يعد "Spark!Lab" مختبرًا تعليميًا غير رسمي يتبنى منهجية قائمة على طرح الأسئلة ويستهدف تعليم الأطفال الإبداع والتعاون والاستكشاف والاختبار فضلًا عن التجربة والاختراع. عُرض هذا البرنامج الذي يدمج بين العلوم التقليدية والتكنولوجيا إلى جانب الهندسة والرياضيات (STEM)، مع الفن والتاريخ والإبداع أول مرة في 2008 في المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الأمريكي التابع لمؤسسة سميثسونيان. تبين الأنشطة العملية أن الاختراعَ عمليةٌ وليس لحظة اكتشاف، كما أنها تتيح للزائرين فرصة استكشاف عملية الاختراع وقدراتهم على الاختراع، فضلًا عن أنها توضح الدور المحوري الذي يلعبه الاختراع في الماضي والحاضر.

أثمر النجاح الذي حققه Spark!Lab في حث مركز ليميلسون لدراسة الاختراع والإبداع "Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention and Innovation" التابع لمؤسسة سميثسونيان على إطلاق شبكة Spark!Lab الوطنية، والتي تُعد بمثابة مجتمع فعال من المتخصصين في شؤون المتاحف يدعم الإبداع الخلاق داخل الأسر وعلى مستوى الأحياء التي يعيشون فيها. وفي وقتنا الحالي تصل هذه الجهود إلى الآفاق.

أحضرت مؤسسة سميثسونيان في عام 2012 Spark!Lab إلى كييف بأوكرانيا من خلال منحة قدمتها وزارة الخارجية الأمريكية. تَمثَّل دور تريشيا إدواردز رئيسة قسم التعليم في مركز ليميلسون في قيادة زملائها لافتتاح "Spark!Lab" في "Art Arsenal" وهو متحف عصري للفنون يقع في قلب كييف. حضر أكثر من 32,000 شخص افتتاح Spark!Lab.

تصوير تريشيا إدواردز
تصوير تريشيا إدواردز.

لم يكن إطلاق مكان ناجح للإبداع أمرًا هينًا!عندما وصلت تريشيا، كان المكان الذي خطط الفريق لاستخدامه عبارة عن طوابق خرسانية تبلغ مساحتها 4,000 قدم مربع، وكانت الحوائط بالية ولم يكن فيه أي أثاث إلا مصباح أضواء غامرة واحد في الغرفة. ملأت صناديق حفظ الأشياء المكان من الداخل، ولم يكن من السهل تخيل أن هذا المكان سوف يصبح مركزًا للاختراع والإبداع. ولكن في غضون أسبوع واحد، تحولت الغرفة الكئيبة وبدأت روح الحياة تدب في مختبر Spark!Lab.

يرجع الفضل في نجاح مختبر "Spark!Lab" في متحف "Art Arsenal" إلى وجود العديد من المتطوعين الأوكرانيين الذين سهلوا الأنشطة وأشركوا الزوار في عملية الاختراع وشجعوا الأطفال على اكتشاف منابع الإبداع المتدفقة لديهم. حيث يبلغ عددهم ما يقرب من 100 طالب متطوع من "Kyiv Polytechnic Institute"، أحدى أفضل جامعات أوكرانيا ومعاون رئيسي في مشروع "Spark!Lab". تبنى هؤلاء الطلاب المتطوعون منهجية التعلم من خلال الأسئلة كما أنهم وضعوا أسئلة لإشراك الأطفال في الأنشطة المختلفة. بل إنهم ناقشوا أيضًا طرقًا للعمل مع الآباء الذين ينتابهم قلق شديد ومع المعلمين أيضًا.

تصوير تريشيا إدواردز
تصوير تريشيا إدواردز.

