تلعب أقمار أرغوس لتحديد المواقع دورًا في الحياة اليومية للكثيرين سواء كنا ندرك ذلك أم لا، وبدونها لن يتسنى عمل الاتصالات الحديثة، كما إنها تنخرط بشكل متزايد في الدراسات العلمية المهمة. وقد استخدم أحد علماء سميثسونيان إمكانية التعقب التي توفرها هذه الأقمار لتقديم بيانات رئيسية للسياسات البيئية الجديدة في بنما والتي تم تصميمها لحماية الحياة البحرية الحساسة بسواحلها.

ويعد خليج بنما كنزاً بحريًا نادراً بفضل ما يحويه من أسماك وقشريات وطيور. وبفضل وفرة الطعام في هذا الخليج وتوافر سبل الحماية مثل الكهوف المائية والخلجان الصغيرة المتناثرة على طول الخط الساحلي يهاجر إليه نحو 1000 حوت أحدب سنويًا من أماكن بعيدة في أقصى الجنوب مثل القارة القطبية الجنوبية للتزاوج والتكاثر.

هذه المنطقة من أهم طرق الشحن العالمية، وتزداد ازدحامًا يومًا بعد يوم. يعبر الخليج كل عام أكثر من 17000 سفينة تجارية مبحرة إلى قناة بنما أو مرافق الميناء ومغادرة منها. وتؤدي كثافة حركة السير هذه بالإضافة إلى كثرة تجمعات الحيتان إلى حدوث اصطدامات حتمية. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن أكثر من 13 حوتًا قد قتلوا خلال فترة قوامها عامين ونصف العام، بسبب الاصطدام مع سفن شحن عملاقة في المقام الأول.

صورة من: معهد سميثسونيان لأبحاث المناطق الاستوائية، بنما.

يعمل عالم الأحياء البحرية هيكتور إم غوزمان في معهد سميثسونيان للأبحاث الاستوائية على فهم مدى تأثير الأنشطة البشرية على الأجناس البحرية الاستوائية والأنظمة البيئة الحساسة التي تعيش فيها. ويستخدم هيكتور منذ عام 2003 بطاقات تحديد المناطق المتصلة بالأقمار الصناعية لتعقب الحياة البحرية في المسطحات المائية ببنما وباقي بلدان المنطقة. وقد كشفت بطاقات التعقب هذه تفاصيل عن كيفية انتقال الحيتان الحدباء من الخليج إلى مناطق التزاوج في شبه الجزيرة القطبية الجنوبية وتشيلي. وتمكن هيكتور من استخدام هذه البيانات من أجل توفير المعلومات اللازمة لإعداد سياسات حماية بحرية جديدة في بنما.

بدأ هيكتور في تعقب حركة الحيتان منذ عام 2008 للحصول على فهم قوى بخصوص سلوك الحيتان واستخدام الموائل في المنطقة وتفاعلاتهم مع السفن. وقد تمكن هيكتور وفريقه من تحديد هوية أكثر من 300 حوت أحدب مستقل في أرخبيل لاس بيرلاس البنمي، في منتصف الخليج تقريباً جنوب وغرب مدينة بنما تستوطن هذه المنطقة بشكل مؤقت كل عام. واستطاع هيكتور تثبيت بطاقات متصلة بالأقمار الصناعية بـ 60 حوتًا على مدار ستة مواسم من الإكوادور وحتي كوستاريكا من أجل مقارنة حركتها بمسارات سير 1000 سفينة.

هيكتور غوزمان. 
 صورة من: 
 معهد سميثسونيان لأبحاث المناطق الاستوائية، بنما.
هيكتور غوزمان. صورة من: مؤسسة سميثسونيان لأبحاث المناطق الاستوائية، بنما.

وبخصوص البطاقات المتصلة بالأقمار الصناعية يذكر هيكتور "إنها أداة رائعة". "بإمكاني الاتصال ورؤية حيتاني من أي مكان في العالم. لا يمكن مقارنة كمية البيانات التي نتحصل عليها بشكل يومي من خلال هذه البطاقات بما نحصل عليه من المراقبة من قارب أو استخدام مناظير ثنائية العينين من فوق منحدر ما."

وعلى مدار فترة واحدة لا تتجاوز الأسبوعين خاض ما يزيد عن نصف الحيتان الحاملة للبطاقات 98 مواجهة مع 81 سفينة مختلفة. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن معدل المواجهات بين الحيتان الحدباء في موسم التزاوج والسفن لم يكن متوقع على الإطلاق.

