史密森尼猎豹生物学家阿德里安妮•克罗泽 (Adrienne Crosier) 在史密森尼保护生物学研究所 (Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute) 有一间实验室,位于弗吉尼亚州弗兰特罗亚尔 (Front Royal), 她目前正在实验室与纳米比亚猎豹保护基金会(Cheetah Conservation Fund, 简称 CCF)合作。 她与合作伙伴们共同研究猎豹如何繁殖,以开发新技术,改善在人类呵护下的猎豹繁殖率。  得益于此项工作,如今已存储了数百个猎豹基因物质样本,用以帮助恢复野生猎豹物种,将遗传多样性重新引入猎豹种群。 阿德里安妮在 SCBI 的研究增强了我们对猎豹生物学的理解和认识,使自然保护生物学家能够更好地将猎豹从濒危边缘拯救出来。  

猎豹是地球上最快的陆生动物。  它们也是最濒危的非洲猫科动物。 不断增长的人口及其栖息地的破坏威胁着从纳米比亚到伊朗地区的猎豹种群数量。  1900 年,从非洲最南端一直到波斯,共有将近 100,000 只猎豹自由自在地活动着。  如今,全球猎豹数量介于 10,000 到 12,000 之间,包括野生和在人类呵护下的猎豹。

照片来源:史密森尼博物院。
照片来源:史密森尼博物院。

如今最大的猎豹种群生活在博茨瓦纳、赞比亚和纳米比亚等非洲西南部国家,CCF 目前正在那里全力保护全球仅存的猎豹。 史密森尼猎豹生物学家阿德里安妮•克罗泽在她的 SCBI 实验室研究猎豹如何繁殖,以开发新技术,改善在人类呵护下的猎豹繁殖情况。 

与其他动物相比,猎豹的遗传多样性非常低。  大约在 12,000 年前,出现了一次大型生物集群灭绝事件,致使世界上 75% 的大型哺乳动物丧生。  只有少数猎豹幸存了下来,如今的所有猎豹都是这群猎豹的后代。 

因这起大型生物集群灭绝事件导致猎豹遗传多样性降低的现象被称之为 “种群瓶颈”,它意味着猎豹特别容易受到栖息地环境变化的影响,面临着严重的繁殖挑战。

猎豹宝宝。 
 照片来源:梅根•墨菲 (Mehgan Murphy)/NZP。
猎豹宝宝。 照片来源:梅根•墨菲 (Mehgan Murphy)/NZP。

对猎豹种群生殖方面的了解已经取得进展,对猎豹基因物质也制作了生物样本库,这两点意味着,像阿德里安妮这样的史密森尼科学家和我们的国际合作伙伴能够通过重新引入在 10 年、20 年甚至 30 年前死亡的猎豹的基因物质,来增加猎豹种群的生物多样性。  

自 2002 年以来,阿德里安妮一直在培训当地纳米比亚人如何采集猎豹的生物样本,并将样本存入生物样本库进行冷冻以供未来使用。  如今,在纳米比亚已经存储了数百个猎豹基因物质样本,这些样本可用于恢复野生猎豹,并将生物多样性重新引入猎豹种群。

雌性猎豹胚胎。 
 照片来源:皮埃尔•科米佐利 (Pierre Comizzoli)、CCF 及史密森尼/NZP
雌性猎豹胚胎。 照片来源:史密森尼博物院。

现在,阿德里安妮的研究侧重于年长的雌性猎豹的生殖生理学。  雌性猎豹的生殖周期不规律,科学家们并不知道如何操控雌性猎豹激素以增强其生殖能力。  由于猎豹栖息地面临着威胁,猎豹的自然猎物群也在减少,阿德里安妮的研究对于保护猎豹种群至关重要。  

Cheetah cubs. Photo credit NZP.
Cheetah cubs. Photo credit NZP.

