问题与重要性

过去 10 年里,史密森尼保护生物学研究所 (Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute) 利用专注于低温保存组织、细胞和生殖细胞的现代生殖技术,对于保护珊瑚礁取得了开拓性的科学进展。 这些突破性进展具有给我们的海洋和社会带来巨大益处的潜力。 凭借此新知识,我们现在拥有了可以从实验室推广到世界各地的珊瑚礁的工具!

珊瑚。 照片来源:Abby Wood
珊瑚。 照片来源:Abby Wood

珊瑚礁为海洋中四分之一以上的海洋动物创造栖息地和家园,但世界各地的珊瑚礁正陷于生存危机,75% 的珊瑚礁正濒临灭绝。 世界各地的珊瑚礁正在以空前的速度退化。 就当地而言,珊瑚礁遭到的破坏来自于因落后的土地使用、渔业和采矿业作业方式而产生的污染、营养物和沉积。 就全球而言,与日俱增的温室气体正在使海洋变暖和酸化,使得珊瑚更容易受到压力、漂白和新出现疾病的伤害。 气候变化和人为压力双管齐下,造成了广泛的、公认的珊瑚礁危机,从而必须立即采取决定性的保护行动以拯救我们的珊瑚礁。

世界各地的珊瑚礁状态十分严峻,大约 75% 的珊瑚礁受到当地和全球压力因素的威胁,而且大约 55% 的鱼类资源被过度捕捞。 尽管管理完善的海洋公园能够予以某些保护措施,但我们的珊瑚礁仍然易于受到疾病、自然灾害和全球人类活动影响的伤害。 因为这些威胁是不会尊重地缘政治界限的,所以我们必须下定决心,采取全球行动,实施有效的保护政策。

健康的海洋和珊瑚礁生态系统对地球上的一切生命都是至关重要的。 我们认为,对这些威胁无动于衷是极不可取的,因为全球有 10 亿多人民在依靠珊瑚礁为他们提供生计、食物、药物和免遭风暴袭击的保护。 如果不对当前的能源利用方式进行调整,也不针对保存和保护珊瑚礁开发尖端的海洋作业方式,那么结果将会不堪设想。 尽管有这些不祥的预测,史密森尼科学家却始终都在为珊瑚礁的未来创造希望。   

玛丽•哈格多恩 (Mary Hagedorn) 谈珊瑚礁。  照片来源:M Henley
玛丽 • 哈格多恩在珊瑚礁上。 照片来源:M Henley

适应性解决方案

史密森尼海洋生物学家玛丽 • 哈格多恩 (Mary Hagedorn) 博士正在领导一个全球科学家网络进行迄今全球最独特的海洋项目,称之为珊瑚礁复原倡议 (Reef Recovery Initiative),重点关注低温保存海洋物种。 尽管诸如海洋保护区之类的保护措施有助于减缓珊瑚礁基因多样性的消失,但这还远远不够! 全球气候变化的影响将会不断地侵蚀世界各地的珊瑚礁,导致种群数量的持续下降和生物多样性的消失。 保护技术,如使用冷冻样本的基因库,有助于抵消这些威胁,前途大有希望。 这些储存的细胞在液氮中处于冷冻状态,但仍保持生命,安全可达数百年。 专门用于保护的低温保存的物种收藏寥寥无几,更别说海洋物种了。 此外,作为全球唯一的同时开发应用这种现代技术来救助珊瑚礁的科学家团队,他们的工作至关重要。 他们在过去两年中已取得长足进步,包括创建了:

  1. 世界一流的珊瑚礁和海洋的基因组库;
  2. 冷冻珊瑚礁储存库包括全球三大海洋中两大海洋的珊瑚礁。 面对气候变化、疾病和生物多样性消失等破坏作用,这些冷冻的生物样本库为防止珊瑚礁灭绝提供了一个重要的保护手段;
  3. 低温技术的创新正在不断地突破物理学和生物学的界限,最终会将更多类型组织纳入我们的生物库,例如:许多水生有机体的卵子和胚胎(以前根本无法保存!);
  4. 史密森尼在考量和创建藏品方面的变化。 史密森尼是全球第一家始终如一创建和持有多种有机体冷冻藏品的大型博物馆,特别是珊瑚礁;以及
  5. 具有创造性的保护珊瑚礁的解决方案现可以在全球应用。

