2011 年,史密森尼古生物学家在智利的阿塔卡玛地区 (Atacama Region) 工作期间,听到有关大量海洋动物化石的传闻。 这个遗址被称为 Cerro Ballena,西班牙语的意思是“鲸鱼山丘”,埋有四十多条鲸和其他海洋哺乳动物的骨骸

Fossil site in the Atacama Desert, Chile. Photo Credit Nicholas Pyenson / Smithsonian Institution
位在智利阿塔卡玛沙漠的化石遗址。 照片来源:Nicholas Pyenson / 史密森尼博物院

因为道路建设迫在眉睫,要抓紧时间赶快工作,所以研究人员请史密森尼的 3D 数字化专家记录这个海洋生物墓地。 因为使用了 3D 扫描技术,史密森尼策展人和技术专家才能够保存原始形态的鲸鱼山丘遗址。 这些影像、模型科学发现可供世界上任何人在线赏阅。而且,史密森尼团队也可以继续研究过去几千年的气候变化可能对海洋生物多样性所产生的影响。

化石遗址:MPC 675。 照片来源:史密森尼博物院
化石遗址:MPC 675。照片来源:史密森尼博物院

鲸鱼山丘是世界上最独特的古生物遗址之一, 它位于智利阿塔卡玛地区泛美高速公路旁边 , 具有与拉布雷亚沥青坑 (La Brea Tar Pits) 类似的意义和规模,埋有迄今为止发现的最为集中的个体鲸化石和其他灭绝的海洋哺乳动物。  

2010 年,沿泛美高速公路道路建设出土了埋有大量鲸骨骸和其他灭绝的海洋生物的化石遗址。  

2011 年,史密森尼古生物学家尼克 • 佩尔森 (Nick Pyenson) 正在阿塔卡玛地区工作时,听说了鲸鱼山丘的情况, 他决定在完成附近的挖掘工作之后访问该遗址。即使他已听说有关大量海洋动物化石的传闻,鲸鱼山丘的鲸骨骸数量仍令他震惊,该遗址埋有包括类似海象的鲸和水生树獭 (aquatic sloth) 等灭绝的和罕见的海洋哺乳动物。 该遗址为深入调查南美海岸古代海洋生态系统打开了一扇神奇之窗

尼克思忖为什么 40 多条鲸和其他海洋哺乳动物貌似死于集体搁浅。 他还意识到他不仅是在解开一个谜团, 而是在与时间赛跑。已有计划要在数月内在整个遗址上铺路。

当地博物馆工人也已在给骨骼套上石膏,放置在当地博物馆内。 这就引出一个大问题, 一旦化石从其原地被移走,有关其死亡环境的重要信息就会丢失。 有关化石在岩层中位置的细节及其方向是了解故事真相的主要环节。 

为了及时捕捉和保留鲸鱼山丘的相关资料,他召集了史密森尼的数字化项目办公室 (Digitization Program Office) 的专家前来助阵。 3D “激光牛仔” 文森特 • 罗西 (Vincent Rossi) 和亚当 • 梅塔洛 (Adam Metallo) 携带激光扫描仪飞抵智利,马不停蹄地日夜奋战,记录了化石及其发现地的相关信息。 3-D 数字化团队拯救了宝贵的信息,以免该信息在挖掘鲸鱼山丘和搬迁化石过程中遗失

MPC 675 的 3D 模型。 照片来源:史密森尼博物院
MPC 675 的 3D 模型。 照片来源:史密森尼博物院

3D 扫描所保留的的化石相关资料帮助尼克和他的团队推断出,鲸群并非死于发现的遗址,鲸鱼山丘是个墓地,而不是屠杀现场。 鲸鱼山丘也是在化石记录中首次证明海洋哺乳动物重复集体搁浅的确凿实例。 在排除了各种其他诸如海啸或病毒等解释之后,史密森尼研究人员得出结论:鲸集体搁浅死亡是由于海藻过量繁殖造成的危害。  

