中美洲珊瑚礁 (MAR) 包括西半球最长的堡礁,是一个全球公认的海洋生物多样性热点地区。 MAR 沿着伯利兹、墨西哥、危地马拉和洪都拉斯海岸延伸了 1,000 多公里。 大约有 2 百万人以 MAR 为生(通过渔业和旅游业);更多人在 MAR 的保护下,免受风暴和海平面上升带来的危害。

如今,美索美洲珊瑚礁面临着健康风险。 过度捕捞、气候变化、污染和栖息地丧失等问题愈演愈烈,这部分归因于农田径流、人口增长和不可持续的旅游实践等。 原本可以保护海岸线、为幼鱼提供庇护的红树森林遭到疏浚工作(为了得到更多的土地)的破坏,而海洋温度的上升正导致珊瑚白化问题的加剧。

在拍摄关于伯利兹海洋保护区的一部纪录片的过程中,梅勒妮向红脚鲣鸟和军舰鸟的鸟巢望去。 
来源: 
多萝西娅•吉布斯 (Dorothea Gibbs)/第三频道 (Third Channel)。
在拍摄关于伯利兹海洋保护区的一部纪录片的过程中,梅勒妮向红脚鲣鸟和军舰鸟的鸟巢望去。 来源: 多萝西娅•吉布斯 (Dorothea Gibbs)/第三渠道 (Third Channel)。

珊瑚礁的健康影响着社区的健康,如果污染、过度捕捞和疏浚危害到 MAR,近两百万的人将受到负面影响。 从事捕捞的社区希望通过增强法规执行及管理,维持稳定的鱼类供应,而旅游行业想要美观、有活力的珊瑚礁,以促进该区域旅游业的发展。

即使面临着这些挑战,MAR 的情况仍逐渐好转,这部分得益于史密森尼国立自然历史博物馆的自然保护项目健康珊瑚礁服务健康人类(Healthy Reefs for Healthy People,简称 HR4HP)。 通过 HR4HP,60 多位合作伙伴共同致力于维护和改善 MAR 的健康状况,并为依赖 MAR 的社区提供支持。 HR4HP 率先在多国努力开发一个框架,用于测量珊瑚礁的健康状况,并运用这些测量结果,为政府、非政府组织和私营部门提供建议,从而对 MAR 实现更好的管理。

 

启动 2015 年中美洲珊瑚礁成绩单 (2015 Mesoamerican Reef Report Card) 过程中,梅勒妮与洪都拉斯第一夫人叶安娜 (Ana García de Hernández)(中间偏左)。 
来源: 
莱昂内尔•埃斯特拉达 (Leonel Estrada)/洪都拉斯新闻办公室 (Press Office Honduras)。
启动 2015 年中美洲珊瑚礁成绩单 (2015 Mesoamerican Reef Report Card) 过程中,梅勒妮与洪都拉斯第一夫人叶安娜 (Ana García de Hernández) (中间偏左)。 来源: 莱昂内尔•埃斯特拉达 (Leonel Estrada)/洪都拉斯新闻办公室 (Press Office Honduras)。
Smithsonian scientist Melanie McField launched HR4HP in 2004 to improve conservation of the Mesoamerican Reef by measuring its health using common indicators and then determining how to best convey this scientific information to policymakers. Melanie directs the program from the Smithsonian Marine Station at Ft. Pierce, FL. In the early 2000s, Melanie and a group of scientists working in the Mesoamerican region realized that they needed to determine just how big of a problem faced the MAR by developing a common definition of reef health, with quantitative indicators and, equally importantly, learn how to collectively track the health of the MAR over time.           

