照片来源:美国国家航空航天局 (NASA)
照片来源:美国国家航空航天局 (NASA)

史密森尼天文物理观测馆(Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory,简称 SAO)正与美国国家航空航天局(NASA)波尔航太公司(Ball Aerospace)合作,为北美建造首台基于太空的大气污染监测仪器对流层排放: 污染监测(Tropospheric Emissions: Monitoring of Pollution,简称 TEMPO)项目将测量整个北美州大陆的大气污染浓度。利用 TEMPO 提供的数据,科学家监测空气质量的能力将会得以增强。

TEMPO 将每小时以高分辨率测量北美洲的大气污染,测量范围从墨西哥至加拿大的沙地油田,从大西洋至太平洋。这将使科学家能够监测污染的每日差异并跟踪整个北美洲大陆污染的动向。目前监测设备每天跟踪污染的精准范围可达到约 100 平方英里。 但是,TEMPO 提供的污染程度的详细情况将精确到每几平方英里的区域

大气污染是当今人为导致地球变化最显著的征象之一。 因矿物燃料气体排放和其他温室气体的快速增加,大气污染程度已达到几十万年来的最高水平。因为有毒气体可跨越国界、海洋和大陆而漂移数千英里,所以大气污染也成为一个全球性的问题。

照片来源:美国国家航空航天局 (NASA)
照片来源:美国国家航空航天局 (NASA)

SAO 正与 NASA 和波尔航太公司共同协作,设置 TEMPO 以测量对流层中的臭氧、二氧化氮、二氧化硫、甲醛、乙二醛和悬浮微粒的污染浓度。对流层,位于大气的最底层,从地球表面向上延伸至大约 10 英里的高度。

通过地球同步轨道上的卫星,TEMPO 将在日间每小时测量北美洲的大气污染

来自 TEMPO 的数据将我们测量大气污染的能力整整提高了一个数量级。

TEMPO 将与亚洲和欧洲的卫星系统保持同步。  照片来源:美国国家航空航天局 (NASA)
TEMPO 将与亚洲和欧洲的卫星系统保持同步。 照片来源:美国国家航空航天局 (NASA)

来自 TEMPO 的数据将有助于提高我们对大气如何发展和变化进行更精准建模的能力,如:二氧化氮的增加及由此而产生的臭氧增加。科学家能够看到污染从世界其他地方抵达北美洲并追溯到污染的发源地。TEMPO 还将记录诸如火山爆发和森林火灾等偶发事件如何影响空气质量,以及大气污染的长期变化。

此新项目是在史密森尼 30 多年监测和测量大气经验的基础上设立的。 SAO 通过合作已成功地向所谓“近地”轨道发射了六颗卫星,每 1-6 天以高分辨率对地球进行一次测绘。

SAO 隶属于动态 TEMPO 团队,在由近地轨道测量空气质量方面拥有丰富的经验。该团队包括波尔航太公司、NASA 的兰利研究中心 (Langley Research Center)国家海洋与大气管理局 (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)NASA 的戈达德航天飞行中心 (Goddard Space Flight Center)美国国家环境保护局 (Environmental Protection Agency) 国家大气研究中心 (National Center for Atmospheric Research),许多美国大学和研究机构以及墨西哥和加拿大的合作伙伴。

其他航天机构正在规划对欧洲(欧洲航天局,European Space Agency)和亚洲 (韩国航空宇宙研究院,Korean Aerospace Research Institute)上空进行类似观察并同时部署 TEMPO。这些新型仪器结合在一起,将会形成遍及全球的大气质量同步卫星群。

对 TEMPO 收集的大量数据的分析将在 SAO 进行。 使用国家环境保护局开发的软件,史密森尼将会免费在线公开 TEMPO 分析数据,按地点、污染物及通用空气质量指数进行排序。

