تتعاون عالمة الفهود أدريان كروسيه مع صندوق الحفاظ على الفهود في ناميبيا من مختبرها في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا في فرونت رويال، بفرجينيا. وتدرس مع شركائها كيفية تكاثر الفهود من أجل إعداد تقنية جديدة لتحسين تكاثر الفهود في مراكز الرعاية البشرية.  ونتيجة لهذه الجهود، يوجد في الوقت الراهن مئات العينات من المواد الوراثية المخزنة للفهود التي يتسنى من خلالها المساعدة في إعادة الفهود إلى البرية واستعادة التنوع الجيني للفهود. تُسهم أبحاث أدريان في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا في تحسين فهمنا لبيولوجيا الفهود وتوفير إمكانيات أكبر لعلماء البيولوجيا المتخصصين في عمليات الحفظ لإنقاذ الفهود من الانقراض.  

الفهود هي أسرع الحيوانات البرية على مستوى العالم.  كما إنها أكثر السنوريات الإفريقية المعُرضة لخطر الانقراض. حيث تهدد زيادة أعداد السكان وانخفاض مساحات الموائل مجموعات الفهود من ناميبيا وحتى إيران.  وتجدر الإشارة أنه في عام 1900 كان يتجول في البرية بحرية حوالي 100000 فهد من أقصى جنوب إفريقيا وحتى بلاد إيران.  ولا يوجد في يومنا هذا سوى 10000 إلى 12000 فهد في جميع أنحاء العالم في البرية وفي مراكز الرعاية البشرية.

صورة من مؤسسة سميثسونيان.
صورة من مؤسسة سميثسونيان.

تعيش أكبر مجموعات الفهود في بلدان جنوب غرب إفريقيا كبتسوانا وزامبيا وناميبيا، وهي البلدان التي يعمل فيها صندوق الحفاظ على الفهود من أجل حماية فهود العالم المتبقية. تعمل العالمة البيولوجية المعنية بالفهود أدريان كروسيه من مختبرها في معهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا لدراسة كيفية تكاثر الفهود وإعداد تقنية جديدة لتحسين عملية تكاثر الفهود في مراكز الرعاية البشرية. 

تحظى الفهود بتنوع وراثي محدود للغاية، مقارنة بالحيوانات الأخرى.  ومنذ 12000 عام، وقع حدث انقراض جماعي قضى على 75 في المائة من أجناس الثدييات الكبيرة في العالم..  وقد نجت بضعة فهود من هذه الواقعة، ومن ثم فإن جميع الفهود التي تعيش في العالم اليوم هي سليلة هذه المجموعة الصغيرة. 

عُرف انخفاض التنوع الوراثي للفهود الناتج عن حدث الانقراض الجماعي هذا باسم" المختنق الجيني" والذي يشير أن حيوانات الفهود بصفة خاصة أكثر تأثرًا بالتغيرات البيئية في موائلها، وأنها تواجه تحديات كبيرة فيما يتعلق بعملية التكاثر.

أشبال الفهود. 
 صورة من ميهجان ميرفي/حديقة الحيوان الوطنية.
أشبال الفهود. صورة من ميهجان ميرفي/حديقة الحيوان الوطنية.

التقدمات في الإدراك الإنجابي لمجموعات الفهود, , جنبًا إلى جنب مع التخزين الحيوي للمواد الوراثية الخاصة بالفهود يعني أن علماء سميثسونيان على غرار أدريان وشركائنا الدوليين يمكنهم زيادة التنوع الجيني لمجموعات الفهود.من خلال استعادة المادة الوراثية من الفهود التي ماتت منذ 10 أعوام أو 20 عامًا أو 30 عامًا.  

ومنذ عام 2002، عملت أدريان على تدريب الطلاب المحليين بناميبيا على كيفية جمع العينات البيولوجية من الفهود وتخزينها في بنوك حيوية حيث يتم تجميدها لاستخدامها مستقبلاً.  يوجد في الوقت الراهن مئات العينات من المواد الوراثية المخزنة في ناميبيا والتي يتسنى من خلالها المساعدة في إعادة الفهود إلى البرية واستعادة التنوع الجيني لها.

جنين أنثى الفهد. 
 صورة من: بير كوميزولي، صندوق الحفاظ على الفهود، وسميثسونيان/حديقة الحيوان الوطنية.
جنين أنثى الفهد. صورة من: بير كوميزولي، صندوق الحفاظ على الفهود، وسميثسونيان/حديقة الحيوان الوطنية.

وتعكف أدريان حاليًا على دراسة فسيولوجيا التناسل لإناث الفهود الكبيرة،  حيث تعاني إناث الفهود من عدم انتظام الدورات الإنجابية، ويعجز العلماء عن معالجة هرمونات إناث الفهود من أجل تحسين قدرتها الإنجابية.  تلعب أبحاث أدريان دورًا جوهريًا للغاية في المحافظة على مجموعات الفهود في ظل التهديدات التي تحيق بموائلها وتناقص قاعدة الفرائس التي تتغذى عليها.  

