ضرب زلزال مدمر بقوة 7.0 ريختر جزيرة هايتي في 12 يناير عام 2010، وأسفر الزلزال عن وفاة 230,000 شخص إلى جانب تدمير جزء كبير من البنية التحتية للدولة ولا سيما في منطقة العاصمة بورت أو برانس وإلحاق أضرار بالغة بالتراث الثقافي الوافر لجزيرة هايتي. وقد جمعت مؤسسة سميثسونيان - من أجل مواجهة هذه المأساة - بين المنظمات الدولية الشريكة والحكومات والمجتمعات المحلية بهدف بذل جهد عالمي لإنقاذ التراث الثقافي المدمَّر والمعرَّض لخطر الزلزال وآثاره إلى جانب حمايته هذا التراث والمساعدة على إحيائه.

عمل الموظفون التابعون لمؤسسة سميثسونيان جنبًا إلى جنب مع العاملين والقادة الهايتيين في ميدان الثقافة لإبراز التنوع الثقافي في هايتي من خلال مهرجان سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية والذي أقيم في هايتي عام 2004: الإبداع والحرية من أكنان الجبال إلى أعماق البحار. جذب المهرجان أكثر من 100 فنان هايتي للحضور في ناشونال مول الموجود في واشنطن العاصمة من أجل الاحتفال بذكرى مرور 200 عام على استقلال هايتي عن فرنسا وإلغاء تجارة الرقيق. هذا وقد استفادت مؤسسة سميثسونيان عقب وقوع زلزال 2010 من هذه العلاقات الوثيقة مع مسؤولي الحكومة الهايتية والاختصاصيين في ميدان الثقافة والفنانين ومسؤولي الحفظ في جهود دعم إنقاذ التراث الثقافي الذي قوض الزلزال أركانَه.

Smithsonian Conservator Hugh Shocky at the Centre d'Art, Port-au-Prince, 2010. Photo credit Corine Wegener.
هيو شوكي مسؤول الحفظ التابع لمؤسسة سميثسونيان لدى "Centre d'Art" في بورت أو برانس عام 2010. تصوير كورين فيجنر.

كان حفظ التراث الثقافي المعرض للخطر - التراث العالمي- ضروريًا للتعافي من آثار الزلزال. بحسب ما قاله النحات الهايتي باتريك فيلير لجريدة نيويورك تايمز، "إننا على يقين تمامًا أن من مات، فقد انقضى أثره". غير أنه لو لم تكن ذكريات الماضي محفورة بداخلك، فإنه لن يستطيع بقيتنا الاستمرار على قيد الحياة."

عرض لبعض أشكال بيزانجو في مجموعة "Marianne Lehmann Vodou". تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.
عرض لبعض أشكال بيزانجو في مجموعة "Marianne Lehmann Vodou" تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.

أطلقت مؤسسة سميثسونيان مشروع استعادة التراث الثقافي بهايتي في عام 2010 بالتعاون مع المفوضية الرئاسية الخاصة بإعادة البناء الوطني والتابعة للحكومة الهايتية إلى جانب وزارة الثقافة والاتصالات بهايتي. أشرفَ أولسن جان جوليان - وزير الثقافة والاتصال السابق بهايتي - على هذه الجهود بصفته مديرًا لمشروع استعادة التراث الثقافي بهايتي. 

ومن خلال العمل بمساعدة لجنة الرئيس المعنية بالفنون والإنسانيات بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية،  تجمع مؤسسة سميثسونيان الوكالات الفيدرالية لدعم مسؤولي الحفظ المتطوعين المؤهلين للعمل في هايتي. نظمت مؤسسة سميثسونيان أيضًا عمليات التمويل والدعم من المجموعات غير الهادفة للربح بما في ذلك "رابطة برودواي". إن الاتفاقيات المبرمة مع منظمة اليونسكو والمعهد الأمريكي للحفظ واللجنة الدولية للدرع الأزرق والمشاورات مع وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية أكدت على التعاون الوثيق مع الجهود الدولية الأخرى في هايتي. 

