أجرى الباحثون التابعون لمؤسسة سميثسونيان بحثًا موسعًا عن محمية تشاتين وايلدلايف سانكشواري الموجودة في شمال ميانمار، وذلك بالتعاون مع العاملين في المنطقة المحمية في ميانمار. استخدم فريق من الباحثين مجموعة من تقنيات التتبع باستخدام موجات الراديو والمسح بالإضافة إلى بيانات جغرافية مكانية لإعداد قاعدة بيانات بيولوجية يمكن استخدامها لرصد الاتجاهات السكانية والمساعدة في اتخاذ قرارات إدارة شؤون الحياة البرية

تصوير بيل ماك شي
تصوير بيل ماك شي.

عمل علماء مؤسسة سميثسونيان لما يربو على العقدين من الزمان للحفاظ على الغزلان الراقصة المهددة بالانقراض بشكل كبير، وهي أجناس تواجدت عبر جنوب شرق آسيا من فيتنام إلى الهند، إلا أنه لا يوجد منها اليوم  سوى حوالي 2500 غزال في البرية، توجد بشكل أساسي في ميانمار وكمبوديا. ورسم الباحثون بقيادة بيل ماك شيا وميليسا سونغر وبيتر لايمجروبر خريطة للغابات الاستوائية الجافة الباقية والتي تعد موئلاً يعتمد عليه الغزال الراقص، كما أنهم استخدموا الخريطة لتحديد مواقع جماعات الغزال الراقص - غير المعروفة سابقًا - في البرية.

ميل سونغر مع أعضاء فريق "ثامين" للبيئة في مخيم سامونج بمحمية تشاتين وايلدلايف سانكشواري في ميانمار. 
 صورة من ميل سونغر.
ميل سونغر مع أعضاء فريق "ثامين" للبيئة في مخيم سامونج بمحمية تشاتين وايلدلايف سانكشواري في ميانمار. صورة من ميل سونغر.

تُعرِّض الضغوط المتزايدة المتولدة من الأنشطة الزراعية وعمليات قَطع الأشجار والأنشطة البشرية الأخرى هذه الغابات للخطر –– الأمر الذي يجعل مستقبل الغزال الراقص غامضًا. ولهذا يعمل العلماء بمؤسسة سميثسونيان بتفان لإيجاد طرق لعكس المسار الآخذ في الانخفاض للغزال الراقص.

الغزال الراقص الموجود في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا في فرونت رويال بفيرجينيا. 
 صورة من ميهجان ميرفي/حديقة الحيوان الوطنية.
الغزال الراقص الموجود في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا في فرونت رويال، بفيرجينيا. صورة من ميهجان ميرفي/حديقة الحيوان الوطنية.

وقد تمكنت ميليسا وبيتر بمساعدة زملائهما من ميانمار، من توثيق عوامل الضغط الواقع على موارد الغابات بما في ذلك جمع الأخشاب وعمليات صيد الغزال الراقص من جانب المجتمعات المحيطة بمحمية تشاتين. يتسنى لنا من خلال التعرف على مدى اعتماد المجتمعات المحلية على الغابة بحثًا عن الموارد الضرورية مثل الطعام والمأوى والدواء التعاون من أجل التوصل إلى وسائل لتخفيض الأضرار الواقعة على الغابات الجافة دون التأثير سلبًا على الأفراد، يتسنى من خلال هذا ربط علوم الحفاظ بالمجتمعات الإنسانية، مما يمهد الطريق نحو إيجاد حلول متاحة من خلال توفير سبُل معيشية بديلة.

\"Biodiversity conservation is essential for sustainable development,\" at the Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary. Photo credit Mel Songer.
""الحفاظ على التنوع البيولوجي أمر ضروري للتنمية المستدامة"،" في محمية تشاتين وايلدلايف سانكشواري. صورة من ميل سونغر.

يضيف علماء مؤسسة سميثسونيان بعدًا عالميًا يعزز الجهود البحثية ويمهد الطريق للحصول على دعم حكومي للحفاظ على الغزال الراقص والأنواع الأخرى المعرضة بشدة لخطر الانقراض. بيل هو رئيس مشارك للمجموعة المتخصصة المعنية بالغزلان (SSC) هي مجموعة مكلفة من جانب الاتحاد الدولي للحفاظ على الطبيعة (IUCN) بتعقب حالة عمليات الحفظ لـ 65 نوعًا من الغزلان على مستوى العالم.  

تصوير بيل ماك شي
تصوير بيل ماك شي.

يتناول بيل في دراسته الظبي ذي الذيل الأبيض الموجود في شرق الولايات المتحدة، بالإضافة إلى أبحاثه حول الغزال الراقص. أسهمت الإدارة الناجحة للحياة البرية في زيادة أعداد الظبي ذي الذيل الأبيض لتصل إلى 25 مليون ظبي في الوقت الراهن بعد أن تعرضت للصيد الجارف حتى أوشكت على الانقراض في العشرينيات من القرن الماضي. 

أدى تزايد أعداد الظبي ذي الذيل الأبيض إلى نقص ملحوظ في البلوط في الغابات الشرقية إلى جانب تهديد وجود الكثير من النباتات البرية، وذلك لما يتمتع به هذا النوع من الظباء من شهية كبيرة تجاه شتلات البلوط والكثير من أنواع النباتات الأخرى.

يوضح بيل قائلًا: "من المهم النظر إلى قصة الحفاظ من كلا الجانبين: ما الآثار المترتبة على الانخفاض الشديد لأعداد الظبي كما هو الحال في ميانمار أو زيادتها بشدة كما هو الحال في شرق الولايات المتحدة". "يمكنك الاستنتاج مما حدث مع الظبي ذي الذيل الأبيض أنه مع وجود وسائل الحماية المناسبة، فإنه يمكن إنقاذ الغزال الراقص وقد يكون جزءًا من لوحة فسيفساء تحمل مشهد طبيعي إنساني في ميانمار."

