通过与缅甸保护区工作人员的合作,史密森尼研究人员在缅甸北部的恰丁野生动物保护区 (Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary) 展开了深入广泛的研究。 一组研究人员采用无线电追踪与地理空间数据调查技术相结合的方式,建立可用于跟踪种群动向和野生动物管理决策的生物学基准数据

照片来源:Bill McShea。
照片来源:Bill McShea。

二十多年来,史密森尼的科学家一直努力保护极度濒危的坡鹿。从越南到印度,野生坡鹿曾遍布整个东南亚,但如今预计只剩下 2,500 头,主要生活在缅甸和柬埔寨。 在比尔 • 迈克歇 (Bill McShea)、梅丽莎 • 桑格 (Melissa Songer) 和彼得 • 雷姆格鲁伯 (Peter Leimgruber) 的领导下,研究人员绘制出坡鹿赖以生存的剩余干燥热带森林栖息地的分布图,并且利用这个地图定位先前未知的野生坡鹿群。

梅尔•桑格 (Mel Songer) 与坡鹿生态学团队成员在缅甸恰丁野生动物保护区 (Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary) Samaung 营地。 
 照片来源:梅尔•桑格。
梅尔•桑格 (Mel Songer) 与坡鹿生态学团队成员在缅甸恰丁野生动物保护区 (Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary) Samaung 营地。 照片来源:梅尔•桑格。

来自农业、伐木业和其他人类活动日益增加的压力使这些森林面临着巨大的风险—— 使坡鹿的未来变得难以预料。 这就是为什么史密森尼科学家正努力,寻求扭转目前下降趋势的方法

位于弗吉尼亚州弗兰特罗亚尔的史密森尼保护生物学研究所中的坡鹿。 
 照片来源:梅根•墨菲/NZP。
位于弗吉尼亚州弗兰特罗亚尔的史密森尼保护生物学研究所中的坡鹿。 照片来源:梅根•墨菲 (Mehgan Murphy)/NZP。

在缅甸同行的帮助下,梅丽莎和彼得已经记录了对森林资源的压力,其中包括恰丁周围社群的木材砍伐和坡鹿猎杀。 通过了解当地社区任何依赖森林提供诸如食品、住所和药品等重要资源,我们可以共同努力找到在对人们不产生负面影响的情况下减少对干燥森林影响的方法。 这项工作将自然保护科学与人类社群联系在一起,指向通过发展其他生计方式的潜在解决方案。

\"Biodiversity conservation is essential for sustainable development,\" at the Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary. Photo credit Mel Songer.
"在恰丁野生动物保护区,"“保护生物多样性是可持续发展的基本条件”。 照片来源:梅尔•桑格。

史密森尼的科学家们带来的全球视角,既加强了研究,也为获得政府支持保护坡鹿和其他严重濒危物种铺平了道路。 比尔是物种存续委员会 (Species Survival Commission,简称 SSC) 专家组组长,该委员会身负国际自然保护联合会 (International Union for the Conservation of Nature,简称 IUCN) 交予的任务,在全球范围内跟踪 65 类鹿种的保护状态。  

照片来源:Bill McShea。
照片来源:Bill McShea。

除了对坡鹿的研究之外,比尔还在研究美国东部的白尾鹿。 白尾鹿在二十世纪二十年代近乎被猎杀灭绝,如今成功的野生动物管理已将白尾鹿的数量增至超过 2,500 万只。 

数量日益增加的白尾鹿,因大量地吞食橡树苗和许多其他植物种类,导致东部森林中的橡树大幅较少,并且给许多野花的生存带来威胁。

比尔解释说:“了解自然保护工作的两面性是非常重要的:在缅甸如果鹿的数量减少过多,或在美国东部如果鹿的数量增加过多,各会出现什么情况。 “你可以从白尾鹿的故事得知,如果采取恰如其分的保护措施,坡鹿种群可得以恢复并成为缅甸人类自然景观组图的一部分。”

[file:field-caption]
全球首只濒危坡鹿宝宝通过体外受精和代孕妈妈在绿山国家动物园诞生。 照片来源:泰国绿山国家动物园。

史密森尼科学家们的行动并不仅限于研究——我们还与政府合作,共同确保经研究确定的解决方案。 史密森尼科学家曾与缅甸政府商议制定一项新的坡鹿保护计划,并与挪威政府合作为缅甸的恰丁野生动物保护区 (Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary) 和其他坡鹿栖息地提供新的资金。 

