تتناثر الأعمدة الحجرية الطويلة في السهل المنغولي. ثمة أشكال غزلان راكضة وأفكار رسومية منقوشة على الأحجار، يمكن أن يصل ارتفاعها حتى 12 قدمًا. تُمثل "أحجار الغزلان" هذه تراث ثقافي ملموس للمنغوليين الأوائل حيث تخبرنا بقصص الرعاة القدماء والمحاربين البدويين. لقد اختفى الأشخاص الذين قاموا بتشييد هذه الأحجار بمرور الوقت وظهرت ثقافات رعي الرنات بين الأشخاص الذين يعيشون في الغابات وفي غابات التايغا بشمال منغوليا. قد يكون الأشخاص المنتمون إلى قبيلة الدوخا, المعروفين في الغالب باسم التساتان من نسل رعاة غزال الرنة الأسلاف. يُعد هذا المجتمع الذي يتكون من 40 عائلة فقط في الوقت الراهن هم آخر رعاة الرنات في منغوليا وفي أقصى جنوب العالم كذلك.

أطفال تساتان يمتطون الرنة في المراعي المنحدرة، ساريج غول، شمال منغوليا، أغسطس 2003. 
صورة من: 
بولا ديبريست، معهد الحفاظ على المتاحف، مؤسسة سميثسونيان.
أطفال من التساتان على ظهور الرنات في مرعى خريفي، ساريج غول، شمال منغوليا، أغسطس 2003. صورة من: بولا ديبريست، معهد الحفاظ على المتاحف، مؤسسة سميثسونيان.

تُسهم التغيرات المناخية والتطور السريع في تعريض طريقة حياة التساتان وأحجار الغزلان للخطر. يُعد ارتفاع درجات الحرارة وفترات الجفاف الطويلة من التهديدات التي تواجه مراعي الألب ونباتات الأشنة التي تتغذى بها حيوانات الرنة، وبالتالي يؤثر ذلك على سُبل العيش التقليدية للتساتان. يتزايد خطر سرقة التراث الثقافي الملموس مثل أحجار الغزلان نظرًا للفقر المنتشر الذي يُجبر التساتان والمنغولوين البدو على ترك غابات التايغا والسهل والانتقال إلى المراكز الحضرية. ونظرًا لأن أحجار الغزلان توجد في أماكن منعزلة بالسهل المنغولي ودون مراقبة منتظمة، فقد تعرضت للتدمير والتشويه هي وما عليها من زخارف جدارية. تجسد أحجار الغزلان التراث الثقافي المنغولي، إلا أن التدهور البطيء الذي تتعرض له وكذلك التدمير المتعمد يُشكل تهديدًا يمحو هذا التاريخ.

صورة أحجار الغزلان 5 تبين أحد أحجار الغزلان الأنثروبومترية "المنغولية التقليدية" التي تحتوي على قرط يُحيط بأشكال الزقزاق الصياح على الجذع وحزام محارب بأسلحة معلّقة. 
وقد أتلف اللصوص هذا الموقع تلفًا شديدًا فيما بعد. 
صورة من: 
وليام فيتسهيو.
موقع حجر الغزال 5 يعرض حجر غزال أنثروبومتري "منغولي كلاسيكي" به حلقة دائرية، وأشكال غزلان وطيور محيطة على جذع التمثال وحزام محارب به أسلحة معلقة. تعرض هذا الموقع بعد ذلك لتدمير شديد على أيدي السارقين. صورة من: وليام فيتسهيو.

قام فريق من المنغوليين وعلماء الأنثروبولوجيا والآثار والمعنيين بعمليات الحفظ وعلماء النباتات العرقية والفنيين بالتنقيب عن أحجار الغزلان في شمال منغوليا ومسحها وتصنيفها، وعملوا في سباق مع الزمن وقاوموا أضرار المناخ المنغولي من أجل توثيق أحجار الغزلان ودعم مجتمعات التساتان والمنغوليين الذين يتولون مهام مراقبة تلك الأحجار.