[file:field-caption]
أول خشف غزال راقص معرض للانقراض يتم إنجابه من خلال الحقن المجهري في أم بديلة في حديقة حيوان "خاو خيو" المفتوحة. تصوير حديقة حيوان "خاو خيو" المفتوحة بتايلاند.

لم يتوقف علماء مؤسسة سميثسونيان عند مرحلة إجراء البحث –– إذ أنهم عملوا مع الحكومات لضمان تنفيذ الحلول التي تم التوصل إليها خلال البحث. أجرى علماء مؤسسة سميثسونيان مشاورات مع حكومة ميانمار بهدف وضع خطة جديدة للحفاظ على الغزال الراقص ، كما عملت المؤسسة مع حكومة النرويج لتوفير وسائل تمويل جديدة لمحمية تشاتين وايلدلايف سانكشواري وغيرها من المواقع التي يوجد بها الغزال الراقص في ميانمار. 

يواصل معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا في فرونت رويال، فيرجينيا إجراء أبحاثه الخاصة بالمحافظة على الغزال الراقص. هنا طور العالمان ستيفين مونفورت وبير كوميزولي تقنيات خاصة بالتلقيح الاصطناعي والتلقيح المعملي للغزال الراقص

وفي عام 2011، ولد أول خشف غزال راقص في حديقة الحيوان المفتوحة "خاو خيو" في تايلاند، من خلال عملية تلقيح معملي أجريت في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا.

تعرّف على المزيد عن: حماية الغزال الراقص بميانمار
إغلاق

In partnership with Myanmar protected area staff, Smithsonian researchers have conducted extensive research at Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary in northern Myanmar. A team of researchers used a combination of radio-tracking and survey techniques with geospatial data to establish a baseline of biological data that can be used to track population trends and inform wildlife management decisions

Photo credit Bill McShea.
Photo credit Bill McShea.

For more than two decades, Smithsonian scientists have worked to conserve the critically endangered Eld’s deer, a species that once ranged throughout Southeast Asia from Vietnam to India, but today has only an estimated 2,500 deer remaining in the wild, primarily in Myanmar and Cambodia. Researchers led by Bill McShea, Melissa Songer, and Peter Leimgruber mapped the remaining dry tropical forest habitat that the Eld’s deer depend on and used the map to locate a previously unknown population of Eld’s deer in the wild.

Mel Songer with Thamin Ecology Team members at Samaung Camp, Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary, Myanmar. Photo credit Mel Songer.
Mel Songer with Thamin Ecology Team members at Samaung Camp, Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary, Myanmar. Photo credit Mel Songer.

Increasing pressure from agriculture, logging, and other human activities put these forests at risk — making the future of Eld’s deer uncertain. That’s why Smithsonian scientists are working hard to find ways to reverse the deer’s recent trajectory of decline.

Eld's deer at SCBI in Front Royal, VA. Photo Credit Mehgan Murphy/NZP.
Eld's deer at SCBI in Front Royal, VA. Photo Credit Mehgan Murphy/NZP.

With help from their Myanmar colleagues, Melissa and Peter have documented pressures on forest resources, including harvesting of timber and hunting Eld’s deer by communities around Chatthin. By learning how local communities depend on the forest for critical resources such as food, shelter, and medicine, we can work together to find ways to reduce impact on the dry forests without negatively impacting people. This work links conservation science with human communities, pointing the way towards possible solutions through alternative livelihood development.

\"Biodiversity conservation is essential for sustainable development,\" at the Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary. Photo credit Mel Songer.
"Biodiversity conservation is essential for sustainable development," at the Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary. Photo credit Mel Songer.

Smithsonian scientists bring a global perspective that enhances research and paves the way towards government support for the conservation of the Eld’s deer and other critically endangered species. Bill is Co-Chair of the Deer Specialist Group of the Species Survival Commission (SSC), a group tasked by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) to track the conservation status of 65 deer species worldwide.  

Photo credit Bill McShea.
Photo credit Bill McShea.

In addition to his research on the Eld’s deer, Bill studies white-tailed deer in the Eastern United States. Nearly hunted to extinction in the 1920s, successful wildlife management has increased the white-tailed deer population to more than 25 million today. 

The growing numbers of white-tailed deer, with their voracious appetite for oak seedlings and many other plant species, has resulted in a dramatic reduction of oaks in eastern forests and threatens many wildflowers.

“It’s important to see both sides of the conservation story: what happens when deer decline too much, as in Myanmar, or when they increase too much, as in the Eastern U.S.,” Bill explains. “You can see from what happened with the white-tailed deer that with the right protections in place, the Eld’s deer could recover and could be part of a human-natural landscape mosaic in Myanmar.”

[file:field-caption]
The world’s first endangered Eld’s deer fawn born from in vitro fertilization with surrogate mother at Khao Kheow Open Zoo. Photo courtesy of Khao Kheow Open Zoo, Thailand.

Smithsonian scientists didn’t stop with research—they worked with governments to ensure solutions identified in the research were implemented. Smithsonian scientists consulted with the Government of Myanmar to develop a new Eld’s Deer Conservation Plan and worked with the Government of Norway to provide new funding for Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary and other Eld’s deer sites in Myanmar. 

Conservation research on Eld’s deer continues at the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI) located in Front Royal, Virginia. Here scientists Steven Monfort and Pierre Comizzoli have developed techniques for artificial insemination and in vitro fertilization for Eld’s deer

In 2011, the first Eld’s deer fawn was born at the Khao Kheow Open Zoo in Thailand from an in vitro fertilization process developed at SCBI.

Close