L'histoire populaire raconte que juste après l'arrivée de Christophe Colomb dans les Caraïbes en 1492, le peuple des Taïnos, de langue arawakienne, aurait été décimé par l'esclavage, les épidémies venues d'Europe, la famine et la guerre. À Cuba, en Jamaïque, à Haïti, en République dominicaine, à Puerto Rico et dans l'archipel des Petites Antilles, 90 % des autochtones seraient morts en l'espace d'un demi-siècle. Mais leur histoire ne s'arrête pas là. L'histoire des Taïnos est une histoire de survie.

Si l'époque coloniale a laissé des traces, les Taïnos ont transmis leur savoir sur la nature et leur patrimoine aux Européens et Africains qui ont débarqué sur les îles. Aujourd'hui, la culture et le peuple autochtone ont survécu, et sont même prospères. Le Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project (CILP) du Smithsonian, codirigé par Ranald Woodaman (directeur des programmes publics et expositions au centre hispano-américain du Smithsonian) et José Barreiro (directeur adjoint de la recherche au National Museum of the American Indian), étudient le rayonnement culturel des Taïnos qui a perduré malgré l'arrivée des colons européens. Le CILP montre un bel exemple de persévérance et fournit les clés pour décrypter le patrimoine autochtone dans un contexte pluriethnique.

[file:field-caption]
José Barreiro (NMAI) visite le site cérémoniel taïno de Caguana. Cet ensemble de symboles connus est supposé connecter la puissance politique et spirituelle des chefs locaux à l'autorité de leurs ancêtres. Crédit photo : Ranald Woodaman.

À travers la recherche et les projets publics, les chercheurs du Smithsonian s'engagent à réinterpréter l'histoire et le patrimoine des Taïnos à la lumière des savoirs actuels. Ce travail s'adresse principalement au public de la région des Caraïbes. Selon Christina Gonzalez, doctorante à l'Université du Texas à Austin qui a mené des recherches avec le CILP, « l'objectif de ce projet est d'encourager les gens à se réapproprier leur culture, leur histoire et leur identité, voire à réhabiliter certains aspects de leur culture ».

La culture populaire, surtout rurale, des Caraïbes est fortement imprégnée des traditions autochtones. « Partout dans les Caraïbes, en Jamaïque, à Cuba, Puerto Rico et Haïti, les influences autochtones se ressentent : remèdes naturels, traditions spirituelles ou religieuses, souvenirs liés aux paysages, mode d'agriculture traditionnel, techniques de bâtissage, artisanats tels que la vannerie et les filets de pêche, et mots d'origine taïno », remarque Ranald. De nombreux mots d'aujourd'hui reflètent la langue taïno, en particulier dans les Caraïbes hispanophones, qu'il s'agisse de noms propres comme « Cuba », « Haïti » ou de noms communs comme « barbecue », « canoë » et « ouragan ».

[file:field-caption]
Candido Rojas Martínez expliquant comment construire un cayuco, petit canoë de rivière. La confection traditionnelle du canoë tient compte de la pénurie locale de bois. Photo par Boynayel Mota.

Depuis les années 1970, des groupes de descendants autochtones se sont formés, espérant promouvoir et redynamiser le patrimoine taïno. Ils remettent en question l'histoire officielle, revendiquent leurs origines ancestrales et mettent en exergue la pérennité des traditions.

Alice Chéverez fait partie de cette génération d'artisans portoricains qui ont su faire revivre les métiers de l'artisanat taïno tels que la poterie grâce aux découvertes archéologiques. 
 Crédit photo : 
 Institut du Smithsonian.
Alice Chéverez fait partie de cette génération d’artisans portoricains qui ont su faire revivre les métiers de l’artisanat taïno tels que la poterie grâce aux découvertes archéologiques. Crédit photo : Ranald Woodaman.

