在古巴、牙买加、海地、多米尼加共和国、波多黎各和小安的列斯群岛,90% 的本土人口可能在半个世纪内就已经死亡了。 但是,他们的故事并没有在此终结。 泰诺人的故事就是一个关于生存的故事。

尽管早期殖民时期带来了巨大破坏,泰诺人还是将他们有关自然和文化世界的知识传给了登岛的欧洲人和非洲人。如今,本土文化和原住民得以生存和繁荣。 史密森尼加勒比土著遗产项目 (CILP) 由史密森尼拉丁裔中心 (Smithsonian Latino Center) 展览与公共项目主管拉纳尔德•伍德曼 (Ranald Woodaman) 和美洲印第安人国立博物馆 (National Museum of the American Indian) 助理研究主任何塞•巴雷罗 (José Barreiro) 共同负责,旨在探索泰诺文化在遭遇欧洲人首次毁灭性殖民后如何继续发展和繁荣。 加勒比土著遗产项目讲述泰诺人坚持不懈的故事,并协助提供在多民族环境里了解本土遗产的框架。

[file:field-caption]
José Barreiro (NMAI) visits the Taíno ceremonial site of Caguana. This well-known set of symbols is thought to connect the political and spiritual power of local chiefs with the authority of their ancestors. Photo Credit: Ranald Woodaman.

目前,大部分工作都是针对来自加勒比地区的观众。 据同 CILP 一起进行研究的德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校 (University of Texas at Austin) 博士在读生克里斯蒂娜•冈萨雷斯 (Christina Gonzalez) 说:“该项目的目标是鼓励人们重新思考他们自己的文化、历史和身份,甚至参与对他们文化各个方面进行恢复的工作。”

流行的加勒比文化的许多元素,特别是乡村文化,源自于本土传统。 拉纳尔德说:“在整个加勒比地区、牙买加、古巴、波多黎各和海地,你都能发现原住民的影响:草药传统、当地精神或宗教传统、与风景相关的回忆、传统农作物和耕作方法、家园建造技术、工艺(如编织品和渔网)以及泰诺语言。” 当今很多语言,特别是西班牙裔加勒比人使用的语言,反映了泰诺人的影响,包括“古巴”和“海地”等名称,以及“烤肉”、“独木舟”和“飓风”等日常词汇。

[file:field-caption]
Candido Rojas Martínez discusses his process for making a cayuco, or small river canoe. Traditional methods for making canoes are adapting to the scarcity of local woods. Photo by Boynayel Mota.

自 20 世纪 70 年代以来,新的原住民后裔群体聚集在一起,纪念和恢复泰诺遗产,并通过恢复祖先的遗产和强调本土根源的耐久性等方式挑战该区域的主导历史。

爱丽丝•切委雷斯 (Alice Chéverez) 是一代波多黎各工匠的一员;这一代工匠根据考古研究成果恢复了泰诺工艺,如陶艺。 
照片来源: 
史密森尼博物院。
Alice Chéverez is part of a generation of Puerto Rican artisans who have revived Taíno crafts like pottery based on archaeological findings. Photo Credit: Ranald Woodaman.

CILP 力争在加勒比地区多层次历史中营造一个用于研究 1492 年后的本土遗产的空间。 克里斯蒂娜说,该项目“探索生存科学,审视适应力和代理的范例,以及原住民和他们的文化得以存续的方式(尽管人们相信他们已经消失且不复存在了)。”

包括多米尼加共和国主要的人类学博物馆—— Museo del Hombre Dominicano。 根据 NMAI 研究副主任何塞•巴雷罗 (José Barreiro),史密森尼拥有优秀的但鲜为研究的加勒比地区考古学和民族志收藏,以及对古巴东部社区进行记录的专业技术。 由大部分来自加勒比地区的学者组成的一个跨学科小组与拉纳尔德和何塞合作,评论史密森尼的加勒比考古学和人类学收藏。 2011 年在 NMAI 举行的一个公共研讨会为这些讲习班画上了句号;这个研讨会以当代加勒比人意识中的泰诺文化的存续为主题。 目前,项目包括针对当地社区和当地泰诺文物收藏而进行的民族志研究。

2011 年,CILP 组织了其首个跨学科讲习班。 
图中,何塞•巴雷罗 (Jose Barreiro),奥斯瓦尔多•加西亚-戈伊科 (Osvaldo Garcia-Goyco),胡安•曼努埃尔•德尔加多•科隆 (Juan Manuel Delgado Colón),亚历杭德罗•哈特曼 (Alejandro Hartmann) 及艾米丽•史基斯 (Emily Skeels)(从左到右)在参观 NMAI 收藏。 
照片来源: 
史密森尼博物院。
CILP organized its first interdisciplinary workshop in 2011. Here, (from left to right) Jose Barreiro, Osvaldo Garcia-Goyco, Juan Manuel Delgado Colón, Alejandro Hartmann, and Emily Skeels visit NMAI collections. Photo Credit: Ranald Woodaman.