هيكتور غوزمان عالم معهد سميثسونيان لأبحاث المناطق الاستوائية، بجانب جثمان حوت ميت بعد اصطدامه مع سفينة أمام مدينة بنما قرب مدخل قناة بنما. 
 صورة من: 
 كارلوس غيفارا
هيكتور غوزمان عالم بمعهد سميثسونيان لأبحاث المناطق الاستوائية، بجانب جثمان حوت ميت بعد اصطدامه مع سفينة أمام مدينة بنما قرب مدخل قناة بنما. صورة من: كارلوس غيفارا

لاحظ هيكتور من خلال تحليل أنماط الحركة التي أظهرتها البطاقات المتصلة بالأقمار الصناعية أنه عندما تشرع أمهات الحيتان وصغارها في الخروج من الخليج لبدء رحلة العودة إلى وطنها الأصلي، تظل الأزواج مقتربة من الخط الساحلي المحمي، بينما تتوجه الحيتان المنفردة مباشرة إلى البحر، بيد أن السفن كانت تستخدم منطقة الخليج بالكامل، مما يزيد من احتمالية حدوث الاصطدامات.

وقد ابتكر هيكتور وفريقه إستراتيجية جديدة لحماية الحيتان بعد معرفة المناطق التي تتردد عليها الحيتان بشكل دوري.

وقد اقترح هيكتور وزميله الكابتن فرناندو خايين من هيئة قناة بنما إنشاء "نظام لفصل الممرات الملاحية" والذي تم تصميمه بعد تنفيذه فعليًا في الولايات المتحدة وأوروبا، يُلزم هذا النظام السفن بالسير على مدار العام في ممرات ملاحية بعرض ميلين منفصلة عن بعضها البعض بمسافة ثلاثة أميال بحرية من المياه المفتوحة. كما ستقلل السفن من سرعتها القصوى إلى 10 عقدات خلال موسم التزاوج من أغسطس إلى نوفمبر. وقد أشارت النماذج التي أعدها هيكتور أن الانخفاض الكبير في المساحة السطحية التي تشغلها السفن في الخليج قد يقلل من الاصطدامات المحتملة بين السفن والحيتان بنسبة 95%.

صورة رسومية لإستراتيجية تفادي الاصطدام بالحيتان 
 صورة من: 
 صورة رسومية من جورج آليمان، معهد سميثسونيان لأبحاث المناطق الاستوائية، بنما.
صورة بيانية لإستراتيجية تفادي الاصطدام بالحيتان. صورة من: صورة بيانية من جورج آليمان، معهد سميثسونيان لأبحاث المناطق الاستوائية، بنما.

وقد ساعد هيكتور الشركاء المحليين في عملية تحويل السياسة إلى قانون موضوع من خلال العمل لفترة تجاوزت الثلاثة سنوات مع السلطة البحرية البنمية وسلطة قناة بنما وغرفة الشحن البنمية. وتم تنفيذ ممرات الشحن البنمية في ديسمبر من عام 2014 بعد اعتمادها من قبل جمهورية بنما وإقرارها من قِبل المنظمة البحرية الدولية.

وفي هذا الصدد يقول هيكتور "إننا لم نهدر جهد دون طائل"، ويضيف أن فكرة وجود مسارات منفصلة لسير السفن تعود إلى السيتينيات من القرن الماضي. "الأمر الجديد الذي فعلناه هو استخدام بيانات الأقمار الصناعية لمعرفة المزيد عن سلوك الحيتان، ثم استخدام ذلك في إعداد سياسة. وقد بذل زميلي فرناندو والحكومة البنمية في هذه العملية جهودًا كبيرة من أجل تنفيذ هذا."

ومن المتوقع أيضا أن تقلل ممرات سير السفن بشكل كبير من احتمالية حدوث اصطدامات بين السفن فضلاً عن انسكاب المواد السامة والحمولات التي تحملها تلك السفن. وفي بنما يعود هذا المنهج المتبع بالنفع بشكل مباشر على العديد من المناطق البحرية المحمية والأراضي الرطبة ومحميات الحياة البرية في خليج بنما، والذي يأتي ضمن قائمة مواقع التراث العالمي التي أقرتها اليونسكو.

لاس بيرلاس، بنما. 
 صورة من: 
 أليخاندرو بالاغوار، ألباتروس ميديا.
لاس بيرلاس، بنما. صورة من: أليخاندرو بالاغوار، ألباتروس ميديا.

وجدير بالذكر أن دول أخري مثل كوستاريكا والمكسيك والسلفادور وكذلك زملاء آخرين معنيين بالعلوم هيكتور للمساعدة في تطوير أنظمة توجيه مماثلة لمناطق سير السفن بها خلال السنوات القادمة. وقد أعربت عدد من الدول بأمريكا الجنوبية والتي تمر بها الحيتان الحدباء ومن بينها الإكوادور وبيرو، عن اهتمامها أيضًا في إضافة هذه الممرات، ويشير هيكتور أنه يأمل في توفير الحماية الكاملة لطريق هجرة الحيتان بالكامل ––مما يوفر إمكانية كبيرة للبحث العلمي الإبداعي يتسنى من خلالها إعداد سياسة عملية ذات آثار بعيدة المدى. 

مقابلة موظفينا: هيكتور غوزمان
إغلاق

Whether we realize it or not, ARGOS positioning satellites play a role in many people’s everyday lives. Without them, modern communication would not be possible, and they’re increasingly put to work in important scientific studies. One Smithsonian scientist used their tracking capability to contribute key data for new environmental policies in Panama designed to protect sensitive marine life off its shores.