对珊瑚礁健康制定一种评分办法困难重重——必须想出办法,让这四个国家在一致的基础上团结起来,还要让科学家们加入进来,共同针对珊瑚礁健康确立一定的标准。 史密森尼拥有强大的号召力量,这在将科学家们团结起来,制定这些标准的过程中大有助益。 梅勒妮在说明这一步的关键作用时说道:“在讲说同一种语言、谈论我们的目标是什么、哪些事情对珊瑚礁有利等话题的人群中,争取这样的合作,培养那种精神或共同的愿景,发出一个共同的声音。 ”

在洪都拉斯天鹅群岛 (Swan Islands) 探险的过程中,梅勒妮与席薇亚•厄尔 (Sylvia Earle )(中)和莎丽•桑特•普卢默 (Shari Sant Plummer )(左)针对海洋保护各抒己见,自由讨论各种想法。 
来源: 
基普•埃文斯 (Kip Evans)/席薇亚•厄尔联盟 (Sylvia Earle Alliance)。
在洪都拉斯天鹅群岛 (Swan Islands) 探险的过程中,梅勒妮与席薇亚•厄尔 (Sylvia Earle )(中)和莎丽•桑特•普卢默 (Shari Sant Plummer )(左)讨论海洋保护观念。 来源: 基普•埃文斯 (Kip Evans)/席薇亚•厄尔联盟 (Sylvia Earle Alliance)。

HR4HP 与史密森尼和大自然保护协会 (Nature Conservancy) 和世界自然基金会 (World Wildlife Fund) 等大型自然保护组织合作,能够将该地区的自然保护领导者们团结起来,一致保护 MAR。 这一合作的一大成果就是两年一次的成绩单,用于按 5 分制测定 MAR 健康。 此成绩单是随着时间的推移对珊瑚礁健康进行测定的一种统一的方式。 成绩单根据 4 大因素对珊瑚礁健康进行测定:

  • 珊瑚覆盖率、
  • 大型肉质藻类覆盖率、
  • 主要草食性鱼类数量和
  • 主要经济鱼类数量。

珊瑚礁中珊瑚覆盖率、草食性鱼类和经济鱼类数量越多,越健康,而被大型肉质藻类(与珊瑚竞争空间的海藻)覆盖的程度越高,越不健康。 根据当年的得分,对珊瑚礁进行最终评分,并提出改进建议。 例如,HRI 的一个建议就是增加海洋保护区(严禁捕捞的区域)的数量,最终达到各 MAR 国家领海水域的 20%。 对史密森尼健全的科学研究的信心,有助于对使用这些指标以及简化珊瑚礁健康评估建立信任和认可。

调查组成员正在样地上方仔细检查。 
 照片来源: 
 黑兹尔•查普曼 (Hazel Chapman)。
在遥远的洪都拉斯天鹅群岛 (Swan Islands) 探险的过程中,梅勒妮与席薇亚•厄尔 (Sylvia Earle) 一同比较珊瑚礁监测记录。 来源: 基普•埃文斯 (Kip Evans)/席薇亚•厄尔联盟 (Sylvia Earle Alliance)

为制作成绩单,科学家们在 MAR 的 200 多处珊瑚礁站点进行了多项实地调查和物种鉴定工作。 各队都安排有“鱼测量员”负责统计各种不同的鱼类物种数量并估算大小。 “珊瑚测量员”负责确定珊瑚覆盖率、确定珊瑚大小并评估整体状况。 他们还负责统计海胆、龙虾、贝壳的数量。 HR4HP 在一个在线数据库中公布这些数据,以供他人使用。 然后,这些数据将经过分析并用于制作成绩单。 该项目还与地方合作伙伴举行培训活动,帮助 NGO 和生物学家为收集数据做好准备。 史密森尼的研究人员及时为各队提供最新的生态学理论、科研工具和技术。

根据这些发现提出建议之后,HR4HP 将制定生态审计,对国际政策制定者如何使用成绩单制定政策决策进行追踪。 通过让各国在生态审计评级中友好竞争,对它们施加一定的压力,也是确保采取管理建议的一种办法,而且成绩单能使生态系统健康有可量化的改善。

