عمل مركز سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية والتراث الثقافي لأكثر من عقد من الزمن مع الموسيقيين والفنانين والمجتمعات المحلية والحكومة الكولومبية لتوثيق التراث الثقافي غير المادي لكولومبيا أو ما يُعرف باسم "الثقافة الحية" وإبرازها. اعتمدت مؤسسة سميثسونيان على جهود كولومبيا لصياغة سياسة للتراث الثقافي الوطني غير المادي وساهمت فيها اعتمادًا على مبادئ احترام التنوع الثقافي والديمقراطية الثقافية والحوار بين الثقافات.   

وبناءً على هذه العلاقات طويلة الأمد، عرض مهرجان سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية 2011 التنوع البيولوجي والثقافي لكولومبيا. احتفل مهرجان كولومبيا: طبيعة الثقافة بمرور ما يزيد عن عقد من الزمان على مشاركة مؤسسة سميثسونيان المستمرة في التراث الثقافي غير المادي —الثقافة الحية— لكولومبيا

وضعت نواة هذا النهج العام للسياسة الثقافية لأول مرة في أحد إستوديوهات التسجيل الكولومبية. 

قابل أمين ومدير تسجيلات فولكوايس ريكوردينغس سميثسونيان دانييل شيهي لأول مرة مستشار وزارة الثقافة الكولومبية كارلوس روخاس هيرنانديز في 2003 عن طريق زميل كولومبي في مؤسسة سميثسونيان. وخلال العديد من أوائل المشروعات التعاونية عمل دان وكارلوس معًا لإنتاج ألبوم 2004 Sí, Soy Llanero: موسيقى الجوروبو من سهول أورينوكو في كولومبيا, والتي وصفت في الإعلام الكولومبي كأول منتج تسجيلي للموسيقى الكولومبية يتم تسجيله في كولومبيا يرشح لجائزة "®Grammy"، .  

وعقب نجاح ألبوم Sí, Soy Llanero، عمل دان وأمناء تسجيلات فولكوايس ريكوردينغس سميثسونيان مع شركاء كولومبيين لإنتاج عدد الألبومات التي حازت الجوائز. شملت هذه ¡Arriba Suena Marimba!: موسيقى كورولاو ماريمبا من كولومبيا مقدمة من جروبو نايدي (2006)، الفوز بجائزة "Latin Grammy®" Un Fuego de Sangre Pura: ألبوم "Los Gaiteros de San Jacinto من كولومبيا (2006)، ¡Ayombe!: The Heart of Colombia’s Música Vallenata (2008) و ¡Cimarrón: موسيقى جوروبو من سهول كولومبيا (2011)

تصوير تسجيلات سميثسونيان فولكويز
تصوير تسجيلات سميثسونيان فولكويز

ساعد عمل مؤسسة سميثسونيان في تسجيل وتعزيز الموسيقى الكولومبية التقليدية الكولومبيين على التعرف على تراثهم الثقافي والاستمتاع به. وقد علق كارلوس في كتاباته على ذلك قائلاً "إن الألبومات التي أنتجتها مؤسسة سميثسونيان وإدراج التسجيلات الخاصة بنا ضمن مجموعة مؤسسة سميثسونيان تؤكد على القيمة الفنية والثقافية لتقاليدنا الموسيقية, ونأمل أن يساهم هذا التأكيد في إلهام أجيال جديدة من المشاركين." 

يعزف فيليكس وكارلوس، وفيكتور أغاني مراعي لانيرو التقليدية. 
 صورة من ماريا أنجليكا رودريغيز إيبانييس
Félix, Carlos, and Víctor play traditional llanero ranching songs. Photo credit María Angélica Rodríguez Ibáñez

قدمت مؤسسة سميثسونيان أيضًا منصة دولية لهؤلاء الفنانين عندما عرضت ثلاث مجموعات موسيقية التقاليد الثقافية الكولومبية في عام 2009 في لاس أمريكا: برنامج المهرجان الموسيقي "Un Mundo".

جدير بالذكر أن مؤسسة سميثسونيان نجحت في عام في 2007 في إبرام اتفاق رسمي مع وزارة الثقافة الكولومبية بشأن البرامج الثقافية، ومنها مهرجان سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية. اعتقدت الحكومة الكولومبية أن مهرجان الحياة الشعبية سيوفر منصة تعاونية لتوثيق تراث كولومبيا الوافر وإبرازه. 

وفي الوقت الذي كان الكولومبيون يبدأون فيه تحقيق التواصل مع تنوع تراثهم الثقافي، انضمت مؤسسة سميثسونيان إلى الشركاء الكولومبيين كي ينسجوا معًا التقاليد الثقافية ويبتكرون أساليبًا لحماية الثقافات الحية..

ساهم العمل الميداني لبرنامج مهرجان 2011 بقوة في البحث عن التقاليد الثقافية التي لم تحظ بالقدر الكافي من العرض وتوثيقها على مدار 3 سنوات من البحث على أرض الواقع. اعتمد أمناء مؤسسة سميثسونيان كريستينا دياز-كاريرا وأوليفيا كادافال على سنوات من البرامج المسبقة وعمليات التعاون الموسيقية لتحديد 100 فنان تقليدي ومتخصص ثقافي شاركوا في المهرجان بعزف الموسيقى وتعليم فئات الرقص وعرض الحرف والمهن التقليدية وطهي الأطباق المحلية وغيرها من المظاهر اليومية والثقافة الاحتفالية. 

