تشمل منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى أطول حاجز من الشعاب المرجانية في نصف الكرة الغربي، وهي نقطة ساخنة معترف بها عالميًا للتنوع البيولوجي البحري. تغطي الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى أكثر من 1000 كيلو متر بطول سواحل بليز والمكسيك وغواتيمالا وهندوراس. يعتمد نحو مليوني شخص على الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى كمصدر لكسب العيش، من خلال صيد الأسماك والسياحة، وغيرهم الكثير ممن يحتمون بها من العواصف وارتفاع مستويات الماء.

اليوم باتت صحة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى في خطر. حيث يزداد الصيد الجائر وتغير المناخ والتلوث وفقدان الموائل جزئيًا جرّاء مياه الصرف الزراعي والنمو السكاني والممارسات السياحية غير المستدامة. حيث يتم تدمير غابات المنغروف التي عادة ما تحمي أسماك الشاطئ والميناء الصغيرة بفعل التجريف بهدف خلق مزيد من الأراضي، في حين يسبب ارتفاع درجات الحرارة في المحيطات زيادة تبييض الشعاب المرجانية.

ميلاني تمعن النظر إلى أعشاش طائر الأطيش أحمر القدمين وطيور الفرقاطات، أثناء تصوير فيلم وثائقي عن المحميات البحرية في بليز. 
 صورة من: 
 دوروثا جيبز / القناة الثالثة.
ميلاني تمعن النظر في أعشاش طائر الأطيش أحمر القدمين وطيور الفرقاطات، أثناء تصوير فيلم وثائقي عن المحميات البحرية في بليز. صورة من: دوروثا جيبز / القناة الثالثة.

تؤثر صحة الشعاب المرجانية على صحة المجتمع، وعندما يضرّ التلوث والصيد الجائر والتجريف بمنطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى، يتأثر ما يقرب من مليوني شخص سلبًا. وترغب مجتمعات صيد الأسماك في تطبيق اللوائح والإدارة بصورة أقوى للحفاظ على إمدادات منتظمة من الأسماك، في حين يرغب قطاع السياحة في شعاب مرجانية جميلة ونابضة بالحياة تحفّز السياحة في المنطقة.

وعلى الرغم من هذه التحديات، فإن الأمور آخذة في التحسن في منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى ويعود الفضل في ذلك بشكل جزئي إلى برنامج شعاب مرجانية صحية لأُناس أصحاء ( HR4HP)، وهو برنامج للحفاظ على المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي في سميثسونيان. فمن خلال البرنامج، يعمل أكثر من 60 شريكًا على الحفاظ على صحة هذه المنطقة وتحسينها ودعم المجتمعات التي تعتمد عليها. ويقدم البرنامج جهودًا رائدة متعددة الجنسيات لوضع إطار لتقييم صحة الشعاب المرجانية واستخدام هذه القياسات لتقديم توصيات للحكومات والمنظمات غير الحكومية والقطاع الخاص لتنفيذ إدارة أفضل للمنطقة.

 

ميلاني بجانب أنا غارثيا دي هيرنانديز السيدة الأولى لهندوراس (المنتصف ناحية اليسار) خلال إطلاق بطاقات تقييم الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى لعام 2015. 
 صورة من: 
 لينوديل إسترادا / المكتب الصحفي بهندوراس.
ميلاني بجانب أنا غارثيا دي هيرنانديز السيدة الأولى في هندوراس (في المنتصف إلى اليسار) أثناء تدشين بطاقة تقييم الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى لعام 2015. صورة من: لينويل إسترادا / المكتب الصحفي بهندوراس.
Smithsonian scientist Melanie McField launched HR4HP in 2004 to improve conservation of the Mesoamerican Reef by measuring its health using common indicators and then determining how to best convey this scientific information to policymakers. Melanie directs the program from the Smithsonian Marine Station at Ft. Pierce, FL. In the early 2000s, Melanie and a group of scientists working in the Mesoamerican region realized that they needed to determine just how big of a problem faced the MAR by developing a common definition of reef health, with quantitative indicators and, equally importantly, learn how to collectively track the health of the MAR over time.           

