10 年来,史密森尼一直积极参与僧侣学科学 (Science for Monks) 项目,向藏族僧尼教授有关西方科学和科学教育的课程。  史密森尼通过讲习班、培训、协调展品设计和开发,以及持续合作项目来支持这一合作伙伴关系。

史密森尼展品制作经理斯科特•施密特 (Scott Schmidt)(右)与同侪共同对一个展品进行设计。 
 照片来源:Bryce Johnson。
史密森尼展品制作经理斯科特•施密特 (Scott Schmidt) (右)与同侪共同对一个展品进行设计。 照片来源:拜斯·约翰逊 (Bryce Johnson)。

僧侣学科学 项目给藏族男女僧徒带来了西方科学。在萨格尔基金会 (Sager Foundation) 和位于印度达兰萨拉 (Dharamsala) 的西藏图书档案馆 (Library of Tibetan Works and Archives) 的大力支持下,僧侣学科学将科学家、教育工作者和博物馆专业人员聚集在一起,与藏族僧侣分享西方科学的精髓。 

在历史上,藏族僧徒并不将研究现代科学作为其修行的一部分。这一状况于 1999 年得以改变,当时神圣的达赖喇嘛号召将西方科学融入修行课程。遵循此项命令,僧侣学科学旨在开创真正的思想交流,将西方科学引进藏族僧院的同时,也将藏传佛教理念引入现代科学。

史密森尼团队一直努力向藏族僧侣讲授关于西方科学和科学教育的课程,并且制作展品以展现和传递藏传佛教和现代科学之间的对话

史密森尼的学习与数字接入中心 (Center for Learning and Digital Access) 主任斯坦芬妮 • 诺比 (Stephanie Norby) 前往印度,与僧徒就他们作为科学教育工作者所发挥的新作用进行交谈。她与僧侣分享了她在为整个史密森尼 19 个博物馆和 9 个研究中心建立教育项目方面的经验,并特别与僧侣探讨了如何进行有关科学的交流和写作。斯坦芬妮最初计划举办一个科学会展以展示男女僧徒的观点,但她的僧侣学生却要求让他们一起合作制作一个新的展览。  

有了僧侣学科学项目总监布赖斯 • 约翰逊 (Bryce Johnson) 和来自位于旧金山的探索博物馆 (Exploratorium) 同行支持,斯坦芬妮又联同史密森尼的教育同仁特蕾西 • 斯皮纳莱 (Tracie Spinale) 和达伦 • 米利根 (Darren Milligan),以及史密森尼展品制作经理斯科特 • 施密特 (Scott Schmidt) 一道,使这个展览成为现实。 史密森尼团队与 30 位男女僧徒一起工作数月,精心制作出 “您感知的世界 ”。

展品头脑风暴。 
 照片来源:特蕾西•斯皮纳莱 (Tracie Spinale)。
展品头脑风暴。 照片来源:特蕾西•斯皮纳莱 (Tracie Spinale)。

从制作这个展品伊始,斯科特就认为:“显而易见,这将是一个独一无二的展览, 感觉就是没有前例的东西。” 

斯科特和史密森尼团队与僧侣坐在一起讨论构成展品的每个视觉和文字元素的基本理念。基于这些交谈内容并从史密森尼的弗利尔|赛克勒亚洲艺术博物馆 ( Freer|Sackler Museums of Asian Art) 的收藏得到启发,史密森尼团队设计出体现佛教理念和西方科学论点的视觉表现作品。

2010 年在印度新德里的印度人居中心 (India Habitat Center),达赖喇嘛为首个僧侣学科学展览揭幕。“您感知的世界”,突出了西方和佛教对五种感觉的观点。 在德里进行长达一周的展示以后,展品又被送往达兰萨拉、探索博物馆,及印度各地的藏族寺庙展出,并经数字化制成复制品,在尼泊尔展出。  首次展品成功之后,僧侣学科学已将展品设计和开发融入所有僧侣的课程。

目前这批男女僧徒骨干选择气候变化作为新展品的主题。“我的地球我负责 ” 将展示从现代科学与佛教科学的协同视角看待气候变化。  

照片来源:Bryce Johnson。
照片来源:Bryce Johnson。

史密森尼策展人特蕾西•斯皮纳莱 (Tracie Spinale) 与当前这批僧侣以及来自西藏图书档案馆 (Library of Tibetan Works and Archives) 的佛教科学家讨论气候变化。 在交谈中她发现,“从佛教的角度来看,气候变化是个极其严重的问题,因为佛教不希望任何有情众生感到痛苦。  这是僧尼想要解决并认为自己能够解决的一个自然问题。”   

照片来源:Tracie Spinale。
照片来源:Tracie Spinale。

史密森尼环境研究中心 (Smithsonian Environmental Research Center) 森林生态学家杰弗里(杰西)•帕克 (Geoffrey “Jess" Parker) 与僧尼共同确定该展品的要点所在。  对终身从事森林和气候变化研究的杰西而言,与僧侣学科学项目合作,为他所从事的气候变化研究注入了新的视角。  他从他的僧侣学生那里学到了藏传佛教传统中人类与环境之间的基本相关性。  在这个整体性框架中,气候变化的影响是直接的,也是个人的。  这一观点与杰西自身有关气候变化机制的研究工作相辅成章。 

每批完成僧侣学科学课程的僧尼将成为自己所在寺庙的科学领导者。 迄今,在整个印度的寺庙中心正开发的永久科学中心有七所,计划将开发更多所。  斯坦芬妮和特蕾西与这些科学中心合作,创建教学资源并为新的藏传佛教科学教育领导者提供支持。 

这些科学中心将为僧侣培训其他僧侣提供一个平台,并让他们与周围的社区一起分享他们的观点和培训心得。  史密森尼与僧侣学科学协作,在印度和世界各地保持藏传佛教有关科学与灵性的观点。 

 

请深入了解我们: 僧侣学科学
关闭

For 10 years, Smithsonian has been a part of the Science for Monks program to teach Tibetan monks and nuns about Western science and science education. Smithsonian supports the partnership through workshops, trainings, facilitating exhibit design and development, and continuing collaborative projects.

