在位于图书馆、大学和文化中心(作为独立建筑)以及世界各地的大使馆和领事馆中的 700 个实体空间中,美国 美国国务院的美国空间项目为这些允许人们交流思想,体验和了解美国文化、历史和价值观的场所提供支持。 在这些场所,参观者,尤其是年轻人,可以在一个安全的环境中了解美国,访问开放的互联网,培养工作技能,与他人或与美国人对话。 这些场所的参观者可能会发现,当地的年轻人在学习如何撰写一份简历,练习英语或讨论气候变化对自己生活的影响。

自 2012 年以来,在史密森尼与美国国务院国际情资计画局 (Bureau of International Information Programs) 联合打造的合作项目“美国空间评估与重新设计项目”中,指定数量美国空间的参观者可通过策展内容和经重新设计的实体空间,访问和体验史密森尼的世界。 史密森尼的设计和内容专家通过此合作项目为公共外交创造新工具,包括欢迎参观者的实体动态空间以及有关美国文化、民主、公民参与、企业家精神、种族关系、艺术、教育等的史密森尼策展内容。 通过此项目,美国中心、信息资源中心、美国角和两国中心的参观者可在他们所在的城市体验史密森尼,通过史密森尼的镜头了解美国的历史和文化。

美国空间 (American Spaces) 在全球的分支。
美国空间 (American Spaces) 在全球的分支。

近一个世纪以来——自 1927 年在阿根廷创建第一个“两个国家中心”以来,美国空间一直是了解美国文化,享受感恩节晚餐和学习英语的场所。 它们是增进美国与全球受众之间相互了解的一个重要工具,并例证了美国始终恪守民主核心原则:公民自由获取信息的权利。

多年来,国务院富有创新和敬业精神的工作人员利用本地可用资源亲手培植这些空间;因此,在圣地亚哥美国空间的一次体验可能与在雅加达的体验存在很大差别。

自 2012 年以来,史密森尼和美国国务院团队一直共同访问全球各地的美国空间,再度关注创建一个更强大、更有凝聚力、能够更好地服务于社区和年轻人的空间网络。 史密森尼团队通过现场访问和虚拟会议会见大使馆及当地的员工,评估现有空间状况和需求,并提供可启发参观者的空间创建建议。 在焦点小组评估和访谈的基础上,史密森尼团队优化空间的多种用途,并就如何在项目中应用史密森尼内容为参观者提供多日培训。 美国空间合作项目积极利用史密森尼各博物馆和研究中心的专长——从注重创新意识的实体空间重新设计到用作员工和参观者资源的史密森尼内容的策展。 在史密森尼国际关系办公室的领导下,史密森尼团队访问了二十几个美国空间,遍布除南极洲以外的各个大洲!

格鲁吉亚巴统美国角巴统重新设计之前(上一行)与之后(下一行)对比。 
 照片来源: 
 美国政府。
格鲁吉亚巴统美国角 (American Corner) 巴统重新设计之前(上一行)与之后(下一行)对比。 美国政府。

史密森尼还从各个现有美国空间分支的过往成功中总结经验,并应用于当前项目。 在访问位于胡志明市的美国空间时,史密森尼国际关系办公室高级顾问阿维娃•罗森塔尔访问了由超过 300 名年轻人参加的由志愿者领导的简历撰写项目。 这个讲习班为解决美国空间一个重要领域的问题提供了一个模型:采用与其相关的方式吸引年轻人加入。 受在越南所见启发,阿维娃想,“我们应如何使用史密森尼的资源和技能,才能使这类信息可被整个网络访问和获取?”

阿维娃转向了史密森尼数字媒体实验室的创新团队和史密森尼设于华盛顿特区的赫希杭博物馆和雕塑园的制作空间 ARTLAB + ,艾米•侯马和 ARTLAB + 团队共同为美国空间的参观者创建了一份“企业家孵化器”指南。 他们的“企业家孵化器”提出了可帮助参与者在创业和就业方面获取经验和技能的项目规划,集中围绕五大支柱: 推动、发展、团体、营销和运营。

“了解这项工作对现实生活的影响非常有益,这可让我们了解人们之间的关系,他们最终如何应用我们的内容以及如何调整这些内容以适应他们自己的文化传统,”艾米最近表示。 国务院工作人员最近在印度尼西亚将“企业家孵化器”应用于一个持续 9 个月的试点项目中,位于巴西的一个空间围绕此指南为青少年建立了一个全体夏令营。