Members of the Smithsonian team and the President's Committee for the Arts and the Humanities at the Centre d'Art, 2010. Photo credit Corine Wegener.
أعضاء فريق سميثسونيان ولجنة الرئيس الخاصة بالفنون والإنسانيات في مركز "Centre d'Art" ،2010. تصوير كورين فيجنر.

قاد ريتشارد كورين - وكيل الأمين العام المعني بالتاريخ والفن والثقافة بمؤسسة سميثسونيان الجهود الأولية للوصول إلى الوكالات الهايتية والوكالات الحكومية الدولية والمنظمات الثقافية والمتخصصين في عمليات الحفظ. كانت كورين فينجر مصدر إلهام له وقد طلب منها المساعدة. جدير بالذكر أن فيجنر التي كانت تخدم في الجيش الأمريكي في بغداد قد ساعدت الزملاء المحليين في إنقاذ المجموعات الموجودة في المتحف الوطني العراقي، وتأسيس لجنة الدرع الأزرق الأمريكية وهي منظمة ملتزمة بحماية التراث الثقافي. حدد الموظفون من جميع أقسام سميثسونيان الذين يتمتعون بخبرة في مجال الحفظ كيفية تركيز جهود الإنقاذ مع أقرانهم الهايتيين، وقد وضعوا سويًا خطة للعمل مع الوكالات الدولية والهايتية في جهود الإنقاذ.

أسست مؤسسة سميثسونيان مركز استعادة التراث الثقافي بهايتي عن طريق استئجار مبنى تابع للأمم المتحدة سابقًا في بورت أو برانس وأنشات به استديوهات وخصصت مكان للتخزين مكيف الهواء. وعلى مدار فترة مكثفة قوامها 20 شهرًا، عمل بالمركز عشرون أخصائيًا من هايتي وعشرات من الخبراء الدوليين الزائرين للمساعدة في تثبيت واستعادة الأعمال الفنية والمحتويات التراثية والورق والوسائط الأخرى.

تطوعت كبيرة مسؤولي الحفظ ستيفاني هورنبيك بعد رحيلها عن المتحف الوطني للفن الأفريقي التابع لمؤسسة سميثسونيان لتوجيه جهود الإنقاذ والحفظ، حيث تضمنت هذه الجهود وضع بروتوكولات إجراءات لتسجيل كل محتوى تراثي وتخزينه وحفظه، وذلك إلى جانب الإشراف على مسؤولي الحفظ المتعاقدين والمتطوعين ومساعدي الحفظ الهايتيين، فضلًا عن تنسيق برامج تدريبية في مجال الحفظ لعشرات من الهايتيين التابعين لمنظمات ثقافية عديدة. زودت هذه البرامج التدريبية جيلًا جديدًا من الهايتيين بالمهارات الضرورية لاستعادة تراثهم الثقافي وحفظه وحمايته.

Painting conservator Viviana Dominguez, project leader for the Holy Trinity murals conservation project, takes measure of cracks on Philome Obin's Last Supper. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.
تأخذ فيفيانا دومينغيز - المسؤولة عن حفظ اللوحات والتي تتولى منصب مدير مشروع حفظ جداريات الثالوث المقدس - مقاسات الشقوق الموجودة على جدارية "العشاء الأخير" للفنان الهايتي فيلوم أوبين. تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.

تعاون مسؤولو الحفظ الهايتيون والدوليون فيما بينهم على إنقاذ الجداريات الناجية التي يزيد حجمها عن حجم الإنسان الخاصة بكاتدرائية الثالوث المقدس الأسقفية. تحمل هذه الجداريات معاني روحية عميقة لكثير من الهايتيين وتعتبر كنزًا قوميًا حيث قد رسمها كبار الفنانين الهايتيين في أواخر الأربعينيات وأوائل الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي. تُصوِّر الجداريات التي رُسمت بالتمبرا على طبقة رقيقة جدًا من المعجون الجيري مشاهد من العهد الجديد أعيد تصورها بشكل إبداعي مع أشكال هايتية. أدى الزلزال إلى انهيار سقف الكنيسة، وتقويض معظم الجدران إلى جانب إحدى عشرة لوحة جدارية من أصل أربع عشرة لوحة كانت تزين الكاتدرائية.

