史密森尼海洋生物学家卡罗尔 • 鲍德温 (Carole Baldwin) 负责海底珊瑚礁观察项目 (Deep Reef Observation Project,简称 DROP)这是专门研究生物多样性—即物种的种类—的工作,并监测具有高度多样性但鲜有探索的海洋生态系统热带海底珊瑚礁的变化

Off the coast of Curacao in the southern Caribbean, Carole and her team of almost 40 Smithsonian researchers are uncovering a new world of biodiversity that science has largely missed. Using a manned submersible, they have discovered at least 50 new species in an area of only around 0.2 square kilometers.

卡罗尔 • 鲍德温 (Carole Baldwin)(右)在库拉潜艇内。 照片来源:Barry Brown/库拉索岛潜艇站
卡罗尔 • 鲍德温(右)在库拉潜艇内。 照片来源:Barry Brown/库拉索岛潜艇站

珊瑚礁是 25% 以上的海洋生物的栖息地。 除了有极佳的生物多样性(或物种种类)之外,珊瑚礁还拥有巨大的经济价值。 人类社群要依靠它们提供食物、发展新药、旅游业和康乐活动,并作为抵御海平面上升的屏障。

然而,受益于珊瑚礁的人类社群也威胁到珊瑚礁的生存。 污染、入侵物种的介入以及全球气候变化引起的海水变暖,都会使海洋生态系统面临着被严重损害的危险。

正如卡罗尔所说的:“地球是一个海洋星球,充满了神奇的生命形态,它们适应了形形色色的环境。 我们每个人都有责任保护这一至关重要的资源。 我们的生活确实要依靠这些资源。”

我们对珊瑚礁的了解大多来自对浅海珊瑚礁的研究。 相比之下,我们对深度 150 英尺至 1,000 英尺之间的热带海洋知之甚少,这里是中光度 (mesophotic) 和较深海域的珊瑚礁的栖息地。

海底珊瑚礁观察项目 (DROP) 所发现的物种。 照片来源:Cristina Castillo / 史密森尼博物院
海底珊瑚礁观察项目 (DROP) 所发现的物种。 照片来源:Cristina Castillo / 史密森尼博物院

卡罗尔和她的团队寻求了解这些相对鲜有探究的环境,并为支援海洋保护提供研究。

卡罗尔表示:“在 DROP 之前,我们对深海珊瑚礁并不了解,但它们其实就在我们的后院。

海底珊瑚礁观察项目 (DROP) 发现的 3 种新物种。 照片来源:史密森尼博物院
海底珊瑚礁观察项目 (DROP) 发现的三个新物种。 照片来源:史密森尼博物院

利用靠近库拉索岛外海附近的深水区,载人潜水器库拉潜艇 (Curasub)可以载着卡罗尔和其他 4 人迅速下潜至水下 1000 英尺。 库拉潜艇的机械臂可采集海洋生物,然后由工作人员带回水面供科学研究使用。

使用通过库拉潜艇采集的标本中所收获的组织样本,卡罗尔和她的 DROP 团队采用现代 DNA 技术(包括DNA 条形码技术)帮助确定所捕获的物种哪些是先前有记载的物种,哪些是全新的物种。

DROP 科学家从利用载人潜水器采集的生物中获取组织样本,然后将这些样本的较短 DNA 序列和组织结构与来自史密森尼和其他收藏的已知标本进行对比。 如果没有发现匹配的样本,那么 DROP 就可以将尚未列入清单的物种登记入册

这个史密森尼项目为教育和外部研究提供了众多良机。 一经确认,该项目的样本将加入国立自然历史博物馆 (National Museum of Natural History) 的藏品,成为供进一步研究使用的资源。 高中生、大学生和研究生均都帮助处理由 DROP 采集的资料,在库拉索岛和华盛顿哥伦比亚特区工作的团队中发挥了重要作用。

照片来源:巴里•布朗。
照片来源:Barry Brown。

除了记录深海珊瑚礁的生物多样性之外,DROP 还通过在库拉索岛外海由浅至深的珊瑚礁斜坡区域放置温度记录器和自控珊瑚礁监测装置 (ARMS) 来收集所需的基准资料,以确认温度和某些珊瑚礁群落组成部分的长期变化