包含有影响力的美国人语录的平面海报: 
 马娅·安杰卢 (Maya Angelou)、小马丁·路德·金 (Martin Luther King,Jr .) 和史蒂夫•乔布斯 (Steve Jobs)。 
 设计来源: 
 Here's My Chance。
包含有影响力的美国人语录的平面海报: 马娅·安杰卢 (Maya Angelou)、小马丁·路德·金 (Martin Luther King,Jr .) 和史蒂夫•乔布斯 (Steve Jobs)。 设计来源: Here's My Chance。

当艾米和史密森尼的教育者和策展人正在创建定制内容、项目规划指南和教育工具包时,史密森尼的设计师正在为如何对美国空间形成一个有凝聚力的全球观感提供建议。

国立自然历史博物馆展品办公室设计负责人于 2011 年首次访问了美国空间,其间他就印度尼西亚雅加达 @america 空间的改建进行了咨询。 建筑师迈克通过训练参与了史密森尼从大型恐龙厅到个人互动展览的展览创作。 在通过评估和会议确定当地需求后,他提出改善 @america 观感的建议,从而更有效地利用了空间并提供了一个将“美国”引入这个距离华盛顿 16,000 公里的公共外交空间的新观点。 “有关 @america 的工作真正为后续工作奠定了基础,”迈克指出。 在 @america 项目成功实施后,史密森尼和美国国务院就整个美国空间网络的更大评估和重新设计工作建立了合作关系,迈克自此项目启动时就参与其中,曾访问十几个其他站点。

“参与此项目之前,我从未想过会到这些地方工作,”迈克表示,“这是我生命中最有价值的专业经验。” 在参加美国空间工作期间,迈克在墨西哥城迈入了青年期,在吉尔吉斯斯坦比什凯克进入了成年期。 他的建议构造了能够促进参观者参与的空间,正如他在国立自然历史博物馆创作的展览一样,它们创建了让所有年龄段的参观者进行探索,参加合作和感到惊奇的场所。

韩国首尔美国中心韩国重新设计之前(上一行)与之后(下一行)对比。 
 照片来源: 
 美国政府。
韩国首尔美国中心韩国重新设计之前(上一行)与之后(下一行)对比。 美国政府。

史密森尼的设计师、策展人和教育专家无法到达每一个美国空间。 所以,史密森尼团队为当地及国务院的工作人员创建了多项指南、一本《理念》 和一本 《内容与项目规划》,这些书籍为美国空间的全球网络提供了设计概念、家具建议、史密森尼资源和图片、项目规划概念和数字策略。 所有想要组织项目或为美国空间的参观者提供有趣内容的个人都可获取这些书籍。

来自国际关系办公室的阿维娃•罗森塔尔、利兹•图尼克•锡达和萝伦•阿佩尔鲍姆一直使用《理念》和《内容与项目规划》指导项目培训,并访问各个空间和与当地的合作伙伴举行虚拟会议,以示范使用由迈克、艾米和史密森尼专家推荐的内容和设计的最佳做法。 他们向大使馆和当地的工作人员展示,史密森尼内容如何丰富他们的美国空间,并了解世界各地的人们如何诠释和重释史密森尼内容。

在巴西利亚举行的一次美国空间 (American Spaces) 培训会议期间,阿维娃•罗森塔尔 (Aviva Rosenthal) 和萝伦•阿佩尔鲍姆 (Lauren Appelbaum) 开展的一项史密森尼内容和项目规划活动(2015 年)。 
 照片来源: 
 美国政府。
在巴西利亚举行的一次美国空间 (American Spaces) 培训会议期间,阿维娃•罗森塔尔 (Aviva Rosenthal) 和萝伦•阿佩尔鲍姆 (Lauren Appelbaum) 开展的一项史密森尼内容和项目规划活动(2015 年)。 美国政府。

美国空间网络促进了当地社区与美国外交官和员工之间最真诚的交流。 当莉斯访问位于摩洛哥的美国空间时,年轻人告诉她,“这里让我感到很安全,我在这里建立了生活关系。 它是我的第二个家,也是我的第二个家庭。” 美国空间为年轻人提供了一个安全的场所,在这里,他们可以与他人、美国外交官、当地领导进行交际互动,并谈论自己关心的问题。