أحجار الغزلان هي من أكثر المظاهر المذهلة لفن العصر البرونزي المتأخر (1400-700 قبل الميلاد) في أي مكان بالعالم. فلقد اشتقوا أسماء تلك الأحجار من التصميمات المعقدة للغزلان القافزة المنحوتة عبر أسطحها، وهي تحمل دلالات على وجود القدماء في آسيا الوسطى وربما حتى الأمريكيتين. إن مشروع أحجار الغزلان الذي يتولى إدارته عالم الأنثروبولوجيا بمؤسسة سميثسونيان ومدير برنامج دراسات المنطقة القطبية الشمالية في المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي وليام فيتسهيو، يركز على دراسة هذه الأحجار لمعرفة المزيد عن كيفية انتشار القدماء في آسيا الوسطى وسيبيريا والمنطقة القطبية الشمالية، وكيف يُشكل التغير المناخي تهديدًا على التراث الثقافي المنغولي في الوقت الراهن.

بور هوجيريين غول. 
نجم عن أعمال التنقيب في موقع أحجار الغزلان استخراج الفحم وأسنان حصان قرباني يعود تاريخه إلى 1000 سنة قبل الميلاد. 
استمر عهد أحجار الغزلان من 1300 إلى 700 قبل الميلاد. 
صورة من: 
وليام فيتسهيو.
Bor Hujiriin Gol. أسفرت عمليات التنقيب في موقع أحجار الغزلان هذا عن استخراج فحم نباتي وأسنان لحصان قربان يعود تاريخه إلى عام 1000 قبل الميلاد. استمر عصر أحجار الغزلان من عام 1300 إلى عام 700 قبل الميلاد. صورة من: وليام فيتسهيو.

نجح المشروع منذ عام 2001 في توثيق ما يزيد عن 550 من أحجار الغزلان في منطقة السهل الشمالي العشبي بمنغوليا. ومن خلال تلقي الدعم من وكالة "Trust for Mutual Understanding" وصندوق البعثات الخاص بالجمعية الجغرافية الوطنية، وصندوق السفراء الخاص بوزارة الخارجية الأمريكية ومؤسسة لوسي، يعمل الباحثون بمؤسسة سميثسونيان مع العلماء والسلطات المنغولية على توثيق هذه المواقع وتسجيل التغييرات التي طرأت على أحجار الغزلان، مع تقديم التوصيات بخصوص الحد من تلك التأثيرات للحفاظ على هذه الآثار. وفي هذا الصدد يصرح بيل قائلاً "إننا نعمل على وصف أحجار الغزلان كي يتسنى للمسؤولين التعرف عليها والعمل على حمايتها". "والأمر الأكثر أهمية أننا نعمل مع المجتمعات المحلية من أجل ربطهم بتلك المواقع وحثهم على حمايتها"

لا يسعى علماء سميثسونيان والعلماء المنغوليين إلى توثيق أحجار الغزلان فقط، فهم يحاولون دراسة النظام البيئي الثقافي بالكامل المتعلق برعي الرنات المنغولية، بدءًا من أحجار الغزلان وحتى ركام الدفن والعلاقات بين الرنات ونباتات الأشنة التي يعتمدون عليها كمصدر للغذاء. وفي ظل توفر خبرات سميثسونيان المتنوعة -بدءًا من علماء الآثار وحتى الخبراء بعلم الأشنات- يعمل فريق المشروع على الصعيد المحلي لتسجيل التراث الثقافي من وجهات نظر متعددة باستخدام مجموعة من التقنيات.

مرشد تساتان أميرجيرال (ويُسمى خالزان) مع الرنة، وادي دارخاد، شمال منغوليا، سبتمبر 2009. 
صورة من: 
بولا ديبريست، معهد الحفاظ على المتاحف، مؤسسة سميثسونيان.
دليل من التساتان أميرجيرال (يُسمى خالزان) مع حيوان الرنة، وادي دارخاد، شمال منغوليا، سبتمبر 2009. صورة من: بولا ديبريست، معهد الحفاظ على المتاحف، مؤسسة سميثسونيان.