传播 TEMPO 的工作对整个项目的使命而言是至关重要的。该团队将通过在线平台、应用程序以及向 K-12 学生和大学生提供的教育资源与大家分享此项工作所带来的影响。 将史密森尼的科学能力与 30 多年的大气研究相结合,TEMPO 将会变革我们对大气污染及其影响的理解,并将此信息传递给整个北美州大陆及世界各地的受众。

 

认识我们的人员: 凯利•钱斯
关闭

Photo Credit NASA
Photo Credit NASA

The Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) is working with NASA and Ball Aerospace to build the first space-based air pollution monitoring instrument for North America. The Tropospheric Emissions: Monitoring of Pollution (TEMPO) will measure air pollution concentrations across the continent. With the data TEMPO provides, scientists will gain an improved ability to monitor air quality.

TEMPO will measure North American air pollution—from Mexico City to the Canadian oil sands and from the Atlantic to the Pacific—every hour and at high spatial resolution. This will enable scientists to monitor daily variations in pollution and follow the movement of pollution across the continent. Current monitoring can track pollution daily to a scale of approximately 100 square miles. But, TEMPO will provide detailed information about pollution levels to a far more precise region of several square miles.

Air pollution is one of the most dramatic indications of the human-caused, or anthropogenic, changes on our planet today. Levels of air pollution are at their highest levels in hundreds of thousands of years due to the rapid increase in emissions from fossil fuels and other greenhouse gases. Air pollution is also a global problem, with noxious gases traveling thousands of miles across borders, oceans, and continents. 

Photo Credit NASA
Photo Credit NASA

Working collaboratively with NASA and Ball Aerospace, SAO is building TEMPO to measure pollution concentrations of ozone, nitrogen dioxide, sulfur dioxide, formaldehyde, glyoxal, and aerosols in the troposphere. This, the lowest layer of our atmosphere, extends from the surface of the Earth to approximately 10 miles above the Earth.

From a satellite in geostationary orbit, TEMPO will measure air pollution in North America during every daylight hour.

The data from TEMPO will improve our ability to measure pollution in the atmosphere by an entire order of magnitude.

TEMPO will sync with satellite systems in Asia and Europe. Photo Credit NASA
TEMPO will sync with satellite systems in Asia and Europe. Photo Credit NASA

The data from TEMPO will help develop a more accurate ability to model how our atmosphere is developing and changing, from increases in nitrogen dioxide to the resultant increases in ozone. Scientists will be able to see pollution arrive in North America from other parts of the world and trace pollution back to its origins. TEMPO will also document how episodic events like volcanoes and forest fires impact air quality, as well as long-term shifts in air pollution.

This new project builds off more than 30 years of Smithsonian monitoring and measuring of the atmosphere. SAO has successfully collaborated to launch six satellites that map the earth in high spatial resolution every 1-6 days in what’s called “low-Earth” orbit. 

SAO is part of a dynamic TEMPO team with extensive experience in measuring air quality from low-Earth orbit. This includes Ball Aerospace, NASA's Langley Research Center, the National Oceanic and Atmospheric AdministrationNASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, and the National Center for Atmospheric Research, a number of U.S. universities and research organizations, and partners in Mexico and Canada.

Other space agencies are planning similar observations over Europe (European Space Agency) and Asia (Korean Aerospace Research Institute) concurrent with the deployment of TEMPO. Together, these new monitoring instruments will form a global constellation of geostationary air-quality satellites.

The massive amounts of data that TEMPO collects will be analyzed at SAO. Using software developed by the Environmental Protection Agency, Smithsonian will make analyzed TEMPO data freely and publicly available online, sorted by location, pollutant, and a general air quality index. 

Communicating TEMPO’s work is critical to the overall mission. The team will share the impact of this work via online platforms, apps, and through educational resources available to K-12 students and university students. Combining Smithsonian science and more than 30 years of atmospheric research, TEMPO will revolutionize our understanding of air pollution and its effects, and bring this information to audiences across the continent and around the world.

 

Meet our people: Kelly Chance
Close