Le CILP cherche à créer un espace de recherche autochtone post-1492 sous le prisme d'une histoire des Caraïbes aux multiples facettes. Ce projet « explore la science de la survie et propose de se pencher sur ces cas de résistance et sur la façon dont les peuples autochtones et leur culture survivent envers et contre tout, même ceux qui ont officiellement disparu », affirme Christina.

Le CILP naît en 2010. Soutenu par le groupe Grand Challenges du Smithsonian, il est le fruit d'une collaboration entre le centre hispano-américain du Smithsonian (SLC), le National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI), le musée national d'histoire naturelle (NMNH) et son réseau de partenaires et de chercheurs des Caraïbes et des États-Unis. Ce programme inclut le Museo del Hombre Dominicano, musée d'anthropologie situé en République dominicaine. Le Smithsonian détenait d'excellentes collections et recherches archéologiques et ethnographiques trop peu exploitées, notamment l’étude réalisée par José Barreiro, directeur adjoint de la recherche au NMAI, sur les communautés à l'est de Cuba. Ranald et José, aidés d'un groupe de chercheurs pluridisciplinaires originaires des Caraïbes, ont passé en revue les collections anthropologiques et archéologiques du Smithsonian. Ces ateliers ont abouti en 2011 à un symposium public donné au NMAI sur la pérennité de la culture taïno dans la conscience collective contemporaine aux Caraïbes. Ce projet englobe dorénavant des recherches ethnographiques menées auprès de communautés locales et comprenant des collections locales d'artefacts Taïnos.

CILP organise son premier atelier interdisciplinaire en 2011. 
 De gauche à droite : Jose Barreiro, Osvaldo Garcia-Goyco, Juan Manuel Delgado Colón, Alejandro Hartmann et Emily Skeels viennent visiter les collections du NMAI. 
 Crédit photo : 
 Institut du Smithsonian.
CILP organise son premier atelier interdisciplinaire en 2011. De gauche à droite : Jose Barreiro, Osvaldo Garcia-Goyco, Juan Manuel Delgado Colón, Alejandro Hartmann et Emily Skeels viennent visiter les collections du NMAI. Crédit photo : Ranald Woodaman.

Les recherches d'ethnographie pour le CILP se mènent également sur le terrain. L'étude, menée par des spécialistes autochtones et non autochtones, révèle les récits d'individus, de familles et de communautés rattachés à une identité et à un patrimoine autochtone. Soraya Serra Collazo, spécialiste de l'artisanat textile, a montré à Christina ainsi qu'à d'autres membres de l'équipe une parfaite illustration de pérennité culturelle en leur présentant une octogénaire de Puerto Rico comptant parmi les dernières personnes à confectionner des hamacs en fibres d’agave. « On pensait cette pratique artisanale disparue... et voilà que l’on nous prouve le contraire », remarque Christina.

Ranald qualifie la méthodologie de recherche du CILP d'« open source » puisqu'il rend accessible l'ensemble des techniques et des outils employés aux personnes interrogées. On y trouve notamment des rapports recensant les personnes, familles et communautés autochtones, rendus disponibles aux particuliers. Une aide est également apportée aux familles désireuses de réaliser leur arbre généalogique. « Ce travail étudie la pérennité de la vie culturelle. On rencontre des gens dont le passé a été tu et dont l'expérience de vie n'a pas été reconnue officiellement. Ils ont maintenant un moyen d'expression à leur disposition », explique Christina.

La famille Moxum descend de plusieurs tribus autochtones. 
 Alors que M. Norman Moxum descend des Arawaks, sa femme, Yolanda Moxum, est originaire d'une communauté miskito venue du Honduras. 
 Crédit photo : 
 Institut du Smithsonian.
La famille Moxum descend de plusieurs tribus autochtones. Alors que M. Norman Moxum descend des Arawaks, sa femme, Yolanda Moxum, est originaire d'une communauté miskito venue du Honduras. Crédit photo : John Homiak.

