يهدد عدم الاستقرار السياسي والصراعات الموجودة في سوريا والعراق أمن وسلامة التراث الثقافي هناك. يساعد التراث الثقافي المجتمعات والأمم في إعادة بناء نفسها عقب ما يلم بها من عنف وكوارث طبيعية مدمرة. فالأمر لا يتعلق فقط بالحفاظ على النتاج البشري والمواقع التاريخية، بل إنه يتعلق بالحفاظ على مجتمعات بأكملها وأسلوب حياتها. تعمل مؤسسة سميثسونيان مباشرة مع المتاحف السورية والعراقية إلى جانب الأخصائيين الثقافيين لتوفير التدريب لهم فضلًا عن المعدات والدعم الفني من أجل الحماية الميدانية للتراث الثقافي والمحافظة عليه.  

يعد مشروع حماية تراث سوريا والعراق (SHOSI) شراكة بين مؤسسة سميثسونيان ومركز التراث الثقافي في بنسلفانيا التابع لمتحف جامعة بنسلفانيا والجمعية الأمريكية لتقدم العلوم وجامعة شانوي  وجمعية "اليوم التالي" و معهد السلام الأمريكي. يتصدى مشروع حماية تراث سوريا والعراق للتهديدات التي تحدق بالتراث الثقافي في الشرق الأوسط، من خلال البحث وتدريب المتخصصين في شؤون المتاحف المحليين فضلًا عن التوعية العامة واستخدام التقنيات الحديثة لرصد مدى الدمار

نظمت مؤسسة سميثسونيان في صيف 2014 ورشة عمل طارئة للأخصائيين العاملين بالمتحف السوري من أجل مشاركة خبرة سميثسونيان فيما يتعلق بخدمات الرعاية أثناء الطوارئ للمجموعات المتنوعة بالمتحف . لقد قامت كورين فيجنر، مسؤولة الحفاظ على التراث الثقافي بمؤسسة سميثسونيان، وروبرت باترسون، متخصص المعارض في المتحف القومي للهنود الأمريكيين، والزملاء من جامعة بنسلفانيا وجامعة ولاية شوني بمشاركة المعلومات مع المشاركين بخصوص حماية المجموعات المتنوعة بالمتاحف خلال الصراع السوري

قدمت الورشة للمشاركين أيضًا اللوازم الأساسية لتعبئة المحتويات المتنوعة الموجودة بالمتحف وتأمينها. تواصل المشاركون في الورشة مع أقرانهم وبدأوا محادثة بخصوص الوضع في سوريا وتنسيق الاستجابات لحالات الطوارئ. لا يستطيع القيمون بالمتاحف السورية والأمناء بها غالبًا التواصل بسهولة مع بعضهم البعض بسبب الصراع. أتاحت لهم الورشة فرصة للاجتماع كمجتمع واحد وتحديد طرق لحماية المحتويات التراثية في المكان المناسب.

شراء لوازم التعبئة في حالات الطوارئ. 
 صورة من كورين فيجنر.
شراء لوازم التعبئة في حالات الطوارئ. صورة كورين فيجنر.

وفرت مؤسسة سميثسونيان للمشاركين المعدات واللوازم لتأمين المحتويات التراثية في سوريا، بما في ذلك مجموعات الفسيفساء التي لا يمكن تحريكها الموجودة في متحف معرة النعمان في محافظة إدلب. يقع متحف معرة النعمان على بعد 50 ميلاً من حلب، حيث يضم بين جنباته أهم مجموعات الفسيفساء الرومانية والبيزنطية في الشرق الأوسط والتي تعود إلى الفترة بين القرنين الثالث والسادس.

لقد تعرض متحف الفسيفساء بمدينة معرة النعمان إلى تدمير كبير جراء الحرب الأهلية طويلة الأمد والتي لا تزال قائمة حتى اللحظة. قدمت مؤسسة سميثسونيان دعمًا للجهود المتعلقة بحماية التراث والحفاظ عليه في حالات الطوارئ المبذولة من جانب أخصائي التراث الثقافي السوريين والمتطوعين من أجل حماية هذه العناصر النفيسة.

تصوير كورين فيجنر
صورة من كورين فيجنر.

يهدف مشروع الحماية في حالات الطوارئ إلى تأمين الفسيفساء من أي ضرر إضافي أثناء الصراع. وبعد مشاورات مع الخبراء في مجال حفظ الفسيفساء، وضع الفريق السوري طبقة من الصمغ والقماش مصممة لتقوية القطع صغيرة (قطع القرميد الفردية التي تتكون منها الفسيفساء) والحفاظ عليها متماسكة. عندئذٍ، وضع الفريق عدد من حمولات أكياس الرمل لحماية الفسيفساء من أي ضرر إضافي. وبوجه عام، ساهم الفريق في حماية ما يقرب من 1,600 قدم مربع من الفسيفساء

تصوير كورين فيجنر
صورة من كورين فيجنر.