تأسس Spark!Lab في Art Arsenal بشكل أساسي ليكون معرضًا مؤقتًا، بيد أن النجاح الباهر الذي حققه البرنامج دفع المتحف إلى الإعراب عن احتياجه إلى مركز دائم للتعليم العملي للأطفال والعائلات. استضاف مركز ليميلسون في عام 2013 عضوين من موظفي متحف كييف، واستغرق أسبوعين في التعاون من أجل الوصول إلى نموذج لأفكار أنشطة مختلفة لمختبر تعلم جديد في Art Arsenal. صُممت Arsenal of Ideas "دار الأفكار" في كييف لتكون على غرار Spark!Lab من حيث أنها مكان للأطفال والعائلات يستمتعون فيه بالأنشطة العملية وينغمسون فيه في العملية الإبداعية.

تصوير تريشيا إدواردز
تصوير تريشيا إدواردز.

يبرز النجاح الذي حققه Spark!Lab في جميع أنحاء العالم كيف أن التعاون والإبداع أفكارٌ يمكنها تخطي الحدود والثقافات، للجمع بين الأطفال والعائلات والشركات والمتاحف والحكومات.

 

تعرّف على المزيد عن: مختبر "Spark!Lab Pop-Up" بكييف
مقابلة موظفينا: تريشيا إدواردز
إغلاق

Spark!Lab is an informal, inquiry-based learning lab for children to create, collaborate, explore, test, experiment, and invent. First introduced at Smithsonian's National Museum of American History in 2008, the program incorporates traditional science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) with art, history and creativity. Hands-on activities communicate that invention is a process, rather than a single “Aha!” moment, provide visitors with opportunities to explore the invention process and their own inventiveness, and demonstrate the central role that invention plays in history—and today.

The success of Spark!Lab led the Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention and Innovation at the Smithsonian to launch the Spark!Lab National Network, an active community of museum professionals that fosters inventive creativity in families in their own neighborhoods. And now, that effort is going global.

In 2012, Smithsonian brought Spark!Lab to Kyiv, Ukraine through a grant from the U.S. State Department. Tricia Edwards, Head of Education at the Lemelson Center, led her colleagues in opening Spark!Lab at Art Arsenal, a contemporary art museum located in the heart of Kyiv. More than 32,000 people attended Spark!Lab’s opening.

Photo credit Tricia Edwards.
Photo credit Tricia Edwards.

Launching a successful innovation space wasn’t easy! When Tricia arrived, the space the team planned to use was 4,000 square-feet of concrete floors, bare walls, no furniture and only a single flood light in the room. Crates of items filled the interior and it was hard to imagine this space would become a vibrant hub of invention and creativity. But in just one week, the drab chamber was transformed and Spark!Lab came to life.

What truly made Spark!Lab at the Art Arsenal a success were the many Ukrainian volunteers who facilitated activities, engaged visitors in the invention process and encouraged children to recognize their own creativity. Nearly 100 student volunteers from Kyiv Polytechnic Institute, one of Ukraine’s top universities and chief collaborator on the Spark!Lab project. These student volunteers embraced inquiry-based learning and developed questions to engage children in different activities. They even discussed ways to work with over-anxious parents and teachers.

Photo credit Tricia Edwards.
Photo credit Tricia Edwards.

Spark!Lab at Art Arsenal was originally intended to be a temporary exhibit, but the program was so successful that the museum decided it needed a permanent, hands-on learning center for kids and families. In 2013, the Lemelson Center hosted two members of the Kyiv museum’s staff and spent two weeks collaborating on a prototype of different activity ideas for a new learning lab space at Art Arsenal. Like Spark!Lab, Kyiv’s Arsenal of Ideas, is designed as a place for kids and families to enjoy hands-on activities and engage in the creative process.

Photo credit Tricia Edwards.
Photo credit Tricia Edwards.

The success of Spark!Lab across the globe shows how collaboration and innovation are ideas that can translate across borders and cultures to bring children, families, businesses, museums, and governments together. 

 

Learn more about: Spark!Lab Pop-Up Kyiv
Meet our people: Tricia Edwards
Close