美国空间重新评估与设计项目

相关专长: 咨询服务
启动日期: 2012

美国 国务院美国空间项目是一个全球性网络,包含可为推进公开对话、自由获取信息、抵消负面偏见、建立相互理解的桥梁的公共外交项目提供平台的场所。 参观这些空间的访客可以体验和了解美国文化和价值观,了解在美国学习和英语学习的相关信息等等。 现在,在与美国国务院国际情资计画局 (Bureau of International Information Programs) 联合打造的多年合作项目“美国空间评估与重新设计项目”中,美国空间参观者还可通过策展内容以及——专用数量的——经重新设计的实体空间访问和体验史密森尼的世界。

多年来,国务院工作人员锐意创新,兢兢业业,坚持与当地资源精诚协作,积极发展这些空间。 自 2011 年以来,国务院一直与来自史密森尼的专家合作,致力于创建一个更有凝聚力的现代化创新型空间网络。 美国空间合作项目积极利用史密森尼各博物馆和研究中心的专长——从实体空间的重新设计到史密森尼内容策展,再到当地志愿者和人员培训。 在史密森尼国际关系办公室的领导下,史密森尼团队访问了二十几个美国空间,遍布除南极洲以外的各个大洲!

美国空间网络有助于促进当地社区和美国文化、历史和价值观之间的对话。 美国空间为年轻人提供了一个安全的场所,在这里,他们可以学习新的技能,与他人、美国外交官、当地专家交际互动,寻找资源并谈论他们关心的问题。 通过这些空间,国务院和史密森尼正共同致力于通过日常的互动和交流促进人类层面的外交。

请深入了解此项目

设计外交: 史密森尼和美国空间计划

American Spaces Reassessment and Design Project

Related Expertise: Advisory Services
Date Initiated: 2012

The U.S. Department of State’s American Spaces program is a global network of places that provide platforms for public diplomacy programs promoting open dialogue, free access to information, counteracting negative preconceptions, and building bridges of mutual understanding. Visitors to these spaces can experience and learn about American culture and values, gain information about studying in the U.S. and learn English, among an array of program offerings. Visitors to American Spaces can now access and enjoy the world of the Smithsonian through curated content and – in a dedicated number – redesigned physical spaces as part of the American Spaces Assessment and Redesign Project, a multi-year partnership with the State Department’s Bureau of International Information Programs.

For many years, creative and dedicated State Department staff cultivated these spaces with local resources. Since 2011, the State Department has been working with experts from the Smithsonian to create a more cohesive, modern, and innovative network of spaces. The American Spaces partnership draws on Smithsonian’s expertise from across our museums and research centers - from the redesign of the physical space, to the curation of Smithsonian content, to trainings for local volunteers and staff. Led by the Smithsonian’s Office of International Relations, Smithsonian teams have visited two dozen American spaces, on every continent except Antarctica!

The American Spaces network fosters dialogue between local communities and American culture, history and values. American Spaces provide a safe place where young people can learn new skills, meet and connect with each other, American diplomats, local experts, find resources and talk about issues that matter to them. Through these spaces, the State Department and Smithsonian are working together to facilitate diplomacy on a human scale, through everyday interactions and exchange.

Learn more about this Project

Diplomacy in Design: Smithsonian and the American Spaces Program