在加蓬,各种森林和丛林占全国将近 80 % 的土地面积,分布在国家内部和大西洋之间的区域。 除了协助调节区域气候和固定作为刚果盆地一部分的碳外,加蓬森林为全国 180 多万人口提供必要商品和服务。 该区域的未来依赖于对该关键资源进行认真管理和监测。

在拉比西南海岸上方的森林研究样地内,史密森尼科学家正在对森林进行研究,以更好地了解气候变化的影响。 在拉比样地开展的研究旨在评估有助于减轻开发造成的环境影响的方法,增加加蓬的科研能力并提高对加蓬丰富的生物多样性的认识。

拉比样地。 
 来源: 
 史密森尼。
拉比样地。 来源: 史密森尼。

这个占地 60 英亩的拉比森林样地,及其他位于 24 个国家的 63 个研究样地都由史密森尼赞助,并共同构成了史密森尼全球森林地球观测站 (ForestGEO) 。 这个网络监测热带和温带森林中 6 百万棵树和 10,000 个物种的功能和多样性。 加蓬政府是史密森尼重要的合作伙伴,一直支持史密森尼在加蓬森林研究样地内进行研究。该样地是加蓬政府承诺贡献至少 15% 的国土面积用于保护和可持续管理的一部分。 加蓬森林茂密的甘巴综合保护区 (Gamba Complex of Protected Areas) 中的拉比样地是史密森尼热带研究所 (STRI)、史密森尼保护生物学研究所 (SCBI)、壳牌加蓬 (Shell Gabon) 和加蓬政府之间协作的一部分。

加蓬生态学家埃尔韦•麦米亚赫 (Hervé Memiaghe) 是拉比样地科学家之一。 他正和当地学生公民科学家共同测量森林的生长情况,这是史密森尼树木绑带项目 (Tree Banding Project) 的一部分。

2013 年夏天,埃尔韦与杰西•帕克 (Jess Parker) 在 SERC 测量密集树木生长状况。 
来源: 
史密森尼。
2013 年夏天,埃尔韦与杰西•帕克 (Jess Parker) 在 SERC 测量密集树木生长状况。 来源: 史密森尼。

作为针对中小学的一个公民科学项目,史密森尼树木绑带项目是一个收集树木生长数据的全球“天文台”。 在史密森尼环境研究中心 (SERC) 森林生态学家杰弗里(杰西)•帕克 (Geoffrey “Jess” Parker) 的领导下,该项目在微软伙伴学习 (Microsoft Partners in Learning) 的资助下与全球各类学校合作,安装一种名为测树仪的简单、便宜的金属带,以传递与这些学校的本地树木相关的信息。

2013 年,埃尔韦帮助加蓬两所中学加入全球其他学校,为项目献计献策。   在一笔史密森尼 Youth Access 拨款项目(史密森尼国立非洲艺术博物馆 (National Museum of African Art) “天地万物” (Earth Matters) 展会的一部分)的资助下,他前往史密森尼环境研究中心 (SERC) 与杰西合作了解用于测量树围的测树仪和数显卡尺。

与师生一起安装绑带,这是树木绑带项目的一部分。 
来源: 
史密森尼。
与师生一起在树上安装绑带,这是树木绑带项目的一部分。 来源: 史密森尼。

测量森林的生态健康状况和影响中,最简单的度量标准就是检测树木生长状况。 树木生长时会吸收大气中的二氧化碳并将碳融合到体内,使自己成为强大的碳汇。 它们还在水循环中起到重要作用,通过收集和过滤雨水来改善水质。

测树仪非常有利,这有很多原因。 这些绑带很便宜,价格在 2 到 3 美元一个;通过绑带上的窗口测量树木生长变化的数显卡尺的价格也仅在 15 到 20 美元之间。 它们还非常准确,甚至能测量单一季节内的生长数据。之前,埃尔韦必须每隔 5 年对拉比调查样地内的树木进行手动测量,而他所使用的工具是一根手持带子,这种方法很可能导致相当大的误差范围。

一个测树仪。 
来源: 
玛丽亚•桑切斯 (Maria Sanchez)
一个测树仪。 来源: 玛丽亚•桑切斯 (Maria Sanchez)

测树仪的放置方式和带子一样,它们随着树木的生长或收缩而变化。 研究人员通过带有数显标尺的绑带上的窗口测量树木变化,这些标尺能显示 1/100 毫米的微小变化,这比头发的粗细还小。 这种灵敏度能显示与当地环境因素相关的快速生长变化,这不仅包括树木在一年时间内的生长量,而且包括树木开始和停止生长的时间。

“树木绑带的优点是,你可以对一年内发生的可能有助于树木成长的因素进行谈论。” 杰西说, “这是一种非常简单、强大的技术,让我们能跟踪极短时间内的树木生长行为。”

2015 年马里兰州艾奇沃特 (Edgewater) 的 SERC 森林样地,杰西•帕克 (Jess Parker) 与一个测树仪。 
 照片来源:玛丽亚•桑切斯 (Maria Sanchez)/史密森尼。
2015 年马里兰州艾奇沃特 (Edgewater) 的 SERC 森林样地,杰西•帕克 (Jess Parker) 与一个测树仪。 照片来源:玛丽亚•桑切斯 (Maria Sanchez)/史密森尼。