جدير بالذكر أنّ ابتكار وسيلة لتصنيف صحة الشعاب المرجانية شكّل تحديًا - كان لابد من وجود وسيلة لدمج أربع دول معًا على أساس ثابت، وكذلك الجمع بين العلماء لتحديد المعايير المتعلقة بصحة الشعاب المرجانية. وقد ساعدت قدرة سميثسونيان على الدعوة إلى عقد اجتماعات العلماء على وضع هذه المعايير. وتوضح ميلاني أنّ مدى أهمية هذه الخطوة قد تبلور في "الحصول على ذلك التعاون، وتلك الروح أو الرؤية المشتركة، للغة واحدة، وشعب يتحدث نفس اللغة، والحديث عن ماهية أهدافنا وما يساعد الشعاب المرجانية. "

ميلاني تقوم باستثارة أفكار الحفاظ على الحياة البحرية مع سيلفيا إيرلي (المنتصف) وشاري سانت بلومر (اليسار) خلال رحلة إلى جزر سوان بهندوراس. 
 صورة من: 
 اتحاد كيب إيفانز / سيلفيا إيرلي
ميلاني تتبادل أفكار الحفاظ على الحياة البحرية مع سيلفيا إيرلي (في المنتصف) وشاري سانت بلومر (إلى اليسار) أثناء بعثة استكشافية إلى جزر سوان بهندوراس. صورة من: ثنائي كيب إيفانز / سيلفيا إيرلي.

وقد تمكن برنامج شعاب مرجانية صحية لأُناس أصحاء، من خلال الشراكة مع سميثسونيان ومنظمات الحفاظ الكبيرة مثل منظمة الحفاظ على الطبيعة والصندوق العالمي للحياة البرية، من توحيد رواد الحفاظ في المنطقة لحماية منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى. وقد تمثلت إحدى ثمار هذه الشراكة في إنشاء بطاقة تقرير كل عامين لقياس صحة منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى من خلال نظام تصنيف مكوّن من 5 نقاط. وتبتكر بطاقة التقرير هذه وسيلة ثابتة لقياس صحة الشعاب المرجانية مع مرور الوقت. وتقيس بطاقة التقرير صحة الشعاب المرجانية بناءً على 4 عوامل، وهي:

  • نسبة الغطاء المرجاني.
  • نسبة غطاء الطحالب الكبيرة.
  • كمية الأسماك العاشبة الرئيسية.
  • كمية الأسماك التجارية الرئيسية.

جدير بالذكر أنّه كلما زادت أعداد الأغطية المرجانية والأسماك العاشبة والأسماك التجارية الموجودة في الشعاب المرجانية؛ زادت صحتها، وكلما زادت تغطيتها بالطحالب الكبيرة (أعشاب بحرية تتنافس مع الشعاب المرجانية من أجل الحصول على مساحة لها)، قلّت صحة الشعاب المرجانية. واستنادًا إلى سجلات ذلك العام، تحصل الشعاب المرجانية على درجة وتوصيات نهائية من أجل تحسينها. ويزيد أحد الأمثلة على توصية HRI من حجم المناطق البحرية المحمية (المناطق التي يُحظر فيها صيد الأسماك) حتى تصل نهاية المطاف إلى 20٪ من البحار الإقليمية في كل بلد من البلاد التي بها شعاب مرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى. وقد ساعدت الثقة في علم سميثسونيان القوي على بناء الثقة والاتفاق على استخدام هذه المؤشرات والتقييمات المبسطة لصحة الشعاب المرجانية.

أعضاء فريق المسح يفحصون قطعة الأرض أدناه. 
 صورة من: 
 هازل تشابمان.
ميلاني تقوم بمقارنة ملاحظات مراقبة الشعاب المرجانية مع سيلفيا إيرلي أثناء إحدى البعثات إلى جزر سوان في هندوراس. صورة من: ثنائي كيب إيفانز / سيلفيا إيرلي

لإنشاء بطاقة التقرير، يُجري العلماء مسوحات ميدانية ويتعرفون على الأنواع في أكثر من 200 موقع للشعاب المرجانية في منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى. وتمتلك الفرق "مساحي أسماك" يقومون بإحصاء وتقدير حجم أنواع الأسماك المختلفة. ويحدد "مساحو الشعاب المرجانية" نسبة الغطاء المرجاني وحجم الشعاب المرجانية ويقيّمون حالتها. كما يقومون بإحصاء كميات قنفذ البحر وجراد البحر والمحار. ويجعل برنامج "شعاب مرجانية صحية لأُناس أصحاء" هذه البيانات في متناول الغير على قاعدة بيانات على شبكة الإنترنت. ثم يتم تحليل هذه البيانات واستخدامها لإنشاء بطاقة التقرير. كما ينظم البرنامج دورات تدريبية مع شركاء محليين لإعداد المنظمات غير الحكومية وعلماء الأحياء لجمع هذه البيانات. ويحافظ باحثو سميثسونيان على إطلاع الفرق على أحدث النظريات البيئية والأدوات العلمية والتقنيات.