Parmi ces moyens, un site web a été mis à disposition pour comprendre l'ascendance autochtone, notamment l'ADN, ou encore fournir des ressources d'ordre général pour quiconque cherche à approfondir son savoir sur la culture Taïno. « Nous proposons une base de données complète sur les us et coutumes autochtones qui devrait être utile aux chercheurs ainsi que des outils de recherche généalogique destinés au public, mais on espère aussi sensibiliser les futurs chercheurs à ce domaine d'étude spécifique qui n'en est qu'à ses balbutiements », nous confie Christina

The project opened a 2018 exhibition at The National Museum of the American Indian in New York, NY. The exhibition will feature Smithsonian’s archaeological collections and CILP research findings. Before and after the exhibition development, the project also plans to expand its research into the fields of linguistics (in particular the study of place names), botany and ethnomedicine, and historical recovery work. Even after the exhibition closes, the research CILP has developed will continue to tell the story of the Taíno and expand our understanding of what it means to be Taíno today. 

 

Fermer

Popular history holds that shortly after Christopher Columbus arrived to the Caribbean in 1492, the Arawakan-speaking Native people known as the Taíno were completely destroyed by slavery, European disease, starvation, and war. In Cuba, Jamaica, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, and the Lesser Antilles, 90% of the Native population may have died within a half century. However, their story did not end there. The story of the Taíno is a story of survival.

Despite the devastation of the early colonial era, the Taíno passed on their knowledge about their natural and cultural world to Europeans and Africans who arrived to the islands, and Native culture and people survive—and thrive—today. The Smithsonian’s Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project (CILP), co-led by Ranald Woodaman, Exhibitions and Public Programs Director at the Smithsonian Latino Center, and José Barreiro, Assistant Director for Research at the National Museum of the American Indian, explores how Taíno culture continues to evolve and thrive, despite the first devastating encounter with European colonization. The Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project tells this story of perseverance and helps provide a framework for understanding Taíno heritage in a multiethnic context.

[file:field-caption]
José Barreiro (NMAI) visits the Taíno ceremonial site of Caguana. This well-known set of symbols is thought to connect the political and spiritual power of local chiefs with the authority of their ancestors. Photo Credit: Ranald Woodaman.

Through research and public programs, Smithsonian researchers are engaging with contemporary understandings of Taíno history and Native heritage. Much of this work is being done for audiences from the Caribbean region. According to Christina Gonzalez, a PhD student at the University of Texas at Austin who has conducted research with CILP, “the project’s goal is to encourage people to rethink their own culture, history, and identity, and even engage in work to recover aspects of their culture.”

Many elements of popular Caribbean culture, particularly rural culture, derive from Native traditions. “Across the Caribbean, in Jamaica, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and Haiti, you can find indigenous influences: herbal traditions, local spiritual or religious traditions, memories associated with the landscape, traditional agricultural crops and farming methods, home-building techniques, crafts like basketry and fishing nets, and Taíno words,” Ranald said. Many words today, especially in the Spanish Caribbean, reflect Taíno influence, including the names “Cuba,” “Haiti,” and everyday vocabulary like “barbeque,” “canoe,” and “hurricane.”

[file:field-caption]
Candido Rojas Martínez discusses his process for making a cayuco, or small river canoe. Traditional methods for making canoes are adapting to the scarcity of local woods. Photo by Boynayel Mota.

Since the 1970s, new groups of Native-descendant people have come together to celebrate and revive Taíno heritage, challenging the dominant history of the region by reclaiming ancestral heritage and emphasizing the endurance of Native roots.

Alice Chéverez is part of a generation of Puerto Rican artisans who have revived Taíno crafts like pottery based on archaeological findings. Photo Credit: Smithsonian Institution.
Alice Chéverez is part of a generation of Puerto Rican artisans who have revived Taíno crafts like pottery based on archaeological findings. Photo Credit: Ranald Woodaman.

