十多年来,史密森尼的民俗与文化遗产中心 (Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage) 一直与音乐家、艺术家、当地社区及哥伦比亚政府合作,记录和倡导哥伦比亚非物质文化遗产,也包括现存的文化。基于哥伦比亚政府的努力,史密森尼协助制定了以尊重文化多元性、文化民主和不同文化间对话为原则的国家非物质文化遗产政策。   

基于这些长期合作关系,2011 年史密森尼民间文化艺术节 (Smithsonian Folklife Festival) 项目展示了哥伦比亚的生物和文化的多样性。“哥伦比亚: 文化的本质” (Colombia: Nature of Culture) 倡导史密森尼十多年来持续参与哥伦比亚的非物质文化遗产——现存文化

这种以草根方式发展文化政策的种子最初是在哥伦比亚的一个录音棚内种下的。

史密森尼民俗唱片 (Smithsonian Folkways Recordings) 策展人和总监丹尼尔 • 希伊 (Daniel Sheehy) 于 2003 年通过史密森尼的哥伦比亚同事,首次与哥伦比亚文化部顾问卡洛斯 • 罗哈斯 • 埃尔南德斯 (Carlos Rojas Hernández) 会晤。在他们众多协作项目的第一次合作中,丹和卡洛斯共同制作了 2004 年的专辑“Sí, Soy Llanero: 来自哥伦比亚奥里诺科平原的霍罗波乐曲” (Sí, Soy Llanero: Joropo Music from the Orinoco plains of Colombia)是第一张荣获格莱美奖 (Grammy®) 提名的在哥伦比亚录制完成的 哥伦比亚音乐专辑,因此而受到哥伦比亚媒体赞誉。  

Sí, Soy Llanero大获成功之后,丹和史密森尼民俗唱片策展人与哥伦比亚合作伙伴合作,又制作了许多获奖的专辑,其中包括:2006 年的“¡Arriba Suena Marimba!: Naidy 组合演奏的来自哥伦比亚的卡鲁拉罗木琴曲” (¡Arriba Suena Marimba!:Currulao Marimba Music from Colombia by Grupo Naidy)获得拉丁格莱美奖 (Latin Grammy®) 的2006年专辑“Un Fuego de Sangre Pura: 来自哥伦比亚的 Los Gaiteros de San Jacinto、2008 年专辑“¡Ayombe!: he Heart of Colombia’s Música Vallenata”和 2011 年专辑“¡Cimarrón:来自哥伦比亚平原的霍罗波乐曲” (¡Cimarrón: Joropo Music from the Plains of Colombia)。 

照片来源:史密森尼民俗录音室 (Smithsonian Folkways Recordings)
照片来源:史密森尼民俗唱片

史密森尼记录和推广哥伦比亚传统音乐的工作帮助了哥伦比亚人民了解和享受他们自己的文化遗产。正如卡洛斯所记述的:“史密森尼所制作的专辑以及史密森尼收藏我们的唱片,都肯定了我们传统音乐所具有的艺术和文化价值,我们希望 这种认可将会激励新一代人加入到传统音乐的队伍中来。” 

费利克斯、卡洛斯和维克托演奏传统的草原牧民 (llanero) 歌曲 。 
 照片来源:María Angélica Rodríguez Ibáñez
Félix, Carlos, and Víctor play traditional llanero ranching songs. Photo credit María Angélica Rodríguez Ibáñez

史密森尼还为这些艺术家提供了一个国际平台。在 2009 年,三个音乐组合作为哥伦比亚文化传统代表参加了“Las Americas: Un Mundo Musical 文化艺术节”演出。

2007 年,史密森尼与哥伦比亚文化部 (Colombian Minister of Culture) 就包括史密森尼民间文化艺术节在内的文化项目规划达成正式协议。 哥伦比亚政府曾设想民间文化艺术节可提供一个协作平台以记录和颂扬哥伦比亚丰富的遗产。 

正当哥伦比亚人民开始关心其文化遗产多元性时,史密森尼加入了哥伦比亚的合作伙伴,编织文化传统并创造保护现存文化的方式

在 3 年实地研究的过程中,2011 年文化艺术节项目的实地考察人员积极搜寻和记录了体现不足的哥伦比亚文化传统史密森尼的策展人克里斯蒂娜 • 迪亚斯-卡雷拉 (Cristina Diaz-Carrera) 和奥利维亚 • 卡达瓦尔 (Olivia Cadaval) 在以往多年的规划和音乐合作的基础上确定了 100 位传统艺术家和文化专家 出席文化艺术节,演奏音乐、举办舞蹈班教授舞蹈、示范技艺和传统职业、烹饪地方菜肴以及展示其他日常和庆祝文化活动。

