在这片蒙古大草原上,密密麻麻地分布着许多高大的石柱子。 鹿石上面蚀刻着奔跑中的鹿和图形图案,最高者可达 12 英尺。 这些“鹿石”向人们述说着古老的放牧民族和游牧民族勇士的故事,代表着早期蒙古人的有形文化遗产。 随着时间的推移,竖立鹿石的人不在了,于是蒙古国北部的森林、针叶林民族出现了驯鹿放牧文化。 杜克哈 (Dukha)在蒙古国常称为查坦族 (Tsaatan),他们可能就是这些驯鹿牧民祖先的后代。 如今,这一群落只有 40 户家庭,他们是蒙古国最后一批驯鹿牧民,也是世界最南部的驯鹿牧民。

2003 年 8 月,在蒙古国北部萨瑞格古尔 (Sarig gol),查坦儿童正在秋季牧场上骑着驯鹿。 
照片来源: 
史密森尼博物院博物馆保护研究所 (Museum Conservation Institute) 葆拉•德普瑞斯特。
2003 年 8 月,在蒙古国北部萨瑞格古尔 (Sarig gol),查坦儿童正在秋季牧场上骑驯鹿。 照片来源: 史密森尼博物院博物馆保护研究所 (Museum Conservation Institute) 保拉•德普瑞斯特 (Paula DePriest)。

气候变化和快速现代化正威胁着查坦族的生活方式和鹿石。 气温升高和持续干旱正威胁着驯鹿赖以生存的高山和地衣牧场,因而也威胁着查坦人的传统生计。 贫困迫使查坦和游牧民族蒙古人从针叶林和草原迁移到城市中心,抢劫鹿石等有形文化遗产的现象逐渐攀升。 鹿石在蒙古草原上,几乎与世隔绝,加之没有定期监测,变得摇摇欲坠,涂鸦遍布。 鹿石是蒙古文化遗产的具体表达,但缓慢的退化和蓄意的破坏却正威胁着要抹去这段历史。

5 号鹿石展示的是一个“传统蒙古族”人体测量学鹿石,上面刻有耳环,中间部位环绕着各种鹿鸟图案,战士的腰带上悬挂着武器。 
后来,这处遗址遭到劫掠者的严重破坏。 
照片来源: 
威廉•菲茨休 (William Fitzhugh)。
5 号鹿石展示的是一个“蒙古传统”人体测量学鹿石,上面刻有耳环,中间部位有各种鹿鸟图案环绕,战士的腰带上系挂着武器。 后来,这处遗址遭到劫掠者的严重破坏。 照片来源: 威廉·菲茨休 (William Fitzhugh)。

由来自蒙古国和史密森尼的人类学家、考古学家、文物保护人员、民族植物学家及技术人员组成的小组一直致力于挖掘、扫描和记录整个蒙古国北部的鹿石,尽管遭到了蒙古国气候的破坏,他们仍争分夺秒地对这些鹿石进行记录,并为看守它们的查坦和蒙古群落提供支持。

鹿石是青铜时代晚期(Late Bronze Age,公元前 1,400 年 - 公元前 700 年)世界各地最壮观的艺术表现形式之一。 鹿石表面上雕刻着复杂的图案,里面画着跳跃中的鹿像,鹿石正得名于此,此外,它对整个中亚乃至美洲地区古代民族的分布情况也能够提供一定线索。 在史密森尼人类学家兼国立自然历史博物馆主任威廉•菲茨休 (William Fitzhugh) 的领导下,鹿石项目目前正对这些巨石展开深入研究,希望能够了解更多关于过去中亚、西伯利亚和北极各个民族的分布情况,以及气候变化对当今蒙古国文化遗产的威胁。

Bor Hujiriin Gol。 
在这处鹿石遗址挖出了祭祀马匹身上的炭灰和牙齿,可以追溯到公元前 1000 年。 
鹿石时代从公元前 1300 年一直持续到公元前 700 年。 
照片来源: 
威廉•菲茨休 (William Fitzhugh)。
Bor Hujiriin Gol。 在这处鹿石遗址挖出了祭祀马匹身上的炭灰和牙齿,可以追溯到公元前 1000 年。 鹿石时代从公元前 1300 年一直持续到公元前 700 年。 照片来源: 威廉·菲茨休 (William Fitzhugh)。

