مايك هالوورث

زميل دراسات بعد الدكتوراه، معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا

مايك هالوورث هو زميل دراسات بعد الدكتوراه لدى مركز سميثسونيان للطيور المهاجرة (SMBC). ويدرس الارتباط بين الطيور المهاجرة والأماكن، والعلاقة بين المناطق التي تتكاثر فيها الكائنات الحية المهاجرة والمناطق التي لا تتكاثر فيها والبيئة التي تعيش فيها الطيور المغرِّدة المهاجرة.

يهتم مايك بالعالم الطبيعي منذ نعومة أظفاره. وقد اكتشف رغبته في إجراء بحوث إيكولوجية بعد تلقيه دورةً ميدانية مكثفة في مجال البيولوجيا الاستوائية في بورتو ريكو عندما كان طالبًا جامعيًا بجامعة ولاية بليموث، حيث درس الطيور المغردة المهاجرة في أرض التزاوج معتدلة الحرارة في أمريكا الشمالية، وفي الأراضي الاستوائية التي لا تساعد على التزاوج الكائنة في البحر الكاريبي وفي أمريكا الوسطى والجنوبية.

درس مايك منذ انضمامه إلى مركز سميثسونيان للطيور المهاجرة علم بيئة التناسل لدى الطيور المغردة في غابات هوبارد بروك التجريبية في نيو هامبشاير. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، درس مايك ارتباط طائر الفران المهاجر ( Seiurus aurocapilla ) بالمواقع الميدانية الكائنة في أمريكا الشمالية والبحر الكاريبي. جدير بالذكر أنّ مايك حصل على درجة الماجستير في العلوم من جامعة ولاية بليموث في عام 2007، كما حصل على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة جورج مايسون في عام 2014، فضلًا عن أنه منتسب إلى مركز سميثسونيان للطيور المهاجرة منذ عام 2008.

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل مايك هالوورث

تطبق مؤسسة سميثسونيان بحوثنا على بيئة الطيور المهاجرة لحماية أسراب الطيور على مستوى العالم لأجيال مقبلة

إغلاق

Mike Hallworth

Postdoctoral Fellow, Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute

Mike Hallworth is a postdoctoral fellow at the Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center (SMBC). He studies migratory connectivity, the connection between breeding and non-breeding areas of migratory organisms and population ecology of migratory songbirds.

Mike has been interested in the natural world since childhood. He realized that he wanted to conduct ecological research after taking an intensive tropical biology field course in Puerto Rico as an undergraduate at Plymouth State University. He has studied migratory songbirds in their temperate breeding grounds in North America and their tropical non-breeding grounds in the Caribbean, and Central and South America.

Since joining SMBC, Mike has studied the breeding ecology of songbirds at Hubbard Brook Experimental Forest in New Hampshire. In addition, he studied migratory connectivity of ovenbirds (Seiurus aurocapilla) with field sites in North America and the Caribbean. Mike earned a MS from Plymouth State University in 2007, a PhD from George Mason University in 2014 and has been affiliated with the SMBC since 2008.

Learn more about Mike Hallworth's Work

Smithsonian Applies Our Research on Migratory Bird Ecology to Protect Global Bird Populations for Generations to Come

Close