罗伯特 • A • 赖斯(鲍勃)(Robert A. Rice(Bob))

史密森尼保护生物学研究所 (Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute) 史密森尼候鸟研究中心(Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center,简称 SMBC) 研究科学家

罗伯特•赖斯 (Robert Rice) 研究中美洲、南美洲和美国农业生态学和土地利用实践与政策。 他研究的是农林复合系统及其对环境和人类社区的影响和益处。

鲍勃 (Bob) 与史密森尼同仁和国际合作伙伴共同研究各种不同生产系统的可持续发展。 他还担任保护鸟类®咖啡项目总监,该项目隶属于史密森尼保护生物学研究所下属史密森尼候鸟研究中心。

身为独立咖啡烘焙师,鲍勃 (Bob) 在特色咖啡社群内努力促进从林牧复合系统(即将传统林业与放牧相结合)及各种具有潜在栖息地特征的受管理土地经济效益。

鲍勃热衷于宣传我们如何帮助保护候鸟栖息地及为咖啡种植者创建可持续发展的农场。 他在北卡罗来纳大学 (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) 攻读完本科之后,曾在一个咖啡种植园生活了八个月,从那时起,他便开始了对可持续发展咖啡种植园一生的追求。  鲍勃于 1990 年获得了加州大学伯克利分校 (University of California, Berkeley) 地理学博士学位。

请深入了解罗伯特•A•赖斯(鲍勃)的工作

史密森尼候鸟研究中心 (Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center) 保护鸟类®咖啡项目 (Bird Friendly® Coffee Program) 保护候鸟并支持遮荫栽种咖啡农场

关闭

Robert A. Rice (Bob)

Research Scientist, Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center, Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute

Robert Rice studies agroecology and land-use practices and policy in Central and South America and the U.S. He researches agroforestry systems and their impacts on and benefits to the environment and human communities.

Bob works with Smithsonian fellows and international partners to study the sustainability dimensions of a range of production systems. He is also director of the Bird Friendly® Coffee program at the Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center (SMBC), part of the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute.

An independent coffee roaster himself, Bob works within the specialty coffee community to promote economic benefits related to silvo-pastoral systems—combining traditional forests with grazing—and the potential habitat characteristics of a variety of managed lands.

Bob enjoys spreading the word about how we can help protect migratory bird habitats and create sustainable farms for coffee growers. He began his lifelong interest in sustainable coffee farms while living on a coffee farm for eight months after his undergraduate years at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  Bob received his PhD in Geography from the University of California, Berkeley in 1990.

Learn more about Robert A. Rice (Bob)'s Work

Smithsonian Migratory Bird Center’s Bird Friendly® Coffee Program Protects Migratory Birds and Supports Shade-Grown Coffee Farms

Close