在卡利重演时,来自亚马逊地区的阿拉拉夸拉 (Araracuara) 的阿贝尔 • 罗德里格斯和奥利维利奥 • 罗德里格斯在编织他们的篮子。  照片来源:Cristina Díaz-Carrera
在卡利重演时,来自亚马逊地区的阿拉拉夸拉 (Araracuara) 的阿贝尔 • 罗德里格斯和奥利维利奥 • 罗德里格斯在编织他们的篮子。 照片来源:Cristina Díaz-Carrera

文化艺术节显示出对环境的文化适应是如何传播以保证自然和文化环境的存续和可持续发展。 正如哥伦比亚记者马里奥•拉莫 (Mario Lamo) 所记述:“史密森尼提供了一个难得的机会,将哥伦比亚文化和生态多样性的代表汇聚一堂。” 安第斯高地 (Andean Highlands) 的工匠胡安•西泽•博尼 (Juan Cesar Bonilla) 表达了他作为参与者的体验,“华盛顿向我们提供了我们在哥伦比亚没有过的机会;这个文化艺术节给了我们一个展示我们民族的机会。”

史密森尼的策展人与 Erigaie 基金会 (Erigaie Foundation)、哥伦比亚文化部的文化遗产部门 (Cultural Heritage Division)、由来自几所大学和文化机构的代表组成的顾问团队及哥伦比亚策展人团队合作一起规划 2011 年的项目。在他们实地考察期间,史密森尼和哥伦比亚的团队创建了一个哥伦比亚现存文化的研究资料库,这对文化部和哥伦比亚人民来说是个宝贵的资源。

与艺术节有关的工作在节日活动后依然继续,为持续记录整理和保护哥伦比亚文化提供支持。哥伦比亚政府分别在波哥大、麦德林 (Medellín) 和卡利 (Cali) 三次重演文化艺术节节目

[file:field-caption]
卡利民众围绕在来自哥伦比亚苏塔马钱的安娜 • 多洛雷斯 • 鲁西周围,观看她在织布机上织布 。 照片来源:Cristina Díaz-Carrera

现在,哥伦比亚政府使用史密森尼民间文化艺术项目的记录方法,确认哪些文化遗产实践需要作为世界文化遗产的保护地位

史密森尼与哥伦比亚的艺术家、手工艺者、政府官员和许多其他人士合作,支持拟定一项国家政策来保护哥伦比亚生存的文化遗产。 借用史密森尼策展人奥利维亚 • 卡达瓦尔的话史密森尼协助我们的哥伦比亚合作伙伴“自下而上地制定自己的非物质文化遗产政策”。 

史密森尼的策展人继续他们的实地工作,记录和倡导哥伦比亚的文化遗产。 丹表示:“对我来说,哥伦比亚十分特殊。如今在年轻的一代中出现了令人难以置信的文艺复兴,他们凭借绝妙的技艺继承这些传统,创作出美妙的音乐。能尽我的一份力与世界分享这一艺术,我感到非常荣幸。” 他和卡洛斯目前正合作,预定于 2016 年发行的一部新专辑,主要特色是哥伦比亚中部高原和咖啡种植地区的班布戈 (Bambuco) 舞曲。  

 

关闭

For more than a decade, Smithsonian’s Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage has worked with musicians, artisans, local communities, and the Colombian government to document and celebrate Colombia’s intangible cultural heritage, or living culture. Smithsonian built on and contributed to Colombian efforts to craft a national intangible cultural heritage policy based on principles of respect for cultural diversity, cultural democracy, and intercultural dialogue.   

Building on these long-term relationships, the 2011 Smithsonian Folklife Festival program presented the biological and cultural diversity of Colombia. Colombia: the Nature of Culture celebrated more than a decade of ongoing Smithsonian engagement with the intangible cultural heritage—living culture—of Colombia

The seeds of this grassroots approach to cultural policy were first planted in a Colombian recording studio. 

Smithsonian Folkways Recordings Curator and Director Daniel Sheehy first met Colombian Ministry of Culture consultant Carlos Rojas Hernández in 2003, through a Colombian fellow at Smithsonian. In the first of many collaborative projects, Dan and Carlos worked together to produce the 2004 album Sí, Soy Llanero: Joropo Music from the Orinoco plains of Colombia, which was touted in the Colombian press as the first recording of Colombian music recorded in Colombia to earn a Grammy® nomination.  