وبعد تقديم توصيات بناءً على هذه النتائج، أنشأ برنامج "شعاب مرجانية صحية لأُناس أصحاء" مراجعة بيئية لتتبع كيفية استخدام صانعي السياسات الدوليين بطاقة التقرير لاتخاذ القرارات السياسية. ويمثّل الضغط على الدول من خلال المنافسة الودية على كيفية تصنيفها في المراجعة البيئية إحدى وسائل التأكد من اعتماد توصيات الإدارة ومن إفضاء بطاقات التقرير إلى تحسينات قابلة للقياس في صحة النظام البيئي.

ميلاني تشير ميلاني إلى مقدار التقدم الطفيف الذي تم تقديره في ذلك التقييم أثناء إطلاق الفحص البيئي في مدينة بليز عام 2014. 
 صورة من: 
 ألكسندر إيليس / أوشينا.
تشير ميلاني، أثناء تدشين الفحص البيئي في مدينة بليز في عام 2014، إلى مدى التقدم الطفيف الذي تم قياسه خلال تقييم هذا العام. صورة من: ألكسندر إيليس / أوقيانوسيا.

هذا وتُعد بطاقة تقرير البرنامج هي أول إطار شامل وكمي لتقييم صحة الشعاب المرجانية وتحسينها في العالم. ومنذ عام 2004، أرسى البرنامج شراكة رائعة زادت من 4 منظمات حفاظ على البيئة الدولية إلى 65 منظمة. وردًا على بطاقات التقرير والمراجعات البيئية، أجرت جميع بلدان منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى، التي تشمل بليز وهندوراس وغواتيمالا والمكسيك، تغييرات إيجابية وذات مغزى لسياسات الشعاب فيها.

هذا وتسير الأمور على ما يُرام في منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى. ففي عام 2015، أظهرت بطاقة التقرير أن الصحة العامة للشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى قد تحسنت، بدءًا من تصنيف عام 2006 بأنها "سيئة" إلى التصنيف الحالي بأنّها "جيدة". وقد ارتفعت كميات الغطاء المرجاني والأسماك آكلة العشب والتجارية الرئيسية. كما اكتشفت بطاقة التقرير أيضًا أن "المناطق المحظورة"، أو المناطق البحرية المحمية حيث لا يُسمح بصيد الأسماك، هي مناطق تنتشر فيها هذه الأنواع السمكية الرئيسية، حيث تزداد أسماك النهاش والقشر بمقدار عشر مرات في هذه المناطق.

تعاونت "شعاب مرجانية صحية لأُناس أصحاء" و"سبكترال كيو إريال آرت" لتشكيل رسالة أمل على جزيرة سيرجينتس كاي الصغيرة، الغارقة بالكامل تقريبًا في الوقت الحالي عند ارتفاع المد. 
 صورة من: 
 لو ديماتيس / سبكترال كيو.
تعاون برنامج "شعاب مرجانية صحية لأُناس أصحاء" و"سبكترال كيو إريال آرت" لتشكيل رسالة أمل على جزيرة سيرجينتس كاي الصغيرة، الغارقة بالكامل تقريبًا في الوقت الحالي عند ارتفاع المد. صورة من: لو ديماتيس / سبكترال كيو.

يتمثّل أحد المؤشرات الأساسية لتحسّن صحة منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى في الأعداد المتزايدة من سمك الببغاء في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. وسمك الببغاء، أحد أنواع الأسماك العاشبة الرئيسية التي تقيّمها بطاقة التقرير، ضروري لصحة الشعاب المرجانية لأنها تقضي على الطحالب التي يمكن أن يخرج نموها عن نطاق السيطرة ويؤدي إلى خنق الشعاب المرجانية. وقد حظرت غواتيمالا وبليز، وبعض دول هندوراس جميع صور صيد سمك الببغاء، بينما بدأت المكسيك دراسة وحملة توعية عن قيمته.  ويأمل HRI أن تصبح منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى قريبًا أول منطقة بيئية للشعاب الدولية تنال حماية كاملة لجميع أنواع سمك الببغاء الموجودة فيها.