ARMS 所起的作用就像是给珊瑚礁的“隐匿生物多样性”提供了多套寓所,让小生物和海藻可在珊瑚礁的缝隙和空穴内生长、挖洞和躲藏。 每台 ARMS 配有一叠 10 个间隔均匀的塑料盘,在特定的时间段内,放置在关注的研究区域内或周围,其间海洋生物便会在 ARMS 装置内定居。  

1 年、2 年,甚至 5 年之后,研究人员取回 ARMS 装置,将每个塑料盘分开并对其进行拍照。 接下来,他们识别和记录所有生活在装置中的物种,并提取其 DNA 样本。 最先进的新一代 DNA 排序方法是进行此项工作的法宝。 然后在另一个预先确定的时期内再部署 ARMS 以收集数据。  

ARMS unit. Photo credit Smithsonian Institution.
ARMS 单位。 照片来源:史密森尼博物院。

凭借 ARMS 装置和温度记录器第一年记录的信息, DROP 科学家现在拥有最初的两组全球唯一数据组。 尽管已在世界许多地方浅海的珊瑚礁上放置了 ARMS 装置,而且对浅海珊瑚礁的温度波动也有了更多的了解,但我们一直没有监测浅海至深海珊瑚礁剖面状况的长期环境和生物学数据组⋯⋯现在总算有了。 通过 DROP 项目,史密森尼崭露头角,正成为探索和监测热带深海珊瑚礁的领导者。深海珊瑚礁可能是尚未探索的最具多样性的海洋生态系统

在库拉索岛和加勒比海地区,DROP 现已改变了我们了解深海珊瑚礁的方式—而且今后仍将继续我们不久将会利用一艘研究船舶查普曼号考察船 (R/V Chapman) 将项目的观察区域扩大至近海区域。这艘经改造的船能够从加勒比海地区新的地点下潜库拉潜艇 (Curasub)

DROP 预期库拉索岛将成为日益增长的史密森尼沿海生物监测站点网络“海洋地质” (MarineGEO) 的一部分,我们的科学家可以通过 ARMs 装置、温度记录器及其他环境与生物多样性监测来为“海洋把脉”。

通过世界各地的海洋地质站点,史密森尼正在建立一个对全球沿海生态系统进行比较的系统,以帮助我们更好地了解生态系统对全球气候变化的反应。 与网络中的其他站点不同,库拉索岛不仅具备监测沿海浅水生态系统变化的能力,而且还具备监测沿海深水生态系统变化的能力。 DROP 的监测活动特别及时,因为全球珊瑚礁数量的减少及对于深水珊瑚礁对浅水珊瑚礁的存活所可能发挥的作用还缺乏了解。

 

认识我们的员工: 卡罗尔•鲍德温
关闭

Smithsonian marine biologist Carole Baldwin leads the Deep Reef Observation Project (DROP), an effort to study biodiversity—the variety of species—and monitor changes in deep tropical reefs, highly diverse but underexplored ocean ecosystems

Off the coast of Curacao in the southern Caribbean, Carole and her team of almost 40 Smithsonian researchers are uncovering a new world of biodiversity that science has largely missed. Using a manned submersible, they have discovered at least 50 new species in an area of only around 0.2 square kilometers.

Carole Baldwin (r) in the Curasub. Photo Credit Barry Brown / Substation Curacao
Carole Baldwin (r) in the Curasub. Photo Credit Barry Brown / Substation Curacao

Coral reefs are home to more than 25% of all marine life. In addition to their great biodiversity, or variety of species, coral reefs possess tremendous economic value. Human communities depend upon them for food, new pharmaceuticals, tourism, recreation, and barriers against rising sea levels.

However, the same human communities that benefit from coral reefs also threaten their existence. Pollution, the introduction of invasive species, and warming waters resulting from global climate change all risk severely damaging ocean ecosystems.

As Carole explains, “Earth is an ocean planet full of amazing life forms that have adapted to every imaginable condition. It is up to each of us to protect this vital resource. Our lives really do depend on it.”