سعيًا للحفاظ على جداريات الثالوث المقدس الثلاثة الباقية، استغرق مسؤولو الحفظ عامًا واحدًا لوضع خطة المشروع وتنفيذها. نُزِعت الجداريات في 142 شريحة هشة للغاية من جدران يصل ارتفاعها إلى ثلاثة طوابق مدعومة بسقالات حتى لا تنهار. قاد أحد مسؤولي حفظ اللوحات الجدارية المشروع لإزالة الجداريات بحرص شديد في شرائح بمساعدة أحد مسؤولي الحفظ المعماريين وأربعة متدربين من هايتي. توجد القطع المنزوعة والمثبتة مخزَّنة الآن في مستودع جديد على داخل أراضي الكنيسة الكاتدرائية. عندما يُعاد بناء المنطقة المقدسة، سيتم ضم الجداريات في بناء جديد.

وثمة مشروعات أخرى رئيسية تضمنت تنظيف وتثبيت ما يزيد عن 5,000 صورة وأعمال ورقية ومنحوتات من مركز هايتي الشهير للفن "Centre d’Art"، إضافة إلى أعمال ترميم تحف من القصر الوطني، وتحسين تنظيف وتخزين ما يزيد عن 3,000 تحفة بشرية من مجموعة الفودو المهمة الخاصة بماريان ليمان، أضف إلى ذلك تحسينات المرافق في دور المحفوظات الوطنية والمتحف الوطني.  

يعقد مسؤولو الحفظ التابعون لمؤسسة سميثسونيان إميلي جاكوبسن (FSG، يسار) وروزميري فالون (NPG، المنتصف) ورشة عمل عن الطرق الأساسية الخاصة بالتثبيت الورقي. تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.
يعقد مسؤولو الحفظ التابعون لمؤسسة سميثسونيان إميلي جاكوبسن (معرض FSG، يسار) وروزميري فالون (معرض NPG، في المنتصف) ورشة عمل عن الطرق الأساسية الخاصة بالتثبيت الورقي. تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.

يعقد بول جت مسئول حفظ في مؤسسة سميثسونيان (FSG) ورشة عمل حول الطرق الأساسية لتثبيت الأشياء. تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.
يعقد مسؤول الحفظ لدى مؤسسة سميثسونيان بول جيت (FSG) ورشة عمل عن الطرق الأساسية لتثبيت الأشياء. تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.

تلقي سارة ستادرمان مسئولة الحفظ في مؤسسة سميثسونيان (مكتب المحفوظات مؤسسة سميثسونيان، المنتصف) ورشة عمل حول قواعد التثبيت الأساسية للمواد الصوتية والمرئية. تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.
تعقد سارة ستادرمان مسئولة الحفظ في مؤسسة سميثسونيان (SIA، في المنتصف) ورشة عمل بشأن التثبيت الأساسي للمواد الصوتية والمرئية. تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.

ينظف مسؤولو الحفظ التابعون لمؤسسة سميثسونيان هيلين إينغلس (متحف الفن الأمريكي التابع لمؤسسة سميثسونيان، يسار) وكارول غريسوم (معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على المتاحف، يمين) ويثبتا وثيقة "L'Acte d'Independance". تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.
ينظف مسؤولا الحفظ التابعان لمؤسسة سميثسونيان هيلين إينغلس (SAAM، يسار) وكارول غريسوم (MCI، يمين) وثيقة "L'Acte d'Independance" ويثبتونها. تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك.