CILP seeks to create a space for researching Native heritage post-1492 within a multilayered history of the Caribbean. This project is, “about exploring the science of survival; about looking at examples of resilience and agency and the ways in which Native people and their cultures may continue to survive and live despite belief in their disappearance and nonexistence,” Christina stated.

CILP began in 2010 with support from the Smithsonian Grand Challenges Consortia and is a collaboration between the Smithsonian Latino Center (SLC), the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI), the National Museum of Natural History (NMNH) and its network of partner institutions and researchers in the Caribbean and the United States. These include the Museo del Hombre Dominicano—the main anthropology museum of the Dominican Republic. Smithsonian already had excellent yet rarely studied archaeological and ethnographic Caribbean collections, and expertise in documenting communities in Eastern Cuba from NMAI Assistant Director for Research José Barreiro. A multidisciplinary group of scholars, mostly from the Caribbean, worked with Ranald and José to review the Smithsonian’s Caribbean archaeological and anthropological collections. These workshops culminated in a public symposium at NMAI in 2011 on the survival of Taíno culture in contemporary Caribbean consciousness. The project now includes ethnographic research in local communities and local collections of Taíno artifacts.

CILP organized its first interdisciplinary workshop in 2011. Here, (from left to right) Jose Barreiro, Osvaldo Garcia-Goyco, Juan Manuel Delgado Colón, Alejandro Hartmann, and Emily Skeels visit NMAI collections. Photo Credit: Smithsonian Institution.
CILP organized its first interdisciplinary workshop in 2011. Here, (from left to right) Jose Barreiro, Osvaldo Garcia-Goyco, Juan Manuel Delgado Colón, Alejandro Hartmann, and Emily Skeels visit NMAI collections. Photo Credit: Ranald Woodaman.

Part of the ethnographic research for CILP involves fieldwork. Surveys gather first-person accounts of individual, family and community connections to indigenous identity and heritage, maintained by indigenous and non-indigenous practitioners. One of the project’s associated researchers, textile expert Soraya Serra Collazo, led Christina and other team members to a prime example of cultural continuity; for instance, one woman in her eighties in a rural area of Puerto Rico, one of the only people left who makes hammocks using the fibers from a plant called maguey. Christina noted, “This was believed to be a lost art… her practice shows it has survived.”

Ranald describes the CILP research methodology as “open source,” because all of their tools and process are made available to interviewees. This includes surveys to identify people, families, and communities who identify as Native descendants, which many local stakeholders use for their own research. The project also supports families in creating family trees. “This work explores how cultural life continues and we’re seeing that in living people whose stories are often silenced or whose experiences are not taken seriously in the production of history. It gives them a platform to share their voices,” Christina said.

The Moxum family have mixed Native roots. Mr. Norman Moxum is of Arawak-descent, and his wife, Yolanda Moxum, comes from a Miskito community in Honduras. Photo Credit: Smithsonian Institution.
The Moxum family have mixed Native roots. Mr. Norman Moxum is of Arawak-descent, and his wife, Yolanda Moxum, comes from a Miskito community in Honduras. Photo Credit: John Homiak.

One such platform is a website that is being conceived as a practical tool for understanding Native ancestry, especially DNA, as well as a general resource for those who want to learn more about Taíno culture. Christina described, “the hope is that it also advances the development of knowledge on the topic of Caribbean indigenous peoples and cultural traditions by offering scholars a database of information to further their own work, by empowering the public with the tools to conduct research on their own families and with their communities, and by igniting interest from future scholars in what is very much still a burgeoning area of study.”

The project is planning a 2018 exhibition at The National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, DC. The exhibition will feature Smithsonian’s archaeological collections and CILP research findings. Before and after the exhibition development, the project also plans to expand its research into the fields of linguistics (in particular the study of place names), botany and ethnomedicine, and historical recovery work. Even after the exhibition closes, the research CILP has developed will continue to tell the story of the Taíno and expand our understanding of what it means to be Taíno today. 

 

Close