الانبعاثات في الغلاف الجوي السفلي: رصد التلوث (TEMPO)

تاريخ البدء: 2011

يعمل مرصد الفيزياء الفلكية (SAO) التابع لمؤسسة سميثسونيان مع وكالة ناسا وشركة بول إيروسبيس لإنشاء أول جهاز فضائي  لرصد التلوث الهوائي المستمر بأمريكا الشمالية. يعتمد مشروع انبعاثات الغلاف الجوي السفلي: رصد التلوث (TEMPO) على خبرة سميثسونيان التي تجاوزت 30 عامًا في عمليات المراقبة والتقدير الخاصة بالغلاف الجوي.

يتعاون مرصد الفيزياء الفلكية مع الشركاء الدوليين منذ عام 1985، وذلك لإطلاق ستة أقمار صناعية بنجاح لرصد التلوث، فيما يسمى بالمدار "الأرضي المنخفض". وهذه الأقمار الصناعية تصور الأرض كل 1-6 أيام. تعمل أداة رصد التلوث (TEMPO) على تحسين هذه القدرات بقياس التلوث الهوائي في شمال أمريكا كل ساعة أثناء النهار وبدقة مكانية عالية. سيعمل هذا على تحسين قدرتنا لتقدير تلوث الغلاف الجوي وتحديد مقداره بالكامل.

سيتسنى للعلماء من خلال أداة رصد التلوث (TEMPO) تعقب حركة وانتقال التلوث الهوائي فضلاً عن المساعدة في التنبؤ بنوعية الهواء. وبمرور الوقت، توفر أداة رصد التلوث (TEMPO) معلومات مرجعية عن كيفية تغير مناخنا واتجاهات التلوث الهوائي. 

 

تعرف على المزيد عن هذا المشروع

يعمل مرصد سميثسونيان للفيزياء الفلكية مع وكالة ناسا لتصميم أول أداة فضائية تقوم برصد تلوث الهواء بجميع أنحاء أمريكا الشمالية بشكل مستمر

Tropospheric Emissions: Monitoring of Pollution (TEMPO)

Related Expertise: Long-Term Research, Technology
Date Initiated: 2011

The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) is working with NASA and Ball Aerospace to build the first space-based continuous air pollution monitoring instrument for North America. The Tropospheric Emissions: Monitoring of Pollution (TEMPO) project builds off of more than 30 years of Smithsonian experience monitoring and measuring the atmosphere.

Since 1985, SAO has collaborated with international partners to successfully launch six pollution monitoring satellites in what’s called “low-Earth” orbit. These satellites map the earth every 1-6 days. TEMPO will expand these capabilities by measuring air pollution in North America every daylight hour and at high spatial resolution. This will increase our ability to measure atmospheric pollution by an entire order of magnitude.

Through TEMPO, scientists will be able to track the movement and transformation of air pollution and help with forecasting air quality. Over time, TEMPO will produce a baseline of information about how our climate is changing and trends in air pollution. 

 

Learn more about this Project

The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory is working with NASA to Build the First Space-Based Instrument to Continuously Monitor Air Pollution across North America