تواصل مؤسسة سميثسونيان دورها كجزء من برنامج علوم الرهبان Science for Monks منذ عشر سنوات لتعليم الرهبان التبتيين والراهبات التبتيات العلوم الغربية وتعليمها.  تدعم مؤسسة سميثسونيان الشراكة من خلال عقد ورش عمل ودورات تدريبية، وتقديم تسهيلات لتصميم المعارض وإقامتها إلى جانب مواصلة المشاريع التعاونية.

مدير إقامة المعارض بسميثسونيان سكوت شميدت (يمين) وزملاؤه أثناء العمل على تصميم لأحد المعارض. 
 صورة من برايس جونسون.
مدير إقامة المعارض بسميثسونيان سكوت شميدت (يمين) وزملائه أثناء العمل على تصميم لأحد المعارض. صورة من برايس جونسون.

يعد مشروع Science for Monks نافذة للرهبان التبتيين والراهبات التبتيات للاطلاع على العلوم الغربية. تقدم مؤسسة "Sager Foundation" و"مكتبة الأعمال التبتية والأرشفة" في دارامسالا في الهند الدعم إلى برنامج Science for Monks، الذي بدوره يجمع بين العلماء والمعلمين والمتخصصين في شؤون المتاحف لمشاركة العلوم الغربية مع الرهبان التبتيين

لم يدرس الرهبان التبتيون والراهبات التبتيات في الماضي العلوم الحديثة كجزء من تدريبهم على الرهبنة. وقد تغير ذلك في عام 1999 عندما دُعي قداسة الداي لاما إلى إدخال العلوم الغربية إلى المنهج الخاص بالرهبنة. يهدف برنامج "Science for Monks" بعد هذه الدعوة إلى إيجاد تبادل حقيقي للأفكار، إلى جانب إدخال العلوم الغربية إلى الأديرة التبتية وإدخال وجهات نظر البوذية التبتية في العلوم الغربية.

عملت الفرق التابعة لمؤسسة سميثسونيان على تعليم الرهبان التبتيين العلوم الغربية وتعليم العلوم، إلى جانب إقامة معارض لتوضيح هذا الحوار بين البوذية التبتية والعلوم الحديثة ونشره.

سافرت ستيفاني نوربي، عضو مجلس إدارة "مركز سميثسونيان للتعلم والنفاذ الرقمي" إلى الهند للتحدث مع الرهبان والراهبات بخصوص أدوارهم الجديدة كمعلمين للعلوم، حيث شاركت خبرتها في إنشاء برامج تعليمية عبر 19 متحفًا و9 مراكز بحثية تابعة لمؤسسة سميثسونيان، كما أنها تحدثت بشكل خاص مع الرهبان بخصوص كيفية نشر العلوم والكتابة عنها. وضعت ستيفاني في أول الأمر خطة لإنشاء معرض للعلوم لعرض وجهات نظر الرهبان والراهبات، غير أن تلاميذها من الرهبان طلبوا أن يعملوا معًا لإنشاء معرض جديد.  

تعاون عضو مجلس إدارة برنامج "Science for Monks" برايس جونسون وزملاؤه من متحف الإكسبلوراتوريوم في سان فرانسيسكو ستيفاني والمعلمون الزملاء التابعون لمؤسسة سميثسونيان ترايسي سباينال ودارين ميليغان جنبًا إلى جنب مع مدير إنتاج المعارض التابع لمؤسسة سميثسونيان سكوت شميت من أجل إقامة هذا المعرض. عمل الفريق التابع لمؤسسة سميثسونيان لشهور مع 30 راهبًا وراهبة لإقامة معرض تحت عنوان "عالم حواسك".

تبادل الأفكار بشأن المعرض. 
 صورة من تريسي سباينال.
تبادل الأفكار بشأن المعرض. صورة من ترايسي سباينال.

وفي هذا السياق علق سكوت منذ بداية إقامة المعرض قائلاً "كان من الواضح أن هذا المعرض سيكون فريدًا من نوعه. كان فيما يبدو شيئًا غير مسبوق.” 

جلست فرق سميثسونيان وسكوت مع الرهبان لمناقشة الفلسفات الأساسية التي يقوم عليها كل عنصر بصري أو مكتوب بالمعرض. ومن خلال الاستفادة من هذه المحادثات واستلهامًا من التشكيلات المتنوعة المعروضة في متاحف Freer|Sackler للفنون الآسيوية التابعة لمؤسسة سميثسونيان، استطاع فريق سميثسونيان تصميم تصويرات مرئية للمفاهيم البوذية والحجج العلمية الغربية.

