Orchids are the most diverse plant family on the planet and grow on every continent except Antarctica. Many individual species are highly specialized for their habitats and susceptible to sudden catastrophe. Former Smithsonian Gardens’ orchid expert Tom Mirenda recently collaborated with Peruvian biologist Carmen Soto to study how the Smithsonian’s management of rare orchids can translate to better conservation practices of orchids in their Peruvian cloud forest habitats.

Orchid at the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.
Orchidée cultivée dans une serre du Smithsonian. Crédit : Maria Sanchez.

Carmen étudie et recense les orchidées des forêts montagneuses d'Inkaterra, un refuge écologique de 50 000 mètres carrés au pied du Machu Picchu. La région encerclant les montagnes dénombre de nombreuses orchidées. Parmi les 3 000 espèces présentes au Pérou, pas moins de 400 ont été identifiées à Inkaterra. Carmen travaille parallèlement sur des projets de recherche scientifiques, technologiques, sociaux et culturels consistant à préserver l'étonnante biodiversité des habitats andins et amazoniens.

Les petits jardins comme Inkaterra sont sans doute les seuls à recenser les espèces d’orchidées endémiques, mais ils sont souvent méconnus et ne bénéficient pas nécessairement des aides nationales dédiées à la protection des orchidées endémiques. Donner l'accès à ces installations et au savoir-faire d'experts comme ceux du Smithsonian pourrait s'avérer bénéfique à ces petits jardins ainsi qu'à d'autres plantes, animaux et écosystèmes. Ceux-ci apporteraient non seulement leur pierre à l'édifice, mais ils pourraient en plus profiter des recherches de plus grande envergure.

Carmen Soto. Credit: P.K.Wittman.
Carmen Soto. Crédit : P.K.Wittman.

« Il existe des jardins d'orchidées non officiels où des personnes sauvent des espèces et les cultivent dans un environnement semblable à leur habitat naturel, ce qui en facilite l'étude et l'accès », explique Tom. « Le souci, c'est que ces jardins ne sont affiliés à aucun jardin botanique ni aucune institution officielle. Notre défi est de tisser un lien entre eux, de reconstituer les données relevées sur ces sites pratiquant la conservation ex situ, sans les isoler ni les plonger dans l'obscurité. »

Tom dans les serres du Smithsonian. 
 Crédit : 
 Tom Mirenda
Tom dans les serres du Smithsonian. Crédit : Tom Mirenda.

Contrairement aux spécimens rares d'orchidées qui peuvent quitter leur habitat naturel pour rejoindre des serres à l'autre bout du monde, les 389 espèces de la réserve d'Inkaterra poussent toutes en milieu sauvage. Selon l'American Orchid Society, il s'agirait là de la plus grande collection privée d'orchidées cultivées dans la nature. De nouvelles espèces sont découvertes chaque année.

« Notre priorité est d'offrir les meilleures conditions possible aux orchidées que nous sauvons et de les réintégrer à terme dans leur habitat d'origine », explique Carmen. « Les espèces peu nombreuses peuvent rester dans leur habitat d'origine, avec les conditions et l'altitude requises, avant d'être réintégrées dans leur milieu. Notre but n'est pas de les extraire de leur environnement. »

Orchidées cultivées dans les serres du Smithsonian. 
 Crédit : 
 Maria Sanchez.
Orchidées cultivées dans les serres du Smithsonian. Crédit : Maria Sanchez.

Hélas, il n'existe aucune serre pour la culture et la recherche dans cette réserve. Si toutes ces dispositions peuvent paraître inutiles en un lieu où les orchidées prolifèrent, la culture d'orchidées permettrait à Inkaterra de développer des espèces péruviennes rares dans des forêts d'accueil situées dans la région et à travers tout le Pérou. En favorisant la transmission de ce savoir, un plan d'étude répertoriant les espèces locales serait profitable aux chercheurs.

À l'automne 2015, Carmen étudie le savoir-faire des horticulteurs du Smithsonian qui ont à leur charge une collection de près de 8 000 plantes, dont 2 400 espèces d'orchidées. Elle a ainsi pu s'offrir une incursion inédite dans le monde de la culture d'espèces délicates en tout genre.