在伯利兹市启动 2014 年生态审计 (2014 Eco-Audit ) 过程中,梅勒妮指出该评估只发现了很小的进展。 
来源: 
亚历山大•埃利斯 (Alexander Ellis)/世界海洋保护组织 (Oceana)。
在伯利兹市启动 2014 年生态审计过程中,梅勒妮指出该评估只发现了很小的进展。 来源: 亚历山大•埃利斯 (Alexander Ellis)/世界海洋保护组织 (Oceana)。

HR4HP 成绩单是首个可用于评估和改善世界珊瑚礁健康的全面定量框架。 自 2004 年以来,该项目已建立了令人瞩目的合作伙伴关系——从之前的 4 家国际保护组织发展为 65 家。 为响应成绩单和生态审计,四个 MAR 国家——伯利兹、洪都拉斯、危地马拉和墨西哥——全部对珊瑚礁政策作出了积极、有意义的修改。

MAR 问题逐渐好转。 2015 年,成绩单显示,美索美洲珊瑚礁的整体健康状况已有所改善——从 2006 年的“不良”评级变成了当前的“一般”评级。 珊瑚覆盖率和主要草食性鱼类和经济鱼类数量均已上升。 成绩单还发现,在“禁捕区”或不允许捕捞的海洋保护区,这些关键鱼类物种大量繁殖,区域内鲷鱼和石斑鱼类数量增加了十倍。

HR4HP 与光谱 Q 空中艺术 (Spectral Q Aerial Art) 合作,为迷你萨金特岛 (Sergeants Caye) 传递希望之音。目前,该岛在涨潮时几乎完全被淹没。 
 来源: 
 卢•德马泰 (Lou Dematteis)/光谱 Q 。
HR4HP 与光谱 Q 空中艺术 (Spectral Q Aerial Art) 合作,为迷你萨金特岛 (Sergeants Caye) 传递希望之音。目前,该岛在涨潮时几乎完全被淹没。 来源: 卢•德马泰 (Lou Dematteis)/光谱 Q。

MAR 健康正在改善的一个关键指标就是该地区鹦鹉鱼数量的增长。 鹦鹉鱼是成绩单测量的主要草食性鱼类和经济鱼类之一,是珊瑚礁维持健康所需的鱼类,因为它们能够食用海藻,以免海藻恣意疯长使珊瑚窒息而亡。 危地马拉、伯利兹及洪都拉斯部分地区已宣布各种捕捞鹦鹉鱼的行为均属违法行为,而墨西哥已经开始对鹦鹉鱼的价值展开研究及意识提升活动。  HRI 希望,不久 MAR 将能够成为首个充分保护礁上所有鹦鹉鱼的国际珊瑚礁生态区域。

但是,接下来,HR4HP 任重道远。 虽然 MAR 的健康状况在多个方面已有所好转,但珊瑚礁的整体状况仍然令人堪忧。 为满足对有关 MAR 的更多信息的日益增长的需求,HRI 需要扩大其研究的范围和规模。 正如梅勒妮所说的,“距离首次大型调查已经过了 10 年了,我们需要回到这 326 个原始站点,”收集更多的信息。 梅勒妮计划最终将采纳该项目在过去十年来一直潜心开发的工具和方法,并在全球范围内加以使用——以传播推广“这一过程,这种合作的理念,推动科学在生态系统管理中的应用,同时确保所采取的方法为人理解及得到应用,”以便全球各地的政策制定者和社区能携手共同改善珊瑚礁的健康,为以珊瑚礁为生的人群提供支持。

请深入了解我们: 健康珊瑚礁服务健康人类
认识我们的人员: 梅勒妮•麦克菲尔德
关闭

The Mesoamerican Reef (MAR) includes the longest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere and is a globally recognized hotspot of marine biodiversity. The MAR covers more than 1,000 km along the coasts of Belize, Mexico, Guatemala, and Honduras. Almost 2 million people depend on the MAR for their livelihoods—through fishing and tourism—and many more are protected by the MAR from storms and rising sea levels.