افتتح الدالاي لاما المعرض الأول لبرنامج Science for Monks في مركز "India Habitat" في نيودلهي في 2010. ألقى معرض المقام تحت عنوان "عالم حواسك" الضوء على المنظور البوذي والغربي للحواس الخامسة. انتقل المعرض إلى دارامسالا بعد عرض استمر لأسبوع في دلهي، ثم انتقل بعد ذلك إلى متحف الإكسبلوراتوريوم وأديرة الرهبان التبتيين في جميع أنحاء الهند، إلى جانب أنه جرى معالجته بالتقنية الرقمية لإعادة إنتاجه وعرضه في نيبال. وبعد النجاح الذي حققه المعرض الأول، أدمج برنامج "Science for Monks" تصميم المعرض وإنشائه في جميع الدورات الدراسية الخاصة بالرهبان.

اختار الرهبان والراهبات الموجودين في الوقت الراهن التغير المناخي كموضوع لمعرضهم المقبل. سوف يبين المعرض الذي عُقد تحت عنوان "كوكبي - مسؤوليتي" وجهات النظر التعاونية للعلوم الحديثة والعلوم البوذية فيما يتعلق بتغير المناخ.  

تصوير برايس جونسون.
تصوير برايس جونسون.

ناقشت المعلمة التابعة لمؤسسة سميثسونيان ترايسي سباينال التأثيرات الناجمة عن التغيرات المناخية مع مجموعة من الرهبان والعلماء البوذيين بمكتبة الأعمال التبتية والأرشفة. وقد توصلت إلى ما يلي "إن التغير المناخي من المنظور البوذي هو مشكلة كبيرة إذ أن البوذية لا تكره تعرض أي كائنات حسية لأي مظهر من مظاهر المعاناة.  هذه مشكلة طبيعية يرغب الرهبان والراهبات في حلها ويرون أنهم بإمكانهم التصدي لها."   

تصوير تريسي سباينال.
تصوير ترايسي سباينال.

عمل عالم البيئة المتخصص في الغابات بـ "مركز سميثسونيان للأبحاث البيئية" جيفري "جيس" باركر جنبًا إلى جنب مع الرهبان والراهبات لتحديد النقاط الرئيسة التي يمكن أن يتضمنها المعرض.  أدى تعاون جيس، وهو باحث يحظى بخبرة كبيرة، في مجال الغابات وتغير المناخ مع برنامج "Science for Monks" إلى إدخال وجهات نظر جديدة في بحثه المتعلق بتغير المناخ.  كما أنه تعلم من تلاميذه من الرهبان الاتصال الأساسي بين البشر والبيئة وسط التقاليد البوذية التبتية.  تعد تأثيرات تغير المناخ وسط هذا الإطار الشامل من الأمور الشخصية والمباشرة.  تكمل وجهة النظر هذه عمل جيس بخصوص آليات تغير المناخ. 

يصبح الرهبان والراهبات من كل جماعة تكمل الدورة الدراسية التابعة لبرنامج علوم الرهبان " Science for Monks " قادة للعلوم في أديرتهم. ولا يزال هناك حتى اللحظة سبعة مراكز دائمة للعلوم في طور الإنشاء في مراكز الرهبنة المنتشرة في جميع أنحاء الهند، كما أنه من المخطط إنشاء المزيد.  تعمل ستيفاني وترايسي مع مراكز العلوم هذه بهدف إيجاد موارد تعليمية إلى جانب دعم قادة تعليم العلوم الجدد من البوذيين التبتيين. 

ستوفر مراكز العلوم منصة للرهبان لتدريب غيرهم من الرهبان إلى جانب مشاركة وجهات نظرهم والتدريبات مع المجتمعات المحيطة.  تتعاون مؤسسة سميثسونيان مع برنامج علوم الرهبان " Science for Monks " لدعم وجهات نظر البوذيين التبتيين بشأن العلوم والروحانية في الهند وفي جميع أنحاء العالم

 

تعرّف على المزيد عن: علوم الرهبان
إغلاق

For 10 years, Smithsonian has been a part of the Science for Monks program to teach Tibetan monks and nuns about Western science and science education. Smithsonian supports the partnership through workshops, trainings, facilitating exhibit design and development, and continuing collaborative projects.