حضر خلال المشروع أكثر من مائة مشارك محلي يمثلون أكثر من 24 منظمة ثقافية دورةً تدريبيةً واحدةً أو أكثر من الدورات التدريبية التسع التي نظمتها مؤسسة سميثسونيان ومشروع استعادة التراث الثقافي بهايتي. زودت هذه البرامج التدريبية جيلًا جديدًا من الهايتيين بالمهارات الضرورية لاستعادة تراثهم الثقافي وحفظه وحمايته.  

يفتتح وكيل الأمين العام ريتشارد كورين المركز الجديد الدائم لعمليات الحفظ في بورت أو برانس 2015. 
 صورة من ستيفاني هورنبيك، شركة "Caryatid Conservation"
يفتتح وكيل الأمين العام ريتشارد كورين المركز الجديد الدائم الخاص بعمليات الحفظ في بورت أو برانس 2015. تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك، شركة "Caryatid Conservation"

وقد نجح المشروع حتى الآن في ترميم ما يزيد عن 30,000 عنصر منها مصنوعات بشرية ورسوم ومنحوتات وآثار ووثائق تاريخية إضافة إلى تدريب ما يزيد عن 100 متخصص في التراث الثقافي الهايتي. كما كان المشروع مصدر إلهام لتأليف كتاب بعنوان الحفاظ على تراث هايتي، وفيلم وثائقي بعنوان كنوز هايتي: من بين الأنقاض لقناة سميثسونيان، إضافة إلى إقامة معرض في المتحف الوطني للفن الأفريقي التابع لمؤسسة سميثسونيان وغيرها من الفعاليات في مكتبة كلينتون الرئاسية ومعرض للفنون في نيويورك فضلاً عن برنامج خاص في مهرجان سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية.

The newly opened Centre de Conservation de biens culturels in Port-au-Prince, 2015. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck, Caryatid Conservation
مركز حفظ الممتلكات الثقافية الذي افتُتِح حديثًا في بورت أو برانس عام 2015. تصوير ستيفاني هورنبيك، شركة "Caryatid Conservation"

وقد انضم وكلاء أمناء مؤسسة سميثسونيان في 29 يونيو 2015 وهم ريتشارد كيورن وكورين فيجنر وستيفاني هورنبيك وأولسن جان جوليان إلى وزير الثقافة الهايتي والسفير الأمريكي في الاحتفال بافتتاح مركز دائم للحفاظ على التراث الثقافي في جامعة كيسكيا في بورت أو برانس. إن مركز الحفاظ على التراث الثقافي بجامعة كيسكيا (Centre de conservation de biens culturels) سيكون بمثابة مركز متخصص للقيام بعمليات توثيق مستمرة للتراث الثقافي بهايتي وحفظه وترميمه وذلك انطلاقًا من روح التعاون والالتزام المستمر لمؤسسي المركز تجاه هذا العمل المهم. وقد ساهمت الأموال المجمعة من جامعة كيسكيا ومؤسسة سميثسونيان والوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية ومؤسسة ستيلر في إنشاء هذا المركز. 

إغلاق

On January 12, 2010, a devastating 7.0 magnitude earthquake struck the island nation of Haiti, leaving more than 230,000 dead, destroying much of the nation’s infrastructure in its capital region of Port-au-Prince, and seriously damaging Haiti's rich cultural heritage. In the face of this tragedy, Smithsonian brought together international partner organizations, governments, and local communities in a global effort to recover, safeguard, and help restore Haitian cultural heritage damaged and endangered by the earthquake and its aftermath.

Less than a decade before the earthquake, Smithsonian staff had worked closely with Haitian cultural workers and leadership to celebrate the rich cultural diversity of Haiti at the 2004 Smithsonian Folklife FestivalHaiti: Freedom and Creativity from the Mountains to the Sea.  Commemorating the 200th anniversary of Haitian independence from France and the abolition of slavery, the festival brought more than 100 Haitian artists to the National Mall in Washington, DC.  Following the 2010 earthquake, Smithsonian built on these close relationships with Haitian government officials, cultural professionals, artists, and conservators to support the recovery of cultural heritage damaged by the earthquake.

