, se sont rencontrés pour la première fois au NMNH. Ensemble, ils ont eu à cœur de faire renaître leur patrimoine linguistique, artistique et traditionnel, dans l'espoir de retracer l'histoire d'un village historique où les Heiltsuks et les Nuxalks auraient cohabité.

En collaboration avec des communautés et des organisations partenaires venues des États-Unis et du monde entier, le projet Recovering Voices élargit l’accès aux collections du Smithsonian et soutient la recherche interdisciplinaire, la documentation et la résurgence de langues menacées. Le Smithsonian crée un réseau mondial de communautés, de musées, d’universités et d’autres organisations qui travaillent en ce sens.

 

En savoir plus sur ce projet

Le Smithsonian travaille avec les communautés du monde entier au rétablissement et au maintien des langues et traditions en danger d’extinction

Recovering Voices

Related Expertise: Collections
Date Initiated: 2009

Smithsonian’s Recovering Voices initiative promotes the documentation and revitalization of the world’s endangered languages and the knowledge preserved in them. Led by the National Museum of Natural History in partnership with other Smithsonian units—the National Museum of the American Indian and the Center for Folklife and Cultural HeritageRecovering Voices builds on the international research of Smithsonian curators and connects indigenous communities from around the world with Smithsonian collections in Washington, D.C.

Smithsonian scientists, curators, and archivists support global cultural diversity and preserve endangered languages through work at international sites as well as programming in Washington, D.C. These have included the 2013 Smithsonian Folklife Festival, One World, Many Voices, the ongoing National Breath of Life Archival Institute for Indigenous Languages, and the Community Research Grants (CRG) program.

Recovering Voices organized the 2015 Breath of Life Institute in collaboration with the Myaamia Center at Miami University. This workshop included 29 community researchers who traveled to Washington, D.C., to access archival documentation on 14 native languages and cultures at the National Anthropological Archive, the Library of Congress, and ethnology collections at the National Museum of Natural History and the National Museum of the American Indian. Breath of Life is supported by the Documenting Endangered Languages award, a joint effort between the National Science Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities.

A vital part of Recovering Voices is the Community Research Grants (CRG) program. This program enables community scholars specializing in language and traditional knowledge to travel to the Smithsonian to work on collections and archival materials. The collections at NMNH attract communities from across the globe—from neighboring countries like Canada, as well as communities further afield like Samoa.

In 2012, Recovering Voices hosted the Great Lakes Research Alliance for the Study of Aboriginal Arts and Cultures (GRASAC). This group is made up of scholars from universities, museums, and Native communities who use technology to digitally reunite Great Lakes heritage currently scattered across museums and archives in North America and Europe. Their goal is to bring this museological and archival information together with Aboriginal community knowledge, memory, and perspectives. During their visit, elders Myna and Theodore (Ted) Toulouse and Professor Mary Ann Corbiere from Sagamuck and Wikwemikong First Nations reconnected their Anishinaabe language, knowledge of quillwork, maple syrup collecting, and birch bark containers with the NMNH collections. Once back home, inspired by the traditional tools found in the collections but no longer seen in the community, Ted worked with co-team member Al Corbiere (M'chigeeng First Nation) to produce a video on local natural resources like maple syrup collecting to teach Anishinaabe school children their language. Clips of the discussions in Anishinaabemowin that took place when the visitors connected with the early twentieth century collection in the NMNH storage are also included in the records made for the GRASAC database and will be used in a public website that will make GRASAC research widely accessible.

In 2013, groups visited from the Heiltsuk (Bella Bella) and Nuxalk (Bella Coola) communities of the Northwest Coast of Canada. Like GRASAC, these communities had a shared history that they wanted to re-explore through NMNH collections. Youth leaders Ian Reid and Clyde Tallio met for the first time at NMNH and forged a partnership as a means to support their mutual efforts to revitalize language, art, and traditional knowledge in their communities, culminating in their vision to learn more about a historical village that had been co-habited by the Heiltsuk and the Nuxalk.

In collaboration with communities and partner organizations in the United States and at an international level, Recovering Voices broadens access to Smithsonian collections and supports interdisciplinary research, documentation and revitalization. Smithsonian is creating a global network of communities, museums, universities, and other organizations dedicated to this endeavor.

 

Learn more about this Project

Smithsonian Works with Communities Around the World to Recover and Sustain Endangered Languages and Traditions