تصوير وكالة ناسا الفضائية
تصوير وكالة ناسا الفضائية

يعمل مرصد سميثسونيان للفيزياء الفلكية (SAO) مع وكالة ناسا وشركة بول إيروسبيس لإنشاء أول أداة فضائية لرصد تلوث الهواء بكافة أنحاء أمريكا الشمالية. ستقوم أداة انبعاثات الغلاف الجوي السفلي: رصد التلوث (TEMPO) بقياس تركيزات التلوث الهوائي بكافة أنحاء القارة، وسيتوفر للعلماء إمكانيات أفضل لرصد نوعية الهواء من خلال البيانات التي توفرها أداة رصد التلوث (TEMPO).

ستقوم أداة رصد التلوث (TEMPO) بقياس تلوث الهواء بأمريكا الشمالية —من مكسيكو سيتي وحتى الرمال النفطية الكندية ومن المحيط الأطلنطي حتى المحيط الهادي— كل ساعة وبدقة مكانية عالية. وهذا سيمكِّن العلماء من رصد التغيرات اليومية الخاصة بالتلوث ومتابعة حركة التلوث بكافة أنحاء القارة. يمكن لعمليات الرصد الحالية تتبع حالة التلوث يوميًا في نطاق مساحة قدرها 100 ميل مربع تقريبًا. ولكن أداة رصد التلوث (TEMPO) ستقدم معلومات تفصيلية عن مستويات التلوث في منطقة أكبر بكثير من عدة أميال مربعة.

يُعد تلوث الهواء أحد المؤشرات الأكثر كارثية التي تشير إلى التغييرات البشرية أو التي تسبب فيها الإنسان على كوكبنا في وقتنا الراهن. لقد بلغت معدلات تلوث الهواء أعلى مستوياتها في مئات الآلاف من السنين نظراً للزيادة السريعة في مستوى الانبعاثات الصادرة عن أنواع الوقود الأحفورية وغيرها من غازات الدفيئة. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن تلوث الهواء يُعد مشكلة عالمية حيث تنتقل الغازات الضارة مئات الآلاف من الأميال عابرة للحدود والمحيطات والقارات. 

تصوير وكالة ناسا الفضائية
تصوير وكالة ناسا الفضائية

وبالتعاون مع وكالة ناسا وشركة بول إيروسبيس، يقوم مرصد سميثسونيان للفيزياء الفلكية بإنشاء أداة TEMPO لقياس تركيزات تلوث الأوزون وثنائي أكسيد النيتروجين وثنائي أكسيد الكبريت والفورمالدهيد والكلايوكسال والإيروسول "الضباب الجوي" بطبقة التروبوسفير. وهذه، هي الطبقة السفلى من طبقات الغلاف الجوي، وتمتد من سطح الأرض إلى ما يقرب من 10 أميال فوق الأرض.

ستقوم أداة (TEMPO) من قمر صناعي في مدار ثابت بالنسبة للأرض بقياس تلوث الهواء بأمريكا الشمالية خلال كل ساعة نهارية.

وستساعد البيانات الواردة من الأداة على تعزيز قدرتنا على قياس التلوث في الغلاف الغازي بشكل كامل.

تتزامن أداة رصد التلوث (TEMPO) مع أنظمة الأقمار الصناعية في أسيا وأوروبا. تصوير وكالة ناسا الفضائية
ستقوم أداة رصد التلوث "TEMPO" بتحقيق المزامنة مع أنظمة الأقمار الصناعية في آسيا وأوروبا. تصوير وكالة ناسا الفضائية

ستساعد البيانات الواردة من أداة TEMPO على تطوير قدرة أكثر دقة لمحاكاة كيفية تطور الجو وتغيره، بدءًا من الزيادة في مستويات ثنائي أكسيد النيتروجين وحتى الزيادات الناتجة في الأوزون. سيتمكن العلماء من رؤية التلوث الذي يصلُ إلى أمريكا الشمالية من مناطق أخرى في العالم ويتم تتبع أثر التلوث من مصادر نشأته. ستقوم أداة TEMPO أيضًا بتوثيق كيفية تأثير الأحداث العرضية كالبراكين وحرائق الغابات على نوعية الهواء، فضلًا عن التغيرات في التلوث الهوائي على المدى الطويل.

ويعتمد هذا المشروع الجديد على أكثر من 30 عامًا من عمل سميثسونيان في رصد الغلاف الجوي وقياسه. اشترك مرصد سميثسونيان للفيزياء الفلكية في إطلاق ستة أقمار صناعية بنجاح، وتعمل هذه الأقمار على تصوير الأرض بدقة مكانية عالية كل 1-6 أيام فيما يُعرف باسم المدار "الأرضي المنخفض". 

يعتبر مرصد سميثسونيان للفيزياء الفلكية جزءًا من فريق أداة رصد التلوث "TEMPO" الحيوي ويحظى بخبرات واسعة في قياس نوعية الهواء من مدار أرضي منخفض. ويشمل هذا الفريق شركة بول إيروسبيس، ومركز لانغلي البحثي التابع لوكالة ناسا والإدارة الوطنية للمحيطات والغلاف الجويومركز جودارد للطيران الفضائي التابع لوكالة ناسا . وكالة حماية البيئة الأمريكية، والمركز الوطني لأبحاث الغلاف الجوي، وعدد من الجامعات الأمريكية والمنظمات البحثية، وشركاء في المكسيك وكندا.