许多种类的海藻在迅猛繁殖时可产生高浓度的毒素,大型草食性海洋哺乳动物会因吸入或吞食毒素而很快致死。 肉食性海洋哺乳动物在食用了含有少量毒素的猎物之后也会死亡,该毒素可导致器官衰竭,及因窒息而突然死亡。  

现代有许多海藻过量繁殖杀死海洋生物的实例,其中包括佛罗里达州海岸附近出现的赤潮,或 1987 年在鳕鱼角 (Cape Cod) 发生的数十条座头鲸被冲上岸的事件。 导致海藻过量繁殖的人为因素在数百万年前并不存在,而如今径流携带杀虫剂进入溪流江河,然后流入大海,自然排放的诸如铁等矿物质也进入水体,都促成了此类事件的发生。

鲸鱼山丘遗址的重要性证实了化石在科学研究中的价值。 正如尼克所说:“化石是古生物的数据记录。” 史密森尼的国立自然历史博物馆 (National Museum of Natural History) 收藏了来自世界各大洲的 4 千 2 百万件标本,涵盖从第一条微生物生命(大约 35 亿年前)至上一次冰期(大约 1 万 8 千年前)的所有地质时期。  

国家自然历史博物馆的大卫 • 卢比拉尔 • 罗杰斯博士 (David Rubilar Rogers)  David Rubilar Rogers (Museo Nacional de Historia Natural) 和史密森尼研究所的尼古拉斯 • D • 平森博士 (Nicholas D. Pyenson) 于 2012 年在鲸鱼山丘 (Cerro Ballena) 路堑内收集一段鲸脊椎骨化石。 照片来源:史密森尼研究所
智利国立自然历史博物馆的大卫 • 卢比拉尔 • 罗杰斯博士 和史密森尼研究所的尼古拉斯 • D • 平森博士于 2012 年在鲸鱼山丘路堑内收集一段鲸脊椎骨化石。照片来源:史密森尼博物院

尼克表示,“我们的使命就是研究、保护和继续扩大这些独一无二的收藏品 ,这是数以百万计小时辛勤工作的结果,收集和找回这些远古的遗迹。 每件样本都经历了一次从地表岩层中发现到博物馆抽屉的特殊旅途。  这些旅途通常会花上几十年,可能需要在实验室内制备,或者从全新的视角重新加以分析。” 你从来都不知道,当你往博物馆的橱柜里仔细看一眼⋯⋯或是通过虚拟 3-D 浏览器观察,都可能会揭开什么秘密。  

尼克与公众分享其工作成果并演示古生物学如何从回望与了解过去来告知我们现在和未来,以此反对化石的非法交易。

 

请深入了解我们: 鲸鱼山丘
关闭

In 2011, Smithsonian paleontologists heard rumors of a large number of marine fossils while working in the Atacama Region of Chile. This site, Cerro Ballena, or “whale hill” in Spanish, contained the skeletons of more than 40 whales and other marine mammals

Fossil site in the Atacama Desert, Chile. Photo Credit Nicholas Pyenson / Smithsonian Institution
Fossil site in the Atacama Desert, Chile. Photo Credit Nicholas Pyenson / Smithsonian Institution

Working quickly because of impending road construction, researchers brought in Smithsonian’s 3D digitization experts to record this marine graveyard. With 3D scanning technology, Smithsonian curators and technology specialists were able to preserve the Cerro Ballena site in its original context. Now, these images, models and scientific findings are available online to anyone in the world and the Smithsonian team can continue to study how changes in climate over the millennia may have affected marine biodiversity.

Fossil site MPC 675. Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution
Fossil site MPC 675. Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution

Cerro Ballena is one of the world’s most unique paleontological sites. Located along the Pan-American Highway in the Atacama Region of Chile and similar in significance and scope to the La Brea Tar Pits, Cerro Ballena has the densest concentration of individual fossil whales and other extinct marine mammals ever found.  

