حماية الغزال الراقص بميانمار

الخبرات ذات الصلة: الخدمات الاستشارية
تاريخ البدء: 1989

عمل علماء مؤسسة سميثسونيان، لما يربو على العقدين من الزمن، على الحفاظ على الغزال الراقص المعرض بشدة لخطر الانقراض، وهو النوع الذي انتشر منذ زمن بعيد في جميع أرجاء جنوب شرق آسيا من فيتنام إلى الهند، بيد أنه لم يتبق منه في الوقت الراهن، حسب التقديرات، سوى حوالي 2,500 غزال راقص، موجودة بشكل أساسي في ميانمار وكمبوديا.

رسم الباحثون بإشراف بيل ماك شيا وميليسا سونغر وبيتر لايمجروبر خريطة لموائل الغابات الاستوائية الجافة المتبقية والتي تعد موطنًا يعتمد عليه الغزال الراقص، كما أنهم حددوا مواقع لغزالان راقصة غير معروفة مسبقًا في البرية.

وأجرى علماء مؤسسة سميثسونيان عدة مشاورات مع حكومة ميانمار بهدف وضع خطة جديدة للحفاظ على الغزال الراقص، كما عملوا مع حكومة النرويج لتوفير وسائل تمويل جديدة لمحمية تشاتين وايلدلايف سانكشواري وغيرها من المواقع التي يوجد بها الغزال الراقص في ميانمار.

لا تزال الأبحاث المعنية بعمليات الحفاظ على الغزال الراقص قائمة في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا الكائن في فرونت رويال، بفيرجينيا، حيث طور العالمان ستيفين مونفورت وبير كوميزولي في هذا المكان تقنيات خاصة بالتلقيح الاصطناعي والتلقيح المعملي للغزال الراقص. 

 

تعرف على المزيد عن هذا المشروع

انظر كيف تُسهم العلوم والجهود الحكومية في ضمان وجود الغزال الراقص بميانمار مستقبلاً

Conserving Eld's Deer in Myanmar

Related Expertise: Advisory Services
Date Initiated: 1989

For more than two decades, Smithsonian scientists have worked to conserve the critically endangered Eld’s deer, a species that once ranged throughout Southeast Asia from Vietnam to India. Today only about 2,500 deer remain in the wild, primarily in Myanmar and Cambodia.

Led by Smithsonian scientists Bill McShea, Melissa Songer, and Peter Leimgruber, researchers mapped the remaining dry tropical forest habitat that the Eld’s deer depend on and located a previously unknown population of Eld’s deer in the wild.

Smithsonian scientists consulted with the Government of Myanmar to develop a new Eld’s Deer Conservation Plan and worked with the Government of Norway to provide new funding for Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary and other Eld’s deer sites in Myanmar.

Conservation research on Eld’s deer continues at the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI) located in Front Royal, Virginia. Here scientists Steven Monfort and Pierre Comizzoli have developed techniques for artificial insemination and in vitro fertilization for Eld’s deer. 

 

Learn more about this Project

See How Science and Government are Ensuring a Future for Myanmar’s Eld’s Deer