 莉斯描述了“这些空间如何在消除人们对美国(我们的政策、价值观、公民)的负面看法方面发挥重要作用。 通过人际互动、提供了解和自我表达机会,让人民了解政策,这样做完全改变了人们对美国的负面看法。 我们不仅可以帮助改善全球公民同胞的生活质量,而且无论作为机构还是个人,我们还可以和他们做一生的朋友。” 即使政府目前可能不会参与沟通,但美国空间会为个人和团体创造参与交流对话的空间和机会。 通过这些空间,国务院和史密森尼正共同致力于通过日常的互动和交流促进人类层面的外交。

关闭

At 700 physical spaces housed in libraries, universities, cultural centers, as standalone buildings or in embassies and consulates around the world, the U.S. Department of State’s American Spaces program supports places where people can exchange ideas and experience and learn about American culture, history and values. These are places where visitors—especially young people—can learn about the United States, access the open internet, build job skills, and participate in dialogue with each other and Americans in a safe environment. A visitor to one of these spaces may find local young adults learning how to write a resume, practicing English, or discussing the impacts of climate change on their own lives.

Since 2012, visitors to a dedicated number of these American Spaces have been able to access and enjoy the world of the Smithsonian through curated content and redesigned physical spaces as part of the American Spaces Assessment and Redesign Project, a partnership between the Smithsonian and the State Department’s Bureau of International Information Programs. Through this partnership, Smithsonian design and content experts are creating new tools for public diplomacy, including physically dynamic spaces that welcome visitors and curated Smithsonian content about American culture, democracy, civic engagement, entrepreneurship, race relations, art, education, and more. Through this project, visitors to American Centers, Information Resource Centers, American Corners, and Bi-national Centers can experience the Smithsonian in their own cities and learn about U.S. history and culture through a Smithsonian lens.

Locations of American Spaces around the world.
Locations of American Spaces around the world.

For almost a century—since the 1927 creation of the first “Bi-national Center” in Argentina—American Spaces have been places to engage with American culture, experience a Thanksgiving dinner, or learn English. They are a key tool for building mutual understanding between Americans and international audiences, and exemplify the U.S. commitment to a core tenet of democracy: the citizen’s right to free access to information.

For many years, creative and dedicated State Department staff cultivated these spaces themselves with resources available locally; consequently, an experience at an American Space in Santiago, Chile, might have little in common with one in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Since 2012, Smithsonian and State Department teams have been traveling together to American Spaces all around the globe with a renewed focus to create a stronger, more cohesive network of spaces better able to serve communities and young people. On site visits and through virtual conferences, Smithsonian teams are meeting with Embassy and local staff, assessing existing spaces and needs, and providing recommendations to create spaces that inspire visitors. Building on focus group evaluations and interviews, Smithsonian teams are optimizing spaces for multiple uses and providing multi-day trainings on how to use Smithsonian content in programs for visitors. The American Spaces partnership draws on Smithsonian’s expertise from across our museums and research centers – from the redesign of the physical space emphasizing a sense of innovation and inspiration, to the curation of Smithsonian content used as a resource for staff and visitors. Led by the Smithsonian’s Office of International Relations, Smithsonian teams have visited two dozen American spaces, on every continent except Antarctica!

Before (top row) and after (bottom row) of the redesign of American Corner Batumi in Batumi, Georgia. Photo credit: United States Government.
Before (top row) and after (bottom row) of the redesign of American Corner Batumi in Batumi, Georgia. Photo credit: United States Government.

The Smithsonian also learns from past successes of existing American Spaces locations to inform the project. On a visit to an American Space in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, Aviva Rosenthal, a Senior Advisor in Smithsonian’s Office of International Relations, visited a volunteer-led resume-writing program attended by more than 300 young people. This workshop provided a model for addressing one of the key focus areas for American Spaces: engaging with young people in ways that are relevant to them. Inspired by what she saw in Vietnam, Aviva considered, “How can we use Smithsonian resources and skills to make this kind of information accessible and available to the entire network?”

Aviva turned to the innovative team at Smithsonian’s digital media lab and maker space ARTLAB+, at the Smithsonian’s Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington, D.C. Amy Homma and the team at ARTLAB+ created an “Entrepreneur Incubator” guide for American Spaces visitors. Their Entrepreneur Incubator lays out programming to help equip participants with experiences and skills that will help them in starting new businesses or finding new jobs, focused around five pillars: Drive, Development, Community, Marketing, and Operations.