[file:field-caption]
Orchidées cultivées dans les serres du Smithsonian. Crédit : Maria Sanchez.

« Nous aspirons à préserver les espèces grâce aux moyens technologiques que j'ai pu découvrir ici », nous explique Carmen. « Avec ces jardins, nous voulons sensibiliser le monde sur la conservation, les techniques de sauvegarde et la culture des orchidées. Mais nous devons avant tout préserver nos forêts, et par conséquent les orchidées, sans oublier la faune et la flore. »

Les orchidées des serres du Smithsonian sont reconnues par le Plant Collections Network, ces spécimens hors du commun représentant une ressource précieuse sur le plan de la génétique, de la reproduction et de la recherche scientifique. La collection d'orchidées tropicales du Smithsonian est la première à avoir intégré le réseau du Plant Collections Network. Les membres de ce réseau peuvent comparer les atouts de leur propre collection, identifier les spécimens qui y sont présents ou absents et partager plus facilement leur savoir.

[file:field-caption]
Les serres du Smithsonian. Crédit : Maria Sanchez.

Carmen et Tom ont su démontrer l'utilité du personnel et des bénévoles dans la culture des espèces et présenter les techniques employées par le Smithsonian pour assurer le suivi des espèces - identification, origine, floraison et reproduction - tout en proposant des idées utiles pour le projet de conservation d'Inkaterra.

« Carmen a vécu une expérience hors du commun », s'enthousiasme Tom. « Les moyens technologiques utilisés dans l'observation des plantes sont on ne peut plus instructifs. »

The Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.
Les serres du Smithsonian. Crédit : Maria Sanchez.

La Convention sur le commerce international des espèces menacées d'extinction (CITES) identifie et répertorie les espèces menacées sur sa liste rouge. Dans les pays en voie de développement où les écosystèmes sont souvent riches, les recherches scientifiques peinent à aboutir et l'inventaire des espèces sont souvent incomplets, certaines d'entre elles étant absentes ou sous-représentées sur la liste. La création d'un catalogue visant à aider les centres de conservation les plus modestes devrait combler cette lacune et illustre la nécessité de créer un réseau mondial regroupant les différents programmes de conservation.

Orchid at the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.
Orchidée cultivée dans une serre du Smithsonian. Crédit : Maria Sanchez.

« Avec ces jardins d'orchidées plus petits, le défi sera de répertorier ces fascinantes espèces endémiques pour qu'elles soient enfin connues », raconte Tom. « Je pourrais les faire pousser dans les serres du Smithsonian, mais les jardins non officiels sont beaucoup plus propices à leur culture. Cela nous sera utile si l'on veut mettre en place des programmes de conservation ex situ pour les espèces de plantes menacées dans leur pays d'origine. » 

Notre équipe : Tom Mirenda
Fermer

Orchids are the most diverse plant family on the planet and grow on every continent except Antarctica. Many individual species are highly specialized for their habitats and susceptible to sudden catastrophe. Former Smithsonian Gardens’ orchid expert Tom Mirenda recently collaborated with Peruvian biologist Carmen Soto to study how the Smithsonian’s management of rare orchids can translate to better conservation practices of orchids in their Peruvian cloud forest habitats.

Orchid at the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.
Orchid at the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.

Carmen studies and tracks cloud forest orchids at Inkaterra, a 12-acre ecolodge and nature preserve at the foot of Machu Picchu. The region around the mountain is home to an extensive population of orchids. Of Peru’s estimated 3,000 orchid species, nearly 400 species have been identified at Inkaterra alone. Carmen also works to develop scientific, technological, social, and cultural research programs to help manage and protect the dazzling diversity of many species of plants and animals in their Andean and Amazonian habitats.

Smaller gardens like Inkaterra may be some of the only places currently tracking native orchids endemic to their areas, yet many of these gardens are either unknown or lack the capacity to connect with international resources aimed at conserving endemic orchids. Access to facilities and expertise like those at the Smithsonian can help smaller botanical gardens—as well as efforts aimed at conservation of other plants, animals and ecosystems—contribute to and benefit from broader conservation efforts.