Smithsonian Exhibits Production Manager Scott Schmidt (r) and peers collaborate on a design for an exhibit. Photo credit Bryce Johnson.
Smithsonian Exhibits Production Manager Scott Schmidt (r) and peers collaborate on a design for an exhibit. Photo credit Bryce Johnson.

The Science for Monks project brings Western science to Tibetan monks and nuns. With support from the Sager Foundation and the Library of Tibetan Works and Archives in Dharamsala, India, Science for Monks brings together scientists, educators, and museum professionals to share Western science with Tibetan monastics

Historically, Tibetan monks and nuns did not study modern science as part of their monastic training. This changed in 1999, when His Holiness the Dalai Lama called for the integration of Western science into the monastic curriculum. Following this mandate, Science for Monks aims to create a true exchange of ideas, to bring Western science to Tibetan monasteries and Tibetan Buddhist perspectives to modern science.

Smithsonian teams have worked to teach Tibetan monks about Western science and science education, and develop exhibits to represent and communicate this dialogue between Tibetan Buddhism and modern science. 

Stephanie Norby, Director of Smithsonian’s Center for Learning and Digital Access, traveled to India to speak with the monks and nuns about their new roles as science educators. She shared her experience creating education programming across Smithsonian’s 19 museums and 9 research centers and spoke specifically with the monks about how to communicate and write about science. Stephanie initially planned a science fair to showcase the monks’ and nuns’ perspectives, but her monastic students instead requested that they work together on a new exhibit.  

With Science for Monks Director Bryce Johnson and colleagues from the Exploratorium in San Francisco, Stephanie and fellow Smithsonian educators Tracie Spinale and Darren Milligan, alongside Smithsonian exhibits production manager Scott Schmidt, brought this exhibit to life. The Smithsonian team worked for months with 30 monks and nuns to craft “The World of Your Senses.”

Exhibit brainstorming. Photo credit Tracie Spinale.
Exhibit brainstorming. Photo credit Tracie Spinale.

From the beginning of the exhibit development, Scott felt, “It was clear that this was going to be a unique exhibit. It felt like something unprecedented.” 

Scott and Smithsonian teams sat with monks as they discussed the fundamental philosophies underpinning each visual and written element of the exhibit. Building off these conversations and drawing inspiration from the collections at Smithsonian’s Freer|Sackler Museums of Asian Art, the Smithsonian team designed visual representations of Buddhist concepts and western scientific arguments. 

The Dalai Lama opened the first Science for Monks exhibit at the India Habitat Center in New Delhi in 2010. “The World of Your Senses,” highlighted Western and Buddhist perspectives of the five senses. After a weeklong showing in Delhi, the exhibit traveled to Dharamsala, to the Exploratorium, to Tibetan monasteries throughout India, and was digitized for reproduction and display in Nepal. Following the success of this first exhibit, Science for Monks is integrating exhibit design and development into all monastic coursework. 

The current cadre of monks and nuns selected climate change as the subject of their next exhibit. “My Earth, My Responsibility” will showcase collaborative perspectives of modern and Buddhist science on climate change.  

Photo credit Bryce Johnson.
Photo credit Bryce Johnson.

Smithsonian educator Tracie Spinale discussed climate change with the current cohort of monks and Buddhist scientists from the Library of Tibetan Works and Archives. She found that, “from a Buddhist perspective, climate change is a tremendous problem because Buddhism does not wish any sentient beings to feel suffering. This is a natural problem that the monks and nuns want to solve and feel that they can address.”   

Photo credit Tracie Spinale.
Photo credit Tracie Spinale.

Smithsonian Environmental Research Center forest ecologist Geoffrey “Jess” Parker worked alongside the monks and nuns to determine what the main points of the exhibit might be. For Jess, a lifelong researcher of forests and the changing climate, working with Science for Monks has brought new perspectives to his research on climate change. He learned from his monastic students of the fundamental connectedness between humans and the environment in Tibetan Buddhist tradition. Within this holistic framework, the impacts of climate change are immediate and personal. This viewpoint compliments Jess’s own work on climate change mechanisms. 

Each cohort of monks and nuns who complete the Science for Monks coursework becomes science leaders at their own monasteries. To date, there are seven permanent science centers in development at monastic centers throughout India, with more planned. Stephanie and Tracie work with these science centers to create teaching resources and support these new Tibetan Buddhist leaders of science education. 

These science centers will provide a platform for monks to train other monks and to share their perspectives and training with the surrounding communities. Smithsonian collaborates with Science for Monks to sustain Tibetan Buddhist perspectives on science and spirituality in India and around the world

 

Learn more about: Science for Monks
Close