يدرس باتريك ميجونيجال أخصائي الكيمياء الحيوية بمركز سيمثسونيان للأبحاث البيئية (SERC) أهمية الغطاء النباتي الساحلي، بما في ذلك أشجار المنغروف، والأعشاب البحرية، والأعشاب بالمستنقعات المالحة كخزانات "الكربون الأزرق" التي تخفف من تغيرات المناخ العالمي عن طريق امتصاص ثاني أكسيد الكربون. 

تُعد أشجار المنغروف غابات ساحلية ونظم بيئية مهمة تلعب دورًا حيويًا في تدعيم التنوع الأحيائي، وحماية السواحل من التآكل والعواصف، وتوفير الغداء والدواء، ودعم سبل العيش المحلية. وإضافة إلى ذلك، تحظى هذه الأشجار بإمكانيات رائعة كخزانات "للكربون الأزرق"، حيث تمتص الكربون من الغلاف الجوي والمحيطات وتخزنه في النباتات والرواسب. يعمل علماء مؤسسة سميثسونيان على حماية أشجار المنغروف عن طريق تحديد دور هذه الأشجار في تحسين المناخ، وتدريب العلماء والطلاب والمتطوعين على رصد وحماية هذه الأشجار الحيوية.

تصوير تشيب كلارك ومؤسسة سميثسونيان.
تصوير تشيب كلارك ومؤسسة سميثسونيان.

تأوي النظم البيئية لأشجار المنغروف طيور وحياة بحرية متنوعة، وتدعم رفاهية الإنسان وسلامة الأرض. كما أنها تُعد أحد مصادر إنتاج المأكولات البحرية والفواكه والأدوية والألياف والأخشاب.  تُشكل أشجار المنغروف من خلال شبكاتها الكثيفة وفروعها المتشابكة حواجز طبيعية تساعد في حماية السواحل الهشة والمجتمعات المحلية من العواصف الساحلية وموجات المد. كما تحسن من جودة المياه بتنقية الانسياب السطحي والمياه الملوثة. وتحمي المناخ عن طريق امتصاص ثاني أكسيد الكربون وخفض كمية الغازات الدفيئة.

تتعرض أشجار المنغروف في جميع أنحاء العالم إلى ضغط كبير، إزاء النشاط الصناعي ونمو المستوطنات وتغير المناخ وانتشار تربية الأحياء المائية. دُمرت 35 في المائة على الأقل من أشجار المنغروف حول العالم منذ منتصف ثمانينات القرن الماضي، وهو معدل خسارة تجاوز معدل اختفاء الغابات الاستوائية المطيرة.

طبقًا لتقرير الاتحاد الدولي للحفاظ على الطبيعة (IUCN)، فإن 1 من إجمالي 6 أجناس من أشجار المنغروف حول العالم مُهدد بالانقراض، نتيجةً للتنمية الساحلية وقطع الأشجار والزراعة وآثار التغير المناخي. ونظرًا للتغيرات المناخية، فمن المتوقع زيادة شدة العواصف، الأمر الذي سيترتب عليه زيادة التآكل الساحلي وتهديد المستوطنات الساحلية. 

تعاون بات في عام 2013، مع خبراء آخرين في النظم البيئية للمستنقعات وأشجار المنغروف والأعشاب البحرية، ووزارة البيئة بأبوظبي، والمنظمة الدولية وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة/ قاعدة بيانات الموارد العالمية - أرندال؛ لتحديد كمية الكربون المخزنة في النظم البيئية الساحلية القريبة من أبوظبي. يتضمن المشروع تدريب علماء الدولة والطلاب المتطوعين الذين تعلموا تقنيات جمع عينات النباتات والتربة؛ لتحليل هذه العينات ومعرفة محتواها من الكربون، واستخدام هذه المقاييس لحساب إجمالي كمية الكربون المخزنة في منطقة أكبر.

(بات) ميجونيجال (في المنتصف) مع بعض أعضاء فريقه في أبوظبي. تصوير بون كوفمان.
(بات) ميجونيجال (في المنتصف) مع بعض أعضاء فريقه في أبوظبي. تصوير بون كوفمان.

تهتم أبوظبي بالحفاظ على نظمها البيئية الساحلية، ولا سيما أشجار المنغروف. ويتوفر لدى دولة الإمارات بوصفها مُنتجًا رئيسيًا للنفط حافزًا إضافيًا يتمثل في زيادة الوعي بقدراتها الساحلية لفصل الكربون. وفي هذا الصدد، يصرح بات قائلاً، "إنهم يهتمون بالنظم البيئية للكربون الأزرق باعتباره جزءًا من اقتصاد الطاقة، فضلاً عن أنهم مفتونون بفكرة إمكانية أن يساهم هذا الأمر في جهودهم الرامية كي يكونوا محايدين للكربون على مستوى الدولة على الأقل".وبالرغم من طول الطريق التي تقطعه دبي للوصول إلى الحياد الكربوني، إلا أن البيانات التي يحللها ميجونيجال ستساعد في إنشاء خارطة طريق.