Today, the health of the Mesoamerican Reef is at risk. Overfishing, climate change, pollution, and habitat loss are increasing in part from agricultural runoff, population growth, and unsustainable tourism practices. Mangrove forests that would normally protect the shoreline and harbor juvenile fishes are being destroyed by dredging to create more land, while warming ocean temperatures are causing increased coral bleaching.

Melanie looks out over the nests of red footed boobies and frigate birds, during the filming of a documentary about Belize’s marine protected areas. Credit: Dorothea Gibbs / Third Channel.
Melanie looks out over the nests of red footed boobies and frigate birds, during the filming of a documentary about Belize’s marine protected areas. Credit: Dorothea Gibbs / Third Channel.

Reef health affects community health, and when pollution, overfishing, and dredging hurt the MAR, almost two million people are negatively affected. Fishing communities want more enforcement of regulations and management to maintain a steady supply of fish, while the tourism industry wants a beautiful and vibrant reef that drives tourism to the area.

Despite these challenges, things are improving for the MAR thanks in part to Healthy Reefs for Healthy People (HR4HP), a conservation program of the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History. Through HR4HP, more than 60 partners working to maintain and improve the health of the MAR and support the communities who depend on it. HR4HP is pioneering multi-national efforts to develop a framework for measuring coral reef health and using these measurements to offer recommendations for governments, NGOs, and the private sector to implement better management for the MAR.

 

Melanie with the First Lady of Honduras, Ana García de Hernández (center left) during the launch of the 2015 Mesoamerican Reef Report Card. Credit: Leonel Estrada/ Press Office Honduras.
Melanie with the First Lady of Honduras, Ana García de Hernández (center left) during the launch of the 2015 Mesoamerican Reef Report Card. Credit: Leonel Estrada/ Press Office Honduras.
Smithsonian scientist Melanie McField launched HR4HP in 2004 to improve conservation of the Mesoamerican Reef by measuring its health using common indicators and then determining how to best convey this scientific information to policymakers. Melanie directs the program from the Smithsonian Marine Station at Ft. Pierce, FL. In the early 2000s, Melanie and a group of scientists working in the Mesoamerican region realized that they needed to determine just how big of a problem faced the MAR by developing a common definition of reef health, with quantitative indicators and, equally importantly, learn how to collectively track the health of the MAR over time.           

Creating a way to rank reef health was challenging—there had to be a way to get four countries together on a consistent basis, as well as getting scientists on board to establish what the criteria would be in regards to coral reef health. Smithsonian’s power to convene helped bring scientists together to develop these criteria. Melanie describes how vital this step was, “getting that collaboration, that spirit or a common vision, of a common voice, of people speaking the same language, talking about what our goals are and what is helping the reef. ”

Melanie brainstorms marine conservation ideas with Sylvia Earle (center) and Shari Sant Plummer (left) during an expedition to the Swan Islands, Honduras. Credit: Kip Evans / Sylvia Earle Alliance.
Melanie brainstorms marine conservation ideas with Sylvia Earle (center) and Shari Sant Plummer (left) during an expedition to the Swan Islands, Honduras. Credit: Kip Evans / Sylvia Earle Alliance.

Partnering with Smithsonian and large conservation organizations like the Nature Conservancy and the World Wildlife Fund, HR4HP was able to unite conservation leaders in the region to protect the MAR. One of the products of this partnership has been the creation of a biennial report card measuring MAR health through a 5-point ranking system. This report card creates a consistent way of measuring reef health over time. The report card measures reef health based on 4 factors:

  • coral cover percentage,
  • fleshy macroalgal cover percentage,
  • key herbivorous fish amount, and
  • key commercial fish amount.

The higher the numbers of coral cover, herbivorous fish, and commercial fish there are in the reef, the healthier it is; the more that it’s covered by fleshy macroalgae (seaweed that competes with coral for space), the less healthy the reef. Based on that year’s scores, the reef receives a final grade and recommendations for improvement. One example of a HRI recommendation is increasing the amount of marine protected areas (areas where fishing is prohibited) to eventually 20% of territorial seas in each MAR country. The confidence in the robust science of the Smithsonian helped build trust and agreement for the use of these indicators and simplified assessments of reef health.