In 2010, road construction along the Pan-American Highway unearthed a fossil site rich in whale skeletons and the remains of extinct marine life.  

Smithsonian paleontologist Nick Pyenson was working in the Atacama Region in 2011 when he heard about Cerro Ballena. He decided to visit the site after finishing a dig nearby and even after hearing rumors about the large number of marine fossils, he was blown away by the number of whale skeletons at Cerro Ballena, which included extinct and unusual marine mammals, including walrus-like whales and aquatic sloths. The site is an amazing window into ancient marine ecosystems along the coast of South America.

Nick wondered why more than 40 whales and other marine mammals died in what appeared to be a mass stranding. He also realized he was not only solving a mystery. He was also in a race against time. Plans were underway to pave over the entire site within months.

Already, local museum workers were jacketing the bones in plaster and placing them in local museums. This presented a big problem. Once the fossils were removed from their original location, vital information about the context of their demise would be lost. Details about the position of fossils in rock layers, and their orientation are an important part of the story.

Desperate to capture and preserve the context of Cerro Ballena, he enlisted the expertise of Smithsonian’s Digitization Project Office. 3D “laser cowboys” Vince Rossi and Adam Metallo flew to Chile with laser scanners and worked around the clock to document fossils and the context in which they were originally discovered. The 3-D digitization team saved valuable information that would otherwise be lost during excavation and relocation of fossils from Cerro Ballena.

3D model of MPC 675. Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution
3D model of MPC 675. Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution

The fossil context 3D scanning preserved helped Nick and his team deduce that the group wasn’t killed at the site itself; Cerro Ballena is a graveyard, not a murder site. Cerro Ballena is also the first definitive example of repeated mass strandings of marine mammals in the fossil record. After ruling out a variety of other explanations, such as tsunamis or viruses, Smithsonian researchers concluded that the mass stranding was the result of a harmful algal bloom.  

Sudden blooms of many types of algae can produce high concentrations of toxins that quickly kill large herbivorous marine mammals when they inhale or eat them. Carnivorous marine mammals also die after eating prey laced with these toxins, which cause organ failure and sudden death by asphxyiation.  

There are numerous modern examples of algal blooms killing marine creatures, including red tides off the coast of Florida, or a 1987 incident when dozens of humpback whales washed ashore on Cape Cod. While anthropogenic—man-made—causes of algal blooms didn’t exist millions of years ago, today these events are precipitated by pesticide runoff into streams and rivers and then out to sea, as well as natural discharge of minerals like iron into water.

The importance of the Cerro Ballena site attests to the value of fossils for scientific research. As Nick says, “fossils are the data records of ancient life.” Smithsonian’s National Museum of Natural History houses 42 million specimens from every continent in the world, spanning every geologic time period from the last Ice Age (~18,000 years ago) to the first squiggles of microbial life (~3.5 billion years ago).  

Drs. David Rubilar Rogers (Museo Nacional de Historia Natural) and Nicholas D. Pyenson (Smithsonian Institution) collect a fossil whale vertebra in the roadcut at Cerro Ballena in 2012. Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution
Drs. David Rubilar Rogers (Museo Nacional de Historia Natural) and Nicholas D. Pyenson (Smithsonian Institution) collect a fossil whale vertebra in the roadcut at Cerro Ballena in 2012. Photo Credit Smithsonian Institution

“Our mission is to study, preserve and continue building these unique collections, the culmination of millions of hours of labor spent collecting and retrieving these traces of the distant past,” Nick says. “Each specimen undertook a special journey from its discovery in a rock outcrop to a museum drawer.  Often these journeys take decades, can involve preparation in a laboratory, or re-analysis with new eyes.” One never knows what secret may be revealed by a careful look in a museum cabinet…or through a virtual 3-D viewer.  

Nick works against the illegal traffic in fossils by sharing his work with the public and demonstrating how paleontology, by looking to and understanding the past, can tell us about our present and our future. 

 

Learn more about: Cerro Ballena
Close