有关坡鹿的保护研究继续在位于弗吉尼亚州弗兰特罗亚尔 (Front Royal) 的史密森尼保护生物学研究所 (Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute,简称 SCBI) 进行。 科学家史蒂文 • 蒙福特 (Steven Monfort) 和皮埃尔•科米佐利 (Pierre Comizzoli) 在这里开发了坡鹿人工受精和体外受精的技术

2011 年,通过运用 SCBI 开发的体外受精技术, 首只坡鹿宝宝在泰国的绿山国家动物园 (Khao Kheow Open Zoo) 诞生。

请深入了解我们: 保护缅甸坡鹿
关闭

In partnership with Myanmar protected area staff, Smithsonian researchers have conducted extensive research at Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary in northern Myanmar. A team of researchers used a combination of radio-tracking and survey techniques with geospatial data to establish a baseline of biological data that can be used to track population trends and inform wildlife management decisions

Photo credit Bill McShea.
Photo credit Bill McShea.

For more than two decades, Smithsonian scientists have worked to conserve the critically endangered Eld’s deer, a species that once ranged throughout Southeast Asia from Vietnam to India, but today has only an estimated 2,500 deer remaining in the wild, primarily in Myanmar and Cambodia. Researchers led by Bill McShea, Melissa Songer, and Peter Leimgruber mapped the remaining dry tropical forest habitat that the Eld’s deer depend on and used the map to locate a previously unknown population of Eld’s deer in the wild.

Mel Songer with Thamin Ecology Team members at Samaung Camp, Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary, Myanmar. Photo credit Mel Songer.
Mel Songer with Thamin Ecology Team members at Samaung Camp, Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary, Myanmar. Photo credit Mel Songer.

Increasing pressure from agriculture, logging, and other human activities put these forests at risk — making the future of Eld’s deer uncertain. That’s why Smithsonian scientists are working hard to find ways to reverse the deer’s recent trajectory of decline.

Eld's deer at SCBI in Front Royal, VA. Photo Credit Mehgan Murphy/NZP.
Eld's deer at SCBI in Front Royal, VA. Photo Credit Mehgan Murphy/NZP.

With help from their Myanmar colleagues, Melissa and Peter have documented pressures on forest resources, including harvesting of timber and hunting Eld’s deer by communities around Chatthin. By learning how local communities depend on the forest for critical resources such as food, shelter, and medicine, we can work together to find ways to reduce impact on the dry forests without negatively impacting people. This work links conservation science with human communities, pointing the way towards possible solutions through alternative livelihood development.

\"Biodiversity conservation is essential for sustainable development,\" at the Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary. Photo credit Mel Songer.
"Biodiversity conservation is essential for sustainable development," at the Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary. Photo credit Mel Songer.

Smithsonian scientists bring a global perspective that enhances research and paves the way towards government support for the conservation of the Eld’s deer and other critically endangered species. Bill is Co-Chair of the Deer Specialist Group of the Species Survival Commission (SSC), a group tasked by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) to track the conservation status of 65 deer species worldwide.  

Photo credit Bill McShea.
Photo credit Bill McShea.

In addition to his research on the Eld’s deer, Bill studies white-tailed deer in the Eastern United States. Nearly hunted to extinction in the 1920s, successful wildlife management has increased the white-tailed deer population to more than 25 million today. 

The growing numbers of white-tailed deer, with their voracious appetite for oak seedlings and many other plant species, has resulted in a dramatic reduction of oaks in eastern forests and threatens many wildflowers.

“It’s important to see both sides of the conservation story: what happens when deer decline too much, as in Myanmar, or when they increase too much, as in the Eastern U.S.,” Bill explains. “You can see from what happened with the white-tailed deer that with the right protections in place, the Eld’s deer could recover and could be part of a human-natural landscape mosaic in Myanmar.”

[file:field-caption]
The world’s first endangered Eld’s deer fawn born from in vitro fertilization with surrogate mother at Khao Kheow Open Zoo. Photo courtesy of Khao Kheow Open Zoo, Thailand.

Smithsonian scientists didn’t stop with research—they worked with governments to ensure solutions identified in the research were implemented. Smithsonian scientists consulted with the Government of Myanmar to develop a new Eld’s Deer Conservation Plan and worked with the Government of Norway to provide new funding for Chatthin Wildlife Sanctuary and other Eld’s deer sites in Myanmar. 

Conservation research on Eld’s deer continues at the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI) located in Front Royal, Virginia. Here scientists Steven Monfort and Pierre Comizzoli have developed techniques for artificial insemination and in vitro fertilization for Eld’s deer

In 2011, the first Eld’s deer fawn was born at the Khao Kheow Open Zoo in Thailand from an in vitro fertilization process developed at SCBI.

Close