Smithsonian Exhibits Production Manager Scott Schmidt (r) and peers collaborate on a design for an exhibit. Photo credit Bryce Johnson.
Smithsonian Exhibits Production Manager Scott Schmidt (r) and peers collaborate on a design for an exhibit. Photo credit Bryce Johnson.

The Science for Monks project brings Western science to Tibetan monks and nuns. With support from the Sager Foundation and the Library of Tibetan Works and Archives in Dharamsala, India, Science for Monks brings together scientists, educators, and museum professionals to share Western science with Tibetan monastics

Historically, Tibetan monks and nuns did not study modern science as part of their monastic training. This changed in 1999, when His Holiness the Dalai Lama called for the integration of Western science into the monastic curriculum. Following this mandate, Science for Monks aims to create a true exchange of ideas, to bring Western science to Tibetan monasteries and Tibetan Buddhist perspectives to modern science.

Smithsonian teams have worked to teach Tibetan monks about Western science and science education, and develop exhibits to represent and communicate this dialogue between Tibetan Buddhism and modern science. 

Stephanie Norby, Director of Smithsonian’s Center for Learning and Digital Access, traveled to India to speak with the monks and nuns about their new roles as science educators. She shared her experience creating education programming across Smithsonian’s 19 museums and 9 research centers and spoke specifically with the monks about how to communicate and write about science. Stephanie initially planned a science fair to showcase the monks’ and nuns’ perspectives, but her monastic students instead requested that they work together on a new exhibit.  

With Science for Monks Director Bryce Johnson and colleagues from the Exploratorium in San Francisco, Stephanie and fellow Smithsonian educators Tracie Spinale and Darren Milligan, alongside Smithsonian exhibits production manager Scott Schmidt, brought this exhibit to life. The Smithsonian team worked for months with 30 monks and nuns to craft “The World of Your Senses.”

Exhibit brainstorming. Photo credit Tracie Spinale.
Exhibit brainstorming. Photo credit Tracie Spinale.

From the beginning of the exhibit development, Scott felt, “It was clear that this was going to be a unique exhibit. It felt like something unprecedented.” 

Scott and Smithsonian teams sat with monks as they discussed the fundamental philosophies underpinning each visual and written element of the exhibit. Building off these conversations and drawing inspiration from the collections at Smithsonian’s Freer|Sackler Museums of Asian Art, the Smithsonian team designed visual representations of Buddhist concepts and western scientific arguments. 

The Dalai Lama opened the first Science for Monks exhibit at the India Habitat Center in New Delhi in 2010. “The World of Your Senses,” highlighted Western and Buddhist perspectives of the five senses. After a weeklong showing in Delhi, the exhibit traveled to Dharamsala, to the Exploratorium, to Tibetan monasteries throughout India, and was digitized for reproduction and display in Nepal. Following the success of this first exhibit, Science for Monks is integrating exhibit design and development into all monastic coursework. 

The current cadre of monks and nuns selected climate change as the subject of their next exhibit. “My Earth, My Responsibility” will showcase collaborative perspectives of modern and Buddhist science on climate change.  

Photo credit Bryce Johnson.
Photo credit Bryce Johnson.

Smithsonian educator Tracie Spinale discussed climate change with the current cohort of monks and Buddhist scientists from the Library of Tibetan Works and Archives. She found that, “from a Buddhist perspective, climate change is a tremendous problem because Buddhism does not wish any sentient beings to feel suffering. This is a natural problem that the monks and nuns want to solve and feel that they can address.”   

Photo credit Tracie Spinale.
Photo credit Tracie Spinale.

Smithsonian Environmental Research Center forest ecologist Geoffrey “Jess” Parker worked alongside the monks and nuns to determine what the main points of the exhibit might be. For Jess, a lifelong researcher of forests and the changing climate, working with Science for Monks has brought new perspectives to his research on climate change. He learned from his monastic students of the fundamental connectedness between humans and the environment in Tibetan Buddhist tradition. Within this holistic framework, the impacts of climate change are immediate and personal. This viewpoint compliments Jess’s own work on climate change mechanisms. 

Each cohort of monks and nuns who complete the Science for Monks coursework becomes science leaders at their own monasteries. To date, there are seven permanent science centers in development at monastic centers throughout India, with more planned. Stephanie and Tracie work with these science centers to create teaching resources and support these new Tibetan Buddhist leaders of science education. 

These science centers will provide a platform for monks to train other monks and to share their perspectives and training with the surrounding communities. Smithsonian collaborates with Science for Monks to sustain Tibetan Buddhist perspectives on science and spirituality in India and around the world

 

Learn more about: Science for Monks
Close