埃尔韦把树木绑带视为一种非常简单、实惠的方式,通过这种方式,可以在加蓬任何地方的学校中进行树木绑带项目 (Tree Banding Project);他的观点是:让学生直接参与生态监测过程将促使他们更好地理解和欣赏他们家园附近的环境。

“通过这样的方式,他们可以获得他们能在野外发现的东西。” 埃尔韦说,“参与一些读书和听课以外的活动,对他们非常有益。 尽管很多时候,非常有钱的学校才会组织这种活动,但是这些公立学校的学生为能参与其中兴奋不已。”

位于利伯维尔的珍•巴普蒂斯特•奥比昂•埃图盖中学 (Lycée Jean Baptiste Obiang Etoughe) 和位于甘巴镇的罗杰•古提朗中学 (Lycée Roger Gouteyron) 加入了一个由 500 多所学校和机构组成的网络,这是史密森尼树木绑带项目 (Smithsonian Tree Banding Project) 一部分。 埃尔韦希望,到最后有 40 多名学生跟踪二十多颗树木。 

在加蓬滨海奥果韦省甘巴镇的壳牌营地中的史密森尼实验室,同来自罗杰古迪荣学校 (Roger Gouteyron School) 的师生一起为树木绑带项目输入数据 
来源: 
史密森尼。
在加蓬滨海奥果韦省甘巴镇的壳牌营地中的史密森尼实验室,同来自罗杰古迪荣学校 (Roger Gouteyron School) 的师生一起为树木绑带项目输入数据。 来源: 史密森尼。

埃尔韦和学生们一年内监测了甘巴镇十来棵树木。 他说,学生们非常渴望向他们的同龄人和父母讲述他们的经历和观察结果,因为他们的同龄人和父母对于他们自己森林的科学价值知之甚少。

“起初,父母们并不了解气候变化的重要性。” 埃尔韦说,“但是,当学生们激动地谈论树木如何生长,及气候变化正在如何影响我们可以立刻观察到的东西时,他们有了更多的思考,即面对气候变化和生态系统保护,树木如何变得更具多样性。 他们开始谈论他们如何才能改变他们自己城市中的东西。”

在加蓬滨海奥果韦省甘巴镇的壳牌营地中的史密森尼实验室,同来自罗杰古迪荣学校 (Roger Gouteyron School) 的师生一起为树木绑带项目输入数据 
来源: 
史密森尼。
在加蓬滨海奥果韦省甘巴镇的壳牌营地中的史密森尼实验室,同来自罗杰古迪荣学校 (Roger Gouteyron School) 的师生一起为树木绑带项目输入数据。 来源: 史密森尼。

通过让学生参与在加蓬及世界各地的森林收集数据,并构建数据库的行动中,像埃尔韦一样的科学家们不仅正在他们的研究中投入新的利益相关者,而且正在努力建造一座可利用的有关全球和当地气候模式的“知识深井”。

杰西说:“从尽可能多的地方尽可能长时间地收集这些测量数据是一个强大的可利用工具。” “网络型研究的方法,特别是树木绑带,就是如果我们从很多地方获得大量观察结果,那么我们就能开始了解天气和气候如何对其他事物造成影响。 我们正在创建一个关于潜在未来变化的资料库。”

 

 

关闭

The diverse forests and jungles of Gabon cover nearly 80 percent of the country’s geography, from the nation’s interior to the Atlantic. In addition to helping regulate regional climate and sequestering carbon as part of the Congo Basin, Gabon’s forests supply the country’s more than 1.8 million people with essential commodities and services. The region’s future depends upon careful management and monitoring of this vital resource.

In a forest research plot on the southwestern coast at Rabi, Smithsonian scientists are studying the forest to better understand the impacts of climate change. Research at the Rabi plot aims to assess ways to help mitigate environmental impacts of development, increase Gabon’s capacity in scientific research, and raise a greater awareness of Gabon’s rich biodiversity.

The Rabi Plot. Credit: Smithsonian.
The Rabi Plot. Credit: Smithsonian.

The 60-acre Rabi forest plot is one of 63 Smithsonian-sponsored research plots in 24 countries that make up the Smithsonian Forest Global Earth Observatory (ForestGEO). This network monitors the function and diversity of 6 million trees and 10,000 species in tropical and temperate forests. The Government of Gabon has been a vital partner supporting Smithsonian research in the Gabon forest research plot as part of its commitment to dedicate at least 15 percent of the country’s land area to conservation and sustainable management. The Rabi plot, in Gabon’s heavily forested Gamba Complex of Protected Areas, is a collaborative effort between the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute (STRI), the Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute (SCBI), Shell Gabon and the Government of Gabon.

Gabonese ecologist Hervé Memiaghe is one of the scientists at the Rabi plot. He is working with local student citizen scientists to measure the forest’s growth, as part of the Smithsonian’s Tree Banding Project.