عندما خلف برميل متفجر دمارًا شديدًا في المتحف في يونيو 2015، صمدت التحصينات المصنوعة من الأكياس الرملية وحمت الفسيفساء وحالت دون انهيار الجدران التي كانت مثبتة عليها.

تصوير كورين فيجنر
صورة من كورين فيجنر.

وفي هذا السياق صرحت كورين قائلة "إن مشروع الحفاظ على متحف الفسيفساء بمدينة معرة النعمان يُعد إشارة على التزام الزملاء السوريين بالحفاظ على تراثهم حتى في مواجهة صراع مسلح". وتابع "إنني أشعر بالفخر تجاه دعم سميثسونيان جهود هؤلاء الزملاء كما أتطلع إلى مزيد من التعاون المستقبلي معهم، إضافة إلى التعاون مع غيرهم من الزملاء في جميع أنحاء العالم الساعين إلى الحفاظ على التراث في مناطق الأزمات".  

 

إغلاق

In Syria and Iraq, political instability and conflict threaten the integrity and safety of cultural heritage. Cultural heritage helps communities and nations rebuild and thrive in the wake of devastating violence and natural catastrophe. This is not just about saving artifacts and historic sites, but preserving whole societies and ways of life. Smithsonian works directly with Syrian and Iraqi museum and cultural professionals to provide training, equipment, and technical support for on-the-ground protection and preservation of cultural heritage.  

The Safeguarding the Heritage of Syria and Iraq Project (SHOSI) is a consortium of Smithsonian and the Penn Cultural Heritage Center at the University of Pennsylvania Museum, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Shawnee State UniversityThe Day After Association, and the U.S. Institute of Peace. Through research, trainings for local museum professionals, public outreach, and the use of modern technologies to monitor destruction, SHOSI is responding to the threats against cultural heritage in the Middle East

In the summer of 2014, Smithsonian organized an emergency workshop for Syrian museum professionals to share Smithsonian expertise in emergency care for museum collections. Corine Wegener, Cultural Heritage Preservation Officer for Smithsonian, Robert Patterson, exhibits specialist at the National Museum of the American Indian, and colleagues from the University of Pennsylvania and Shawnee State University shared information with participants on how to safeguard museum collections in the Syrian conflict

The workshop also provided participants with basic supplies for packing and securing museum collections. Participants at the workshop connected with their peers and began a conversation about the situation in Syria and coordinating emergency responses. Syrian museum curators and conservators often cannot easily communicate with each other because of the conflict. The workshop gave them an opportunity to come together as a community and identify ways to protect objects in place. 

Buying emergency packing supplies. Photo credit Corine Wegener.
Buying emergency packing supplies. Photo credit Corine Wegener.

Smithsonian provided equipment and supplies for workshop participants to secure objects in Syria, including the immovable mosaics collection at the Ma’arra Museum in Idlib Province. Housing one of the most important collections of third-to-sixth century Roman and Byzantine mosaics in the Middle East, the Ma’arra Mosaic Museum is located about 50 miles south of Aleppo.

The Ma’arra Mosaic Museum was significantly damaged as a result of the country’s long and ongoing civil war. Smithsonian supported emergency conservation and protection efforts by Syrian cultural heritage professionals and volunteers to safeguard this priceless collection.

Photo credit Cori Wegener.
Photo credit Cori Wegener.

The emergency protection project aimed to secure the mosaics from further harm during the conflict. After consultation with experts in mosaic conservation, the Syrian team applied a layer of glue and cloth designed to fortify and keep the tesserae (individual tiles in a mosaic) together. Several truckloads of sandbags were then laid out to protect the mosaics from further damage. Altogether, some 1,600 square feet of mosaics were protected

Photo credit Cori Wegener.
Photo credit Cori Wegener.

When a barrel bomb severely damaged the museum in June 2015, the sandbag barriers held, protecting the mosaics and preventing the walls on which they were installed from collapse.

Photo credit Cori Wegener.
Photo credit Cori Wegener.

“The Ma’arra Museum stabilization project demonstrates the commitment of our Syrian colleagues to saving their heritage, even in the face of armed conflict,” Corine says. “I’m very proud that the Smithsonian could support their efforts, and we look forward to future collaborations with them, as well as with other colleagues around the world working to save heritage in crisis.”  

 

Close