保护候鸟: 史密森尼候鸟研究中心 (SMBC)

相关专长: 长期研究技术
启动日期: 1990

史密森尼候鸟研究中心 (SMBC) 致力于了解,保护和支持蔚为壮观的鸟类迁徙现象。 保护鸟群行之有效的解决方法需要从根本上了解鸟类的生态学。

SMBC 设法在形势变得无法挽回之前,弄清鸟类数量不断减少的原因。 他们的项目帮助人们加强对候鸟及保护整个西半球多种栖息地的必要性的认识。

SMBC 的工作领域宽泛,无论是研究每年候鸟迁徙活动,采集有关候鸟从北美迁徙至南美的长期数据,与亲鸟的尼加拉瓜咖啡庄园主一起合作,还是连接美洲各地的课堂,其重点都在于候鸟的生态学、进化和保护。

SMBC 的核心任务,就是为广大公众奉献最好和最具创新性的科学知识,通过像跨越美洲 (Bridging the Americas) 这样的教育项目,以及通过 SMBC 的标志性公众科学项目邻里鸟巢观察 (Neighborhood Nestwatch),与公众一起分享信息。

SMBC 于 1991 成立于华盛顿哥伦比亚特区,是史密森尼国家动物园与保护生物学研究所 (National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute) 的一部分。

 

请深入了解此项目

史密森尼应用我们关于候鸟生态学的研究,保护全球鸟类种群能世世代代繁衍下去

Conserving Migratory Birds: Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center (SMBC)

Related Expertise: Long-Term Research, Technology
Date Initiated: 1990

The Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center (SMBC) is dedicated to understanding, conserving and championing the grand phenomenon of bird migration. Effective solutions for conserving bird populations require a fundamental understanding of bird biology.

SMBC seeks to clarify why migratory bird populations are declining before the situation becomes desperate. Their programs help raise awareness about migratory birds and the need to protect diverse habitats across the Western Hemisphere.

SMBC’s work broadly focuses on the ecology, evolution and conservation of migratory birds, whether it's studying annual migratory movements, collecting long-term data on migratory birds from North to South America, working with bird-friendly coffee farmers in Nicaragua, or bridging classrooms across the Americas.

Central to SMBC’s mission is bringing the best and most innovative science to broad audiences, sharing this information through education programs like Bridging the Americas, and with the public through SMBC’s signature citizen science program, Neighborhood Nestwatch.

Founded in 1991, SMBC is part of the Smithsonian’s National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute, based in Washington, D.C.

 

Learn more about this Project

Smithsonian Applies Our Research on Migratory Bird Ecology to Protect Global Bird Populations for Generations to Come