玛丽 • 哈格多恩 (Mary Hagedorn) 和吉妮 • 卡特 (Ginnie Carter)。  照片来源:J. Daniels
玛丽 • 哈格多恩和吉妮 • 卡特。 照片来源:J. Daniels

影响

虽然海洋中遗传多样性仍相对丰富,但我们只有较短的年限来达到拟定保护计划的效果。 尽管海洋正处于紧急关头,经受着大量压力因素和生物多样性迅速消失的冲击,但恢复的潜力仍很大,不过需要适当的保护工作,比如哈格多恩博士及其团队正在从事的工作。 拥有一个颇具规模的珊瑚库,给我们的海洋带来了一线胜利的希望。

迄今,史密森尼所领导的团队已储存了来自世界各地的 12 种珊瑚的精子,并从这种冰冻的材料中造出了新的珊瑚。 这就是说,这 12 种珊瑚可用于我们现在的海洋保护政策,即使未来受到灭绝的威胁,仍可平安无事。 此外,哈格多恩博士的团队目前正在不断地突破技术界限,开发多种技术以保护珊瑚的卵子和胚胎、珊瑚鱼、海胆和生活在珊瑚内的藻类,因此他们的工作不局限于珊瑚,而是扩展到整个的珊瑚礁生态系统。 这些冰冻的资源,可以通过增加遗传多样性来加强小的种群,提供丰富的研究机会,可能还会帮助海洋增补物种(在海洋恢复到更正常的状况之后)。

玛丽•哈格多恩和吉妮•卡特在水下采集样本。 
 照片来源:吉姆•丹尼尔斯 (Jim Daniels)。
玛丽•哈格多恩和吉妮•卡特在水下采集样本。 照片来源:吉姆•丹尼尔斯 (Jim Daniels)。

希望

在未来的数月和数年内,只要通过培训和教育能促进并持续新的重点工作,我们仍大有希望。 我们希望培养出保护珊瑚的领导者,关注每个大洋的珊瑚礁,扩大我们自然保护科学家的全球网络。 这一全球网络将继续扩大专注于这些技术的科学家小组迄今已取得的成就。 我们知道,对于雄心勃勃、真想干出一番事业的的年轻科学家来说,这是个难得的大好机会。我们相信这可能将在短期内产生深不可测的影响。 我们希望,这一挑战将会吸引那些热爱我们地球的珊瑚礁、认识其价值并欲其生存的支持者们。 作为一个全球社区,我们有机会保护遗留下来的海洋财富,并修复已对海洋造成的损害。

 

请深入了解我们: 珊瑚礁复原倡议
认识我们的人员: 玛丽•哈格多恩
关闭

Problem & Importance

In the past 10 years, the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute has made groundbreaking scientific advancements toward the conservation of coral reefs, using modern reproductive technologies focused on cryopreservation of tissues, cells and germ cells. These breakthroughs have the potential to bring tremendous benefits to our oceans and society. Given this new knowledge, we now have the tools to go from laboratory to reef, worldwide!

Coral. Photo Credit Abby Wood
Coral. Photo Credit Abby Wood

Coral reefs create the habitat and homes for over one quarter of all marine life in our oceans, yet they are under siege throughout the world, with 75% of all reefs being pushed towards extinction. Throughout the world coral reefs are being degraded at unprecedented rates. Locally, reefs are damaged by pollution, nutrients and sedimentation from outdated land-use, fishing and mining practices. Globally, increased greenhouse gases are warming and acidifying oceans, making corals more susceptible to stress, bleaching and newly emerging diseases. The coupling of climate change and anthropogenic stressors has caused a widespread and well-recognized reef crisis, and decisive conservation actions are urgently needed to save our reefs.

The status of coral reefs worldwide is dire, with approximately 75% threatened by local and global stressors, and approximately 55% of fish stocks overfished. Although well-managed marine parks are afforded some protection, our reefs remain vulnerable to disease, natural disasters and global human impacts. Because these threats do not respect geo-political boundaries, we must resolve to act globally to implement effective conservation strategies.

