أولسن جان جوليان

يشغل منصب مدير مشروع، مشروع استعادة التراث الثقافي بهايتي

أولسن جان جوليان هو مهندس معماري عمل على حفظ وتطوير تراث دولة هايتي الثقافي الزاخر لأكثر من عقد من الزمان. شغل أولسن جان جوليان في الفترة بين عامي 2008-2009 منصب وزير الثقافة والاتصالات بهايتي، ويعمل كأستاذ في الجامعة الحكومية بهايتي وجامعة كيسكيا، ويشغل أيضًا منصب مدير بشركة "Phenixience" وهي شركة متخصصة في العمارة والهندسة. جدير بالذكر أن أولسن حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في الهندسة المعمارية من الجامعة الحكومية بهايتي ودرجة الماجستير في تخصص حفظ الآثار والممتلكات الثقافية من "الجامعة الوطنية بيدرو هنريكيز أورينيا - Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña" في جمهورية الدومينيكان وحاصل على شهادة دراسات عليا في حفظ المباني التاريخية والمواقع الأثرية من جامعة كولومبيا في الولايات المتحدة.

وقد عمل أولسن مع ريتشارد كيورن بمؤسسة سميثسونيان وآخرين في وظيفة منسق برامج ببرنامج "Smithsonian Folklife Festival" عام 2004،هايتي: الإبداع والحرية من غياهب الجبال إلى أعماق البحار.

وبعد مرور 6 سنوات، وفي أعقاب الزلزال المدمر الذي شهدته البلاد في 2010 وتسبب في إتلاف وتدمير المواقع الأثرية القيمة في جميع أنحاء هايتي بشكل كبير، شكل أولسن بمساعدة مؤسسة سميثسونيان فريقًا لتنفيذ مشروع استعادة التراث الثقافي في هايتي. وقد عمل مع الحكومتين الهايتية والأمريكية ومع منظمات دولية ومؤسسة سميثسونيان لإبرام الاتفاقيات التي من شأنها توفير الأسس اللازمة للعمل في هذا المشروع. كما عمل أولسن كمدير لمشروع استعادة التراث الثقافي في هايتي مع مؤسسة سميثسونيان على تكوين قاعدة من الثقة والتعاون تُعد هي المفتاح الرئيسي لاستعادة تراث هايتي عقب الزلزال وتحقيق التنمية الاقتصادية والمجتمعية بها. وقد نجح المشروع بفضل توحيد الجهود الرامية إلى الحفاظ على التراث الثقافي بهايتي في الحفاظ على ما يزيد عن 3000 عنصر ثقافي ودرّب ما يربو على 100 شخص من هاييتي حتى الآن على الحفاظ على التراث على الرغم من التحديات التي تفرضها الأعاصير وتفشي وباء الكوليرا وكذلك التحديات المتعلقة بالانتخابات الرئاسية حتى الآن.

حصل أولسن في عام 2011 على "الميدالية الذهبية للخدمة المثالية" من الأمين السابق لمؤسسة سميثسونيان، وين كلوف، تكريمًا لجهوده في مشروع استعادة التراث الثقافي بهايتي. وهذه الميدالية الشرفية التي لا ينالها سوى القليل تُعد رمزًا للإنجاز الفريد في تنفيذ أفضل قيم مؤسسة سميثسونيان. وقد منحت أيضًا منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة (اليونسكو) أولسن ميدالية "القارات الخمس - Five Continents" تقديرًا لما قام به من أعمال. ويقوم أولسن الآن بإعداد رسالة في التخطيط العمراني والبيئي لنيل درجة الدكتوراه في جامعة مونتريال. 

 

مزيد من المعلومات بشأن أولسن جان جوليان

تعرّف كيف تعاونت مؤسسة سميثسونيان مع حكومة هايتي والمنظمات الدولية في جهود الإغاثة عام 2010

إغلاق

Olsen Jean Julien

Project Manager, Haiti Cultural Recovery Project

Olsen Jean Julien is an engineer-architect who has worked to preserve and promote the rich cultural heritage of Haiti for more than a decade. He served as Haiti’s Minister of Culture and Communications from 2008–2009, is a professor at the State University of Haiti and at Quisqueya University, and also one of the principals of Phenixience, an architecture and engineering firm. Olsen has a B.A. in Architectural Enginnering from the State University of Haiti, a Master's degree in Conservation of Monuments and Cultural Property from the Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña in the Dominican Republic and a post-graduate certificate in Conservation of Historic Buildings and Archaeological Sites from Columbia University in the U.S.

Olsen worked with the Smithsonian’s Richard Kurin and others as Program Coordinator of the 2004 Smithsonian Folklife Festival program, Haiti: Creativity and Freedom from the Mountains to the Sea.

Six years later, after the 2010 earthquake badly damaged and destroyed invaluable heritage sites around Haiti, Olsen again teamed up with Smithsonian for the Haiti Cultural Recovery Project. He worked with the Haitian and U.S. governments, international organizations and Smithsonian to secure the agreements that would lay the groundwork for the project. As Manager of the Haiti Cultural Recovery Project, Olsen worked with Smithsonian to build a community of trust and cooperation that was key to Haiti’s recovery from the earthquake and economic and social development. United in the effort to preserve Haiti’s cultural heritage, and despite the challenge of hurricanes, a cholera outbreak and presidential elections, the project treated more than 30,000 cultural items and has trained more than 100 Haitians in conservation to date.

In 2011, Olsen received the Gold Medal for Exemplary Service from former Smithsonian Secretary Wayne Clough for his role in the Haiti Cultural Recovery Project. This rarely given honor recognizes extraordinary achievement in service of the best ideals of the Smithsonian Institution. UNESCO also awarded Olsen the Medal of the Five Continents for his work. Olsen is now completing a Ph.D. program in Urban and Environmental Planning at the University of Montreal. 

 

Learn more about Olsen Jean Julien's Work

See How Smithsonian Collaborated with the Haitian Government and International Organizations in 2010 Recovery Efforts

Close