قام عالم الأنثروبولوجيا بمؤسسة سميثسونيان برونو فروهليش بشكل دقيق بتوثيق khirigsuurs, وهي عبارة عن ركام موضوع فوق القبور يوجد غالبًا بالقرب من أحجار الغزلان، في عشرات من مواقع الحفر عبر السهل المنغولي. نجح بيل وبرونو والمتخصص في علم البيئة ستيفين يونغ في اكتشاف أوجه التشابه بين أحجار الغزلان والفنون الخاصة بمناطق القطب الشمالي البعيدة تمامًا مثل ألاسكا. وكانت هذه هي المرة الأولى التي يتم فيها استخدام التأريخ بالكربون المشع لأحجار الغزلان والركام الذي يوضع فوق القبور المعروف باسم "khirigsuurs"، مع استخدام أسنان من رؤوس أحصنة مقدمة قرابين وجدوها مدفونة حول الأحجار. وتسنى لهم بهذه الطريقة اكتشاف أن أحجار الغزلان وركام الدفن قد مضى عليها فترة تتراوح بين 3200 و2700 عام، أي قبل 500 عام من توصل الباحثين الأوائل لهذا، مما يشير إلى أن فن أحجار الغزلان سبق فن العصر الحديدي السكوذي الشهير بحوالي 500 عام قبل الميلاد .

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن عالمة النباتات العرقي بمؤسسة سميثسونيان بولا ديبريست تدرس العلاقات بين نباتات الأشنة والمجتمعات التي ترعى حيوانات الرنات. وتعمل بولا مع الرعاة التساتان على استكشاف نباتات الأشنة وتحديد هويتها، كما ترافقهم إلى أماكن ومخيمات بعيدة ومهجورة حيث يتسنى لها الاستماع إلى قصص عن عائلاتهم والتاريخ المجتمعي. ومنذ عام 2002، عمدت بولا إلى استكشاف النباتات والمناظر الطبيعية ودور العبادة التي تتعلق بالهجرة البدوية السنوية للتساتان في مناطق الرعي الخاصة بالرنات بشمال منغوليا. كما تسنى لها من خلال السفر على ظهر حصان مع فريق أدلة من التساتان استكشاف آلاف الكيلومترات المربعة من غابات التايغا في جبال سايان والمراعي في وادي دارخاد. يركز بحثها على عناصر العبادة لدى الأسلاف، الشامانية، والبوذية فيما يتعلق بطقوس العبادة التي تُمارس في الأجواء الطبيعية في المجتمعات القاطنة على طول المناطق الحدودية المنغولية من خلال فحص هذه المواقع والأشكال والآثار في أكثر من 150 دار للعبادة مع توثيق ذلك.

بولا ديبريست يمتطي ظهر حصان مع مرشدي تساتان من الشباب، وادي دارخاد، شمال منغوليا، أغسطس 2010. 
صورة من: 
بولا ديبريست، معهد الحفاظ على المتاحف، مؤسسة سميثسونيان.
بولا ديبريست تمتطي ظهر حصان وبرفقتها أدلة من شبان التساتان، وادي دارخاد، شمال منغوليا، أغسطس 2010. صورة من: بولا ديبريست، معهد الحفاظ على المتاحف، مؤسسة سميثسونيان.

وفي أغسطس 2012، لاحظت بولا وجود عملية سرقة كبيرة في موقع أولان تولوجي الذي يتضمن ركام للقبور وأحجار غزلان. لقد استطاعت بولا رصد مدى السرقة التي تعرض لها الموقع استنادًا إلى الوثائق التي أعدها علماء سميثسونيان راي بيوبين وميل واكوويك وفيكي كاراس على مدار سنوات من خلال المسح الرقمي للأحجار في الموقع على مدار ساعات. وبعد أن قدمت للحكومة الإقليمية الصور التي تثبت مدى الدمار الذي تعرض له الموقع، عملت الحكومة على إعادة تجديد الموقع في غضون عام من سرقته وبناء جدار واقي حوله.

حجر الغزلان 4 في أولان تولجوي يوضح صورة التحول البارز لحيوان أيل يقفز أو يحلق ذي قرون حلزونية ورأس طائر ذي منقار طويل. 
وقد كشفت عمليات التنقيب حوله عن عمليات دفن قربانية لرأس حصان. 
صورة من: 
وليام فيتسهيو.
حجر الغزلان 4 في أولان تولجوي يوضح صورة التحول البارز لحيوان أيل يقفز أو يحلق ذي قرون حلزونية ورأس طائر ذي منقار طويل. وقد كشفت عمليات التنقيب حوله عن عمليات دفن قربانية لرأس حصان. صورة من: وليام فيتسهيو.