في إعادة عرض كالي وهابيل رودريغيز وأوليفيريو رودريغيز من منطقة أراركوارا في منطقة الأمازون، أثناء العمل بسلاتهم الخاصة. تصوير كريستينا دياز-كاريرا
في إعادة عرض كالي وهابيل رودريغيز وأوليفيريو رودريغيز من منطقة أراركوارا في منطقة الأمازون، أثناء العمل بسلاتهم الخاصة. تصوير كريستينا دياز-كاريرا

أظهر المهرجان كيف تم تحويل التكيفات الثقافية للبيئات لضمان بقاء البيئة الطبيعية والثقافية واستدامتها. وقد علق الصحفي الكولومبي ماريو لامو على هذا في كتاباته قائلاً، "قدمت مؤسسة سميثسونيان فرصة فريدة لتجمع ممثلين للتنوع البيئي والثقافي بكولومبيا في مكانٍ واحد." كما علق الحرفيّ جوان سيزار بونيلا من مرتفعات الأنديز على مشاركته في المهرجان قائلاً "قدمت لنا واشنطن هذه الفرصة التي لم نمتلكها من قبل في كولومبيا، حيث أعطتنا فرصة لإظهار هويتنا." 

عمل أمناء مؤسسة سميثسونيان ببرنامج 2011 مع مؤسسة "Erigaie"، وقسم التراث الثقافي بوزارة الثقافة الكولومبية، وفريق استشاري من ممثلين عن جامعات مختلفة ومؤسسات ثقافية إضافة إلى فريق تنظيم معارض كولومبي. أنشأت مؤسسة سميثسونيان والفرق الكولومبية أثناء عملهم الميداني قاعدة بيانات بحثية عن الثقافة الحية في كولومبيا.تمثل قاعدة البيانات هذه مصدرًا قيمًا لوزارة الثقافة والشعب الكولومبي. 

استمر العمل لبرنامج المهرجان بعد انتهاء الفعالية، الأمر الذي ساهم في توفير الدعم للتوثيق المستمر وعمليات الحفظ الثقافية في كولومبيا. أعادت الحكومة الكولومبية تنظيم المهرجان ثلاثة مرات في مدن بوجوتا ومديلين وكالي في كولومبيا

[file:field-caption]
أفراد من كالي يحيطون بآنا دولوريس روسي من سوتامارشان بكولومبيا وهي تغزل على نولها. تصوير كريستينا دياز-كاريرا

تستخدم الحكومة الكولومبية اليوم نهج توثيق برنامج مهرجان سميثسونيان للحياة الشعبية لتحديد أماكن التراث الثقافي التي يتعين حمايتها كتراث ثقافي عالميّ

دعمت شراكات مؤسسة سميثسونيان مع الفنانين والحرفيين والمسئولين الحكوميين الكولومبيين وغيرهم إعداد سياسة وطنية لحماية التراث الثقافي الحي في كولومبيا. وفي هذا السياق، صرحت أمينة مؤسسة سميثسونيان أوليفيا كادافال قائلة "ساعدت مؤسسة سميثسونيان شركاءنا الكولومبيين في إعداد سياسة تراث ثقافي غير المادي من البداية حتى النهاية". 

واصل أمناء سميثسونيان عملهم على أرض الواقع لتوثيق التراث الثقافي الكولومبي وإبرازه. يقول دان "مثّلت كولومبيا أهمية خاصة لي. هناك نهضة لا يمكن وصفها بين الأجيال الشابة اليوم". وأضاف "إنهم قادمون إلى هذه التقاليد بمهارات غير معقولة ويبتكرون موسيقى جميلة. أشعر بأنني متميز بدوري في مشاركة هذا الفن مع العالم."  يعمل هو وكارلوس الآن على تقديم إصدار جديد متوقع إطلاقه للعام 2016 لإبراز موسيقى البامبوكوالخاصة بالمرتفعات الوسطى ومناطق زراعة القهوة في كولومبيا.  

 

إغلاق

For more than a decade, Smithsonian’s Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage has worked with musicians, artisans, local communities, and the Colombian government to document and celebrate Colombia’s intangible cultural heritage, or living culture. Smithsonian built on and contributed to Colombian efforts to craft a national intangible cultural heritage policy based on principles of respect for cultural diversity, cultural democracy, and intercultural dialogue.   

Building on these long-term relationships, the 2011 Smithsonian Folklife Festival program presented the biological and cultural diversity of Colombia. Colombia: the Nature of Culture celebrated more than a decade of ongoing Smithsonian engagement with the intangible cultural heritage—living culture—of Colombia

The seeds of this grassroots approach to cultural policy were first planted in a Colombian recording studio. 