Cheetah cubs. Photo credit NZP.
Cheetah cubs. Photo credit NZP.

يتسنى من خلال التخزين الحيوي لبويضات إناث الفهود الكبيرة والعاجزة عن التكاثر لأدريان وفريقها تخصيب هذه البويضات وزرعها لاحقًا في أمهات بديلة، ومن ثم استعادة هذه المواد الوراثية للفهود بوجه عام.

تجمع أدريان بين أبحاثها المتعلقة بالصحة الإنجابية وأبحاث علماء البيولوجيا الآخرين بمعهد سميثسونيان للحفاظ على البيولوجيا المتعلقة بصحة الفهود وأمراضها وموادها الوراثية لفهم التهديدات التي تحيق بالفهود في البراري ومراكز الرعاية البشرية بشكل أفضل.  تستطيع أدريان مع فريقها استكشاف الطريقة التي يتسنى لنا من خلالها الحفاظ على موائل الفهود بصورة أفضل لتحفيز الفهود ودعمها من خلال مراقبة عملية إنجاب الفهود في مراكز الرعاية البشرية.

مقابلة موظفينا: أدريان كروسيه, لوري ماركر
إغلاق

Smithsonian cheetah biologist Adrienne Crosier works with the Cheetah Conservation Fund (CCF) in Namibia from her lab at the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI) in Front Royal, Virginia. With her partners, she studies how cheetahs reproduce in order to create new technologies to improve cheetah reproduction in human care. As a result of this work, there are now hundreds of samples of genetic material banked to help restore cheetahs to the wild and reintroduce genetic diversity to the cheetah population. Adrienne’s research at SCBI increases our understanding of cheetah biology, better equipping conservation biologists to save cheetahs from extinction.  

Cheetahs are the fastest land animals in the world. They are also the most endangered African cat. Growing human populations and the breakdown of their habitats threaten cheetah populations from Namibia to Iran. In 1900, almost 100,000 cheetahs roamed freely from the southernmost tip of Africa all the way to Persia. Today, there are between 10,000 and 12,000 cheetahs worldwide, including in the wild and in human care.

Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution.
Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution.

The largest cheetah populations live in the southwestern Africa countries of Botswana, Zambia, and Namibia, where the CCF is working to protect the world’s remaining cheetahs. Smithsonian Cheetah biologist Adrienne Crosier works from her lab at SCBI to study how cheetahs reproduce and create new technologies to better breed cheetahs in human care. 

Compared to other animals, cheetahs have a very low genetic diversity. About 12,000 years ago, a mass extinction event eliminated 75 percent of the world’s large mammal species. A few cheetahs survived this event, and all cheetahs today are descended from this small group. 

The reduction in cheetah genetic diversity from this mass extinction event, called a “population bottleneck,” means that cheetahs are particularly vulnerable to environmental changes in their habitats and face significant challenges to reproduction.

Cheetah cubs. Photo credit Mehgan Murphy/NZP.
Cheetah cubs. Photo credit Mehgan Murphy/NZP.

Advances in reproductive understanding of cheetah populations, combined with biobanking of cheetah genetic material, mean that Smithsonian scientists like Adrienne and our international partners can increase the genetic diversity of the cheetah population by reintroducing genetic material from cheetahs who died 10, 20, or even 30 years ago.  

Since 2002, Adrienne has worked to train local Namibians how to collect biological samples from cheetahs and “bank” them in a biobank repository where they are frozen for future use. There are now hundreds of samples of cheetah genetic material banked in Namibia, which can be used to restore cheetahs to the wild and to reintroduce genetic diversity to the cheetah population.

Female cheetah embryo. Photo credit Pierre Comizzoli, CCF, and Smithsonian/NZP.
Female cheetah embryo. Photo credit Pierre Comizzoli, CCF, and Smithsonian/NZP.

Today Adrienne’s research focuses on the reproductive physiology of older female cheetahs. Female cheetahs have irregular reproductive cycles and scientists don’t really know how to manipulate female cheetah hormones to increase reproductive ability. Because cheetah habitats are threatened and their natural prey base is decreasing, Adrienne’s research is critical to preserving cheetah populations.  

Cheetah cubs. Photo credit NZP.
Cheetah cubs. Photo credit NZP.

By biobanking the eggs of older female cheetahs unable to have offspring, Adrienne and her team can later fertilize and implant these eggs into surrogates, thereby reintroducing those genetic traits into the general population.

Adrienne combines her research in reproductive health with the research of other SCBI conservation biologists on cheetah health, disease, and genetics to better understand the threats to cheetahs in the wild and in human care. By observing how cheetahs reproduce in human care, Adrienne and her team can explore how we can better preserve cheetah habitats to encourage and support cheetah populations.

Close