Most of our knowledge about coral reefs comes from studies of shallow coral reefs. We know comparatively little about tropical depths, between 150 and 1,000 feet, which are home to mesophotic, or “middle light,” and deeper reefs.

DROP species discovered. Photo Credit Cristina Castillo / Smithsonian Institution
DROP species discovered. Photo Credit Cristina Castillo / Smithsonian Institution

Carole and her team seek to understand these relatively unexamined environments and provide research that will aid marine conservation.

Until DROP, we didn’t know much about deep reefs, which are essentially in our own backyards,” Carole says.

3 new species DROP has discovered. Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution
3 new species DROP has discovered. Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution

Taking advantage of the proximity of deep waters immediately off the Curaçao coast, the submersible Curasub allows Carole and 4 others to quickly dive down to as far as 1,000 feet below the surface. The Curasub’s robotic arms collect sea creatures which the crew then brings to the surface for scientific study.

Using tissue samples harvested from specimens collected with the Curasub, Carole and her DROP team use modern DNA techniques—including DNA barcoding—to help determine which species captured represent previously documented species and which ones are completely new.

DROP scientists take tissues samples from creatures collected with the submersible, then compare short DNA sequences and anatomy of these samples with those of known specimens from Smithsonian and other collections. If they can find no match, then DROP can add a formerly unlisted species to the record.

This Smithsonian project offers rich opportunities for education and outside research. Once identified, the project’s samples join the collections of the National Museum of Natural History as a resource accessible to further study. High school, college, and graduate students help process the data collected by DROP and play an important role on the teams working in Curacao and in Washington, D.C. 

Photo credit Barry Brown.
Photo credit Barry Brown.

In addition to documenting the biodiversity of deep reefs, DROP is collecting the baseline data needed to recognize long-term changes in temperature and some components of reef communities by placing temperature loggers and autonomous reef monitoring structures (ARMS) in areas on a shallow-to-deep reef slope off Curacao.

ARMS act like condos for a reef’s “hidden biodiversity,” the small creatures and algae that grow, burrow, and hide in the cracks and crevices of reefs. Each ARMS comprises a stack of 10 evenly-spaced plastic plates placed in and around the study area of interests for a specific period of time, when marine creatures take up residence in the ARMS.  

After 1, 2, or even 5 years, researchers retrieve the ARMS unit, separate each of the plastic plates, and photograph them. Next, they identify, record, and DNA sample all of the species living on them. State-of-the-art next-generation DNA sequencing methods are invaluable in this effort. The ARMS are then deployed to collect data for another pre-determined period.  

ARMS unit. Photo credit Smithsonian Institution.
ARMS unit. Photo credit Smithsonian Institution.

Equipped with the information recorded from the first year of ARMS sets and the temperature loggers, DROP scientists now have the beginnings of two globally unique data sets. Although ARMS units have been placed on shallow coral reefs in many parts of the world, and much is known about temperature fluctuations on shallow reefs, there are no long-term environmental and biological data sets that monitor conditions on a shallow-to-deep reef profile…until now. Through DROP, Smithsonian is emerging as a leader in exploring and monitoring tropical deep reefs, perhaps the most diverse underexplored ecosystems in the ocean.

In Curacao and the Caribbean, DROP has already changed the ways we understand deep reefs—and will continue to do so. Soon the project will expand its area of observation to include offshore locations with a research vessel, the R/V Chapman, a retrofitted ship that will be able to launch the Curasub from new locations in the Caribbean.

DROP anticipates that Curacao will become part of a growing Smithsonian network of coastal marine monitoring sites, MarineGEO, where our scientists “take the pulse of the ocean,” through ARMs, temperature loggers, and other environmental and biodiversity monitoring. 

Through MarineGEO sites around the world, the Smithsonian is creating a system for comparing coastal ecosystems globally to help us better understand ecosystem response to global climate change. Unlike other sites in the network, Curacao offers the ability not only to monitor changes in shallow coastal ecosystems but also in deep ones. DROP’s monitoring activities are especially timely, with the global decline of coral reefs and little understanding of the role deep reefs may play in the survival of shallow reefs above.

 

Meet our people: Carole Baldwin
Close