Carmen Soto. Credit: P.K.Wittman.
Carmen Soto. Credit: P.K.Wittman.

“There are these informal orchid gardens where people rescue orchids, and put them in a garden setting very near to their natural habitat that’s easy to study and easy to access,” Tom says. “The problem is that these gardens aren’t affiliated with any botanic gardens or a scholarly institution. Our challenge is to get them together and to get the information of all of these places that are actually doing ex situ conservation, without the isolation and obscurity.”

Tom in the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Tom Mirenda
Tom in the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Tom Mirenda

Unlike rare orchids in other places, which may be removed from their natural habitats to greenhouses half a world away, Inkaterra preserve’s 389 species of orchids all grow in their natural habitats—the largest private collection of native orchids growing in a wild setting, according to the American Orchid Society. New species are discovered every year.

“What we hope to do is give the orchids we rescue the best conditions available, and then eventually return them to their habitats,” Carmen explained. “Species that have very low populations can be repopulated in their natural habitat, but still always be in their true habitat conditions and altitude. We do not want to take them out of their natural habitat.”

Orchids at the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.
Orchids at the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.

Yet the reserve lacks a greenhouse for breeding and research. While seemingly unnecessary in a locale where orchids thrive without intervention, the addition of an orchid cultivation program would allow Inkaterra to strengthen populations of rare Peruvian species present in the ecolodge’s forests, but also from elsewhere in the region and across Peru. A formalized study scheme would also allow other researchers to better catalog and share knowledge of the species there.

Working with Tom in the fall of 2015, Carmen explored how Smithsonian horticulturalists track, care for and maintain a collection of 8,000 plants representing 2,400 orchid species. This unique opportunity allowed Carmen an in-depth look at the care and management of many delicate species.

[file:field-caption]
Orchids at the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.

“We want to be able to preserve species with the technology that I came to learn about here,” Carmen says. “Through the gardens, we want to teach people about conservation, to learn how to preserve and take care of the orchids. But first we need to preserve our forests—if we preserve those, it protects the diversity of orchids as well as other flora and fauna that are also important.”

Smithsonian Gardens’ orchids are accredited by the Plant Collections Network, which recognizes outstanding assemblages for their value for genetic studies, breeding, and scientific research. Smithsonian Gardens orchid holding is the first tropical orchid collection to be included in the network. Members of the network can compare assets, identify gaps and duplications of species in their collections, and better facilitate research and knowledge sharing.

[file:field-caption]
The Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.

Carmen’s training with Tom explored how staff and volunteers can ensure the proper growing conditions for a given species of plant, how Smithsonian Gardens tracks identification, origin, blooming and propagation, and other ideas for methods to benefit Inkaterra’s conservation efforts.

“Carmen was exposed to all kinds of things that she’s never seen before,” Tom says. “It’s an eye-opener to see how technology can be used to track and keep notes about each plant.”

The Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.
The Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.

The Convention on International Trade of Endangered Species (CITES) tracks the conservation status of flora and fauna on its Red List, helping to denote threatened and endangered species. The difficult nature of scientific study in developing nations, which also often hold some of the most diverse ecosystems in the world, means many species are missing or underrepresented on that list. Helping smaller centers for conservation do their own cataloging work is a step toward filling in those critical gaps in knowledge for the global scientific and conservation communities—just one example of how smaller conservation efforts throughout the world can benefit from global interconnectedness.

Orchid at the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.
Orchid at the Smithsonian Gardens Greenhouse Facility. Credit: Maria Sanchez.

“The challenge with these smaller orchid gardens is to get these strange and wonderful endemics cataloged somewhere so we even know they exist,” Tom says. “I can grow them here in Smithsonian Gardens’ greenhouses, but these informal gardens do a much better job of growing the plants. Harnessing that will be helpful for realizing the goal of having endangered plant species be in ex situ conservation programs in their countries of origin.” 

Meet our people: Tom Mirenda
Close