调查活动就个人、家庭和社区与原住民特征和遗产的之间关系收集第一人称叙述,由土著和非土著从业者予以维护。 纺织品专家索拉雅•塞拉•克拉佐 (Soraya Serra Collazo) 是项目相关研究员之一,她带领克里斯蒂娜和其他小组成员调查文化延续性的最好例证。比如,波多黎各农村地区的一位八十岁妇女,这片地区仅剩下极少人居住,她就是其中之一,至今还在使用一种叫龙舌兰的植物中的纤维制作吊床。 克里斯蒂娜说:“这被认为是一件丢失的艺术品⋯⋯她的实践证明该艺术品得以幸存。”

这包括为了识别被确定为本土后裔的人员、家庭和社区而进行的调查活动;许多当地利益相关者利用它们进行自己的研究。 项目还为家庭创建家谱提供支持。 克里斯蒂娜说:“这项工作探索文化生活如何得以延续,而且我们正从活着的人们中看到这一点;他们的故事经常被压制,或者他们制造历史的经历未被认真对待。 项目给他们提供了一个可以分享想法的平台。”

莫克塞姆 (Moxum) 家族有各种不同的本土血统。 
诺曼•莫克塞姆 (Norman Moxum) 先生是阿拉瓦克人后裔;他的妻子尤兰达•莫克塞姆 (Yolanda Moxum) 来自洪都拉斯的一个米斯基托 (Miskito) 社区。 
照片来源: 
史密森尼博物院。
The Moxum family have mixed Native roots. Mr. Norman Moxum is of Arawak-descent, and his wife, Yolanda Moxum, comes from a Miskito community in Honduras. Photo Credit: John Homiak.

其中一个是一个网站,它被视为一种很实用的工具,可用于了解原住民血统,特别是 DNA;对于那些想了解更多关于泰诺文化的人,它也是一个通用资源。 克里斯蒂娜说:“大家希望是,它还能向学者提供信息数据库来促进他们的工作,授权公众使用工具研究他们各自的家庭及与他们所在社区一起进行研究,以及激发未来学者对仍在迅速发展的研究领域的兴趣,从而促进关于加勒比原住民和文化传统的知识的拓展。”

The project opened a 2018 exhibition at The National Museum of the American Indian in New York, NY. The exhibition will feature Smithsonian’s archaeological collections and CILP research findings. Before and after the exhibition development, the project also plans to expand its research into the fields of linguistics (in particular the study of place names), botany and ethnomedicine, and historical recovery work. Even after the exhibition closes, the research CILP has developed will continue to tell the story of the Taíno and expand our understanding of what it means to be Taíno today. 

 

关闭

Popular history holds that shortly after Christopher Columbus arrived to the Caribbean in 1492, the Arawakan-speaking Native people known as the Taíno were completely destroyed by slavery, European disease, starvation, and war. In Cuba, Jamaica, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, and the Lesser Antilles, 90% of the Native population may have died within a half century. However, their story did not end there. The story of the Taíno is a story of survival.

Despite the devastation of the early colonial era, the Taíno passed on their knowledge about their natural and cultural world to Europeans and Africans who arrived to the islands, and Native culture and people survive—and thrive—today. The Smithsonian’s Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project (CILP), co-led by Ranald Woodaman, Exhibitions and Public Programs Director at the Smithsonian Latino Center, and José Barreiro, Assistant Director for Research at the National Museum of the American Indian, explores how Taíno culture continues to evolve and thrive, despite the first devastating encounter with European colonization. The Caribbean Indigenous Legacies Project tells this story of perseverance and helps provide a framework for understanding Taíno heritage in a multiethnic context.

[file:field-caption]
José Barreiro (NMAI) visits the Taíno ceremonial site of Caguana. This well-known set of symbols is thought to connect the political and spiritual power of local chiefs with the authority of their ancestors. Photo Credit: Ranald Woodaman.

Through research and public programs, Smithsonian researchers are engaging with contemporary understandings of Taíno history and Native heritage. Much of this work is being done for audiences from the Caribbean region. According to Christina Gonzalez, a PhD student at the University of Texas at Austin who has conducted research with CILP, “the project’s goal is to encourage people to rethink their own culture, history, and identity, and even engage in work to recover aspects of their culture.”

Many elements of popular Caribbean culture, particularly rural culture, derive from Native traditions. “Across the Caribbean, in Jamaica, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and Haiti, you can find indigenous influences: herbal traditions, local spiritual or religious traditions, memories associated with the landscape, traditional agricultural crops and farming methods, home-building techniques, crafts like basketry and fishing nets, and Taíno words,” Ranald said. Many words today, especially in the Spanish Caribbean, reflect Taíno influence, including the names “Cuba,” “Haiti,” and everyday vocabulary like “barbeque,” “canoe,” and “hurricane.”