Members of the survey team looking over onto the Plot below. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.
Melanie compares reef monitoring notes with Sylvia Earle during an expedition to the remote Swan Islands of Honduras. Credit: Kip Evans / Sylvia Earle Alliance

To create the report card, scientists conduct field surveys and species identifications at more than 200 coral reef sites in the MAR. Teams have ‘fish surveyors’ who count and estimate the size of different fish species. The ‘coral surveyors’ determine the percentage of coral cover, size the corals, and assess their condition. They also count quantities of sea urchin, lobster, and conch. HR4HP makes this data accessible to others on an online database. This data is then analyzed and used to create the report card. The program also organizes trainings with local partners to prepare NGOs and biologists to collect this data. Smithsonian researchers keep the teams abreast of the latest ecological theories, scientific tools, and technologies.

After making recommendations based on these findings, HR4HP created an eco-audit to track how international policymakers were using the report card to make policy decisions. Putting pressure on countries through friendly competition over how they are graded in the eco-audit is a way to ensure that the management recommendations are adopted and the report cards lead to quantifiable improvements in ecosystem health.

During the launch of the 2014 Eco-Audit in Belize City, Melanie indicates the small amount of progress measured in that evaluation. Credit: Alexander Ellis / Oceana.
During the launch of the 2014 Eco-Audit in Belize City, Melanie indicates the small amount of progress measured in that evaluation. Credit: Alexander Ellis / Oceana.

The HR4HP report card is the first comprehensive and quantitative framework for evaluating and improving reef health in the world. Since 2004, the program has built an impressive partnership that has grown from 4 international conservation organizations to 65. In response to the report cards and eco-audits, all four MAR countries—Belize, Honduras, Guatemala, and Mexico—have made positive and meaningful changes to their reef policies.

Things are looking up for the MAR. In 2015, the Report Card showed that the overall health of the Mesoamerican Reef has improved—from a 2006 rating of “poor” to its current rating of “fair”. Quantities of coral cover and key herbivorous and commercial fish have risen. The report card also found that “no-take zones,” or marine protected areas where no fishing is allowed, are areas where these key fish species flourish, with ten times more snappers and groupers in these zones.

HR4HP collaborated with Spectral Q Aerial Art to create a message of hope on tiny Sergeants Caye, which is now almost fully submerged at high tide. Credit: Lou Dematteis / Spectral Q.
HR4HP collaborated with Spectral Q Aerial Art to create a message of hope on tiny Sergeants Caye, which is now almost fully submerged at high tide. Credit: Lou Dematteis / Spectral Q.

One key indicator of the MAR health improving is the growing numbers of parrotfish across the region. Parrotfish, one of the key herbivorous fish species that the report card measures, are necessary for reef health because they consume algae that can grow out of control and smother coral. Guatemala, Belize, and some of Honduras have outlawed all fishing of parrotfish, while Mexico has started a study and an awareness campaign about the value of parrotfish.  HRI is hopeful that the MAR will soon become the first international reef ecoregion to have fully protected all of its parrotfish.

However, HR4HP has much work left to do. Although certain aspects of the MAR’s health are improving, the overall health of the reef is still at risk. To meet the growing need for more information on the MAR, HRI needs to extend the range and size of their surveys. As Melanie describes, “It’s been 10 years since the first big survey, we need to get back to those 326 original sites,” and get more data. Melanie plans to eventually take the tools the program has been developing over the past decade and use them on a global scale— to spread “this process, this idea of collaboration and pushing science into the field of ecosystem management, in ways that can be understood and applied,” so policymakers and communities around the world can work together to improve the health of reefs and support the people who depend on them.

Meet our people: Melanie McField
Close