Teeming with fish, crustaceans, birds and other sea life, the Gulf of Panama is a rare marine treasure. With easy access to food and protected by the many coves and inlets that dot the coastline, an estimated 1,000 humpback whales convene annually from as far south as Antarctica to breed and give birth.

The area is also one of the great shipping passages of the world, and growing ever busier. More than 17,000 commercial ships cross the gulf each year traveling to and from the Panama Canal and port facilities. That volume of traffic, combined with a high concentration of whales, inevitably leads to collisions. During a period of two and a half years, over 13 whales were killed, most by large shipping vessels.

Credit: Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute.

Based at the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute (STRI) in Panama, marine biologist Hector M. Guzman works to understand how human activity impacts tropical marine species and the sensitive ecosystems they inhabit. Since 2003, Hector has been using satellite-positioning tags to track marine life in the waters around Panama and other countries in the region. These tracking tags revealed details about how humpback whales travel throughout the gulf to their feeding areas in the Antarctic Peninsula and Chile. Hector was able to use those data to inform new marine protection policies in Panama.

Hector started tracking whale movement in 2008 to gain a greater understanding of whale behavior and habitat use in the area and their interactions with ships. In Panama’s Las Perlas Archipelago, nearly in the center of the gulf and south and west of Panama City, Hector and his research team identified more than 300 individual humpback whales that take up temporary residence there every year. Over six seasons, Hector tagged 60 whales from Ecuador to Costa Rica in order to compare their movements with the known courses of 1000 individual ships.

Hector Guzman. Credit: Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute, Panama.
Hector Guzman. Credit: Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute, Panama.

“It is a magic tool,” Hector says of satellite tagging. “From any place I am in the world, I can connect and see my whales. Compared to being in a boat or observing from a cliff with binoculars, there’s no way you can compare the amount of data we are producing on a daily basis.”

During one period, over half of the tagged whales had 98 close encounters with 81 different ships—in just under two weeks. Ships were coming into contact with the breeding humpback whales more often than anyone had recognized.

STRI scientist Hector Guzman with a dead bryde whale struck by a ship in front of Panama City near the entrance to the Panama Canal. Credit: Carlos Guevara
STRI scientist Hector Guzman with a dead bryde whale struck by a ship in front of Panama City near the entrance to the Panama Canal. Credit: Carlos Guevara

Analyzing movement patterns produced by the satellite tags, Hector noted that as mother whales with calves started to move out of the gulf to begin their return migration home, the pairs stayed closer to the protected coastline. Singles tended to head straight out to sea. But ships were using the entire area of the gulf, increasing the chances of collisions.

Armed with this knowledge about the areas whales tended to frequent, Hector and his team came up with a new strategy to give the humpbacks a new layer of protection.

Modeled after a practice already in place in the United States and Europe, Hector and colleague Captain Fernando Jaen from the Panama Canal Authority suggested a “Traffic Separation Scheme,” requiring ships to travel year-round in two-mile-wide lanes separated from each other by three nautical miles of open water. From August through November, during the critical breeding season, ships would also reduce their top speed to 10 knots. Hector’s models predicted that the drastic reduction of surface area the ships could occupy in the gulf could reduce potential whale-ship collisions by as much as 95 percent.

Whale Avoidance Strategy Graphic. Credit: Graphic Credit Jorge Aleman, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute, Panama.
Whale Avoidance Strategy Graphic. Credit: Graphic Credit Jorge Aleman, Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute, Panama.

Working over three years with the Panama Maritime Authority, the Panama Canal Authority, and the Panama Chamber of Shipping, Hector helped local partners steer the policy into law. Approved by the Republic of Panama and adopted by the International Maritime Organization, the Panamanian shipping lanes were implemented in December 2014.

“We didn’t reinvent the wheel,” he notes, adding that the idea of separated shipping lanes has been around since the 1960s. “The novel thing we did was use tagged data to learn more about behavior of whales, and then use that to produce a piece of policy. My colleague Fernando and the Panamanian government were highly engaged to work to make this happen.”

The shipping lanes are also expected to significantly reduce the likelihood of collisions between ships, as well as spills of toxic fuels and cargoes. In Panama, this tactic directly benefits several protected marine areas, wetlands and wildlife sanctuaries in the Gulf of Panama, one of which is a UNESCO World Heritage site.

Las Perlas, Panama. Credit: Alejandro Balaguer, Albatros Media.
Las Perlas, Panama. Credit: Alejandro Balaguer, Albatros Media.

Other nations such as Costa Rica, Mexico, and El Salvador, as well as other scientific colleagues, have invited Hector to assist with developing similar routing systems for their shipping zones in the coming years. Nations including Ecuador and Peru along the South American “humpback highway” have also expressed interest in adding the lanes, and Hector says he hopes the whales’ entire migratory route will eventually have protections in place—groundbreaking potential for creative scientific inquiry to result in practical policy with far-reaching effects. 

Meet our people: Hector Guzman
Close