Smithsonian Conservator Hugh Shocky at the Centre d'Art, Port-au-Prince, 2010. Photo credit Corine Wegener.
Smithsonian Conservator Hugh Shocky at the Centre d'Art, Port-au-Prince, 2010. Photo credit Corine Wegener.

Preserving threatened cultural heritage—world heritage—was critical to the recovery from the earthquake. As Haitian sculptor Patrick Vilaire told the New York Times, “The dead are dead, we know that. But if you don’t have the memory of the past, the rest of us can’t continue living.” 

View of some of the bizhango figures in the Marianne Lehmann Vodou collection. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.
View of some of the bizhango figures in the Marianne Lehmann Vodou collection. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.

Smithsonian established the Haiti Cultural Recovery Project in 2010 with the Haitian government’s Presidential Commission for National Reconstruction and the Haitian Ministry of Culture and Communication. Olsen Jean Julien, former Haitian Minister of Culture and Communication, oversaw these efforts as Manager of the Haiti Cultural Recovery Project. 

Working with the support of the U.S. President’s Committee for the Arts and the Humanities, Smithsonian mobilized U.S. federal agencies to support qualified volunteer conservators to work in Haiti. Smithsonian also organized funding and support from non-profit groups including the Broadway League. Agreements with UNESCO, the American Institute for Conservation, the International Committee for the Blue Shield and consultation with the U.S. State Department assured close cooperation with other international efforts in Haiti. 

Members of the Smithsonian team and the President's Committee for the Arts and the Humanities at the Centre d'Art, 2010. Photo credit Corine Wegener.
Members of the Smithsonian team and the President's Committee for the Arts and the Humanities at the Centre d'Art, 2010. Photo credit Corine Wegener.

Richard Kurin, Smithsonian’s Under Secretary for History, Art and Culture, led the initial efforts to reach out to Haitian and international government agencies, cultural organizations, and conservation professionals. He was inspired by Corine Wegener and enlisted her help. Wegener had served in the U.S. Army in Baghdad, helped local colleagues save collections of the Iraqi National Museum, and had founded the American Committee of the Blue Shield—an organization committed to protecting cultural heritage. Staff from across the Smithsonian with expertise in conservation determined how to focus recovery efforts with their Haitian counterparts and, together, created a plan to work with Haitian and international agencies in recovery efforts.

Smithsonian established the Haiti Cultural Recovery Center by leasing a former U.N. building in Port-au-Prince and equipping it with studios and air-conditioned storage space. Over an intensive 20-month period, the HCRC was staffed with 20 Haitian professionals and scores of visiting international experts to help stabilize and restore art, objects, paper and other media.

Chief Conservator Stephanie Hornbeck—recently departed from the Smithsonian’s National Museum of African Art—was enlisted to direct recovery and conservation efforts. These included development of protocols and procedures for the registration, storage and conservation of each and every object, the supervision of visiting contract and volunteer conservators and Haitian conservation assistants, and coordination of training programs in conservation for scores of Haitians from several dozen cultural organizations. These programs equipped a new generation of Haitians with vital skills to recover, preserve, and protect their cultural heritage.

Painting conservator Viviana Dominguez, project leader for the Holy Trinity murals conservation project, takes measure of cracks on Philome Obin's Last Supper. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.
Painting conservator Viviana Dominguez, project leader for the Holy Trinity murals conservation project, takes measure of cracks on Philome Obin's Last Supper. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.

Haitian and international conservators worked together to rescue the surviving larger than life-sized murals of the Holy Trinity Episcopal Cathedral. Painted by Haitian master artists in the late 1940s and early 1950s, these murals hold deep spiritual meaning for many Haitians and are regarded as a national treasure. The murals—painted in egg tempera on a very thin lime mortar layer—depict New Testament scenes innovatively reimagined with Haitian figures. The earthquake collapsed the roof of the church, destroying most of the walls and eleven of the fourteen murals that had decorated the Cathedral. 