阿德里安妮和她的团队将无法繁殖后代的年长的雌性猎豹的卵子制作成生物样本库,之后成功将这些卵子移植到代孕妈妈体内,从而将这些基因特质重新引入母体。

阿德里安妮将自己的生殖健康研究与其他 SCBI 自然保护生物学家针对猎豹健康、疾病和遗传学进行的研究结合起来,以便更好地了解野生猎豹及在人类呵护下的猎豹所面临的威胁。  阿德里安妮和她的团队通过观察猎豹在人类呵护下的繁殖过程,能够进一步探究如何更好地保护猎豹栖息地,以鼓励和支持猎豹种群。

请深入了解我们: 利用生殖科学拯救猎豹
关闭

Smithsonian cheetah biologist Adrienne Crosier works with the Cheetah Conservation Fund (CCF) in Namibia from her lab at the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI) in Front Royal, Virginia. With her partners, she studies how cheetahs reproduce in order to create new technologies to improve cheetah reproduction in human care. As a result of this work, there are now hundreds of samples of genetic material banked to help restore cheetahs to the wild and reintroduce genetic diversity to the cheetah population. Adrienne’s research at SCBI increases our understanding of cheetah biology, better equipping conservation biologists to save cheetahs from extinction.  

Cheetahs are the fastest land animals in the world. They are also the most endangered African cat. Growing human populations and the breakdown of their habitats threaten cheetah populations from Namibia to Iran. In 1900, almost 100,000 cheetahs roamed freely from the southernmost tip of Africa all the way to Persia. Today, there are between 10,000 and 12,000 cheetahs worldwide, including in the wild and in human care.

Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution.
Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution.

The largest cheetah populations live in the southwestern Africa countries of Botswana, Zambia, and Namibia, where the CCF is working to protect the world’s remaining cheetahs. Smithsonian Cheetah biologist Adrienne Crosier works from her lab at SCBI to study how cheetahs reproduce and create new technologies to better breed cheetahs in human care. 

Compared to other animals, cheetahs have a very low genetic diversity. About 12,000 years ago, a mass extinction event eliminated 75 percent of the world’s large mammal species. A few cheetahs survived this event, and all cheetahs today are descended from this small group. 

The reduction in cheetah genetic diversity from this mass extinction event, called a “population bottleneck,” means that cheetahs are particularly vulnerable to environmental changes in their habitats and face significant challenges to reproduction.

Cheetah cubs. Photo credit Mehgan Murphy/NZP.
Cheetah cubs. Photo credit Mehgan Murphy/NZP.

Advances in reproductive understanding of cheetah populations, combined with biobanking of cheetah genetic material, mean that Smithsonian scientists like Adrienne and our international partners can increase the genetic diversity of the cheetah population by reintroducing genetic material from cheetahs who died 10, 20, or even 30 years ago.  

Since 2002, Adrienne has worked to train local Namibians how to collect biological samples from cheetahs and “bank” them in a biobank repository where they are frozen for future use. There are now hundreds of samples of cheetah genetic material banked in Namibia, which can be used to restore cheetahs to the wild and to reintroduce genetic diversity to the cheetah population.

Female cheetah embryo. Photo credit Pierre Comizzoli, CCF, and Smithsonian/NZP.
Female cheetah embryo. Photo credit Pierre Comizzoli, CCF, and Smithsonian/NZP.

Today Adrienne’s research focuses on the reproductive physiology of older female cheetahs. Female cheetahs have irregular reproductive cycles and scientists don’t really know how to manipulate female cheetah hormones to increase reproductive ability. Because cheetah habitats are threatened and their natural prey base is decreasing, Adrienne’s research is critical to preserving cheetah populations.  

Cheetah cubs. Photo credit NZP.
Cheetah cubs. Photo credit NZP.

By biobanking the eggs of older female cheetahs unable to have offspring, Adrienne and her team can later fertilize and implant these eggs into surrogates, thereby reintroducing those genetic traits into the general population.

Adrienne combines her research in reproductive health with the research of other SCBI conservation biologists on cheetah health, disease, and genetics to better understand the threats to cheetahs in the wild and in human care. By observing how cheetahs reproduce in human care, Adrienne and her team can explore how we can better preserve cheetah habitats to encourage and support cheetah populations.

Close