بيت مارا

مدير، مركز سميثسونيان للطيور المهاجرة

بيت ميرا هو عالم متخصص في عمليات الحفظ في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا وحديقة الحيوان الوطنية.  وهو يدرس بيئة الطيور وأنماط هجرتها وانخفاض أعدادها عبر النصف الغربي من الكرة الأرضية.  ويتولى بيت أيضًا رئاسة مركز سميثسونيان للطيور المهاجرة (SMBC).

فلقد تحقق في البداية من رغبته في دراسة الطيور والحياة البرية عندما كان في السادسة من عمره بعد تجربة شخصية قريبة مع طائر قرقف أسود الرأس. وقام بدراسة الطيور ومواطنها في أمريكا الوسطى والجنوبية وفي منطقة الكاريبي لأكثر من 25 عامًا.

ففي جاميكا أسفرت الدراسة الموسعة التي أجراها بيت عن بيئة الطيور المهاجرة، وبيئة النظم الإيكولوجية الحضرية وبيئة الأمراض، إلى إجراء حوار مستمر مع وزراء من حكومة جاميكا وسفرائها وكذلك مجتمع الأعمال عن طرق إعادة التفكير في مجال السياحة لتقليل أثرها على البيئة المحلية.

وإضافة إلى أبحاثه التي يجريها في مؤسسة سميثسونيان، يُعد بيت مؤسسًا للعديد من البرامج الكبيرة الخاصة بالأبحاث والاتصالات، ومنها برامج"Neighborhood Nestwatch", "Migratory Connectivity Project" "Animal Mortality and Monitoring"

حصل بيت على درجة الماجستير من جامعة ولاية لويزيانا في عام 1989 وحصل على درجة الدكتوراه من كلية دارتموث في عام 1998، كما عمل كعالم متخصص في عمليات الحفظ في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا التابع لمؤسسة مؤسسة سميثسونيان منذ عام 1999.

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل بيت مارا

تطبق مؤسسة سميثسونيان بحوثنا على بيئة الطيور المهاجرة لحماية أسراب الطيور على مستوى العالم لأجيال مقبلة

إغلاق

Pete Marra

Director, Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center

Pete Marra is a conservation scientist at the Smithsonian National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute. He studies the ecology, migratory patterns and decline of birds across the Western Hemisphere.  Pete also heads the Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center (SMBC).

He first knew that he wanted to study birds and wildlife at 6 years old after an up-close-and-personal experience with a black-capped chickadee. He has studied birds and their habitats in Central and South America and the Caribbean for more than 25 years.

In Jamaica, Pete’s extensive study of the ecology of migratory birds, urban ecosystem ecology, and disease ecology lead to an ongoing dialogue with Jamaican government ministers, ambassadors and the business community about ways to rethink tourism to minimize its impact on the local environment.

Along with his Smithsonian research, Pete is the founder of several large research and communications programs, including Neighborhood Nestwatch, The Migratory Connectivity Project, and the Animal Mortality and Monitoring Program

Pete earned an MS from Louisiana State University in 1989, a PhD from Dartmouth College in 1998 and has been a conservation scientist at the Smithsonian Conservation and Biology Institute since 1999.

Learn more about Pete Marra's Work

Smithsonian Applies Our Research on Migratory Bird Ecology to Protect Global Bird Populations for Generations to Come

Close