ميليسيا سونجر (ميل)

متخصصة في مجال حفظ الأحياء لدى معهد سميثسونيان للمحافظة على البيولوجيا

ميليسا سونغر هي عالمة أحياء متخصصة في عمليات الحفظ تبحث في الطرق التي يمكن من خلالها المساعدة على بقاء الأنواع الأحيائية في البرية وإعادتها إليها. 

عملت ميليسا منذ عام 1999 في مجال المحافظة على الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض في آسيا كما عملت في مجال إيكولوجية هذه الأنواع لدى مختبر نظم المعلومات الجغرافية الخاصة بالحفاظ بمعهد سميثسونيان للمحافظة على البيولوجيا ( SCBI) الكائن في فرونت رويال بفيرجينيا. وهي تستخدم تقنيات جيولوجية مكانية متقدمة لرصد تحول الأراضي الناجم عن تدخل الإنسان وتقييم آثاره على الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض والأنظمة البيئية

وتتضمن مشروعاتها الحالية إعادة خيول برزوالسكي إلى مواطنها الأصلية في الصين ومنغوليا، كما تشتمل على تعقب حركات الأفيال الآسيوية والصراع بين الإنسان والأفيال في تغيير المناظر الطبيعية بآسيا، إلى جانب التعرف على بيئات الباندا العملاقة وأثر تغير المناخ على موطنها، وبيئات النمور في بنغلاديش، وإعادة المها معقوف القرن (أبو حراب) إلى منطقة الساحل في تشاد. وإضافة إلى ذلك، فهي ترأس مبادرة سميثسونيان الخاصة بميانمار، إذ تعد هذه المبادرة جهدًا علميًا شاملًا لدعم البحث وبناء قدرة داخلية للمحافظة على التنوع البيولوجي في ميانمار.

تدرب ميليسا، بالإضافة إلى بحثها الخاص، متخصصين في الحياة البرية وطلاب دراسات عليا ومدرسين على تقنيات مراقبة الحياة البرية والجغرافية المكانية المتعلقة بعمليات الحفاظ.  وجدير بالذكر أنها دربت ما يزيد عن 900 فرد ينتمون إلى أكثر من 40 بلدًا. وهي تساعد على تكوين شبكة عالمية من متخصصي الحفاظ من خلال توجيه المتدربين وطلاب الدراسات العليا ومتخصصي الحفاظ في الولايات المتحدة وحول العالم. وقد حصلت ميليسا على درجة الماجستير في علم الحيوان من جامعة أوكلاهوما، كما حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه من جامعة ميريلاند.  

مزيد من المعلومات عن عمل ميليسيا سونجر (ميل)

انظر كيف تُسهم العلوم والجهود الحكومية في ضمان وجود الغزال الراقص بميانمار مستقبلاً

استخدام تقنيات الأقمار الصناعية لتعقب الأفيال الآسيوية والحفاظ عليها في ميانمار

إغلاق

Melissa Songer (Mel)

Conservation Biologist, Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute

Melissa Songer is a conservation biologist researching ways to help sustain and restore species in the wild. 

Since 1999, Melissa has worked on the conservation and ecology of endangered species in Asia with the Conservation GIS Lab at the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI) in Front Royal, Virginia. She uses advanced geospatial technologies to detect human transformation of the landscape and assess its impacts on endangered species and ecosystems

Her current projects include restoring Przewalski's horses to native ranges in China and Mongolia; tracking movements of Asian elephants and human-elephant conflict in changing landscapes in Asia; understanding giant panda landscapes and the effects of climate change on their habitat; tiger landscapes in Bangladesh; and reintroducing scimitar-horned oryx to the Sahel in Chad. She leads the Smithsonian Myanmar Initiative, a pan-science effort to support research and build in-country capacity for conservation of Myanmar’s biodiversity.

In addition to her own research, Melissa trains professionals, graduate students, and teachers in conservation, and geospatial and wildlife monitoring technologies. She has trained more than 900 individuals representing over 40 countries. She is helping to build a global network of conservation professionals through mentoring interns, graduate students, and conservation professionals in the U.S. and around the world. Melissa received her MS in Zoology from the University of Oklahoma and her PhD from the University of Maryland.  

Learn more about Melissa Songer (Mel)'s Work

See How Science and Government are Ensuring a Future for Myanmar’s Eld’s Deer

Using Satellite Technology to Track and Conserve Asian Elephants in Myanmar

Close