自 2001 起,鹿石项目已对位于蒙古国北部草原区 550 多块鹿石进行了记录。 在互信组织 (Trust for Mutual Understanding)、国家地理学会 (National Geographic Society) 考察基金 (Expedition Fund)、美国 国务院 (U.S.Department of State) 大使基金 (Ambassador’s Fund) 、路斯基金会 (Luce Foundation) 等的大力支持下,史密森尼的研究人员与蒙古国的学者和相关部门积极合作,共同对这些遗址及鹿石的变化进行记录,同时推荐一些保护这些文物的缓解措施。 “我们对鹿石进行记述,是为了让官员们承认它们,并采取措施保护它们,” 比尔说。 “最重要的是,我们正与当地社区密切合作,希望能将他们与这些遗址联系起来,并鼓励他们采取保护措施。”

史密森尼和蒙古国的科学家并不仅仅是在记录鹿石。 他们还在研究蒙古国驯鹿放牧的整个文化生态系统,从鹿石到坟丘,再到驯鹿与它们赖以生存的地衣之间的联系等等,不一而足。 项目团队充分发挥史密森尼在考古学、地衣学等各个领域的专长,利用各种各样的技术,从多个视角出发,在当地积极行动,让这一文化传统留存下来。

2009 年 9 月,查坦向导 Amerjeral(又叫 Khalzan)在蒙古国北部达哈德山谷 (Darkhad Valley)。 
照片来源: 
史密森尼博物院博物馆保护研究所 (Museum Conservation Institute) 葆拉•德普瑞斯特 (Paula DePriest)。
2009 年 9 月,查坦向导 Amerjeral(又叫 Khalzan)在蒙古国北部达哈德山谷。 照片来源: 史密森尼博物院博物馆保护研究所 (Museum Conservation Institute) 保拉•德普瑞斯特 (Paula DePriest)。

史密森尼人类学家布鲁诺•弗罗利希 (Bruno Frohlich) 对蒙古大草原上十几个挖掘遗址中的khirigsuur(常见于鹿石旁边的坟丘)进行了详细具体的记录。 比尔、布鲁诺和经济学家斯蒂文杨 (Steven Young) 发现,鹿石和远至阿拉斯加的北极地区的艺术品有相似之处。 他们是第一批运用放射性碳测定鹿石和 khirigsuur 的年代的人,测定中使用的是埋在鹿石周围的祭祀马匹头部的牙齿。 通过这种方法,他们发现,鹿石和 khirigsuur 坟丘起源于 3200 到 2700 年前,比早期研究人员们所认为的早了 500 年,这也使得鹿石艺术品成为了约公元前 500 年著名的塞西亚铁器时代艺术风格的先驱。

史密森尼民族植物学家保拉•德普瑞斯特 (Paula De Priest) 正潜心研究地衣和驯鹿放牧群落之间的关系。 她和查坦牧民们一起探索和识别地衣,并随他们来到偏远荒芜之地及他们安营扎营的地方,听他们讲述自己的家族和公社历史的故事。 自 2002 年以来,保拉一直都在研究各种植物、地貌和敬拜结构,包括蒙古国北部驯鹿放牧地区查坦游牧民族年复一年的迁移过程。 她与一支查坦向导队一起骑马穿越成千上万平方公里的萨彦岭山和达哈德山谷牧场,一路上边走边进行探索研究。 她在研究过程中,对 150 多种敬拜结构的位置、形式和文物进行了调查和记录,在蒙古国边境地区群落与地貌相关的敬拜传统中寻找祖先敬拜、萨满教、佛教元素。

2010 年 8 月,在蒙古国北部达哈德山谷 (Darkhad Valley),骑在马背上的葆拉•德普瑞斯特 (Paula DePriest) 与年轻的查坦向导们。 
照片来源: 
史密森尼博物院博物馆保护研究所 (Museum Conservation Institute) 葆拉•德普瑞斯特 (Paula DePriest)。
2010 年 8 月,在蒙古国北部达哈德山谷 (Darkhad Valley),骑在马背上的保拉•德普瑞斯特与年轻的查坦向导们。 照片来源: 史密森尼博物院博物馆保护研究所 (Museum Conservation Institute) 保拉•德普瑞斯特 (Paula DePriest)。

2012 年 8 月,保拉发现乌兰陶勒盖 (Ulaan Tolgoi)——一处 khirigsuur 及鹿石遗址——遭到大范围劫掠。 根据瑞伊•波比安 (Rae Beaubien)、梅尔•瓦希欧韦克 (Mel Wachowiak) 和维姬•卡拉斯 (Vicki Karas) 三位史密森尼科学家多年来所作的文字记录,她通过对鹿石进行数小时的电子扫描,能够监测劫掠的程度。 他向省政府展示了证明此处遗址遭到劫掠损坏的照片,之后政府在一年内完成了修复工作,并在遗址附近修建了防护围栏。

