ريتشارد كيورن

وكيل مؤسسة سميثسونيان للتاريخ والفنون والثقافة

يتحمل ريتشارد بصفته وكيل المؤسسة للتاريخ والفنون والثقافة المسئولية عن معظم المتاحف الوطنية التابعة للمؤسسة بالإضافة إلي مجموعة متنوعة من البرامج الثقافية والتعليمية والعديد من المراكز البحثية ومنها مركز سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية والتراث الثقافي. وقد عمل ريتشارد في المفوضية الأمريكية المعنية باليونسكو وقدم النصائح والمشورات بخصوص مسودّة عام 2003 الخاصة بالاتفاقية الدولية لحماية التراث الثقافي غير المادي والتي وقعت عليها الآن أكثر من 160 دولة. 

وفي عام 2004 عمل ريتشارد بحماسة شديدة من أجل إقامة "مهرجان سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية" لإحياء ذكرى مرور 200 عام على استقلال هايتي. وقد ساهم العمل الجماعي بالمهرجان الهايتي على توطيد العلاقة وبناء ثقة قوية متبادلة بين مؤسسة سميثسونيان والأصدقاء والزملاء من هايتي. وعندما تعرضت هايتي للزلزال المدمر عام 2010، عمل ريتشارد على التواصل مع الوكالات الحكومية والمنظمات المعنية بالفنون والثقافة والمختصين بعمليات الحفظ للتعرف على الطريقة التي يتسنى من خلالها لهذا اللفيف من الشركاء العمل إنقاذ التراث الثقافي بهايتي المدمر والمعرض للخطر.

وقد سافر ريتشارد إلى بورت أو برنس وعمل مع النظراء من هايتي لوضع خطة لاستعادة التراث الثقافي بهايتي وإنقاذه والحفاظ عليه. وقد استفاد من منصبه في مؤسسة سميثسونيان في الدعوة إلى عقد اجتماع يهدف إلى بناء شراكات مع هايتي والولايات المتحدة والشركاء الدوليين فيما يتعلق بهذه الجهود وأسس مشروع استعادة التراث الثقافي بهايتي. وقد دعم هذا المشروع الأشخاص من هايتي ودرَّبهم على مهارات الحفاظ على التراث، كي يتسنى لهم تحمل مهمة الحفاظ على تراثهم الثقافي لسنوات عدة قادمة.

جدير بالذكر أن ريتشارد الذي يعد زميلًا سابقًا لبرنامج "Fulbright-Hays" وأجرى معظم أبحاثه في الهند وباكستان قد حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الأنثروبولوجيا الثقافية من جامعة شيكاغو ودرّس في جامعة جونز هوبكينز في كلية بول اتش نيتزه للدراسات الدولية المتقدمة. وكان أول عمله في مؤسسة سميثسونيان خلال الاحتفال بالذكرى المئويَّة الثانية للولايات المتحدة في عام 1976 ثم أصبح بعد ذلك مديرًا لمركز سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية والتراث الثقافي الذي رأسه لمدة عقدين من الزمان. كما أنه مؤلف لكتاب "تاريخ أمريكا في 101 عنصرًا - The Smithsonian’s History of America in 101 Objects"، و"انعكاسات وسيط ثقافي -Reflections of a Cultural Broker": رؤية من سميثسونيان -A View from the Smithsonian"، ومهرجان سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية: "ثقافة الأفراد، بواسطتهم، ولهم - Culture Of, By, and For the People" بالإضافة إلى كتب أخرى والعديد من المقالات العلمية. وفي عام 2015 ترشّح للأكاديمية الأمريكية للفنون والعلوم.

 

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل ريتشارد كورين

تعرّف كيف تعاونت مؤسسة سميثسونيان مع حكومة هايتي والمنظمات الدولية في جهود الإغاثة عام 2010

إغلاق

Richard Kurin

Under Secretary for History, Art, and Culture at the Smithsonian Institution

As Under Secretary for History, Art, and Culture, Richard Kurin is responsible for most of Smithsonian’s national museums and a variety of cultural and education programs, as well as several research centers including the Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage. Richard has served on the U.S. Commission for UNESCO and advised UNESCO on the drafting of the 2003 International Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage, now ratified by more than 160 nations. 

In 2004, Richard worked intimately on developing a Smithsonian Folklife Festival to commemorate the 200th anniversary of Haiti’s independence. Working together on the Haitian festival cemented ties and built a strong trust between Smithsonian and Haitian friends and colleagues. When the devastating 2010 earthquake struck Haiti, Richard reached out to government agencies, arts and cultural organizations and conservation professionals to see how these diverse partners could work together to rescue damaged and at-risk Haitian cultural heritage.

Richard traveled to Port-au-Prince and worked with Haitian counterparts to craft a plan for recovering, rescuing and preserving Haitian cultural heritage. He employed Smithsonian’s power to convene to build partnerships with Haitian, U.S., and international partners around these efforts and established the Haiti Cultural Recovery Project. The project supports and trains Haitians in conservation skills so that they can carry on preserving their own cultural heritage for many years to come.

A former Fulbright-Hays fellow who has conducted most of his research in India and Pakistan, Richard earned his Ph.D. in cultural anthropology from the University of Chicago, and taught at The Johns Hopkins University Nitze School of Advanced International Studies. He first worked for the Smithsonian for the celebration of the Bicentennial of the United States in 1976, and later became director of the Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage which he headed for two decades. He is the author of The Smithsonian’s History of America in 101 Objects, Reflections of a Cultural Broker: A View from the Smithsonian, Smithsonian Folklife Festival: Culture Of, By, and For the People as well as other books and numerous scholarly articles. In 2015 he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

 

Learn more about Richard Kurin's Work

See How Smithsonian Collaborated with the Haitian Government and International Organizations in 2010 Recovery Efforts

Close