ويعمل فريق المشروع في الوقت الراهن مع الزملاء في أولان باتور على تجميع أعمال هذا البحث والوثائق في فهرس جديد خاص بالتراث الثقافي المنغولي، والربط بين الوثائق المعتمدة على المواقع الأثرية والتقارير الميدانية الإثنونباتية والصور الرقمية للأحجار - بما في ذلك مئات من عمليات المسح الرقمية ثلاثية الأبعاد - والمسوحات الميدانية في قاعدة بيانات افتراضية للتراث الثقافي المسند جغرافيًا. ستكون قاعدة البيانات هذه من المصادر التي يتسنى من خلالها مواجهة أنشطة الاتجار غير المشروعة في التراث الثقافي والحفاظ على أحجار الغزلان والثقافة المنغولية للأجيال القادمة. وعلى مدار ما يزيد عن عقد من الزمان من الأعمال الميدانية والمشاركات عبر التخصصات المختلفة، يتسنى لمشروع أحجار الغزلان إظهار الطريقة التي يتسنى بها للباحثين العمل مع المجتمعات المحلية من أجل دعم جهود استعادة التراث الثقافي والحفاظ عليه.

إغلاق

Tall pillars of stone dot the Mongolian steppe. Running deer and graphic motifs are etched into the stones, which may rise up to twelve feet in height. Telling the stories of ancient herding peoples and nomadic warriors, these “deer stones” represent the tangible cultural heritage of early Mongolians. Over time the people who erected these deer stones disappeared and reindeer herding cultures emerged among the forest and taiga peoples of northern Mongolia. The Dukha people, commonly known in Mongolia as the Tsaatan, may be the descendants of these ancestral reindeer herders. A community of only 40 families today, they are the last reindeer herders of Mongolia and the southernmost reindeer herders in the world.

Tsaatan children riding reindeer in the fall pasture, Sarig gol, northern Mongolia, August 2003. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.
Tsaatan children riding reindeer in the fall pasture, Sarig gol, northern Mongolia, August 2003. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.

Climate change and rapid modernization are threatening both the Tsaatan way of life and the deer stones. Warming temperatures and extended droughts are threatening the alpine and lichen pastures where reindeer feed, and consequently, the traditional livelihoods of the Tsaatan. As poverty forces Tsaatan and nomadic Mongolians from the taiga and steppe to urban centers, looting of tangible cultural heritage such as deer stones is on the rise. Isolated on the Mongolian steppe, without regular monitoring, deer stones have been toppled and defaced with graffiti. Deer stones embody Mongolian cultural heritage, but slow degradation and deliberate destruction are threatening to erase this history.

Deer Stone 5 illustrates a ‘Classic Mongolian’ anthropometric deer stone with its ear-ring, encircling deer-bird figures on the torso, and warrior’s belt with hanging weapons. Later this site was heavily damaged by looters. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.
Deer Stone 5 illustrates a ‘Classic Mongolian’ anthropometric deer stone with its ear-ring, encircling deer-bird figures on the torso, and warrior’s belt with hanging weapons. Later this site was heavily damaged by looters. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.

A team of Mongolian and Smithsonian anthropologists, archaeologists, conservators, ethnobotanists, and technicians have been excavating, scanning, and cataloguing deer stones across northern Mongolia, working against time and the ravages of the Mongolian climate to document deer stones and support the Tsaatan and Mongolian communities who watch over them.

Deer stones are some of the most spectacular expressions of Late Bronze Age (1400-700 BCE) art anywhere in the world. They take their name from the intricate designs of jumping deer carved across their surfaces, and hold clues to the spread of ancient peoples across Central Asia and perhaps even to the Americas. Led by Smithsonian anthropologist and director of the Arctic Studies Program at the National Museum of Natural History William Fitzhugh, the Deer Stone Project is studying these megaliths to learn more about how peoples of the past spread across Central Asia, Siberia, and the Arctic, and how climate change is threatening Mongolian cultural heritage today.

Bor Hujiriin Gol. Excavations at this deer stone site produced charcoal and teeth from sacrificed horse dating to 1000 B.C.E. The deer stone era lasted from 1300-700 B.C.E. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.
Bor Hujiriin Gol. Excavations at this deer stone site produced charcoal and teeth from sacrificed horse dating to 1000 B.C.E. The deer stone era lasted from 1300-700 B.C.E. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.