ثمة وكالات فضائية أخرى تستهدف عمليات حفظ مشابهة في أوروبا (وكالة الفضاء الأوروبية) وآسيا (المعهد الكوري لأبحاث الفضاء) إضافة إلى أداة رصد التلوث "TEMPO". ستُشكل أدوات الرصد الجديدة كوكبة عالمية من الأقمار الصناعية الثابتة على الأرض الخاصة بجودة الهواء.

ستخضع الكميات الهائلة من البيانات التي جمعتها أدارة رصد التلوث (TEMPO) للتحليل بمرصد سميثسونيان للفيزياء الفلكية. ومن خلال استخدام البرامج التي وضعتها وكالة حماية البيئة، سيتسنى لمؤسسة سميثسونيان إتاحة بيانات TEMPO المحللة مجانًا وبشكل علني عبر الإنترنت، وستصنَّف حسب الموقع والملوثات والمؤشر العام لنوعية الهواء. 

يُعد نشر أعمال أداة TEMPO من الأمور الضرورية لرسالتنا بوجه عام.سيقوم الفريق بمشاركة تأثير هذا العمل عبر تطبيقات ومنصات إلكترونية ومن خلال مصادر تعليمية متاحة للطلاب بدءًا من مرحلة رياض الأطفال وحتى الجامعة. ومن خلال دمج علوم سميثسونيان وأكثر من 30 عامًا الخبرة في مجال بحوث الغلاف الجوي، ستحدث أداة TEMPO طفرة في معرفتنا عن تلوث الهواء وآثاره، وستُقدم هذه المعلومات إلى الجماهير بجميع أنحاء القارة وحول العالم.

 

مقابلة موظفينا: كيلي تشانس
إغلاق

Photo Credit NASA
Photo Credit NASA

The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) is working with NASA and Ball Aerospace to build the first space-based air pollution monitoring instrument for North America. The Tropospheric Emissions: Monitoring of Pollution (TEMPO) will measure air pollution concentrations across the continent. With the data TEMPO provides, scientists will gain an improved ability to monitor air quality.

TEMPO will measure North American air pollution—from Mexico City to the Canadian oil sands and from the Atlantic to the Pacific—every hour and at high spatial resolution. This will enable scientists to monitor daily variations in pollution and follow the movement of pollution across the continent. Current monitoring can track pollution daily to a scale of approximately 100 square miles. But, TEMPO will provide detailed information about pollution levels to a far more precise region of several square miles.

Air pollution is one of the most dramatic indications of the human-caused, or anthropogenic, changes on our planet today. Levels of air pollution are at their highest levels in hundreds of thousands of years due to the rapid increase in emissions from fossil fuels and other greenhouse gases. Air pollution is also a global problem, with noxious gases traveling thousands of miles across borders, oceans, and continents. 

Photo Credit NASA
Photo Credit NASA

Working collaboratively with NASA and Ball Aerospace, SAO is building TEMPO to measure pollution concentrations of ozone, nitrogen dioxide, sulfur dioxide, formaldehyde, glyoxal, and aerosols in the troposphere. This, the lowest layer of our atmosphere, extends from the surface of the Earth to approximately 10 miles above the Earth.

From a satellite in geostationary orbit, TEMPO will measure air pollution in North America during every daylight hour.

The data from TEMPO will improve our ability to measure pollution in the atmosphere by an entire order of magnitude.

TEMPO will sync with satellite systems in Asia and Europe. Photo Credit NASA
TEMPO will sync with satellite systems in Asia and Europe. Photo Credit NASA

The data from TEMPO will help develop a more accurate ability to model how our atmosphere is developing and changing, from increases in nitrogen dioxide to the resultant increases in ozone. Scientists will be able to see pollution arrive in North America from other parts of the world and trace pollution back to its origins. TEMPO will also document how episodic events like volcanoes and forest fires impact air quality, as well as long-term shifts in air pollution.

This new project builds off more than 30 years of Smithsonian monitoring and measuring of the atmosphere. SAO has successfully collaborated to launch six satellites that map the earth in high spatial resolution every 1-6 days in what’s called “low-Earth” orbit. 

SAO is part of a dynamic TEMPO team with extensive experience in measuring air quality from low-Earth orbit. This includes Ball Aerospace, NASA's Langley Research Center, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric AdministrationNASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and the National Center for Atmospheric Research, a number of U.S. universities and research organizations, and partners in Mexico and Canada.

Other space agencies are planning similar observations over Europe (European Space Agency) and Asia (Korean Aerospace Research Institute) concurrent with the deployment of TEMPO. Together, these new monitoring instruments will form a global constellation of geostationary air-quality satellites.

The massive amounts of data that TEMPO collects will be analyzed at SAO. Using software developed by the Environmental Protection Agency, Smithsonian will make analyzed TEMPO data freely and publicly available online, sorted by location, pollutant, and a general air quality index. 

Communicating TEMPO’s work is critical to the overall mission. The team will share the impact of this work via online platforms, apps, and through educational resources available to K-12 students and university students. Combining Smithsonian science and more than 30 years of atmospheric research, TEMPO will revolutionize our understanding of air pollution and its effects, and bring this information to audiences across the continent and around the world.

 

Meet our people: Kelly Chance
Close