ماري إس لين

أمينة الإحياء الثقافي واللغوي بمركز سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية والتراث الثقافي

ماري لين أمينة الإحياء الثقافي واللغوي بمركز سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية والتراث الثقافي (CFCH). ماري متخصصة في العمل مع مجتمعات السكان الأصليين في أمريكا الشمالية لدعم اللغات المهددة بالانقراض وإحيائها.

انضمت ماري لمؤسسة سميثسونيان في 2014. وهي تعمل في إستراتيجيات الإحياء المتعلقة بأفراد مجتمع السكان الاصليين بما في ذلك التوثيق اللغوي والسياسة اللغوية وأساليب الدراسات الاستقصائية بالإضافة إلى مناهج لغوية قائمة على الثقافة.

وفي هذا السياق صرحت ماري قائلة "سيساعدني العمل لدى مؤسسة سميثسونيان في هذه المبادرات اللغوية والثقافية المثيرة على إحداث تغيير إيجابي في المجتمعات، حيث سينشأ عن هذا التغيير عالم أكبر من حيث التنوع وأفضل من حيث الاستدامة يستفيد منه الجميع."

اضطلعت ماري قبل انضمامها لمؤسسة سميثسونيان بدور قيِّم مساعد للغات الأمريكية الأصلية وبدور أستاذ منتسب لدى متحف سام نوبل أوكلاهوما للتاريخ الطبيعي بجامعة أوكلاهوما.

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل ماري إس لين

تعمل مؤسسة سميثسونيان مع المجتمعات حول العالم لاستعادة اللغات والتقاليد المهددة بالانقراض والحفاظ على استدامتها

إغلاق

Mary S. Linn

Curator of Cultural and Linguistic Revitalization, Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage

Mary S. Linn is Curator of Cultural and Linguistic Revitalization at the Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage (CFCH). Mary specializes in work with indigenous communities in North America to sustain and revitalize endangered languages.

Mary joined the Smithsonian in 2014. She works in revitalization strategies for indigenous community members including language documentation, language policy, survey methods, and culturally-based language curriculum.

In Mary’s words, “working at Smithsonian on these exciting new language and cultural initiatives will help me affect positive change in communities, and these changes create a more diverse and sustainable world for everyone.”

Prior to joining the Smithsonian, Mary was associate curator of Native American languages and associate professor at the Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, University of Oklahoma.

Learn more about Mary S. Linn's Work

Smithsonian Works with Communities Around the World to Recover and Sustain Endangered Languages and Traditions

Close