Healthy oceans and reef ecosystems are critical to all life on Earth. We believe that complacency about these threats is not an option, because more than 1 billion people around the globe depend on coral reefs for their livelihoods, food, medicine, and protection from storms. If current energy uses are not modified and sophisticated marine practices are not developed to conserve and protect our coral reefs, the results will be dire. Despite these ominous projections, Smithsonian scientists are creating hope for the future of our reefs.   

Mary Hagedorn on Reef. Photo Credit M Henley
Mary Hagedorn on Reef. Photo Credit M Henley

Adaptive Solutions

Smithsonian marine biologist, Dr. Mary Hagedorn, is leading a global network of scientists in one of the most unique ocean-conservation programs in the world today, called the Reef Recovery Initiative which focuses on cryopreservation of marine species. Although conservation practices, such as marine protected areas, may help reduce the loss of genetic diversity on reefs, they are not enough! The global effects of climate change will continue to erode reefs worldwide, causing a continued decline in population numbers and loss of biodiversity. Conservation techniques, such as genetic banks using frozen samples hold strong promise to help offset these threats. These stored cells remain frozen, but alive, in liquid nitrogen- safe for hundreds of years. There are very few cryopreserved species collections utilized specifically for conservation, much less one for oceanic species. Moreover, as the only group of scientists in the world both developing and applying this modern technology to help reefs, their work is crucial. They have made tremendous advances in the past two years, including the creation of:

  1. World class genomic library for coral reefs and the oceans;
  2. Frozen coral repository that includes coral from two of the three major oceans in the world. These frozen biobanks provide a major hedge against extinction for corals facing the damaging effects of climate change, disease and loss of genetic diversity;
  3. Innovations in cryo-technology that are pushing the boundaries of physics and biology to eventually include more types of tissues in our banks, such as eggs and embryos of many aquatic organisms (previously unpreservable!);
  4. Changes in how the Smithsonian thinks and creates its collections. The Smithsonian is the first major museum in the world to consistently create and hold frozen collections for a wide variety of organisms, especially for reefs; and,
  5. Application of creative conservation solutions for reefs that now can be used worldwide.

Mary Hagedorn and Ginnie Carter. Photo Credit J Daniels
Mary Hagedorn and Ginnie Carter. Photo Credit J Daniels

Impacts

While there is still relatively broad genetic diversity in our oceans, we have a small window of years to achieve the proposed conservation impacts. Even though our oceans are at a critical juncture, experiencing substantial stressors and rapid loss of biodiversity, the potential for recovery is strong, but would require proper conservation efforts, such as the work being done by Dr. Hagedorn and her team. Having an established coral bank gives our oceans a fighting chance.

To date, the Smithsonian-led team have banked the sperm from 12 species of corals worldwide and created new coral from this frozen material. This means that these 12 species could be used for conservation strategies in our oceans today, and will remain safe from the threats of extinction in the future. Additionally, Dr. Hagedorn’s team is pushing technological boundaries to develop diverse technologies to preserve coral eggs and embryos, reef fish, sea urchins, and the algae that live inside the coral, expanding their efforts beyond just coral towards the whole reef ecosystem. These frozen resources can strengthen small populations by adding genetic diversity, provide rich research opportunities and potentially help reseed the oceans (once they return to more normal conditions).

Mary Hagedorn and Ginnie Carter collecting underwater. Photo Credit Jim Daniels.
Mary Hagedorn and Ginnie Carter collecting underwater. Photo Credit Jim Daniels.

Hope

We remain hopeful, as long as key, new efforts are catalyzed and sustained in the coming months and years through training and education. We hope to produce coral preservation leaders focused on the reefs in each ocean expanding our global network of conservation scientists. This global network will augment what has already been achieved by a small group of scientists, who focus on these technologies. We know this is an amazing opportunity for ambitious young scientists who truly want to make a difference, We believe that this can have an unfathomable impact in a short period of time. We hope this challenge will appeal to supporters who love and recognize the value of our world’s coral reefs and want to see them survive. We as a global community have a chance to preserve what is left and reverse the damage that has been done to our oceans.

 

Learn more about: Reef Recovery Initiative
Meet our people: Mary Hagedorn
Close