Following the success of Sí, Soy Llanero, Dan and Smithsonian Folkways Recordings curators worked with Colombian partners to produce a number of award-winning albums. These included ¡Arriba Suena Marimba!: Currulao Marimba Music from Colombia by Grupo Naidy (2006), Latin Grammy®-award-winning Un Fuego de Sangre Pura: Los Gaiteros de San Jacinto from Colombia (2006), ¡Ayombe!: The Heart of Colombia’s Música Vallenata (2008), and ¡Cimarrón: Joropo Music from the Plains of Colombia (2011)

Photo Credit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Photo Credit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Smithsonian’s work recording and promoting Colombian traditional music helped Colombians to learn about and enjoy their own cultural heritage. As Carlos wrote, “The albums Smithsonian produced and the inclusion of our recordings in the Smithsonian’s collection confirms the artistic and cultural value of our musical traditions; a recognition that we hope will inspire new generations of participants.” 

Félix, Carlos, and Víctor play traditionalllanero ranching songs. Photo credit María Angélica Rodríguez Ibáñez
Félix, Carlos, and Víctor play traditional llanero ranching songs. Photo credit María Angélica Rodríguez Ibáñez

Smithsonian also provided an international platform for these artists when, in 2009, three musical groups represented Colombian cultural traditions in the Las Americas: Un Mundo Musical Festival program.

In 2007, Smithsonian established a formal agreement with the Colombian Minister of Culture on cultural programming, including the Smithsonian Folklife Festival. The Colombian government envisioned that the Folklife Festival would provide a collaborative platform to document and celebrate Colombia’s rich heritage. 

At a time when Colombians were beginning to connect with and the diversity of their cultural heritage, Smithsonian joined Colombian partners to weave together cultural traditions and create ways to safeguard living cultures.

The fieldwork for the 2011 Festival program actively sought out and documented underrepresented Colombian cultural traditions over the course of 3 years of research on the ground. Smithsonian curators Cristina Diaz-Carrera and Olivia Cadaval built on years of prior programming and musical collaboration to identify 100 traditional artists and cultural specialists who presented at the Festival, playing music, teaching dance classes, demonstrating crafts, traditional occupations, cooking regional dishes, and other manifestations of everyday and celebratory culture. 

At the Cali restaging, Abel Rodríguez and Oliverio Rodríguez, from Araracuara in the Amazon region, work on their baskets. Photo by Cristina Díaz-Carrera
At the Cali restaging, Abel Rodríguez and Oliverio Rodríguez, from Araracuara in the Amazon region, work on their baskets. Photo by Cristina Díaz-Carrera

The Festival showed how cultural adaptations to environments are transmitted to guarantee the survival and sustainability of the natural and cultural environment. As Colombian journalist Mario Lamo wrote, “The Smithsonian provided a unique opportunity to bring together in one space representatives of Colombia’s cultural and ecological diversity.” And Craftsman Juan Cesar Bonilla of the Andean Highlands reflected of his time as a participant, “Washington offered us that opportunity that we did not have in Colombia; it gave us the opportunity to demonstrate what we are.” 

Smithsonian curators worked on the 2011 program with the Erigaie Foundation, the Colombian Ministry of Culture’s Cultural Heritage Division, an advisory team of representatives from several universities and cultural institutions, and a Colombian curatorial team. During their fieldwork, Smithsonian and Colombian teams created a research database of living culture in Colombia. This database is an invaluable resource for the Ministry of Culture and the Colombian people. 

The work for the Festival program continued past the event itself, providing support for ongoing documentation and cultural conservation in Colombia. The Colombian government restaged the festival three times in Bogotá, Medellín, and Calí, Colombia

[file:field-caption]
The public from Cali surround Ana Dolores Russi, from Sutamarchán, Colombia, while she weaves on her loom. Photo by Cristina Díaz-Carrera

Today, the Colombian government uses the Smithsonian Folklife Festival program’s documentation approach to identify cultural heritage practices in need of protected status as world cultural heritage

Smithsonian partnerships with Colombian artists, artisans, government officials, and many others supported the creation of a national policy to protect the living cultural heritage of Colombia. In the words of Smithsonian curator Olivia Cadaval, Smithsonian helped our Colombian partners “shape their intangible cultural heritage policy from the bottom up.” 

Smithsonian curators continue their work on the ground, documenting and celebrating Colombian cultural heritage. “Colombia has been very special for me. There’s an incredible renaissance among the younger generations today,” says Dan. “They’re coming to these traditions with incredible skill and creating beautiful music. I feel privileged to have a role in sharing this art with the world.”  He and Carlos are working now on a new release slated for 2016, to feature the Bambuco music of the central highlands and coffee-growing regions of Colombia.  

 

Close