وليام ماك شيا (بيل)

عالم بيئة، معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا

يعد بيل ماك شيا عالم بيئة في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا وينصب تركيزه على الحفاظ على الثدييات والغابات في كافة أرجاء آسيا.

وفي ميانمار، يعمل بيل مع الحكومة المحلية ويتولى إدارة العديد من الاستطلاعات الخاصة بالغزلان الراقصة التي تمتد في كافة أنحاء البلاد من أجل توثيق الموائل المتبقية لهذا النوع من الغزلان ووضع خطط للحفاظ عليه. وفي تايلاند يعمل أيضًا بيل مع الحكومة لإعادة إدخال الأنواع المتناسلة الأسيرة إلى مناطق محميِّة في البرية.

يساعد بيل بحكم عمله كأستاذ مساعد في جامعة بكين في الصين في تدريب الجيل القادم من الباحثين المعنيين بعمليات الحفاظ البيئي فيما يتعلق بعمليات تجميع البيانات وتقنيات الاستشعار عن بعد. ويساعد هذا البحث في توثيق التفضيلات الخاصة بالموائل ومجموعات الأجناس المهددة بالانقراض كالباندا العملاقة، إضافة إلى مدى فاعلية طرق الحفظ.

ويعمل بيل بصفته نائب رئيس المجموعة المتخصصة المعنية بالغزلان في الاتحاد الدولي للحفاظ على الطبيعة (IUCN)على تنسيق عمليات الحفاظ على 65 نوعًا من أنواع الغزالان في جميع أنحاء العالم. حصل على درجة البكالوريوس في العلوم من جامعة بوكنل، ودرجة الماجستير في علم الحيوان من جامعة نيوهامشير في عام 1981، ودرجة الدكتوراه من جامعة نيويورك الحكومية في بينغامتون عام 1985. كما أنه عالم متخصص في الأبحاث البيئية في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا منذ عام 1986.

تعرف على المزيد عن عمل وليام ماك شيا (بيل)

انظر كيف تُسهم العلوم والجهود الحكومية في ضمان وجود الغزال الراقص بميانمار مستقبلاً

إغلاق

William McShea (Bill)

Ecologist, Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute

Bill McShea is an ecologist at the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI) whose work focuses on the conservation of mammals and forests throughout Asia.

In Myanmar, Bill works with the local government and leads several countrywide surveys of Eld’s deer to document their remaining habitat and create conservation plans for the species. In Thailand, Bill is also working with the government to reintroduce captive breeding species into protected areas in the wild.

As an adjunct professor at Peking University in China, Bill helps train the next generation of conservation researchers in field data collection and remote sensing techniques. This research helps document the habitat preferences and ranges of endangered species, such as giant pandas, and the efficacy of conservation methods.

Bill coordinates the conservation of 65 deer species across the globe as co-chair of the Deer Specialist Group of the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN). He received his BS from Bucknell University, an MS in Zoology from the University of New Hampshire in 1981, and his PhD from the State University of New York at Binghamton in 1985. He has been a research ecologist at SCBI since 1986.

Learn more about William McShea (Bill)'s Work

See How Science and Government are Ensuring a Future for Myanmar’s Eld’s Deer

Close