مشروع استعادة الهوية الثقافية بهايتي

تاريخ البدء: 2009

عملت مؤسسة سميثسونيان مع مجموعة واسعة من المختصين المتفانين والمهتمين من جميع أنحاء العالم من أجل استعادة التراث الثقافي المتضرر والمعرض للخطر في هايتي بعد الزلزال المدمر الذي تعرضت له البلاد عام 2010.

إذ تسبب الزلزال في إتلاف وتدمير المتاحف والكنائس والمعارض والمكتبات ودور المحفوظات التي تحتوي على المصنوعات البشرية والأعمال الفنية والآثار والمحفوظات والكتب النادرة بدولة هايتي. عملت فرق سميثسونيان مع نظرائهم في هايتي على إعداد خطة لاستعادة وحفظ تراث هايتي الثقافي وذلك انطلاقًا من عمل كورين فيجنر الواقعي "نساء الآثار - Monuments Woman" واعتمادًا على العلاقات الراسخة المكتسبة من مهرجان سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية 2004.

وفي إطار هذه الجهود، أقامت مؤسسة سيمثسونيان شراكات مع حكومة هايتي ومنظمات مهمة غير حكومية من هايتي إضافة إلى شركاء دوليين ومنظمات أمريكية ومنها اللجنة الرئاسية للفنون والعلوم الإنسانية بالولايات المتحدة، ووزارة الخارجية الأمريكية والوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية (USAID) ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة "اليونسكو" (UNESCO) والمركز الدولي لدراسات حفظ وترميم الثروات الثقافية (ICCROM) وجمعية برودواي والمعهد الأمريكي للحفاظ على التراث (AIC) واللجنة الدولية للدرع الأزرق. وتعمل مؤسسة سيمثسونيان مع هؤلاء الشركاء لإطلاق مشروع استعادة التراث الثقافي بهايتي لتدريب ودعم الهايتيين في استعادة تراثهم الثقافي وحفظه. ولا يزال هذا العمل قائمًا في الوقت الحالي في مرفق جديد ودائم مخصص لعمليات الحفظ في جامعة كيسكيا في بورت أو برانس حيث يستطيع الطلاب والمتخصصون من هياتي تعلم أحدث تقنيات الحفظ ومواصلة هذا العمل مستقبلاً لحفظ تراثهم الثقافي.  

 

تعرف على المزيد عن هذا المشروع

تعرّف كيف تعاونت مؤسسة سميثسونيان مع حكومة هايتي والمنظمات الدولية في جهود الإغاثة عام 2010

Haiti Cultural Recovery Project

Related Expertise: Power to Convene
Date Initiated: 2009

After the devastating 2010 earthquake in Haiti, Smithsonian worked with a wide array of dedicated, caring professionals from around the world to support the recovery of damaged and at risk Haitian cultural heritage.

The earthquake destroyed and damaged museums, churches, galleries, libraries and archives containing Haiti’s treasured artifacts, artworks, monuments, archives, and rare books. Inspired by the work of Corine Wegner, a real-life “Monuments Woman,” and building on long-standing relationships from the 2004 Smithsonian Folklife Festival, Smithsonian teams worked with Haitian counterparts to craft a plan for recovering and preserving Haitian cultural heritage.

Smithsonian built partnerships with the Haitian government and critical Haitian NGOs, international partners, and U.S. organizations around these efforts, among them the U.S. President’s Committee for the Arts and the Humanities, the U.S. Department of State, USAID, UNESCO, ICCROM, the Broadway League, the American Institute for Conservation (AIC) and the International Committee for the Blue Shield. Smithsonian worked with these partners to create the Haiti Cultural Recovery Project to train and support Haitians in recovering and preserving their cultural heritage. Today this work continues in a new, permanent conservation facility at Quisqueya University in Port-au-Prince, where Haitian students and professionals can learn the latest conservation techniques and carry on this work into the future, to preserve their own cultural heritage.  

 

Learn more about this Project

See How Smithsonian Collaborated with the Haitian Government and International Organizations in 2010 Recovery Efforts