健康珊瑚礁服务健康人类

相关专长: 号召力
启动日期: 2016

史密森尼科学家梅勒妮•麦克菲尔德 (Melanie McField) 牵头负责健康珊瑚礁服务健康人类 (HR4HP) 项目。该项目涉及多个机构,旨在支持中美洲珊瑚礁保护工作,包括跟踪中美洲珊瑚礁 (Mesoamerican Reef) 的健康状况,及向决策者提出建议,为珊瑚礁健康状况带来切实,积极的改变。

中美洲珊瑚礁 (MAR) 沿着墨西哥,危地马拉,洪都拉斯及伯利兹海岸延伸了将近 700 英里,包括西半球最长的堡礁。 由于这些国家中有将近 2 百万人以珊瑚礁为生,所以 MAR 的健康状况直接关系到当地社区的健康。 HR4HP 每两年都会使用“成绩单”对珊瑚礁的健康状况进行打分,然后进行分级。 根据成绩单向四个 MAR 国家提出建议后,项目会进行“生态审计 (eco-audit)”,以了解这些国家如何根据建议保护珊瑚礁。 比如,成绩单可能会建议将某个禁渔区的面积增加 5%;在生态审计过程中,项目就会衡量该国是否采取了措施来满足该建议。

健康珊瑚礁服务健康人类是史密森尼与超过 64 个组织之间的一个合作项目,其中包括大自然保护协会 (Nature Conservancy) 和世界自然基金会 (World Wildlife Fund),旨在长期,顺利地提升中美洲珊瑚礁的健康状况并改善以中美洲珊瑚礁为生的人们的生活水平。

请深入了解此项目

史密森尼致力于通过健康珊瑚礁服务健康人类 (Healthy Reefs for Healthy People) 项目,改善美索美洲珊瑚礁的健康状况

Healthy Reefs for Healthy People

Related Expertise: Power to Convene
Date Initiated: 2016

Smithsonian scientist Melanie McField leads Healthy Reefs for Healthy People (HR4HP), a multi-institutional effort to support conservation of the Mesoamerican Reef by tracking its health and making recommendations to policymakers in order to effect real, positive change for the health of the reef.

The Mesoamerican Reef (MAR) stretches almost 700 miles along the coasts of Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, and Belize, and includes the longest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere. With nearly 2 million people across these countries depending on the reef for their livelihoods, the MAR’s health is directly connected to the health of local communities. HR4HP uses a “Report Card” to score the reef’s health every two years and then gives the reef health a grade. After giving the four MAR countries recommendations based on the report card, the program then issues an “eco-audit” to see how the countries are applying the recommendations to help the reef. For example, the report card may recommend increasing a no-fishing zone’s size by 5%, and the eco-audit will measure if the country took steps to make this happen.

Healthy Reefs for Healthy People is a Smithsonian partnership with more than 64 organizations, including the Nature Conservancy and the World Wildlife Fund, to successfully improve the health of the Mesoamerican Reef over time and improve the lives of those who depend on it.

Learn more about this Project

Smithsonian is Improving the Health of the Mesoamerican Reef with the Healthy Reefs for Healthy People program