ومع ذلك، لا يزال أمام البرنامج الكثير من الأعمال ليقوم بها. وعلى الرغم من تحسّن بعض جوانب صحة منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى، إلاّ أنّ الصحة العامة للشعاب المرجانية لا تزال في خطر. ولتلبية الحاجة المتزايدة لمزيد من المعلومات عن منطقة الشعاب المرجانية في أمريكا الوسطى، يتعين على هذه المنطقة توسيع نطاق وحجم عمليات المسح التي تجري فيها. وحسب وصف ميلاني "لقد مرت 10 أعوام منذ أول مسح كبير، ويتعين علينا العودة إلى تلك المواقع الأصلية البالغ عددها 326 موقعًا"، والحصول على مزيد من البيانات. وتعتزم ميلاني في نهاية المطاف تناول الأدوات التي طورها البرنامج على مدار العقد الماضي واستخدامها على نطاق عالمي - لنشر "هذه العملية، وهذه الفكرة التي تبلور التعاون والارتقاء بالعلم في مجال إدارة النظم البيئية، بطرق يمكن فهمها وتطبيقها،" وذلك حتى يتسنى لصانعي السياسات والمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء العالم العمل معاً في سبيل تحسين صحة الشعاب المرجانية ودعم الشعوب التي تعتمد عليها.

مقابلة موظفينا: ميلاني مكفيلد
إغلاق

The Mesoamerican Reef (MAR) includes the longest barrier reef in the Western Hemisphere and is a globally recognized hotspot of marine biodiversity. The MAR covers more than 1,000 km along the coasts of Belize, Mexico, Guatemala, and Honduras. Almost 2 million people depend on the MAR for their livelihoods—through fishing and tourism—and many more are protected by the MAR from storms and rising sea levels.

Today, the health of the Mesoamerican Reef is at risk. Overfishing, climate change, pollution, and habitat loss are increasing in part from agricultural runoff, population growth, and unsustainable tourism practices. Mangrove forests that would normally protect the shoreline and harbor juvenile fishes are being destroyed by dredging to create more land, while warming ocean temperatures are causing increased coral bleaching.

Melanie looks out over the nests of red footed boobies and frigate birds, during the filming of a documentary about Belize’s marine protected areas. Credit: Dorothea Gibbs / Third Channel.
Melanie looks out over the nests of red footed boobies and frigate birds, during the filming of a documentary about Belize’s marine protected areas. Credit: Dorothea Gibbs / Third Channel.

Reef health affects community health, and when pollution, overfishing, and dredging hurt the MAR, almost two million people are negatively affected. Fishing communities want more enforcement of regulations and management to maintain a steady supply of fish, while the tourism industry wants a beautiful and vibrant reef that drives tourism to the area.

Despite these challenges, things are improving for the MAR thanks in part to Healthy Reefs for Healthy People (HR4HP), a conservation program of the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History. Through HR4HP, more than 60 partners working to maintain and improve the health of the MAR and support the communities who depend on it. HR4HP is pioneering multi-national efforts to develop a framework for measuring coral reef health and using these measurements to offer recommendations for governments, NGOs, and the private sector to implement better management for the MAR.

 

Melanie with the First Lady of Honduras, Ana García de Hernández (center left) during the launch of the 2015 Mesoamerican Reef Report Card. Credit: Leonel Estrada/ Press Office Honduras.
Melanie with the First Lady of Honduras, Ana García de Hernández (center left) during the launch of the 2015 Mesoamerican Reef Report Card. Credit: Leonel Estrada/ Press Office Honduras.
Smithsonian scientist Melanie McField launched HR4HP in 2004 to improve conservation of the Mesoamerican Reef by measuring its health using common indicators and then determining how to best convey this scientific information to policymakers. Melanie directs the program from the Smithsonian Marine Station at Ft. Pierce, FL. In the early 2000s, Melanie and a group of scientists working in the Mesoamerican region realized that they needed to determine just how big of a problem faced the MAR by developing a common definition of reef health, with quantitative indicators and, equally importantly, learn how to collectively track the health of the MAR over time.           

Creating a way to rank reef health was challenging—there had to be a way to get four countries together on a consistent basis, as well as getting scientists on board to establish what the criteria would be in regards to coral reef health. Smithsonian’s power to convene helped bring scientists together to develop these criteria. Melanie describes how vital this step was, “getting that collaboration, that spirit or a common vision, of a common voice, of people speaking the same language, talking about what our goals are and what is helping the reef. ”

Melanie brainstorms marine conservation ideas with Sylvia Earle (center) and Shari Sant Plummer (left) during an expedition to the Swan Islands, Honduras. Credit: Kip Evans / Sylvia Earle Alliance.
Melanie brainstorms marine conservation ideas with Sylvia Earle (center) and Shari Sant Plummer (left) during an expedition to the Swan Islands, Honduras. Credit: Kip Evans / Sylvia Earle Alliance.