يبذل د.داس وبات ميجونيجال قصارى جهدهما لجمع نواة من السبخات الساحلية بإمارة أبوظبي. تصوير ليزا شيلا
يبذل د.داس وبات ميجونيجال قصارى جهدهما لجمع نواة من السبخات الساحلية بإمارة أبوظبي. تصوير ليزا شيلا

وكما هي الحال في المناطق الأخرى، تتأثر أحيانًا أشجار المنغروف في أبوظبي بالأنشطة البشرية، غير أن بات قد لاحظ أن الحكومة بدأت في زراعة أشجار المنغروف منذ الخمسينات من القرن الماضي وتزرع في الوقت الراهن أشجارًا جديدة منها عبر مساحات شاسعة. ويأمل بات أن يعمل التعاون المستمر في الإمارات العربية المتحدة على تعزيز الصورة العامة للنظم البيئية الساحلية في الشرق الأوسط وإيجاد الإرادة السياسية اللازمة لحماية هذه أشجار.وأخيرًا، يحظى الحفاظ على هذه الأنظمة النباتية الساحلية "للكربون الأزرق" بالعديد من الفوائد التي تعود بالنفع على المناخ، ومصائد الأسماك، والسياحة، والتنوع البيولوجي، والمجتمعات المحلية.

تصوير كريستين مينوغ.
تصوير كريستين مينوغ.
إغلاق

Biogeochemist Patrick (Pat) Megonigal from the Smithsonian Environmental Research Center (SERC) studies the role of coastal vegetation, including mangroves, seagrasses, and salt marsh grasses, as “blue carbon” reservoirs that mitigate global climate change by absorbing carbon dioxide. 

Mangroves are coastal forests and important ecosystems that play a critical role in supporting biodiversity, protecting coasts from erosion and storms, providing food and medicine, and supporting local livelihoods. Mangroves also have an incredible ability to act as “blue carbon” reservoirs, removing carbon from our atmosphere and oceans and storing it in plants and sediment. Smithsonian scientists are working to protect mangroves by quantifying their role in climate mitigation and training scientists, students, and volunteers to monitor and protect these vital forests.

Photo credit Chip Clarke and Smithsonian Institution.
Photo credit Chip Clarke and Smithsonian Institution.

Mangrove ecosystems are home to diverse bird and marine life and support human well-being and the health of the planet. They produce seafood, fruits, medicines, fiber, and wood. With dense webs of tangled branches, mangroves form natural barriers that help protect fragile coastlines and communities from coastal storms and tsunamis. They improve water quality by filtering runoff and polluted waters. And they protect the climate by absorbing carbon dioxide and reducing the amount of greenhouse gas.

Worldwide, mangroves are under significant stress due to industrial activity, growth of settlements, climate change, and the spread of aquaculture. Since the mid-1980’s, at least 35 percent of the world’s mangroves have been destroyed, a rate of loss that exceeds the disappearance of tropical rainforests.

According to the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), 1 in 6 mangrove species worldwide is in danger of extinction, from coastal development, logging and agriculture, and the consequences of climate change. As the climate changes, storm severity is predicted to increase, which will increase coastal erosion and threaten coastal settlements. 

In 2013, Pat collaborated with other experts in marsh, mangrove and seagrass ecosystems, Abu Dhabi’s Ministry of Environment, and the International Organization UNEP/GRID-Arendal to quantify the amount of carbon stored in coastal ecosystems near Abu Dhabi. The project included training for government scientists and student volunteers who learned techniques to collect plant and soil samples, to analyze samples for carbon content, and to use these measurements to calculate the total amount of carbon stored over a larger area.

Pat Megonigal (center) with members of his team in Abu Dhabi. Photo credit Boone Kauffman.
Pat Megonigal (center) with members of his team in Abu Dhabi. Photo credit Boone Kauffman.

Abu Dhabi has an interest in preserving its coastal ecosystems, especially mangroves. As a major oil producer, growing awareness of the coasts’ ability to sequester carbon gave them an added incentive. “They’re interested in blue carbon ecosystems as part of their energy economy, and are intrigued by the idea that this can contribute to their efforts to be, at least as a country, carbon neutral,” says Pat. While Abu Dhabi has a long way to go towards carbon neutrality, the data Megonigal is analyzing will help to create a roadmap.

Dr. Das and Pat Megonigal work hard to collect a core from the coastal sabkha of Abu Dhabi. Photo credit Lisa Schile.
Dr. Das and Pat Megonigal work hard to collect a core from the coastal sabkha of Abu Dhabi. Photo credit Lisa Schile.

As in other regions, mangroves in Abu Dhabi are sometimes impacted by human activities, but Pat observed the government has been planting mangroves since the 1950s and is presently planting new mangroves over large areas. He hopes that ongoing collaboration in the UAE will raise the profile of coastal ecosystems in the Middle East and build the political will needed to protect mangroves. Ultimately, conservation of these coastal “blue carbon” vegetation systems will have a range of benefits to climate, fisheries, tourism, biodiversity, and communities.

Photo credit Kristen Minogue.
Photo credit Kristen Minogue.
Close