乌兰陶勒盖 (Ulaan Tolgoi) 4 号鹿石展示的是一头跳跃或飞行的雄鹿,它的鹿角卷曲,但是它的头看起来像长喙鸟。 
在它周围挖掘出了祭祀用的马头。 
照片来源: 
威廉•菲茨休 (William Fitzhugh)。
乌兰陶勒盖 (Ulaan Tolgoi) 4 号鹿石展示的是一头跳跃或飞行的雄鹿,它的鹿角卷曲,但是它的头看起来像长喙鸟。 在它周围挖掘出了祭祀用的马头。 照片来源: 威廉•菲茨休 (William Fitzhugh)。

如今,该项目正与乌兰巴托的同事合作,将本次研究及记录写入新的蒙古国文化遗产目录中,且正将考古遗址记录、民族植物学实地研究报告、这些石头的数字图像(包括数百张 3D 数码扫描)以及现场调查整合到新的文化遗产虚拟数据库中。 这将是一项可用于打击文化遗产非法交易和为子孙后代保护鹿石及蒙古文化的资源。 经过多个不同的学科多年来的参与和实地调查,鹿石项目正向人们证明,研究人员如何与地方社区共同支持文化遗产的修复和保护工作。 通过十多年的跨学科参与和实地工作,鹿石项目如今正在展示着研究人员如何与当地社区合作,支持恢复和保护文化遗产。

关闭

Tall pillars of stone dot the Mongolian steppe. Running deer and graphic motifs are etched into the stones, which may rise up to twelve feet in height. Telling the stories of ancient herding peoples and nomadic warriors, these “deer stones” represent the tangible cultural heritage of early Mongolians. Over time the people who erected these deer stones disappeared and reindeer herding cultures emerged among the forest and taiga peoples of northern Mongolia. The Dukha people, commonly known in Mongolia as the Tsaatan, may be the descendants of these ancestral reindeer herders. A community of only 40 families today, they are the last reindeer herders of Mongolia and the southernmost reindeer herders in the world.

Tsaatan children riding reindeer in the fall pasture, Sarig gol, northern Mongolia, August 2003. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.
Tsaatan children riding reindeer in the fall pasture, Sarig gol, northern Mongolia, August 2003. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.

Climate change and rapid modernization are threatening both the Tsaatan way of life and the deer stones. Warming temperatures and extended droughts are threatening the alpine and lichen pastures where reindeer feed, and consequently, the traditional livelihoods of the Tsaatan. As poverty forces Tsaatan and nomadic Mongolians from the taiga and steppe to urban centers, looting of tangible cultural heritage such as deer stones is on the rise. Isolated on the Mongolian steppe, without regular monitoring, deer stones have been toppled and defaced with graffiti. Deer stones embody Mongolian cultural heritage, but slow degradation and deliberate destruction are threatening to erase this history.

Deer Stone 5 illustrates a ‘Classic Mongolian’ anthropometric deer stone with its ear-ring, encircling deer-bird figures on the torso, and warrior’s belt with hanging weapons. Later this site was heavily damaged by looters. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.
Deer Stone 5 illustrates a ‘Classic Mongolian’ anthropometric deer stone with its ear-ring, encircling deer-bird figures on the torso, and warrior’s belt with hanging weapons. Later this site was heavily damaged by looters. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.

A team of Mongolian and Smithsonian anthropologists, archaeologists, conservators, ethnobotanists, and technicians have been excavating, scanning, and cataloguing deer stones across northern Mongolia, working against time and the ravages of the Mongolian climate to document deer stones and support the Tsaatan and Mongolian communities who watch over them.

Deer stones are some of the most spectacular expressions of Late Bronze Age (1400-700 BCE) art anywhere in the world. They take their name from the intricate designs of jumping deer carved across their surfaces, and hold clues to the spread of ancient peoples across Central Asia and perhaps even to the Americas. Led by Smithsonian anthropologist and director of the Arctic Studies Program at the National Museum of Natural History William Fitzhugh, the Deer Stone Project is studying these megaliths to learn more about how peoples of the past spread across Central Asia, Siberia, and the Arctic, and how climate change is threatening Mongolian cultural heritage today.

Bor Hujiriin Gol. Excavations at this deer stone site produced charcoal and teeth from sacrificed horse dating to 1000 B.C.E. The deer stone era lasted from 1300-700 B.C.E. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.
Bor Hujiriin Gol. Excavations at this deer stone site produced charcoal and teeth from sacrificed horse dating to 1000 B.C.E. The deer stone era lasted from 1300-700 B.C.E. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.

