保护缅甸坡鹿

相关专长: 咨询服务
启动日期: 1989

20 多年来,史密森尼科学家一直致力于保护极度濒危的坡鹿,这是一个曾经分布于整个东南亚(从越南到印度)的物种。 目前,只有 2,500 头坡鹿生活在野外,主要分布在缅甸和柬埔寨。

在史密森尼科学家比尔•迈克歇 (Bill McShea),梅丽莎•桑格 (Melissa Songer) 和彼得•雷姆格鲁伯 (Peter Leimgruber) 的领导下,研究人员绘制出了坡鹿赖以生存的剩余干燥热带森林栖息地的地图,并且定位了先前未知的野生坡鹿群。

史密森尼科学家曾与缅甸政府商议制定一项新的坡鹿保护计划,并与挪威政府合作为缅甸的恰丁野生动物保护区 (Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary) 和其他坡鹿栖息地提供新的资金。

目前,有关坡鹿保护的研究继续在位于弗吉尼亚州弗兰特罗亚尔 (Front Royal) 的史密森尼保护生物学研究所 (SCBI) 进行。 科学家史蒂文•蒙福特 (Steven Monfort) 和皮埃尔•科米佐利 (Pierre Comizzoli) 在这里开发了坡鹿人工受精和体外受精技术。 

 

请深入了解此项目

了解科学和政府如何共同确保缅甸坡鹿的未来

Conserving Eld's Deer in Myanmar

Related Expertise: Advisory Services
Date Initiated: 1989

For more than two decades, Smithsonian scientists have worked to conserve the critically endangered Eld’s deer, a species that once ranged throughout Southeast Asia from Vietnam to India. Today only about 2,500 deer remain in the wild, primarily in Myanmar and Cambodia.

Led by Smithsonian scientists Bill McShea, Melissa Songer, and Peter Leimgruber, researchers mapped the remaining dry tropical forest habitat that the Eld’s deer depend on and located a previously unknown population of Eld’s deer in the wild.

Smithsonian scientists consulted with the Government of Myanmar to develop a new Eld’s Deer Conservation Plan and worked with the Government of Norway to provide new funding for Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary and other Eld’s deer sites in Myanmar.

Conservation research on Eld’s deer continues at the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI) located in Front Royal, Virginia. Here scientists Steven Monfort and Pierre Comizzoli have developed techniques for artificial insemination and in vitro fertilization for Eld’s deer. 

 

Learn more about this Project

See How Science and Government are Ensuring a Future for Myanmar’s Eld’s Deer