Partnering with Smithsonian and large conservation organizations like the Nature Conservancy and the World Wildlife Fund, HR4HP was able to unite conservation leaders in the region to protect the MAR. One of the products of this partnership has been the creation of a biennial report card measuring MAR health through a 5-point ranking system. This report card creates a consistent way of measuring reef health over time. The report card measures reef health based on 4 factors:

  • coral cover percentage,
  • fleshy macroalgal cover percentage,
  • key herbivorous fish amount, and
  • key commercial fish amount.

The higher the numbers of coral cover, herbivorous fish, and commercial fish there are in the reef, the healthier it is; the more that it’s covered by fleshy macroalgae (seaweed that competes with coral for space), the less healthy the reef. Based on that year’s scores, the reef receives a final grade and recommendations for improvement. One example of a HRI recommendation is increasing the amount of marine protected areas (areas where fishing is prohibited) to eventually 20% of territorial seas in each MAR country. The confidence in the robust science of the Smithsonian helped build trust and agreement for the use of these indicators and simplified assessments of reef health.

Members of the survey team looking over onto the Plot below. Photo credit: Hazel Chapman.
Melanie compares reef monitoring notes with Sylvia Earle during an expedition to the remote Swan Islands of Honduras. Credit: Kip Evans / Sylvia Earle Alliance

To create the report card, scientists conduct field surveys and species identifications at more than 200 coral reef sites in the MAR. Teams have ‘fish surveyors’ who count and estimate the size of different fish species. The ‘coral surveyors’ determine the percentage of coral cover, size the corals, and assess their condition. They also count quantities of sea urchin, lobster, and conch. HR4HP makes this data accessible to others on an online database. This data is then analyzed and used to create the report card. The program also organizes trainings with local partners to prepare NGOs and biologists to collect this data. Smithsonian researchers keep the teams abreast of the latest ecological theories, scientific tools, and technologies.

After making recommendations based on these findings, HR4HP created an eco-audit to track how international policymakers were using the report card to make policy decisions. Putting pressure on countries through friendly competition over how they are graded in the eco-audit is a way to ensure that the management recommendations are adopted and the report cards lead to quantifiable improvements in ecosystem health.

During the launch of the 2014 Eco-Audit in Belize City, Melanie indicates the small amount of progress measured in that evaluation. Credit: Alexander Ellis / Oceana.
During the launch of the 2014 Eco-Audit in Belize City, Melanie indicates the small amount of progress measured in that evaluation. Credit: Alexander Ellis / Oceana.

The HR4HP report card is the first comprehensive and quantitative framework for evaluating and improving reef health in the world. Since 2004, the program has built an impressive partnership that has grown from 4 international conservation organizations to 65. In response to the report cards and eco-audits, all four MAR countries—Belize, Honduras, Guatemala, and Mexico—have made positive and meaningful changes to their reef policies.

Things are looking up for the MAR. In 2015, the Report Card showed that the overall health of the Mesoamerican Reef has improved—from a 2006 rating of “poor” to its current rating of “fair”. Quantities of coral cover and key herbivorous and commercial fish have risen. The report card also found that “no-take zones,” or marine protected areas where no fishing is allowed, are areas where these key fish species flourish, with ten times more snappers and groupers in these zones.

HR4HP collaborated with Spectral Q Aerial Art to create a message of hope on tiny Sergeants Caye, which is now almost fully submerged at high tide. Credit: Lou Dematteis / Spectral Q.
HR4HP collaborated with Spectral Q Aerial Art to create a message of hope on tiny Sergeants Caye, which is now almost fully submerged at high tide. Credit: Lou Dematteis / Spectral Q.

One key indicator of the MAR health improving is the growing numbers of parrotfish across the region. Parrotfish, one of the key herbivorous fish species that the report card measures, are necessary for reef health because they consume algae that can grow out of control and smother coral. Guatemala, Belize, and some of Honduras have outlawed all fishing of parrotfish, while Mexico has started a study and an awareness campaign about the value of parrotfish.  HRI is hopeful that the MAR will soon become the first international reef ecoregion to have fully protected all of its parrotfish.

However, HR4HP has much work left to do. Although certain aspects of the MAR’s health are improving, the overall health of the reef is still at risk. To meet the growing need for more information on the MAR, HRI needs to extend the range and size of their surveys. As Melanie describes, “It’s been 10 years since the first big survey, we need to get back to those 326 original sites,” and get more data. Melanie plans to eventually take the tools the program has been developing over the past decade and use them on a global scale— to spread “this process, this idea of collaboration and pushing science into the field of ecosystem management, in ways that can be understood and applied,” so policymakers and communities around the world can work together to improve the health of reefs and support the people who depend on them.

Meet our people: Melanie McField
Close