Since 2001, the Deer Stone Project has documented more than 550 deer stones in Mongolia’s grassy northern steppe region. With support from the Trust for Mutual Understanding, National Geographic Society’s Expedition Fund, the U.S. Department of State’s Ambassador’s Fund, and the Luce Foundation, Smithsonian researchers are working with Mongolian scholars and authorities to document these sites and record changes to deer stones, recommending mitigating steps to preserve these artifacts. “We are describing deer stones so that officials can recognize and work to protect them,” Bill said. “Most importantly, we are working with local communities to connect them with and encourage them to protect the sites.”

Smithsonian and Mongolian scientists aren’t only documenting deer stones. They are studying the entire cultural ecosystem of Mongolian reindeer herding, from deer stones, to burial mounds, to the relationships between the reindeer and the lichens they depend on for food. Harnessing Smithsonian expertise from diverse fields—from archaeology to lichenology—the project team is working locally to capture this cultural heritage from many perspectives using a range of technologies.

Tsaatan guide Amerjeral (called Khalzan) with reindeer, Darkhad Valley, northern Mongolia, September 2009. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.
Tsaatan guide Amerjeral (called Khalzan) with reindeer, Darkhad Valley, northern Mongolia, September 2009. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.

Smithsonian anthropologist Bruno Frohlich has meticulously documented khirigsuurs, the burial mounds often located next to deer stones, at dozens of dig sites across the Mongolian steppe. Bill, Bruno, and ecologist Steven Young have discovered similarities between deer stones and art from arctic regions as far away as Alaska. They were the first to apply radiocarbon dating to deer stones and khirigsuurs, using teeth from the heads of sacrificed horses they found buried around the stones. With this method, they found that deer stones and khirigsuur burials date from 3200-2700 years ago, 500 years earlier than earlier researchers believed, making deer stone art a precursor of the famous Scythian Iron Age art style of ca. 500 BCE.

Smithsonian ethnobotanist Paula De Priest is studying the relationships between lichens and reindeer herding communities. She works with Tsaatan herders to discover and identify lichens, and accompanies them to remote and abandoned places and camps where she hears stories about their families and communal history. Since 2002, Paula has been exploring the plants, landscapes, and worship structures that comprise Tsaatan annual nomadic migration in the reindeer herding regions of northern Mongolia. Traveling with a team of Tsaatan guides, she has explored thousands of square kilometers of Sayan Mountain taiga and Darkhad Valley pastures on horseback. By examining and documenting the locations, forms, and artifacts of over 150 worship structures, her research looks for elements of ancestor worship, shamanism, and Buddhism in the landscape-related worship traditions of the communities along Mongolia’s border regions.

Paula DePriest on horseback with young Tsaatan guides, Darkhad Valley, northern Mongolia, August 2010. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.
Paula DePriest on horseback with young Tsaatan guides, Darkhad Valley, northern Mongolia, August 2010. Photo credit: Paula DePriest, Museum Conservation Institute, Smithsonian Institution.

In August 2012, Paula noticed extensive looting at Ulaan Tolgoi, a khirigsuur and deer stone site. She was able to monitor the extent of the looting, drawing on the documentation that Smithsonian scientists Rae Beaubien, Mel Wachowiak, and Vicki Karas have made over many years by digitally scanning stones for hours in the field. After she showed photos documenting the damage to the provincial government, the government restored the site within a year of its looting and built a protective fence surrounding the site.

Ulaan Tolgoi Deer Stone 4 shows the iconic transformation image of a leaping or flying stag with scrolling antlers but with the head of a long-billed bird. Excavations around it revealed sacrificial horse head burials. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.
Ulaan Tolgoi Deer Stone 4 shows the iconic transformation image of a leaping or flying stag with scrolling antlers but with the head of a long-billed bird. Excavations around it revealed sacrificial horse head burials. Photo credit: William Fitzhugh.

Today the project is working with colleagues in Ulaanbaatar to compile this research and documentation into a new catalogue of Mongolian cultural heritage, connecting documentation from archaeological sites, ethnobotanical field reports, digital images of the stones—including hundreds of 3D digital scans—and site surveys into a new virtual database of georeferenced cultural heritage. This will be a resource to combat trafficking in cultural heritage and preserve deer stones and Mongolian culture for posterity. Through more than a decade of engagement and fieldwork across many different disciplines, the Deer Stone Project is demonstrating how researchers can work with local communities to support the restoration and preservation of cultural heritage.

Close