Hervé measuring intensive tree growth at SERC with Jess Parker in summer 2013. Credit: Smithsonian.
Hervé measuring intensive tree growth at SERC with Jess Parker in summer 2013. Credit: Smithsonian.

A citizen science program targeted at elementary and secondary schools, the Smithsonian’s Tree Banding Project is a global observatory that collects data on tree growth. Led by Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC) forest ecologist Geoffrey “Jess” Parker, with funding from a Microsoft Partners in Learning grant, the project has worked with schools around the world to set up simple, inexpensive metal bands called dendrometers to relay information about the schools’ local trees.

In 2013, Hervé helped two middle schools in Gabon join other schools around the globe to contribute to the project.  Supported by a Smithsonian Youth Access Grant as part of the Earth Matters exhibition at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of African Art, he traveled to SERC and worked with Jess to learn about dendrometers and the digital calipers used to measure changes in trees’ girth.

Installation of a band on the tree as part of the treebanding project with teachers and students. Credit: Smithsonian.
Installation of a band on the tree as part of the treebanding project with teachers and students. Credit: Smithsonian.

The simplest metric for measuring a forest’s ecological health and impact is by monitoring tree growth. As they grow, trees absorb atmospheric carbon dioxide and incorporate the carbon into their bodies, making them powerful carbon sinks. They also play an important role in the water cycle, improving water quality by trapping and filtering rainfall.

Dendrometers are advantageous for a number of reasons. These bands are cheap, at $2 to $3 each, and the digital calipers used to measure changes through a window on the band also only cost between $15 and $20. They’re also accurate, allowing measurements of growth even from within a single season; previously, Hervé had to manually measure trees in the Rabi survey plot on a five-year interval with a hand-held tape, a method prone to a fair margin of error.

A dendrometer. Credit: Maria Sanchez
A dendrometer. Credit: Maria Sanchez

Positioned like belts, dendrometers grow or shrink with the trees. Researchers gauge changes through a window on the band with the digital calipers, which are capable of showing variations as slight as 1/100th of a millimeter, less than the width of a human hair. This level of sensitivity reveals rapid changes in growth that are related to local environmental factors, including not only how much a tree grew in a year, but also when it began and when it stopped growing.

“The advantage of tree bands is that you can talk about factors that happen in one year that could have contributed to the growth of the tree,” Jess says. “It’s a very simple, powerful technology that allows us to track some very short-term behaviors in tree growth.”

Jess Parker with a dendrometer at the SERC Forest Plot in Edgewater, MD (2015). Photo Credit Maria Sanchez/Smithsonian.
Jess Parker with a dendrometer at the SERC Forest Plot in Edgewater, MD (2015). Photo Credit Maria Sanchez/Smithsonian.

Hervé viewed the tree bands as an easy and affordable way to expand the Tree Banding Project to schools anywhere in Gabon, with the idea that directly involving students in the process of ecological monitoring would foster a deeper understanding of—and appreciation for—the environment around their homes.

“It’s a way to have something they can discover in the field,” Hervé says. “It’s good for them to get some activities that aren’t just about reading a book and listening. Most times it’s very rich schools that do this kind of work, but these public school children were very excited to be involved.”

Two middle schools, Lycée Jean Baptiste Obiang Etoughe, in Libreville, and Lycée Roger Gouteyron, in Gamba, joined a network of over 500 schools and institutions that are part of the Smithsonian Tree Banding Project. Hervé hopes that eventually more than 40 students will be tracking over two dozen trees. 

Data entering for the treebanding project with teachers and students from Roger Gouteyron School at the Smithsonian lab at the Shell camp in Gamba, Ogouee Maritime, Gabon. Credit: Smithsonian.
Data entering for the treebanding project with teachers and students from Roger Gouteyron School at the Smithsonian lab at the Shell camp in Gamba, Ogouee Maritime, Gabon. Credit: Smithsonian.

Hervé and the students monitored a dozen trees in in Gamba over the course of a year. Students, he said, grew eager to relate their experiences and observations to peers and parents who had little prior knowledge of the scientific value of their forests.

“At first, the parents didn’t understand the importance of climate change,” Hervé said. “But as students got excited talking about how trees grow, and how climate change affects what we can observe right now, it brought more thought into how they can be more diverse about climate change and ecosystem conservation. They started talking about how they can change things even in their own city.”

Data entering for the treebanding project with teachers and students from Roger Gouteyron School at the Smithsonian lab at the Shell camp in Gamba, Ogouee Maritime, Gabon. Credit: Smithsonian.
Data entering for the treebanding project with teachers and students from Roger Gouteyron School at the Smithsonian lab at the Shell camp in Gamba, Ogouee Maritime, Gabon. Credit: Smithsonian.

By including students in the effort to assemble a library of data from forests in Gabon and around the world, scientists like Hervé are not only investing new stakeholders in their research, but are also working to build a deep well of knowledge to draw upon for global and local climate patterns.

“Collecting these measurements from as many places as we can, for as long as we can, is a powerful tool to exploit,” Jess adds. “The approach to network-type studies, and tree banding in particular, is that if we get many observations from many places, we can start to learn how things are affected by weather and climate. We’re building a library of variations on possible futures.”

 

 

Close