علوم الرهبان

الخبرات ذات الصلة: التدريب المهني
تاريخ البدء: 2001

تعمل مؤسسة سميثسونيان مع مؤسسة "Sager" ومتحف الإكسبلوراتوريوم لبناء القدرات العلمية في مجتمعات رهبنة التبت، وذلك من خلال برنامج Science for Monks. يعمل البرنامج على تلبية تكليف من صاحب الجلالة الدالاي لاما بخلق حوار متبادل المنفعة بين الممارسات البوذية التبتية والعلوم الحديثة.

يقيم المعلمون والعلماء بمؤسسة سميثسونيان ورش عمل في مواقع مختلفة بجميع أنحاء الهند مع الرهبان والراهبات البوذيين التبتيين عن العلوم الغربية. ساعدت سميثسونيان في تدريب أكثر من 200 راهب وراهبة في قيادة العلوم من خلال مشاركة خبرتنا الفنية في الدراسة العلمية ومعرفتنا بالطرق المجدية في تعليم العلوم.

إننا نعمل على تيسير برامج تدريب خاصة بالموقع مستلهمة من أفضل الممارسات الحالية ومن رسالة سميثسونيان، "زيادة المعرفة ونشرها". وفي نهاية كل برنامج تدريبي مدته 3 سنوات، تعمل سميثسونيان مع مجموعة من خريجي برنامج Science for Monks بغرض إقامة المعارض التي تنشر خبراتهم في المجتمع المحلي على نطاق أوسع.

تواصل هذه المعارض، "عالم حواسك" الذي أقيم في 2010 ومعرض آخر لا يزال في طور الإقامة خاص بالتغير المناخي، "كوكبي، مسؤوليتيهذا الحوار بين البوذية التبتية والعلوم الحديثة.

وعند الانتهاء من برنامج Science for Monks يعمل الخريجون كقادة في مجتمعاتهم المحلية. تستمر سميثسونيان في تدعيم قادة العلوم الجدد بالمصادر العلمية وورش العمل، وتقديم الدعم لإقامة المعارض في العديد من المواقع بالهند وخارجها والاستمرار في إجراء المحادثات سواء بشكل شخصي أم عبر الإنترنت. أصبح لبرنامج Science for Monks تأثيرًا كبيرًا في جميع أنحاء الهند نظرًا لتدريب مئات الرهبان والراهبات منذ عام 2002، فضلاً عن وجود سبعة مراكز دائمة للعلوم لا تزال في طور الإنشاء.

 

تعرف على المزيد عن هذا المشروع

تعمل مؤسسة سميثسونيان في الهند مع برنامج "علوم الرهبان" بهدف خلق حوار بين الثقافات.

Science for Monks

Related Expertise: Professional Training
Date Initiated: 2001

Smithsonian works with the Sager Foundation and the Exploratorium to build science capacity in Tibetan monastic communities through the Science for Monks program. The program fulfills a mandate from His Holiness the Dalai Lama to create a mutually beneficial dialogue between Tibetan Buddhist practices and modern science.

At sites across India, Smithsonian educators and scientists facilitate workshops with Tibetan Buddhist monks and nuns about Western science. Sharing our technical expertise in scientific study and our knowledge of what works in science education, Smithsonian has helped train more than 200 monks and nuns in science leadership.

We facilitate site-specific training programs that draw from current best practices and Smithsonian’s mission—the increase and diffusion of knowledge. At the end of each 3-year training program, Smithsonian works with each cohort of Science for Monks graduates to develop exhibits that share their experience with the larger community.

These exhibits, “The World of Your Senses” in 2010, and a current exhibit in development about climate change, “My Earth, My Responsibility,” communicate this dialogue between Tibetan Buddhism and modern science.

Upon completion of the program, Science for Monks graduates act as leaders within their own communities. Smithsonian continues to support these new science leaders with educational resources, workshops, support for restaging exhibits at multiple sites in India and abroad, and ongoing in-person and online conversations. With hundreds of monks and nuns trained since 2002 and 7 permanent science centers in development, Science for Monks has wide-reaching impact across India.

 

Learn more about this Project

In India, Smithsonian works with the Science for Monks Program to Create Intercultural Dialogue