To conserve the three remaining Holy Trinity murals, conservators took one year to plan and execute the project. The murals were lifted in 142 very fragile sections from three-story high walls, shored up with scaffolding lest they collapse. A mural painting conservator led the project, aided by an architectural conservator and four Haitians trainees, to delicately remove the murals in sections. The lifted and stabilized fragments are now stored in a new depot on the Cathedral’s grounds. When the sanctuary is rebuilt, the murals will be incorporated into a new structure.

Other major projects included the cleaning and stabilization of more than 5,000 paintings, works on paper, and sculptures from Haiti’s famed Centre d’Art, restoration work on masterpieces from the National Palace, the cleaning and storage upgrade of over 3,000 artifacts of the important Marianne Lehman vodou collection, and facilities improvements at the National Archives and the National Museum.  

Smithsonian conservators Emily Jacobsen (FSG, left) and Rosemary Fallon (NPG, center) teach a workshop on basic paper stabilization methods. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.
Smithsonian conservators Emily Jacobsen (FSG, left) and Rosemary Fallon (NPG, center) teach a workshop on basic paper stabilization methods. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.

Smithsonian Conservator (FSG) Paul Jett teaches a workshop on basic object stabilization methods. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.
Smithsonian Conservator (FSG) Paul Jett teaches a workshop on basic object stabilization methods. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.

Smithsonian conservator Sarah Stauderman (SIA, center) teaches a workshop on basic stabilization of audio visual materials. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.
Smithsonian conservator Sarah Stauderman (SIA, center) teaches a workshop on basic stabilization of audio visual materials. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.

Smithsonian conservators Helen Ingalls (SAAM, left) and Carol Grissom (MCI, right) clean and stabilize L'Acte d'Independance. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.
Smithsonian conservators Helen Ingalls (SAAM, left) and Carol Grissom (MCI, right) clean and stabilize L'Acte d'Independance. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck.

Over the course of the project, more than one hundred local participants representing more than two dozen cultural organizations attended one or more of the nine training sessions organized by the Smithsonian and the Haiti Cultural Recovery Project. These training programs equipped a new generation of Haitians with vital skills to recover, preserve, and protect their cultural heritage.  

Under Secretary Richard Kurin opens the new, permanent Centre de conservation in Port-au-Prince, 2015. Photo Credit Stephanie Hornbeck, Caryatid Conservation
Under Secretary Richard Kurin opens the new, permanent Centre de conservation in Port-au-Prince, 2015. Photo Credit Stephanie Hornbeck, Caryatid Conservation

To date, the Project has restored more than 30,000 items, including artifacts, paintings, sculptures, monuments and historical documents, and trained more than 100 Haitian culture professionals. It also inspired a book, Saving Haiti’s Heritage, a documentary film, Haiti’s Treasures: Out of the Rubble for the Smithsonian Channel, an exhibition at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of African Art and others at the Clinton Presidential Library and a New York art gallery, and a special program at the Smithsonian Folklife Festival.

The newly opened Centre de Conservation de biens culturels in Port-au-Prince, 2015. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck, Caryatid Conservation
The newly opened Centre de Conservation de biens culturels in Port-au-Prince, 2015. Photo credit Stephanie Hornbeck, Caryatid Conservation

On June 29, 2015, Smithsonian Under Secretary Richard Kurin, Corine Wegener, Stephanie Hornbeck, and Olsen Jean Julien joined the Haitian Minister of Culture and the U.S. Ambassador to celebrate the opening of a permanent Conservation Center at Quisqueya University in Port-au-Prince. Demonstrating the collaborative spirit and ongoing commitment of its founders to this important work, the Quisqueya Cultural Conservation Center (Centre de conservation de biens culturels) will serve as a professional center for the continued documentation, preservation, and restoration of Haiti’s cultural heritage. Funds from Quisqueya, the Smithsonian, USAID, and the Stiller Foundation supported its construction. 

Close