“It has been rewarding to see the impact of this work in real life, seeing the connections people make and how they end up using our content, how they adjust it to their own cultural traditions,” Amy reflected recently. State Department staff in Indonesia recently used Entrepreneur Incubator in a pilot program that lasted 9 months, and a space in Brazil built an entire summer camp for teens around the guide.

Graphic Posters with quotes from influential Americans: Maya Angelou, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Steve Jobs. Designer credit: Here's My Chance.
Graphic Posters with quotes from influential Americans: Maya Angelou, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Steve Jobs. Designer credit: Here's My Chance.

While Amy and Smithsonian educators and curators are creating bespoke content, programming guides, and educational toolkits, Smithsonian designers are offering recommendations to create a cohesive global look and feel for American Spaces.

Chief of Design for the Office of Exhibits at the National Museum of Natural History Mike Lawrence first visited an American Space in 2011, when he consulted on the remodel of the “@america” space in Jakarta, Indonesia. An architect by training, Mike is involved in the creation of exhibits at Smithsonian that range from huge dinosaur halls to individual interactive displays. After assessments and meetings to determine local needs, he created recommendations to improve the look and feel of @america, promoting more efficient use of space and delivering a fresh take on bringing “America” into this public diplomacy space 16,000 kilometers from Washington. “The work on @america really set the stage for what followed,” Mike says. Following the success of the @america project, the Smithsonian and the State Department partnered together on the larger assessment and redesign for the entire American Spaces network, and Mike has been part of the project since its inception, traveling to more than a dozen additional sites.

“This project has taken me places I never imagined working,” Mike said, “It’s been one of the most rewarding professional experiences of my life.” Through his work with American Spaces, Mike has reached youth in Mexico City, Mexico, and adults in Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan. His recommendations shape spaces to promote and facilitate visitor engagement, just as his exhibits at the National Museum of Natural History create places of exploration, of collaboration, and of surprise for visitors of all ages.

Before (top row) and after (bottom row) of the redesign of American Center Korea in Seoul, Korea. Photo credit: United States Government.
Before (top row) and after (bottom row) of the redesign of American Center Korea in Seoul, Korea. Photo credit: United States Government.

Smithsonian designers, curators, and education specialists can’t travel to every American Space. So the Smithsonian team created guides for local and State Department staff, an Idea Book and a Content and Programming Book, which provide design concepts, furniture recommendations, Smithsonian resources and images, programming concepts, and digital strategies to the global network of American Spaces. The books are available to anyone who wants to organize programming or provide interesting content to American Spaces visitors.

Using the Idea Book and Content and Programming Book, Aviva Rosenthal, Liz Tunick Cedar, and Lauren Appelbaum from the Office of International Relations have been leading trainings for the project, traveling to spaces and holding virtual conferences with local partners to demonstrate best practices for using the content and design recommendations created by Mike, Amy, and experts from throughout the Smithsonian. They show Embassy and local staff how Smithsonian content can enrich their American Spaces, and learn how Smithsonian content is being interpreted and reinterpreted all around the world.

Smithsonian content and programming session at an American Spaces training session in Brasilia, Brazil led by Aviva Rosenthal and Lauren Appelbaum (2015). Photo credit: United States Government.
Smithsonian content and programming session at an American Spaces training session in Brasilia, Brazil led by Aviva Rosenthal and Lauren Appelbaum (2015). Photo credit: United States Government.

The American Spaces network facilitates honest exchange between local communities and with U.S. diplomats and staff. When Liz visited an American Space in Morocco, young adults shared with her, “This is where I feel safe, where I’ve made relationships for life. It’s my second home, my second family.” American Spaces provide a safe place where young people can meet each other, meet American diplomats, local leaders, and talk about issues that matter to them.

 Liz describes how “These spaces play such a critical role in countering negative perceptions about the United States – our policies, our values, and our citizens. Connecting people to policy through human interaction and by providing opportunities for learning and self-expression completely changes the narrative people have about the U.S. Not only can we help improve the quality of life for our fellow global citizens, but we can make lifelong friends – for our institutions and ourselves.” Even when governments may not currently be communicating, American Spaces create the space and possibility for individuals and communities to engage in dialogue for change. Through these spaces, the State Department and Smithsonian are working together to facilitate diplomacy on a human scale, through everyday interactions and exchange.

Close