[file:field-caption]
Candido Rojas Martínez discusses his process for making a cayuco, or small river canoe. Traditional methods for making canoes are adapting to the scarcity of local woods. Photo by Boynayel Mota.

Since the 1970s, new groups of Native-descendant people have come together to celebrate and revive Taíno heritage, challenging the dominant history of the region by reclaiming ancestral heritage and emphasizing the endurance of Native roots.

Alice Chéverez is part of a generation of Puerto Rican artisans who have revived Taíno crafts like pottery based on archaeological findings. Photo Credit: Smithsonian Institution.
Alice Chéverez is part of a generation of Puerto Rican artisans who have revived Taíno crafts like pottery based on archaeological findings. Photo Credit: Ranald Woodaman.

CILP seeks to create a space for researching Native heritage post-1492 within a multilayered history of the Caribbean. This project is, “about exploring the science of survival; about looking at examples of resilience and agency and the ways in which Native people and their cultures may continue to survive and live despite belief in their disappearance and nonexistence,” Christina stated.

CILP began in 2010 with support from the Smithsonian Grand Challenges Consortia and is a collaboration between the Smithsonian Latino Center (SLC), the National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI), the National Museum of Natural History (NMNH) and its network of partner institutions and researchers in the Caribbean and the United States. These include the Museo del Hombre Dominicano—the main anthropology museum of the Dominican Republic. Smithsonian already had excellent yet rarely studied archaeological and ethnographic Caribbean collections, and expertise in documenting communities in Eastern Cuba from NMAI Assistant Director for Research José Barreiro. A multidisciplinary group of scholars, mostly from the Caribbean, worked with Ranald and José to review the Smithsonian’s Caribbean archaeological and anthropological collections. These workshops culminated in a public symposium at NMAI in 2011 on the survival of Taíno culture in contemporary Caribbean consciousness. The project now includes ethnographic research in local communities and local collections of Taíno artifacts.

CILP organized its first interdisciplinary workshop in 2011. Here, (from left to right) Jose Barreiro, Osvaldo Garcia-Goyco, Juan Manuel Delgado Colón, Alejandro Hartmann, and Emily Skeels visit NMAI collections. Photo Credit: Smithsonian Institution.
CILP organized its first interdisciplinary workshop in 2011. Here, (from left to right) Jose Barreiro, Osvaldo Garcia-Goyco, Juan Manuel Delgado Colón, Alejandro Hartmann, and Emily Skeels visit NMAI collections. Photo Credit: Ranald Woodaman.

Part of the ethnographic research for CILP involves fieldwork. Surveys gather first-person accounts of individual, family and community connections to indigenous identity and heritage, maintained by indigenous and non-indigenous practitioners. One of the project’s associated researchers, textile expert Soraya Serra Collazo, led Christina and other team members to a prime example of cultural continuity; for instance, one woman in her eighties in a rural area of Puerto Rico, one of the only people left who makes hammocks using the fibers from a plant called maguey. Christina noted, “This was believed to be a lost art… her practice shows it has survived.”

Ranald describes the CILP research methodology as “open source,” because all of their tools and process are made available to interviewees. This includes surveys to identify people, families, and communities who identify as Native descendants, which many local stakeholders use for their own research. The project also supports families in creating family trees. “This work explores how cultural life continues and we’re seeing that in living people whose stories are often silenced or whose experiences are not taken seriously in the production of history. It gives them a platform to share their voices,” Christina said.

The Moxum family have mixed Native roots. Mr. Norman Moxum is of Arawak-descent, and his wife, Yolanda Moxum, comes from a Miskito community in Honduras. Photo Credit: Smithsonian Institution.
The Moxum family have mixed Native roots. Mr. Norman Moxum is of Arawak-descent, and his wife, Yolanda Moxum, comes from a Miskito community in Honduras. Photo Credit: John Homiak.

One such platform is a website that is being conceived as a practical tool for understanding Native ancestry, especially DNA, as well as a general resource for those who want to learn more about Taíno culture. Christina described, “the hope is that it also advances the development of knowledge on the topic of Caribbean indigenous peoples and cultural traditions by offering scholars a database of information to further their own work, by empowering the public with the tools to conduct research on their own families and with their communities, and by igniting interest from future scholars in what is very much still a burgeoning area of study.”

The project is planning a 2018 exhibition at The National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, DC. The exhibition will feature Smithsonian’s archaeological collections and CILP research findings. Before and after the exhibition development, the project also plans to expand its research into the fields of linguistics (in particular the study of place names), botany and ethnomedicine, and historical recovery work. Even after the exhibition closes, the research CILP has developed will continue to tell the story of the Taíno and expand our understanding of what it means to be Taíno today. 

 

Close