Smithsonian Folkways Recordings Curator and Director Daniel Sheehy first met Colombian Ministry of Culture consultant Carlos Rojas Hernández in 2003, through a Colombian fellow at Smithsonian. In the first of many collaborative projects, Dan and Carlos worked together to produce the 2004 album Sí, Soy Llanero: Joropo Music from the Orinoco plains of Colombia, which was touted in the Colombian press as the first recording of Colombian music recorded in Colombia to earn a Grammy® nomination.  

Following the success of Sí, Soy Llanero, Dan and Smithsonian Folkways Recordings curators worked with Colombian partners to produce a number of award-winning albums. These included ¡Arriba Suena Marimba!: Currulao Marimba Music from Colombia by Grupo Naidy (2006), Latin Grammy®-award-winning Un Fuego de Sangre Pura: Los Gaiteros de San Jacinto from Colombia (2006), ¡Ayombe!: The Heart of Colombia’s Música Vallenata (2008), and ¡Cimarrón: Joropo Music from the Plains of Colombia (2011)

Photo Credit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Photo Credit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

Smithsonian’s work recording and promoting Colombian traditional music helped Colombians to learn about and enjoy their own cultural heritage. As Carlos wrote, “The albums Smithsonian produced and the inclusion of our recordings in the Smithsonian’s collection confirms the artistic and cultural value of our musical traditions; a recognition that we hope will inspire new generations of participants.” 

Félix, Carlos, and Víctor play traditionalllanero ranching songs. Photo credit María Angélica Rodríguez Ibáñez
Félix, Carlos, and Víctor play traditional llanero ranching songs. Photo credit María Angélica Rodríguez Ibáñez

Smithsonian also provided an international platform for these artists when, in 2009, three musical groups represented Colombian cultural traditions in the Las Americas: Un Mundo Musical Festival program.

In 2007, Smithsonian established a formal agreement with the Colombian Minister of Culture on cultural programming, including the Smithsonian Folklife Festival. The Colombian government envisioned that the Folklife Festival would provide a collaborative platform to document and celebrate Colombia’s rich heritage. 

At a time when Colombians were beginning to connect with and the diversity of their cultural heritage, Smithsonian joined Colombian partners to weave together cultural traditions and create ways to safeguard living cultures.

The fieldwork for the 2011 Festival program actively sought out and documented underrepresented Colombian cultural traditions over the course of 3 years of research on the ground. Smithsonian curators Cristina Diaz-Carrera and Olivia Cadaval built on years of prior programming and musical collaboration to identify 100 traditional artists and cultural specialists who presented at the Festival, playing music, teaching dance classes, demonstrating crafts, traditional occupations, cooking regional dishes, and other manifestations of everyday and celebratory culture. 

At the Cali restaging, Abel Rodríguez and Oliverio Rodríguez, from Araracuara in the Amazon region, work on their baskets. Photo by Cristina Díaz-Carrera
At the Cali restaging, Abel Rodríguez and Oliverio Rodríguez, from Araracuara in the Amazon region, work on their baskets. Photo by Cristina Díaz-Carrera

The Festival showed how cultural adaptations to environments are transmitted to guarantee the survival and sustainability of the natural and cultural environment. As Colombian journalist Mario Lamo wrote, “The Smithsonian provided a unique opportunity to bring together in one space representatives of Colombia’s cultural and ecological diversity.” And Craftsman Juan Cesar Bonilla of the Andean Highlands reflected of his time as a participant, “Washington offered us that opportunity that we did not have in Colombia; it gave us the opportunity to demonstrate what we are.” 

Smithsonian curators worked on the 2011 program with the Erigaie Foundation, the Colombian Ministry of Culture’s Cultural Heritage Division, an advisory team of representatives from several universities and cultural institutions, and a Colombian curatorial team. During their fieldwork, Smithsonian and Colombian teams created a research database of living culture in Colombia. This database is an invaluable resource for the Ministry of Culture and the Colombian people. 

The work for the Festival program continued past the event itself, providing support for ongoing documentation and cultural conservation in Colombia. The Colombian government restaged the festival three times in Bogotá, Medellín, and Calí, Colombia

[file:field-caption]
The public from Cali surround Ana Dolores Russi, from Sutamarchán, Colombia, while she weaves on her loom. Photo by Cristina Díaz-Carrera

Today, the Colombian government uses the Smithsonian Folklife Festival program’s documentation approach to identify cultural heritage practices in need of protected status as world cultural heritage

Smithsonian partnerships with Colombian artists, artisans, government officials, and many others supported the creation of a national policy to protect the living cultural heritage of Colombia. In the words of Smithsonian curator Olivia Cadaval, Smithsonian helped our Colombian partners “shape their intangible cultural heritage policy from the bottom up.” 

Smithsonian curators continue their work on the ground, documenting and celebrating Colombian cultural heritage. “Colombia has been very special for me. There’s an incredible renaissance among the younger generations today,” says Dan. “They’re coming to these traditions with incredible skill and creating beautiful music. I feel privileged to have a role in sharing this art with the world.”  He and Carlos are working now on a new release slated for 2016, to feature the Bambuco music of the central highlands and coffee-growing regions of Colombia.  

 

Close