Since 2001, the Deer Stone Project has documented more than 550 deer stones in Mongolia’s grassy northern steppe region. With support from the Trust for Mutual Understanding, National Geographic Society’s Expedition Fund, the U.S. Department of State’s Ambassador’s Fund, and the Luce Foundation, Smithsonian researchers are working with Mongolian scholars and authorities to document these sites and record changes to deer stones, recommending mitigating steps to preserve these artifacts. “We are describing deer stones so that officials can recognize and work to protect them,” Bill said. “Most importantly, we are working with local communities to connect them with and encourage them to protect the sites.”

Smithsonian and Mongolian scientists aren’t only documenting deer stones. They are studying the entire cultural ecosystem of Mongolian reindeer herding, from deer stones, to burial mounds, to the relationships between the reindeer and the lichens they depend on for food. Harnessing Smithsonian expertise from diverse fields—from archaeology to lichenology—the project team is working locally to capture this cultural heritage from many perspectives using a range of technologies.

Tsaatan guide Amerjeral (called Khalzan) with reindeer, Darkhad Valley, northern Mongolia, September 2009. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.
Tsaatan guide Amerjeral (called Khalzan) with reindeer, Darkhad Valley, northern Mongolia, September 2009. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.

Smithsonian anthropologist Bruno Frohlich has meticulously documented khirigsuurs, the burial mounds often located next to deer stones, at dozens of dig sites across the Mongolian steppe. Bill, Bruno, and ecologist Steven Young have discovered similarities between deer stones and art from arctic regions as far away as Alaska. They were the first to apply radiocarbon dating to deer stones and khirigsuurs, using teeth from the heads of sacrificed horses they found buried around the stones. With this method, they found that deer stones and khirigsuur burials date from 3200-2700 years ago, 500 years earlier than earlier researchers believed, making deer stone art a precursor of the famous Scythian Iron Age art style of ca. 500 BCE.

Smithsonian ethnobotanist Paula De Priest is studying the relationships between lichens and reindeer herding communities. She works with Tsaatan herders to discover and identify lichens, and accompanies them to remote and abandoned places and camps where she hears stories about their families and communal history. Since 2002, Paula has been exploring the plants, landscapes, and worship structures that comprise Tsaatan annual nomadic migration in the reindeer herding regions of northern Mongolia. Traveling with a team of Tsaatan guides, she has explored thousands of square kilometers of Sayan Mountain taiga and Darkhad Valley pastures on horseback. By examining and documenting the locations, forms, and artifacts of over 150 worship structures, her research looks for elements of ancestor worship, shamanism, and Buddhism in the landscape-related worship traditions of the communities along Mongolia’s border regions.

Paula DePriest on horseback with young Tsaatan guides, Darkhad Valley, northern Mongolia, August 2010. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.
Paula DePriest on horseback with young Tsaatan guides, Darkhad Valley, northern Mongolia, August 2010. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.

In August 2012, Paula noticed extensive looting at Ulaan Tolgoi, a khirigsuur and deer stone site. She was able to monitor the extent of the looting, drawing on the documentation that Smithsonian scientists Rae Beaubien, Mel Wachowiak, and Vicki Karas have made over many years by digitally scanning stones for hours in the field. After she showed photos documenting the damage to the provincial government, the government restored the site within a year of its looting and built a protective fence surrounding the site.

Ulaan Tolgoi Deer Stone 4 shows the iconic transformation image of a leaping or flying stag with scrolling antlers but with the head of a long-billed bird. Excavations around it revealed sacrificial horse head burials. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.
Ulaan Tolgoi Deer Stone 4 shows the iconic transformation image of a leaping or flying stag with scrolling antlers but with the head of a long-billed bird. Excavations around it revealed sacrificial horse head burials. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.

Today the project is working with colleagues in Ulaanbaatar to compile this research and documentation into a new catalogue of Mongolian cultural heritage, connecting documentation from archaeological sites, ethnobotanical field reports, digital images of the stones—including hundreds of 3D digital scans—and site surveys into a new virtual database of georeferenced cultural heritage. This will be a resource to combat trafficking in cultural heritage and preserve deer stones and Mongolian culture for posterity. Through more than a decade of engagement and fieldwork across many different disciplines, the Deer Stone Project is demonstrating how researchers can work with local communities to support the restoration and preservation of cultural heritage.

Close